Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities: a. Claim 1, line 5 recites “with a device”. It should be “with the device”. Claims 9 and 15 have the same issue.
b. Claim 8, lines 1-2 recite “selecting a machine learning model”. It should be “selecting the machine learning model”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 13, 14, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 13, and 19 recite the limitation "the location of the device" in lines 3 and/or 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Referring to claims 6, 14, and 20, the last line recites, “and error correcting code being used by the device”. This is not clear because claim 1 also recites “a trained ML model to determine an error correcting code to be used for the device”. Are the two instances of “error correcting code” referring to the same error correcting code? Or different error correcting codes?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claimed "memory" (claim 15, line 2) can be reasonably interpreted to include both transitory and non-transitory embodiments. Transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
A claim drawn to such a memory that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication 2019/0181937 to Nammi (herein Nammi) in view of US Patent 11,342,937 to Gabrys et al (herein Gabrys).
Referring to claim 1, Nammi discloses a computer-implemented method (Figure 10), comprising: receiving a plurality of data associated with a device, wherein the plurality of data includes location data associated with the device; receiving environmental data; applying the plurality of data associated with a device and the environmental data to determine an error correcting code to be used for the device based on an output of the ML model (Figure 8, elements 810, 830, & 840 and paragraph [0054]); and sending the error correcting code to the device (Figure 3 and paragraph [0032]). Nammi does not explicitly disclose “as an input to a trained Machine Learning (ML) model”. However, in an analogous art directed to advanced methods of dynamic selection of ECCs in communication systems, Gabrys discloses trained Machine Learning models (see column 2, lines 29-37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the location-based ECC selection based on modeling of Nammi with the use of trained Machine Learning (ML) models of Gabrys, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of the ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of this combination would provide a predictable result of a system able to adapt selection of ECCs more dynamically and flexibly.
Referring to claim 2, Nammi in view of Gabrys discloses wherein the error correcting code is forward error correction (FEC) (Nammi, paragraph [0054]).
Referring to claim 3, Nammi in view of Gabrys further comprising determining a percentage of redundancy as a parameter of the determined error correcting code (Gabrys, column 6, lines 54-60).
Referring to claim 5, Nammi in view of Gabrys discloses wherein the environmental data includes proximity/direction to signal source (Nammi, Figure 8, element 840).
Referring to claim 6, Nammi in view of Gabrys discloses wherein the plurality of data includes time data associated with the device (Nammi, Figure 3 and paragraph [0033]).
Referring to claim 7, Nammi in view of Gabrys discloses transmitting a signal to the device and to a source device, wherein the signal causes the device and the source device to utilize the determined error correcting code during communication; and causing the device and the source device to change a percentage of redundancy to be used in association with the determined error correcting code (Gabrys, column 2, lines 29-37 & column 6, lines 54-60).
Referring to claim 8, Nammi in view of Gabrys discloses further comprising selecting a machine learning model (ML) from a plurality of ML models based on the location data (Nammi, paragraph [0035], “FEC selection model(s)”).
Referring to claims 9-11, 13-17, and 19-20, the claims recite similar limitations as found in rejected claims 1-3 and 5-8, therefore, are similarly rejected as unpatentable over Nammi in view of Gabrys.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,278,651 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of this application are encompassed within and, therefore, anticipated or obvious variants of the claims of the ‘651. Claims 1-8 of this application are mapped to the corresponding claims of the ‘651 as an example.
Claims Mapping
Claim #
This Application
Claim #
US 12,278,651 B2
1
A computer-implemented method, comprising:
1
A computer-implemented method, comprising
1
receiving a plurality of data associated with a device, wherein the plurality of data includes location data associated with the device;
1
receiving a plurality of data associated with a device, wherein the plurality of data includes a location data associated with the device;
1
receiving environmental data;
4
receiving environmental data
1
applying the plurality of data associated with a device and the environmental data as an input to a trained Machine Learning (ML) model to determine an error correcting code to be used for the device based on an output of the ML model;
14
applying the plurality of data as an input to a trained Machine Learning (ML) model to determine an error correcting code to be used for the device based on an output of the ML model;wherein the applying and the determining is further based on the environment data.
1
sending the error correcting code to the device.
1
sending the error correcting code to the device;
2
wherein the error correcting code is forward error correction (FEC)
2
wherein the error correcting code is forward error correction (FEC)
3
comprising determining a percentage of redundancy as a parameter of the determined error correcting code
3
comprising determining a percentage of redundancy as a parameter of the determined error correcting code
4
determining a transcoding to be used for the device as a parameter of the determined error correcting code; and transmitting a signal to a source device to change an already in use transcoding to the determined transcoding
1
determining a transcoding to be used for the device as a parameter of the determined error correcting code; and transmitting a signal to a source device to change an already in use transcoding to the determined transcoding
5
wherein the environmental data includes one or more of density of users within a given geographical location, load or congestion of a network, connectivity type, network type, weather, signal fade associated with the location of the device, and proximity/direction to signal source
4
receiving environmental data that includes one or more of density of users within a given geographical location, load or congestion of a network, connectivity type, network type, weather, signal fade associated with the location of the device, and proximity/direction to signal source
6
wherein the plurality of data includes one or more of device type data, time data associated with the device, speed of travel associated with the device, acceleration associated with the device, and error correcting code being used by the device
5
wherein the plurality of data includes one or more of device type data, time data associated with the device, speed of travel associated with the device, acceleration associated with the device, and error correcting code being used by the device
7
transmitting a signal to the device and to a source device, wherein the signal causes the device and the source device to utilize the determined error correcting code during communication; and causing the device and the source device to change a percentage of redundancy to be used in association with the determined error correcting code
6
transmitting a signal to the device and to a source device, wherein the signal causes the device and the source device to utilize the determined error correcting code during communication; and causing the device and the source device to change a percentage of redundancy to be used in association with the determined error correcting code
8
selecting a machine learning model (ML) from a plurality of ML models based on the location data.
7
selecting a machine learning model (ML) from a plurality of ML models based on the location data
Conclusion
Justin R. Knapp
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2112
/JUSTIN R KNAPP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2112