DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deckler (U.S. Patent No. 5,058,766).
Regarding Claim 1, Deckler discloses a seed orientation system for an agricultural planter comprising:
A row unit (Deckler: Column 1: lines 12-15) having an opener (Deckler: 19) configured to open a seed furrow in a soil surface as the agricultural planter advances in a forward direction of travel through a field;
A seed meter (Deckler: 22) configured to discharge singulated seeds; and
A curved pathway (Deckler: 23) configured to receive the singulated seeds from the seed meter (Deckler: 22), the curved pathway (Deckler: 23) comprising:
A seed riding surface (Deckler: bottom face of 23) configured to engage a face of the seed; and
A seed guide wall (Deckler: side wall of 23) that adjoins to said seed riding surface (Deckler: bottom face of 23) and is configured to engage a side of the seed when the seed is traversing said curved pathway (Deckler: 23) along said seed riding surface (Deckler: bottom face of 23).
Regarding Claim 2, Deckler discloses the seed orientation system of claim 1, wherein the seed riding surface (Deckler: bottom face of 23) is angled radially outward (away from 11) so as to direct the seed to an intersection area (Deckler: either corner of bottom face and a side face of 23) where the seed guide wall (Deckler: side wall of 23) adjoins to the seed riding surface (Deckler: bottom face of 23).
Regarding Claim 3, Deckler discloses the orientation system of claim 1 further comprising a sub-furrow opener (Deckler: 21) disposed adjacent to an exit of the curved pathway (Deckler: 23), the sub-furrow opener (Deckler: 21) configured to form a wedge-shaped sub-furrow within the seed furrow.
Regarding Claim 4, Deckler discloses the orientation system of claim 1 further comprising a seed transfer tube (Deckler: 48) between the seed meter (Deckler: 22) and the curved pathway (Deckler: 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deckler in view of Schoeny (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0310468).
Regarding Claim 5, Deckler discloses the seed orientation system of claim 1 but does not disclose further comprising an incoming air feed delivering pressurized air into the curved pathway (Deckler: 23).
Schoeny discloses an incoming air feed to deliver pressurized air into a seed meter and seed delivery system that, in combination with the invention of Deckler, would feed pressurized air into the curved pathway (Schoeny: Paragraph [0002]).
It would have been obvious to incorporate the air flow system of Schoeny into the invention of Deckler with the well known and predictable effect of using air pressure to convey seeds along a flow path, defined at least in part by a seed delivery chute, to their destination in the seed furrow.
Regarding Claim 6, Deckler and Schoeny render obvious the seed orientation system of claim 5, wherein the pressurized air is directed parallel along the curved pathway (Deckler: 23)(pressurized air flow in a flow path including a seed delivery chute would necessarily have the pressurized air flow being parallel to the pathway).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20150216107 (seed tube is cylindrical), US 20140182495 (seed tube is cylindrical), US 20240373780 (common ownership), US 20190216006 (air pressure used to retain seeds in meter), US 20190274243 (generalized air pressure uses in a planter).
DOUGLAS S. WOOD
Examiner
Art Unit 3672
/DOUGLAS S WOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
/Nicole Coy/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672