DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
in para. 0047, “a mounting portion for first biasing means 192” should likely be --a first biasing means mounting portion 192-- for clarity that reference character “192” does not refer to the first biasing means (designated “193”)
in para. 0048, “a mounting portion for second biasing means 182” should likely be --a second biasing means mounting portion 182-- for clarity that reference character “182” does not refer to the second biasing means itself
in para. 0048, “the second biasing means 183” should likely be --the second biasing means-- because it may refer to the slider torsion springs 183 and/or the slider compression spring 184.
Appropriate correction is required.
Note that the lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an electromagnetic unlocking means” in claims 14 and 18, and “a control means” in claims 15 and 18.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 3-4 of claim 10, “in a second” should be --in the second-- because a second direction is previously recited in claim 6.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6-8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the third direction" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Additionally, claim 4 requires a first direction biasing force and a first direction, but it is unclear if a second direction biasing force and second direction are required by claim 4 because the claim goes on to recite a third direction biasing force and third direction.
Claims 6-8 and 10-13 are rejected as depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dirnberger et al., US 2018/0008120 A1.
Claim 1: Dirnberger discloses door lock device, comprising:
a slider (56a) comprising a slider engagement portion (66a), the slider being configured to reciprocate in a first direction (Fig. 5, annotated below) and a second direction (Fig. 5, annotated below) opposite to the first direction between a first position and a second position ([0034]);
a locking block (72a) comprising a locking portion (Fig. 5, annotated below), the locking block being configured to be movable relative to the slider to removably engage the locking portion with the slider engagement portion ([0034]); and
a first biasing means (spring element 50a) configured to apply, to the slider during movement of the slider from the first position to the second position in the first direction (movement from Fig. 4 to Fig. 5) in a state in which the locking portion is engaged with the slider engagement portion ([0035] (“slides down the control ramp 66a”)), a first direction biasing force which actuates the slider to move in the first direction (the locking block 72a transfers a downward force from the spring 50a to the slider engagement portion 66a; Fig. 5 is annotated to illustrate the resulting force on that moves the slider).
Claim 2: Dirnberger discloses the door lock device of claim 1,
wherein the first biasing means is configured to apply the first direction biasing force to the locking block (the locking block 72a transfers a downward force from the spring 50a to the slider engagement portion 66a) such that the locking portion applies the first direction biasing force to the slider after the locking portion is engaged with the slider engagement portion ([0035] (the force is transferred to the slider engagement portion as the locking block slides down the slider engagement portion); the spring is structured to indirectly apply the first direction biasing force to the slider by the locking block transferring the force to the slider engagement portion).
Claim 3: Dirnberger discloses The door lock device of claim 2, wherein
a travel of the slider moving in the first direction comprises a third position between the first position and the second position (the slider travels through at least one position between the first position to the second position),
when the slider moves in the first direction to the third position, the locking portion is engageable with the slider engagement portion such that the first biasing means can apply the first direction biasing force to the slider (the slider moves from the first position (Fig. 4) in the first direction into a third position (between the position of Fig. 4 and Fig. 6) where the slider engagement portion comes in contact with the locking block and the locking block applies the first biasing force).
Claim 4: Dirnberger discloses the door lock device of claim 3, wherein the first biasing means is configured to apply a third direction biasing force to the locking block (Fig. 4 annotated above), the third direction biasing force drives the locking block to move relative to the slider in the third direction (in the direction of the third direction biasing force, shown above) to engage the locking portion with the slider engagement portion when the slider moves to the third position (Fig. 4 is annotated above to illustrate the location of the locking portion on the slider as it moves in the first direction).
Claim 5: Dirnberger discloses the door lock device of claim 1, wherein the first biasing means is an elastic component (the leaf spring element 50a is an elastic component).
Claim 6: Dirnberger discloses the door lock device of claim 4, further comprising:
a second biasing means (60a) configured to apply, to the slider during movement of the slider from the second position to the first position in the second direction, a second direction biasing force which causes the slider to move in the second direction ([0035]).
