DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “cycle gas discharge line to the feed line”, “cycle gas discharge line to a discharge zone”, “means for liquefying”, and “separator vessel” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 13-14: “the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity” should read “the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity”
Claim 7, line 3: “the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity” should read “the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity”
Claim 8, lines 1-2: “the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity” should read “the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity”
Claim 9, lines 3-4: “the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity” should read “the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity”
Claim 10, line 3: “to the liquefaction thereof” should read “to the liquefaction of the hydrogen gas”
Claim 10, lines 3-4: “and in that the plant” should read “and the plant”
Claim 10, line 4: “the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity” should read “the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity”
Claim 10, line 5: “the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity” should read “the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity”
Claim 11, line 7: “the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity” should read “the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity”
Claim 12, lines 2-3: “and in that the means” should read “and the means”
Claim 13, line 1: “a plant” should read “the plant”
Claim 13, line 5: “the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity” should read “the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity”
Claim 14, line 3: “hydrogen production capacity per hydrogen gas generator” should read “hydrogen production capacity per the hydrogen gas generator”
Claim 14, lines 3-4: “historical hydrogen production capacity per hydrogen gas generator” should read “historical hydrogen production capacity per the hydrogen gas generator”
Claim 15, lines 1-2: “the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity” should read “the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity”
Claim 15, lines 2-3: “the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity” should read “the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity”
Claim 16, line 6: “of gas” should read “of the cycle gas”
Claim 17, lines 3-4: “the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity” should read “the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity”
Claims 2-13 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claims 14-17 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 13.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 11, lines 2-3: “means for storing and processing data comprising a microprocessor”
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
The following limitations use “means” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C 112(f):
Claim 1, line 12: “means for determining the fill level…” draws corresponding structure to the following recitation of the present specification, “The means 3 for determining the fill level of the buffer store 9 may for example comprise a pressure sensor measuring the pressure in the buffer store 9 (Pg. 6, lines 17-18)” and/or “For example, the means for determining the fill level of the buffer store 9 may comprise a programmable electronic means 4 for storing and processing data comprising a microprocessor (Pg. 10, lines 10-11)”, or equivalents thereof.
Claim 8, line 4: “means for liquefying” which does not correspond to any defining structure in the present specification, see 112(a) and 112(b) rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Line 4 recites, “means for liquefying” which is interpreted herein under 35 U.S.C 112(f) but does not correspond to any structure in the present disclosure that describes the components of the means for liquefying. The closet recitation to describe the means for liquefying is, “For example, the plant can be configured to reduce the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier 7 by reducing the flow rate and/or the quantity of cycle gas in the cycle circuit 18. This can for example be achieved via at least one of the following: a cycle gas discharge line to the feed line 6, a cycle gas discharge line to a discharge zone, a means for liquefying at least a portion of the cycle gas in the cycle circuit 18 (Pg. 8, lines 9-13)”, however, this is further recitation of the function of the means for liquefying and not the components that define the means for liquefying. See 112(b) rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation following the phrase “for example” to be optional limitations of the claims and therefore, not required.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the cooling power" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the cooling power” in line 8 to “a cooling power”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the compressed hydrogen gas" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the compressed hydrogen gas” in line 9 to “a compressed hydrogen gas”.
Claim 1, line 10 recites, “a cooling power” which is unclear to the Examiner as to how the cooling power of line 10 relates to the previously claimed cooling power of line 8. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the cooling powers of lines 8 and 10 to be the same cooling power. The Examiner recommends changing “a cooling power” in line 10 to “the cooling power”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the liquefaction capacity" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the liquefaction capacity” in line 11 to “a liquefaction capacity”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the fill level" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the fill level” in line 12 to “a fill level”.
Claim 1, lines 13-18 recite, “wherein the plant is configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier as a function of the fill level of the buffer store determined by the means for determining the fill level, wherein the plant is further configured to modify the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity of the liquefier as a function of the fill level of the buffer store determined by the means for determining after a given delay” which is unclear to the Examiner as the recitation of lines 16-18 appears to be mostly duplicative of the recitation of lines 13-15 only additionally including “after a given delay” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if the plant is to be configured to modify the cooling power after a given delay or without a given delay. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitations of lines 16-18, which include the delay, to be optional limitations of the claims and therefore, not required. The Examiner recommends amending the claims to consolidate the two limitations into a single limitation that clearly includes a delay if one is required by the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the fill levels of the predefined buffer store" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the fill levels of the predefined buffer store” in line 11 to “the plurality of predefined fill levels of the buffer store” which is given proper antecedent basis in lines 2-3 of claim 2.
