Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
was made.
Claim(s) 1, 8-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strein (US-20150326951-A1) in view of Zacharias (US-20030159141-A1) and in further view of SKRYPNIAK (EP-3073741-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Strein teaches A video graphic overlay device comprising:a memory comprising a graphics engine for providing a graphic element template ( Para 41-44 and 47: expressly identifies memory 506/ storage 508, while para.44: describes graphics template 515 and trigger inserter/ graphic inserter functionality for creating and overlaying graphics. Para 47: further states that storage 508 includes a plurality of graphics templates 515);a video input port for receiving a video stream and a video stream timecode (Para 21-22, 27 and 49-50: teaches receiving / processing a video 101/517 and insert graphics triggers into its data space. Para 22: also says the trigger includes information specifying the exact insertion point in time for a visual graphics) ;a data input port for receiving a data stream pertinent to the video stream ( Para 22-24 and 44-47: receives graphic related data/metadata associated with the video. Para 22: describes triggers containing relevant metadata attributes. Para 24; describes retrieving current data from remote stores; and para 44: describes trigger information including references to data values used in creating graphics for the video);a graphics processor for receiving the graphic element template from the graphics engine and the data stream and generating a graphic element overlay incorporating sampled data from the data stream (Para 24-28, 44, and 47-50: the graphics insertion device retrieves a graphic template and current data values and uses them to create a graphics object. The graphics object incorporates current/retrieved data values and is overlaid on the video. For example para 36-38 describe creating a news crawl using current data and overlaying it on video));a display screen for displaying the video stream and the graphic element overlay (Para 24: expressly states that a display device 170 may display the video with the graphic overlaid thereon); and an output port for outputting an output data stream comprising the video graphic overlay. ( Para 26 – 28, 49-50: teaches producing/transmitting/ broadcasting the video containing the graphics overlay, and its trigger information associates graphics with specified times in the video).
Strein fails to teach expressly teach video stream timecode and further fails to teach synchronized with the video stream timecode.
Zacharias teaches video stream timecode (Para. 16, 91, and claim 12: teaches producing a time coded output video signal and a corresponding time-coded data file; Para 91: describes matching the files time code information with the time code information overlaid onto the video recording. Claim 12 expressly recites an output video signal including a graphic representation of a time code. It would have been obvious to modify Strein in view of Zacharias to incorporate time-code information into the video stream because doing so would enable the corresponding data and video content to be accurately matched and temporally aligned during processing and playback.).
SKRYPNIAK teaches synchronizing with the video stream (Fig.1 and claim 2: teaches synchronously ingesting the video material and data and more importantly claim 2 expressly states that the data feed is time stamped for being synchronized with the video material. It then merges the selected video sequence and associated graphics/data into composite video/graphics scene. It would have been obvious to further modify Strein in view of Zacharias and SKRYPNIAK to synchronize the data feed with the video stream using timestamps because doing so would ensure that the associated graphical information is merged with and displayed at the correct corresponding portions of the video.).
Regarding claim 8, Strein, in view of Zacharias and SKRYPNIAK teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the data stream comprises one or more of a historical data set, a real time data set, and a generated data set (Strein, Para. 17,18, 23, 53: teach receiving and using current/up to date information, such as current sports scores, stock data, weather, and time, to dynamically upgrade graphical content in the video).
Regarding claim 9, Strein, in view of Zacharias and SKRYPNIAK teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the graphics engine comprises at least one of a graphic library and a graphic generation engine (Strein, Para. 37-38, 44-45: which teach graphics insertion components that retrieve graphics templates/data, generate/create graphical objects, and overlay the resulting graphics onto video).
Regarding claim 10, Strein, in view of Zacharias and SKRYPNIAK teaches The device of claim 1, wherein the video graphic overlay is a telestrator graphic, clock and score, chyron, ticker, static graphic, augmented static graphic, augmented video effect, or animation (Strein, Para 18, 23: disclose graphical content overlaid on video including date/time, sports scores, news crawls, and stock tickers).
Regarding claim 11, Strein, in view of Zacharias and SKRYPNIAK teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the output data stream further comprises the video stream (Strein, Para. 24, 28, 50: teach generating and transmitting/broadcasting a video stream containing the inserted/overlaid graphical content, such that resulting output includes the underlying video stream).
