DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, the word “generating” should be “generates”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0178741 ("Fukuzawa").
Regarding claim 1, Fukuzawa discloses an optical sensor comprising:
a photosensitive layer (layers 1, 2, 3, Figs. 5, 18, form photosensitive layer) that [generates] a voltage when the photosensitive layer is irradiated with light (paragraphs [0010], [0097], [0099],[0122], output voltage is generated/measured);
a first electrode (15, Figs. 5, 18);
a second electrode (16, Fig. 5); and
a metal layer (50, Fig. 18, paragraph [0141]),
wherein the photosensitive layer (layers 1, 2, 3, Figs. 5, 18) is located between the first electrode (15, Figs. 5, 18) and the second electrode (16, Fig. 5),
wherein the metal layer (50, Fig. 18) is located between the first electrode (15, Fig. 18) and the photosensitive layer (layers 1, 2, 3, Fig. 18, paragraph [0139]),
wherein the metal layer (50, Fig. 18) includes one selected from a group consisting of Ti, Ta, Cr, Mo, W, and Pt (paragraph [0141]) in a case where the photosensitive layer is irradiated with light of a wavelength equal to or greater than 400 nm and equal to or less than 800 nm (paragraphs [0057], [0091],[0125], [0129], includes visible light range, which is between 400-800 nm),
wherein the metal layer (50, Fig. 18) includes one selected from a group consisting of Ti, Cr, Mo, W, and Pt (paragraph [0141]) in a case where the photosensitive layer is irradiated with light of a wavelength equal to or greater than 400 nm and equal to or less than 1400 nm (applied light is 520 nm, paragraphs [0125]-[0126], Fig. 14), and
wherein the metal layer (50, Fig. 18) includes one selected from a group consisting of Ti, Cr, W, and Pt (paragraph [0141]) in a case where the photosensitive layer is irradiated with light of a wavelength equal to or greater than 400 nm and equal to or less than 1500 nm (see Fig. 13, paragraphs [0125]-[0126]).
Fukuzawa does not explicitly disclose three separate cases of metal layer material and wavelength of light. However, lacking criticality of the specific metal material and the corresponding wavelength of light irradiated on the photosensitive layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include any particular metal layer that works with all wavelengths from visible light to near-infrared, or only specific wavelengths, as disclosed by Fukuzawa in order to create a strong spin-orbit interaction effect.
Regarding claim 2, Fukuzawa discloses the optical sensor according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode (15, Figs. 5, 18) is a transparent electrode (paragraph [0091]).
Regarding claim 3, Fukuzawa discloses the optical sensor according to claim 1, wherein the photosensitive layer (1, 2, 3, Fig. 5, 18) includes a first ferromagnetic layer (1, Fig. 5, 18, paragraph [0070]), a second ferromagnetic layer (2, Fig. 5, 18, paragraph [0077]), and a spacer layer (3, Figs. 5, 18, paragraph [0081]) which is located between the first ferromagnetic layer (1, Figs. 5, 18) and the second ferromagnetic layer (2, Figs. 5, 18).
Regarding claim 5. Fukuzawa discloses the optical sensor according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the metal layer is equal to or greater than 100 A and equal to or less than 1000 A (paragraph [0141], thickness of wiring layer 50 can be equal to 10nm, which is 100 A).
Regarding claim 6, Fukuzawa discloses a receiver device (paragraphs [0009], [0027]) comprising the optical sensor according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Fukuzawa discloses a transceiver device (paragraphs [0021], [0027]) comprising the receiver device according to claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, Fukuzawa discloses a communication system comprising the receiver device according to claim 6 (paragraphs [0022], [0027]).
Regarding claim 9, Fukuzawa discloses a terminal device comprising the receiver device according to claim 6 (paragraphs [0023], [0027]).
Regarding claim 10, Fukuzawa discloses an optical system comprising the optical sensor according to claim 1 (paragraphs [0024], [0027]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzawa in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0020842 ("Ishida").
Regarding claim 4, Fukuzawa discloses the optical sensor according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose that a thermal conductivity of the metal layer is equal to or less than 60 W/mK.
However, Ishida discloses that a thermal conductivity of the metal layer is equal to or less than 60 W/mK (paragraph [0060]).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to choose a thermal conductivity as desired for a particular application in order to, for example, diffuse heat generated in the integrated circuit, or ensure a heat transfer coefficient that creates a strong spin-orbit interaction effect.
Conclusion
/MONICA T TABA/Examiner, Art Unit 2878