Claim 3, lines 1-3 recite, “wherein the plant is configured to relatively reduce the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity of the liquefier when the fill level of the buffer store decreases” which is unclear to the Examiner as to what the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity is reduced relative to (i.e., relative to an initial cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity, relative to an amount the fill level of the buffer store decreases, etc.). For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity to be reduced relative to an amount the fill level of the buffer store decreases. The Examiner recommends making clarifying amendments to specify what the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity is reduced relative to.
Claim 4, lines 1-3 recite, “wherein the plant is configured to relatively increase the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity of the liquefier when the fill level of the buffer store increases” which is unclear to the Examiner as to what the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity is increased relative to (i.e., relative to an initial cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity, relative to an amount the fill level of the buffer store decreases, etc.). For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity to be increased relative to an amount the fill level of the buffer store increases. The Examiner recommends making clarifying amendments to specify what the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity is increased relative to.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the pressure sensor" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the pressure sensor” in line 2 to “a pressure sensor”.
Claim 7, lines 1-2 recite, “the liquefier comprises a refrigerator with a cycle circuit” which is unclear to the Examiner how the refrigerator and cycle circuit of the liquefier of claim 7 relates to the previously claimed refrigerator and cycle circuit of claim 1 from which claim 7 depends. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the refrigerator and cycle circuit of claim 1 to be the same components as the refrigerator and cycle circuit of claim 7. The Examiner recommends making amendment to clarify the relationship of said components.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the flow rate" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the flow rate” in line 4 to “a flow rate”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the flow rate" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the flow rate” in line 2 to “a flow rate”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the quantity of cycle gas" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the quantity of cycle gas” in lines 2-3 to “the quantity of cycle gas”.
Claim limitation “means for liquefying” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No corresponding structure is provided in the present disclosure to define the components of the means for liquefying. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the means for liquefying to include heat exchangers, refrigeration cycles, cryogenic refrigerators, and functional equivalents thereof. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 9, lines 1-2 recite, “the liquefier comprises a refrigerator with a cycle circuit” which is unclear to the Examiner how the refrigerator and cycle circuit of the liquefier of claim 9 relates to the previously claimed refrigerator and cycle circuit of claim 1 from which claim 9 depends. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the refrigerator and cycle circuit of claim 1 to be the same components as the refrigerator and cycle circuit of claim 9. The Examiner recommends making amendment to clarify the relationship of said components.
Claim 10, lines 1-2 recite, “wherein the liquefier comprises several independent refrigerators with a cycle circuit” which is unclear to the Examiner how several independent refrigerators and cycle circuit of the liquefier of claim 10 relates to the previously claimed refrigerator and cycle circuit of claim 1 from which claim 10 depends. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the several independent refrigerators and cycle circuit of claim 1 to be the same components as the refrigerator and cycle circuit of claim 10. The Examiner recommends making amendment to clarify the relationship of said components.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the respective cooling power" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the respective cooling power” in line 2 to “a respective cooling power”.
Claim 10, line 3 recites, “a view to the liquefaction thereof” which is unclear to the Examiner how a “view to the liquefaction” relates to cooling of the hydrogen gas. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret “a view to the liquefaction thereof” to simply require the several independent refrigerators to provide cooling for liquefaction of the hydrogen gas. The Examiner recommends making amendments to clarify what is meant by “a view to the liquefaction thereof”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the various refrigerators" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the various refrigerators” in lines 5-6 to “various refrigerators of the several independent refrigerators”.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation following the phrase “for example” to be optional limitations of the claims and therefore, not required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the determining means" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the determining means” in line 8 to “the means for determining” which is given proper antecedent basis in claim 1 from which claim 11 depends. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the means for determining and the determining means to be the same components.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation following the phrase “for example” to be optional limitations of the claims and therefore, not required
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the future fill level" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the future fill level” in line 4 to “a future fill level”.