Regarding claim 12, Strein teaches A computer-implemented method for applying a video graphic overlay to a video comprising:receiving a video data stream comprising a video stream (Para 21-22, 27 and 49-50: teaches receiving / processing a video 101/517 and insert graphics triggers into its data space. Para 22: also says the trigger includes information specifying the exact insertion point in time for visual graphics); receiving a data stream pertinent to the video stream (Para 22-24 and 44-47: receives graphic related data/metadata associated with the video. Para 22: describes triggers containing relevant metadata attributes. Para 24; describes retrieving current data from remote stores; and para 44: describes trigger information including references to data values used in creating graphics for the video); generating a graphic element overlay by selecting a graphic element template from a graphics engine and incorporating sampled data from the data stream into the graphic element template ( Para 41-44 and 47: expressly identifies memory 506/ storage 508, while para.44: describes graphics template 515 and trigger inserter/ graphic inserter functionality for creating and overlaying graphics. Para 47: further states that storage 508 includes a plurality of graphics templates 515); providing the graphic element overlay to a graphics processor to provide a video graphic overlay (Para 24-28, 44, and 47-50: the graphics insertion device retrieves a graphic template and current data values and uses them to create a graphics object. The graphics object incorporates current/retrieved data values and is overlaid on the video. For example, para 36-38 describe creating a news crawl using current data and overlaying it on video)); and outputting an output data stream comprising the video graphic overlay ((Para 26 – 28, 49-50: teaches producing/transmitting/ broadcasting the video containing the graphics overlay, and its trigger information associates graphics with specified times in the video)).
Strein fails to teach expressly teach video stream timecode and further fails to teach synchronized with the video stream timecode.
Zacharias teaches video stream timecode (Para. 16, 91, and claim 12: teaches producing a time coded output video signal and a corresponding time-coded data file; Para 91: describes matching the files time code information with the time code information overlaid onto the video recording. Claim 12 expressly recites an output video signal including a graphic representation of a time code. It would have been obvious to modify Strein in view of Zacharias to incorporate time-code information into the video stream because doing so would enable the corresponding data and video content to be accurately matched and temporally aligned during processing and playback.).
SKRYPNIAK teaches synchronizing with the video stream (Fig.1 and claim 2: teaches synchronously ingesting the video material and data and more importantly claim 2 expressly states that the data feed is time stamped for being synchronized with the video material. It then merges the selected video sequence and associated graphics/data into composite video/graphics scene. It would have been obvious to further modify Strein in view of Zacharias and SKRYPNIAK to synchronize the data feed with the video stream using timestamps because doing so would ensure that the associated graphical information is merged with and displayed at the correct corresponding portions of the video.).
Regarding claim 13, Strein in view of Zacharias and SKRYPNIAK teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the video graphic overlay is overlayed onto a synchronized live video stream using the video stream timecode (Strein, Para. 24, 28, and 36-39: teaches overlaying video graphics onto a video stream. SKRYPNIAK, Para 2,6,18, and 25-29: teaches providing graphic overlays in real-time over live video, synchronously ingesting live video, data, and graphic templates and mixing the graphics with the video material for synchronous playout. Zacharia, Para 91, and 104: teaches matching the timecode associated with graphic information overlaid onto the video recording with the corresponding timecode).
Regarding claim 19, it falls under the same rejection as claim 10 it is similar in scope dependent upon same references.
Rgearding claim 20, Strein, in view of Zacharias and SKRYPNIAK teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the graphic element template is provided by a graphics engine (Strein, Para 41-44 and 47: expressly identifies memory 506/ storage 508, while para.44: describes graphics template 515 and trigger inserter/ graphic inserter functionality for creating and overlaying graphics. Para 47: further states that storage 508 includes a plurality of graphics templates 515).
Claim(s) 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strein (US-20150326951-A1) in view of Zacharias (US-20030159141-A1) and in further view of SKRYPNIAK (EP-3073741-A1) and Pelley (US-5194952-A).
