DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Currently no claims are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 (and thereby dependent claim 17) recites the limitation "the passive seal" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the passive seal" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11-13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Dehdashtian (US 2007/0112422).
Dehdashtian discloses (see Figs. 1-6B and 10-15) a valve delivery system comprising the following claim limitations:
(claim 1) A system for delivery of a prosthetic heart valve to a beating heart (see claim 1; [0010]; [0014]; [0090]), comprising: a delivery catheter (54, Fig. 5) having a proximal control handle (158, Fig. 5) in which a proximal end (i.e., proximal end of tube 156 in Fig. 10) of a balloon deflection tube (156, Figs. 5-6B and 10-11) is held and which extends distally therefrom (as shown in Figs. 5-6B and 10-11), an expandable heart valve (50, Fig. 12) crimped on a distal balloon (52) of the balloon deflection tube (156) just distal to a deflectable portion (164) of the balloon deflection tube (156) (as expressly shown in Figs. 10-12; [0078]; [0080]-[0081]), wherein the control handle (158) further has an actuator (i.e., ribbed handle body 240, Figs. 5, 6A-6B and 10) on an exterior thereof for moving a tubular pusher body (160, Fig. 5) axially (as expressly shown in Figs. 5, 6A-6B and 10; [0077]-[0078]; [0091]; actuated sliding expressly disclosed), the pusher body (160) arranged to slide concentrically over the balloon deflection tube (156) and having a proximal end terminating within the control handle (158) (as expressly shown in Figs. 10-12; [0077]-[0078]), the pusher body (160) extending distally from the control handle (158) to a distal pusher sleeve (162, Fig. 11) which engages and is configured to (i.e., capable of) push a proximal end of the balloon (52) (as shown in Fig. 14; [0078]; [0083]; [0089]), wherein the actuator (240) is affixed to and enables proximal retraction of the pusher body (160) to disengage the pusher sleeve (162) from the proximal end of the balloon (52) (as expressly shown in Figs. 5-6B and 10-12; [0078]; [0091]; proximal retraction expressly disclosed), the control handle (158) further enclosing a passive seal (252, Fig. 10) that moves with the pusher body (160) and seals against blood leakage between the balloon deflection tube (156) and the pusher body (160) without preventing relative sliding movement therebetween ([0077]; ring-shaped seal 252 expressly provides a fluid seal between the defection tube 156 and the pusher tube 160 while allowing for axial sliding therebetween when the compression connection 244 is not fixed);
(claim 2) wherein the pusher sleeve (162) is an outwardly flared distal end of the pusher body (160) (as expressly shown in Figs. 5-6B and 10-11; [0078]; [0089]);
(claim 11) further including: an introducer (100, Fig. 4A) that receives the delivery catheter (54) (as shown in Figs. 3B-3D) therethrough and has an elongated tubular sheath (70, Fig. 4A) extending distally from a proximal housing (102, Fig. 4A) containing at least one introducer valve (106/110/112, Fig. 4B) for fluidly sealing around devices passed therethrough ([0062]; valves providing seal expressly disclosed), the introducer (100) having a length sufficient to extend from outside a patient through an intercostal incision (20, Fig. 1) and into the left ventricle of the patient (as shown in Figs. 1-3E; see claim 9; [0014]; [0022]; [0041]), and wherein the delivery catheter (54) has a fluoroscopically-visible marker located proximal to the heart valve (50) crimped on the balloon (52) ([0056]; markers disposed adjacent the proximal end of the balloon 52 on both the valve 50 and balloon catheter 54 expressly disclosed), and the introducer sheath (70) has a fluoroscopically-visible marker on a distal tip thereof distinguishable from the marker of the delivery catheter (54) ([0054]-[0055]; markers on the distal end of introducer sheath 70 expressly disclosed);
(claim 12) A system for delivery of a prosthetic heart valve to a beating heart (see claim 1; [0010]; [0014]; [0090]), comprising: a delivery catheter (54, Fig. 5) having a proximal control handle (158, Fig. 5) in which a proximal end (i.e., proximal end of tube 156 in Fig. 10) of a balloon tube (156, Figs. 5-6B and 10-11) is held and which extends distally therefrom (as shown in Figs. 5-6B and 10-11), an expandable heart (50, Fig. 12) valve crimped on a distal balloon (52) of the balloon tube (156), wherein the control handle (158) further has an actuator (i.e., ribbed handle body 240, Figs. 5, 6A-6B and 10) on an exterior thereof for moving a tubular pusher body (160, Fig. 5) axially (as expressly shown in Figs. 5, 6A-6B and 10; [0077]-[0078]; [0091]; actuated sliding expressly disclosed), the pusher body (160) arranged to slide concentrically over the balloon tube (156) and having a proximal end terminating within the control handle (158) (as expressly shown in Figs. 10-12; [0077]-[0078]), the pusher body (160) extending distally from the control handle (158) to a distal pusher sleeve (162, Fig. 11) which engages and is configured to (i.e., capable of) push a proximal end of the balloon (52) (as shown in Fig. 14; [0078]; [0083]; [0089]), wherein the actuator (240) is affixed to and enables proximal retraction of the pusher body (160) to disengage the pusher sleeve (162) from the proximal end of the balloon (52) (as expressly shown in Figs. 5-6B and 10-12; [0078]; [0091]; proximal retraction expressly disclosed), the control handle (158) further enclosing at least one O-ring (252, Fig. 10) that moves with the pusher body (160) and seals around the balloon tube (156) and prevents blood leakage between the balloon tube (156) and the pusher body (160) without preventing relative sliding movement therebetween ([0077]; ring-shaped seal 252 expressly provides a fluid seal between the defection tube 156 and the pusher tube 160 while allowing for axial sliding therebetween when the compression connection 244 is not fixed); and
(claim 13) wherein the pusher sleeve (162) is an outwardly flared distal end of the pusher body (160) (as expressly shown in Figs. 5-6B and 10-11; [0078]; [0089]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 5-6 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dehdashtian as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 5,059,186).
Dehdashtian discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the passive seal comprising an annular polymer washer disposed therebetween a pair of adjacent O-rings/seals.
Yamamoto teaches the use of a washer (140) disposed between two o-rings/seals (138,145) for helping to prevent distortion of the seals/valves during assembly or adjustment (Fig. 16; col. 11, lines 27-52). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Dehdashtian to include a washer disposed between adjacent o-rings/seals in order to beneficially assist in preventing distortion of adjacent seals or valves during assembly or adjustment, as taught by Yamamoto.
Yamamoto discloses its seals to comprise resilient polymer material (see claims 2-3; 11 and 13-14; col. 5, lines 31-41; col. 6, line 60-col. 7, line 2), but fails to expressly discloses the annular washer being composed of a polymer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the washer from a polymer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 8,439,970. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader variants of the claims of the patent and this anticipate the claims of the patent, as set forth below. See MPEP 2131.02(I).
Present Invention
U.S. Pat. No. 8,439,970
1
2,12
12
2,12
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 7-10, 14-15 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771