Claim 15, lines 1-3 recite, “wherein the step of regulating the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier comprises a modification of the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity” which is unclear to the Examiner as to how the medication of claim 15 relates to the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity that can be modified between at least two levels of claim 1 from which claim 15 depends. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the modification of claim 15 and the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity that can be modified between at least two levels to be the same modifications. The Examiner recommends making amendments to clarify the relationship between the modifications of claim 1 and 15.
Claim 15, lines 1-6 recite, “wherein the step of regulating the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier comprises a modification of the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier which is performed in response to a change in the fill level of the buffer store, the modification of the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity being carried out concomitantly and/or before and/or after the change in the determined fill level of the buffer store” which is unclear to the Examiner as claim 15 recites, “a modification of the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier which is performed in response to a change in the fill level of the buffer store” which implies the modification happens after the change in the fill level but the claim further recites, “the modification of the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity being carried out concomitantly and/or before and/or after the change in the determined fill level of the buffer store” which is contradictory as it suggests the modification could also happen concomitantly or before the change in the fill level of the buffer store. For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret claim 15 to require the modification to happen concomitantly and/or before and/or after the change in the determined fill level of the buffer store. The Examiner recommends making amendments to clarify when the modification occurs.
Claim 16, lines 1-2 recite, “wherein the liquefier comprises a refrigerator having a cycle circuit” which is unclear to the Examiner how the refrigerator and cycle circuit of the liquefier of claim 16 relates to the previously claimed refrigerator and cycle circuit of claim 1 from which claim 16 depends. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the refrigerator and cycle circuit of claim 1 to be the same components as the refrigerator and cycle circuit of claim 16. The Examiner recommends making amendment to clarify the relationship of said components.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the flow rate and/or the quantity…" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the flow rate and/or the quantity…" in line 4 to “a flow rate and/or a quantity…”.
Regarding claim 16, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation following the phrase “for example” to be optional limitations of the claims and therefore, not required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the pressure of the compression" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the pressure of the compression " in line 7 to “a pressure of the compression”.
Regarding claim 17, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation following the phrase “for example” to be optional limitations of the claims and therefore, not required.
Claims 2-13 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claims 14-17 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 11-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Espie et al. (US 2024/0211980), hereinafter Espie in view of Zhao et al. (CN 107779906), hereinafter Zhao.
Regarding claim 1, Espie discloses a plant for producing liquefied hydrogen the plant (Fig. 1, hydrogen liquefier 32; Pg. 3, paragraph 41, The industrial gas production facility 10 comprises a hydrogen production plant 20, a hydrogen storage unit 30, a hydrogen liquefier 32, an Air Separation Unit (ASU) 40, an ammonia synthesis plant 50 and an ammonia storage unit 60. The hydrogen liquefier 32 is connected to an external supply chain S1 for onward distribution of liquid hydrogen) comprising:
a hydrogen gas generator, for example an electrolyzer, configured to produce hydrogen gas (Fig. 1, hydrogen production plant 20; Pg. 3, paragraph 44, The hydrogen production plant 20 is operable to electrolyse water to form hydrogen and oxygen),
a liquefier (Fig. 1, hydrogen liquefier 32),
a feed line connecting a hydrogen gas outlet of the hydrogen gas generator to an inlet of the liquefier (See annotated Fig. 1 of Espie below, feed line A connects a hydrogen gas outlet B of the hydrogen production plant 20 to an inlet C of the hydrogen liquefier 32),
wherein the liquefier further comprises a refrigerator having a cycle circuit configured to supply the cooling power and cool the hydrogen gas from the feed line (Pg. 4, paragraph 71, Typically, hydrogen liquefaction involves some degree of initial compression using a compression system, followed by cryogenic cooling using one or more heat exchangers to around 30K. An expansion step may then take place in an expander. The gas is then passed through a separator before being stored or transferred to the onward supply network S1),