Regarding claim 2, Strein, in view of Zacharias and SKRYPNIAK teaches the device of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the output data stream comprises a fill output for relaying an output fill and a key output key for the video graphic overlay.
Pelley teaches wherein the output data stream comprises a fill output for relaying an output fill and a key output for relaying an output key for the video graphic overlay (Col 6, 4-14, Col 8, 16-34 and 55-68: teaches an output data arrangement comprising a fill output and a key output for producing an overlay, wherein the output of fill processor 70 ( fill 1 or fill 2 send signal) and the output of key processor 60 ( key 1 or key 2 send signal) are supplied to an external processing device, and wherein the fill signal provides the foreground scene content while the key signal controls the location at which the foreground and background are combined. It would have been obvious to modify Strein in view of Zacharias and Skrypniak with Pelley’s fill and key output arrangements to enable the video graphic overlay to be accurately composited with a background with the fill supplying the overlay content and the key signal controlling where overlay is displayed).
Regarding claim 18, it falls under the same rejection as claim 2 it is similar in scope dependent upon same references.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strein (US-20150326951-A1) in view of Zacharias (US-20030159141-A1) and in further view of SKRYPNIAK (EP-3073741-A1) and HERIGSTAD (US-20150309687-A1).
Regarding claim 3, Strein in view of Zacharias and SKRYPNIAK teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the graphic element template and the video graphic overlay comprise a color channel (RGB) and an alpha channel (A).
Strein fails to expressly teach an alpha channel (a). HERIGSTAD teaches an alpha channel (Para 100: expressly teaches that the secondary content overlay is stored using four channels per pixel: red, green, blue, and alpha. It further discusses transferring pixel data using alpha blended values. It would have been obvious to modify Strein in view of Zacharias and Skrypniak to incorporate Herigstab RGBA channel arrangement because the alpha channel would permit the transparency of the graphic overlay to be controlled.).
Claim(s) 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strein (US-20150326951-A1) in view of Zacharias (US-20030159141-A1) and in further view of SKRYPNIAK (EP-3073741-A1) and Gras (US-20240395287-A1).
Regarding claim 4, Strein in view of Zacharias and SKRYPNIAK teaches the device of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the data input port, the video input port, and the output comprise a port selected from a High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI) port and a serial digital interface (SDI) port.
Gras teaches wherein the data input port, the video input port, and the output comprise a port selected from a High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI) port and a serial digital interface (SDI) port (Para. 31-32 and 35: Teaches wired input/output interfaces supporting HDMI connections for receiving information from data sources and expressly teaches SDI ports 334 as digital video input/output ports, with ports 336 configured as input ports and ports 338 configured as output ports, wherein ports 336 and 338 may comprise hdmi ports. It would have been obvious to modify Strein in view of Zacharias and Skrypniak to incorporate Gras’s HDMI OR SDI input/output ports because doing so would provide standardized digital interfaces for reliably receiving and outputting high-definition video and associated data while improving compatibility with commonly used video equipment.).
Regarding claim 6, Strein in view of Zacharias and in further view of SKRYPNIAK and Gras teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising one or more of a video buffer, frame buffer, Wi-Fi antenna, fan, and thermostat (Gras, Para. 37 and 42: teaches video buffers).
Claim(s) 5, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strein (US-20150326951-A1) in view of Zacharias (US-20030159141-A1) and in further view of SKRYPNIAK (EP-3073741-A1) and DOIDGE-HARRISON (US-20250155962-A1).
Regarding claim 5, Strein in view of Zacharias and SKRYPNIAK teaches The device of claim 1, but fails to teach further comprising an interpolation engine to receive the data stream and interpolate the sampled data from the data stream.
DOIDGE-HARRISON teaches further comprising an interpolation engine to receive the data stream and interpolate the sampled data from the data stream (teaches receiving a data stream 134 containing sensor and mixed reality data (64-64, 225) and performing a derivation activity 424 that produces another data stream by transforming the received data stream through operations including sampling and interpolating (238). The data stream analysis functionality may be implemented using software executed by a processor or dedicated hardware (para 57, and 214). It would have been obvious to modify Strein in view of Zacharias and Skrypniak to incorporate Doidge- Harrison’s interpolation concept because doing so would generate intermediate values between sampled data points, thereby providing a more continuous and accurate data stream for producing the synchronized video graphic overlay).