Claim 7: Dirnberger discloses the door lock device of claim 6, wherein the second biasing means comprises one or more elastic components (spring element 60a is an elastic component).
Claim 19: Dirnberger discloses an electrical appliance ([0001]), comprising a door lock device of claim 1 (disclosed as shown above), the door lock device being configured to open or close a door of the electrical appliance ([0010]).
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bourree, FR 2860260 A1.
Claim 1: Bouree discloses door lock device, comprising:
a slider (13) comprising a slider engagement portion (13’), the slider being configured to reciprocate in a first direction and a second direction opposite to the first direction between a first position and a second position (movement between the first position in Fig. 5 and second position in Fig. 7);
a locking block (15) comprising a locking portion (15’), the locking block being configured to be movable relative to the slider to removably engage the locking portion with the slider engagement portion (shown by movement between Fig. 7 and Fig. 8); and
a first biasing means (19) configured to apply, to the slider during movement of the slider from the first position to the second position in the first direction in a state in which the locking portion is engaged with the slider engagement portion, a first direction biasing force which actuates the slider to move in the first direction (spring 19 applies a force configured to actuate the slider to move from the position in Fig. 5 in the first direction to the position in Fig. 7 when engaged with the locking block 15).
Claim 9: Bourree discloses the door lock device of claim 1, wherein the slider engagement portion is a slider locking recess (Fig. 2 depicts the slider engagement portion 13’ structured as a slider locking recess), the locking portion being capable of entering the slider locking recess during movement of the locking block to engage the locking block with the slider (illustrated by movement between Fig. 4 and Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 1, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Su et al., CN 104420724 B.
Claim 1: Su discloses door lock device, comprising:
a slider (120) comprising a slider engagement portion (121), the slider being configured to reciprocate in a first direction and a second direction opposite to the first direction between a first position and a second position (configured to move from an open position (first position) to a closed position (second position) in a first direction, and configured to move in the opposite direction);
a locking block (180) comprising a locking portion (the ends of cam 170 correspond to a locking portion (visible in Fig. 2 between lock tongues 121, 122)), the locking block being configured to be movable relative to the slider to removably engage the locking portion with the slider engagement portion (pp. 23-24; Fig. 2 illustrates the locking portion is configured to separate from the slider engagement portion, correlating to being removably engaged); and
a first biasing means (130) configured to apply, to the slider during movement of the slider from the first position to the second position in the first direction in a state in which the locking portion is engaged with the slider engagement portion, a first direction biasing force which actuates the slider to move in the first direction (130 always applies force to slider to move in first direction, including while 170 is engaged before the slider reaches the first position).
Claim 14: Su discloses the door lock device of claim 1, further comprising:
an electromagnetic unlocking means (140) detachably connected to the locking block (the electromagnetic unlocking means is structured to be detachable from the locking block and is not integral with the locking block) and capable of driving the locking block such that the locking portion can be disengaged from the slider engagement portion (drives 170 to rotate and disengage from the slider engagement portion so the slider returns to the first position (Fig. 2)).
Claim 16: Su discloses the door lock device of claim 14, further comprising:
a door lock box ([0041]), wherein the slider, the locking block and the first biasing means are arranged in the door lock box, and the electromagnetic unlocking means is detachably connected to the door lock box ([0047] (the electromagnetic unlocking means is attached by screws and is capable of being detached by removing the screws)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al., CN 104420724 B, as applied to claim 14 above, alone.
Claim 15: Su discloses the door lock of claim 14. Su further discloses the electromagnetic unlocking means is configured to be energized and automatically drive the locking block to move ([0045-47]), but does not explicitly disclose a control means. However, a control means is well known in the art for controlling electromagnetic means. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a control means communicatively connected to the electromagnetic unlocking means to send a control signal to the electromagnetic unlocking means so as to drive the locking block to move in order to instruct the electromagnetic unlocking means and enable remote control of the door lock device for practicing the electronic device disclosed by Su with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al., CN 104420724 B, as applied to claim 1 above, alone.