a buffer store configured to store the compressed hydrogen gas between the hydrogen gas generator and the liquefier, the liquefier being configured to supply a cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity that can be modified between at least two levels (Fig. 1, Hydrogen Storage Unit 30; Pg. 4, paragraph 64, Hydrogen may be stored in the hydrogen storage unit 30. The storage unit 30 may comprise of a plurality of short-term and longer-term storage options with different sizes, filling/discharge rates, and roundtrip efficiencies; Pg. 4, paragraph 67, Hydrogen storage 30 is in general required as a buffer in view of the variability of renewable power. If, for example, the renewable power availability is low (e.g., during hours of darkness or low wind), then it may not be possible to run the electrolysers of the hydrogen production plant 20 at full capacity or potentially at all. In order to maintain a flow of hydrogen to downstream processes, stored hydrogen can be mobilized; Further, the liquefier of the hydrogen liquefier 32 has the same structure as the claimed liquefier and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed),
a means for determining the fill level of the buffer store (Fig. 3, facility control system 200, master capacity controller 210, capacity monitors 32C; Pg. 7-8, paragraph 126-127, Further, the facility control system 200 comprises capacity monitors 32C, 5OC for the hydrogen storage 32 and ammonia storage 50 respectively, and load controllers 22C, 24C, 26C, 28C, 40C and SOC for the electrolysers 22, LP compressor(s) 24, MP compressor(s) 26P, purification stages 28P, ASU 40 and ammonia production plant 50 respectively. The master facility controller 210 may, in embodiments, be operable to measure and control the necessary systems and output process data from each element of the industrial gas production facility 10; Pg. 9, paragraph 153-154, For the hydrogen storage load controller 32C, the pressure and flow of compressed hydrogen from electrolyser and compression system to the storage system may be monitored, as well as the storage pressure, and pressure and flow of compressed hydrogen gas to the ammonia plant 50 may be monitored and controlled. This data may include maximum storage pressure and/or storage pressure ramp variables; for example, maximum and minimum constraints on rate of change, i.e., how quickly flow and/or pressure can be increased and how quickly it can be reduced. Real-time tracking of the hydrogen storage unit 30 may be based on measurement and control of variables such as: storage system pressure and temperature, SP, ST; hydrogen compressor pressure and flow, HCP, HCF. The load controller 32C may comprise one or more PID controllers operable to maintain particular set point values within the system as required).
However, Espie does not explicitly disclose wherein the plant is configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier as a function of the fill level of the buffer store determined by the means for determining the fill level.
Zhao teaches wherein the plant is configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier as a function of the fill level of the buffer store determined by the means for determining the fill level (Paragraph 51, Furthermore, since wind power is intermittent and uncontrollable, generating electricity only when there is wind, the system may include a central control unit, which may include at least one microprocessor, temperature sensor, and pressure sensor, for controlling at least one of the wind power generation equipment, hydrogen production equipment, compression equipment, and cryogenic equipment… Furthermore, when the central control unit includes a microprocessor and a temperature sensor, the temperature sensor detects the temperature of the hydrogen in real time and feeds the detected temperature back to the microprocessor. The microprocessor controls the cryogenic equipment based on the temperature to control the hydrogen temperature in real time and achieve the preset hydrogen temperature value (e.g., 65K and/or 33K). When the central control unit includes a microprocessor and a pressure sensor, the pressure sensor can detect the degree of hydrogen compression (pressure value) in real time and feed this back to the processor, which then controls the working state of the compression device. When the central control device includes a microprocessor, a temperature sensor, and a pressure sensor, its control mechanism is similar to that of the aforementioned embodiments, and will not be repeated here for the sake of simplicity; Further, the teaching of Zhao at least imply wherein the plant is configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier as a function of the fill level of the buffer store determined by the means for determining the fill level since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01); As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Espie fails to teach wherein the plant is configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier as a function of the fill level of the buffer store determined by the means for determining the fill level, however Zhao teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen liquefaction to include wherein the plant is configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier as a function of the fill level of the buffer store determined by the means for determining the fill level. This is strong evidence that modifying Espie as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. improving energy efficiencies of the plant). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Espie by Zhao and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of improving energy efficiencies of the plant.