Regarding claim 15, Strein in view of Zacharias in further view of SKRYPNIAK and DOIDGE-HARRISON teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising interpolating the sampled data from the data stream to provide interpolated data and incorporating the interpolated data into the graphic element template to generate the graphic element overlay (Strein, Para 24, 27-28, and 44: teaches retrieving a graphics object template, incorporating current data values into the template to create a graphical object onto the video. DOIDGE-HARRISON, Para 225, 238: teaches receiving a data stream and interpolating sampled data from that stream to produce a derived/interpolated data stream.).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strein (US-20150326951-A1) in view of Zacharias (US-20030159141-A1) and in further view of SKRYPNIAK (EP-3073741-A1) and Sellers (US-20260120324-A1).
Regarding claim 7, Strein, in view of Zacharias and SKRYPNIAK teaches the device of claim 1, but fails to teach further comprising an integrated power supply.
Sellers teaches an integrated power supply (Para. 244-245: teaches a video graphics processing system having a power source including an internal battery. It would have been obvious to provide the video graphic overlay device of Strein in view of SKRYPNIAK and in further view of Zacharias with the internal power source taught by Sellers to provide electrical power to operate the device video/graphics processing components.).
Claim(s) 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strein (US-20150326951-A1) in view of Zacharias (US-20030159141-A1) and in further view of SKRYPNIAK (EP-3073741-A1) and Sheridan (US-20240406503-A1).
Regarding claim 14, Strein in view of Zacharias and SKRYPNIAK teaches the method of claim 12, but fails to teach wherein the video graphic overlay is overlayed onto a high-resolution video stream.
Sheridan teaches wherein the video graphic overlay is overlayed onto a high-resolution video stream (Para.34: teaches presenting original high quality video feeds comprising 4k video streams and providing graphic overlays such as statistics, sports scores, and other information for display with those video feeds during the broadcast. It would have been obvious to modify Strein in view of Zacharias, Skrypniak to incorporate Sheridan’s high resolution video stream because doing so would enable graphic information to be presented with high quality video.).
Regarding claim 17, Strein in view of Zacharias, Skrypniak and Sheridan teaches The method of claim 12, further comprising displaying the video graphic overlay with a high resolution video stream to provide a video product, the video graphic overlay synchronized with the high resolution video stream according to the video stream timecode ( Strein, Para 24, 28, 36-39 and 50: teaches displaying a video graphic overlay with a video stream to produce an output video containing the graphic overlay. Sheridan, Para 34: further teaches that the underlying video feed may be a high quality 4k video stream. Lastly, Zacharias teaches synchronizing and mixing graphic and video signals to produce a graphic overlaid video signal and maintaining matching timecodes between graphic information overlaid onto the video recording and its associated data).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strein (US-20150326951-A1) in view of Zacharias (US-20030159141-A1) and in further view of SKRYPNIAK (EP-3073741-A1), DOIDGE-HARRISON (US-20250155962-A1) and Smith (US-20250272614-A1).
Regarding claim 16, Strein in view of Zacharias in further view of SKRYPNIAK and DOIDGE-HARRISON teaches the method of claim 15, but fails to teach wherein interpolating the data input extrapolates a future event based on the interpolated data.
Smith teaches wherein interpolating the data input extrapolates a future event based on the interpolated data (Para 54: teaches conditioning raw data using temporal interpolation 140 to generate extrapolations 152 and using the resulting progression model 160 predict a future event or condition, such as a user’s fitness level six months later. It would have been obvious to modify Strein in view of Zacharias, Skrypniak and DOIDGE-HARRISON to incorporate Smith’s Extrapolation technique because doing so would permit the system to predict future data values or events from the progression of the interpolated data.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Grigor (US-20020149594-A1.): discloses a video graphic interface having graphics engines, frame buffers, pixel memory, and a mode controller for rendering and displaying video graphics in different orientations.
/LATRELL ANTHONY CREARY/Examiner, Art Unit 2613
/XIAO M WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2613