Claim 18: Su discloses a door lock device, comprising:
the door lock device of claim 1 (as shown above with respect to the § 102 rejection of claim 1); and
an electromagnetic unlocking means (140) detachably connected to the locking block (the electromagnetic unlocking means is structured to be detachable from the locking block and is not integral with the locking block) and capable of driving the locking portion of the locking block such that the locking portion can be disengaged from the slider engagement portion (the electromagnetic unlocking means 140 is configured to drive the locking block to rotate which moves the locking portion out of engagement with the slider engagement portion (Fig. 2 shows the locking portion and slider engagement portion disengaged)).
Although Su further discloses an electromagnetic unlocking means configured to be automatically controlled and energized, Su is silent to a control means in particular that is configured to send a control signal to the electromagnetic unlocking means. However, a control means is well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a control means communicatively connected to the electromagnetic unlocking means to send a control signal to the electromagnetic unlocking means so as to drive the locking block to move, in order to operate the electromagnetic unlocking means and enable remote control of the door lock device to practice the device disclosed by Su with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 10-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although the references of record show some features similar to those of Applicant’s device, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the invention of claims 8, 10-13, and 17.
Regarding claim 8, Dirnberger discloses the door lock device of claim 6, wherein the first biasing means is configured to enable the first direction biasing force applied by the first biasing means to cause the locking block to overcome the second direction biasing force of the second biasing means, to actuate the slider to move in the same direction during the movement of the locking block from the first position to the second position in the first direction. The second biasing means disclosed by Dirnberger is configured to overcome the first biasing means ([0035] (“under the force of the spring element 60a. The pusher 72a thereby slides up the control ramp 66a … accompanied by lifting of the leaf spring element 50a out of contact with contact element 52a”)).
In regards to claims 10-13, the prior art fails to disclose each and every limitation of claim 8 from which the claims depend.
Regarding claim 17, Dirnberger discloses the door lock device of claim 3, however Dirnberger is silent to a pair of locking arms arranged at an end of the slider away from the slider engagement portion, the pair of locking arms configured to be switched between open and closed states to receive or release a component for applying external full force and external push force to the slider. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the slider disclosed by Dirnberger to include a pair of locking arms without use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the intended structure and operation of the device.
Su discloses the door lock device of claim 1 and further discloses a pair of locking arms, as recited in claim 17. However, Su is silent to the first biasing means configured to apply the first biasing force to the locking block such that the locking portion applies the first direction biasing force to the slider, required by claim 2 from which claim 17 depends. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the first biasing means to have the above-mentioned features without use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the intended structure and operation of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 115263096 B is related to a door lock for a household appliance comprising a pair of locking arms and a first biasing means configured to apply a force to the slider by engagement with a locking portion and an electromagnetic means detachably connected to a locking block and capable of preventing or allowing the locking block to be disengaged from a slider engagement portion.
CN 117468804 A is related to a door lock comprising a pair of locking arms operatively connected to an end of a slider and an electromagnetic unlocking means detachably connected to the slider.
WO 2015/189668 A1 is related to a door lock for an electric appliance comprising a slider and a locking block with a locking portion configured to engage the slider and configured to be biased by a biasing means.
US 2021/0108447 A1 is related to a door lock comprising a slider and a locking block and a first biasing means that is an elastic element.
US 5062668 A is related to a door lock for an electrical appliance and comprises a pair of locking arms and a slide receiving a first biasing force from an elastic element.
US 840297 A is related to a door lock comprising a slider configured as a pair of latching hooks and a locking block with a locking portion configured to removably engage a slider engagement portion, and a first biasing means configured to apply a first direction biasing force to the slider when the locking block actuates the slider.
/EGB/Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675