Annotated Fig. 1 of Espie
Regarding claim 2, Espie as modified discloses the plant as claimed in Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the means for determining the fill level of the buffer store is configured to determine the fill level of the buffer store from a plurality of predefined fill levels, and wherein the plant is configured to establish the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity of the liquefier at specific levels corresponding respectively to the fill levels of the predefined buffer store (Espie, Pg. 4, paragraph 67, Hydrogen storage 30 is in general required as a buffer in view of the variability of renewable power. If, for example, the renewable power availability is low (e.g., during hours of darkness or low wind), then it may not be possible to run the electrolysers of the hydrogen production plant 20 at full capacity or potentially at all. In order to maintain a flow of hydrogen to downstream processes, stored hydrogen can be mobilized; Pg. 9, paragraph 153-154, For the hydrogen storage load controller 32C, the pressure and flow of compressed hydrogen from electrolyser and compression system to the storage system may be monitored, as well as the storage pressure, and pressure and flow of compressed hydrogen gas to the ammonia plant 50 may be monitored and controlled. This data may include maximum storage pressure and/or storage pressure ramp variables; for example, maximum and minimum constraints on rate of change, i.e., how quickly flow and/or pressure can be increased and how quickly it can be reduced. Real-time tracking of the hydrogen storage unit 30 may be based on measurement and control of variables such as: storage system pressure and temperature, SP, ST; hydrogen compressor pressure and flow, HCP, HCF. The load controller 32C may comprise one or more PID controllers operable to maintain particular set point values within the system as required; Zhao, Paragraph 51, Furthermore, since wind power is intermittent and uncontrollable, generating electricity only when there is wind, the system may include a central control unit, which may include at least one microprocessor, temperature sensor, and pressure sensor, for controlling at least one of the wind power generation equipment, hydrogen production equipment, compression equipment, and cryogenic equipment… Furthermore, when the central control unit includes a microprocessor and a temperature sensor, the temperature sensor detects the temperature of the hydrogen in real time and feeds the detected temperature back to the microprocessor. The microprocessor controls the cryogenic equipment based on the temperature to control the hydrogen temperature in real time and achieve the preset hydrogen temperature value (e.g., 65K and/or 33K). When the central control unit includes a microprocessor and a pressure sensor, the pressure sensor can detect the degree of hydrogen compression (pressure value) in real time and feed this back to the processor, which then controls the working state of the compression device. When the central control device includes a microprocessor, a temperature sensor, and a pressure sensor, its control mechanism is similar to that of the aforementioned embodiments, and will not be repeated here for the sake of simplicity; Further, the teachings of Espie as modified at least imply coordination between the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity and the fill level of the hydrogen storage since it has been held it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01); Moreover, the plant of Espie as modified has the same structure as the claimed plant and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed). Further, the limitations of claim 2 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Espie as modified discloses the plant as claimed in Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the plant is configured to relatively reduce the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity of the liquefier when the fill level of the buffer store decreases (Espie, Pg. 4, paragraph 67, Hydrogen storage 30 is in general required as a buffer in view of the variability of renewable power. If, for example, the renewable power availability is low (e.g., during hours of darkness or low wind), then it may not be possible to run the electrolysers of the hydrogen production plant 20 at full capacity or potentially at all. In order to maintain a flow of hydrogen to downstream processes, stored hydrogen can be mobilized; Pg. 9, paragraph 153-154, For the hydrogen storage load controller 32C, the pressure and flow of compressed hydrogen from electrolyser and compression system to the storage system may be monitored, as well as the storage pressure, and pressure and flow of compressed hydrogen gas to the ammonia plant 50 may be monitored and controlled. This data may include maximum storage pressure and/or storage pressure ramp variables; for example, maximum and minimum constraints on rate of change, i.e., how quickly flow and/or pressure can be increased and how quickly it can be reduced. Real-time tracking of the hydrogen storage unit 30 may be based on measurement and control of variables such as: storage system pressure and temperature, SP, ST; hydrogen compressor pressure and flow, HCP, HCF. The load controller 32C may comprise one or more PID controllers operable to maintain particular set point values within the system as required; Zhao, Paragraph 51, Furthermore, since wind power is intermittent and uncontrollable, generating electricity only when there is wind, the system may include a central control unit, which may include at least one microprocessor, temperature sensor, and pressure sensor, for controlling at least one of the wind power generation equipment, hydrogen production equipment, compression equipment, and cryogenic equipment… Furthermore, when the central control unit includes a microprocessor and a temperature sensor, the temperature sensor detects the temperature of the hydrogen in real time and feeds the detected temperature back to the microprocessor. The microprocessor controls the cryogenic equipment based on the temperature to control the hydrogen temperature in real time and achieve the preset hydrogen temperature value (e.g., 65K and/or 33K). When the central control unit includes a microprocessor and a pressure sensor, the pressure sensor can detect the degree of hydrogen compression (pressure value) in real time and feed this back to the processor, which then controls the working state of the compression device. When the central control device includes a microprocessor, a temperature sensor, and a pressure sensor, its control mechanism is similar to that of the aforementioned embodiments, and will not be repeated here for the sake of simplicity; Further, the teachings of Espie as modified at least imply coordination between the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity and the fill level of the hydrogen storage to result in reducing the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity when the fill level of the buffer store decreases since it has been held it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01); Moreover, the plant of Espie as modified has the same structure as the claimed plant and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above). Further, the limitations of claim 3 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Espie as modified discloses the plant as claimed in Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the plant is configured to relatively increase the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity of the liquefier when the fill level of the buffer store increases (Espie, Pg. 4, paragraph 67, Hydrogen storage 30 is in general required as a buffer in view of the variability of renewable power. If, for example, the renewable power availability is low (e.g., during hours of darkness or low wind), then it may not be possible to run the electrolysers of the hydrogen production plant 20 at full capacity or potentially at all. In order to maintain a flow of hydrogen to downstream processes, stored hydrogen can be mobilized; Pg. 9, paragraph 153-154, For the hydrogen storage load controller 32C, the pressure and flow of compressed hydrogen from electrolyser and compression system to the storage system may be monitored, as well as the storage pressure, and pressure and flow of compressed hydrogen gas to the ammonia plant 50 may be monitored and controlled. This data may include maximum storage pressure and/or storage pressure ramp variables; for example, maximum and minimum constraints on rate of change, i.e., how quickly flow and/or pressure can be increased and how quickly it can be reduced. Real-time tracking of the hydrogen storage unit 30 may be based on measurement and control of variables such as: storage system pressure and temperature, SP, ST; hydrogen compressor pressure and flow, HCP, HCF. The load controller 32C may comprise one or more PID controllers operable to maintain particular set point values within the system as required; Zhao, Paragraph 51, Furthermore, since wind power is intermittent and uncontrollable, generating electricity only when there is wind, the system may include a central control unit, which may include at least one microprocessor, temperature sensor, and pressure sensor, for controlling at least one of the wind power generation equipment, hydrogen production equipment, compression equipment, and cryogenic equipment… Furthermore, when the central control unit includes a microprocessor and a temperature sensor, the temperature sensor detects the temperature of the hydrogen in real time and feeds the detected temperature back to the microprocessor. The microprocessor controls the cryogenic equipment based on the temperature to control the hydrogen temperature in real time and achieve the preset hydrogen temperature value (e.g., 65K and/or 33K). When the central control unit includes a microprocessor and a pressure sensor, the pressure sensor can detect the degree of hydrogen compression (pressure value) in real time and feed this back to the processor, which then controls the working state of the compression device. When the central control device includes a microprocessor, a temperature sensor, and a pressure sensor, its control mechanism is similar to that of the aforementioned embodiments, and will not be repeated here for the sake of simplicity; Further, the teachings of Espie as modified at least imply coordination between the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity and the fill level of the hydrogen storage to result in increasing the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity when the fill level of the buffer store increases since it has been held it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01); Moreover, the plant of Espie as modified has the same structure as the claimed plant and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above). Further, the limitations of claim 4 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Espie as modified discloses the plant as claimed in Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the means for determining the fill level of the buffer store comprises a pressure sensor (Espie, Fig. 3, capacity monitor 32C; Pg. 9, paragraph 153-154, For the hydrogen storage load controller 32C, the pressure and flow of compressed hydrogen from electrolyser and compression system to the storage system may be monitored, as well as the storage pressure, and pressure and flow of compressed hydrogen gas to the ammonia plant 50 may be monitored and controlled. This data may include maximum storage pressure and/or storage pressure ramp variables; for example, maximum and minimum constraints on rate of change, i.e., how quickly flow and/or pressure can be increased and how quickly it can be reduced. Real-time tracking of the hydrogen storage unit 30 may be based on measurement and control of variables such as: storage system pressure and temperature, SP, ST; hydrogen compressor pressure and flow, HCP, HCF. The load controller 32C may comprise one or more PID controllers operable to maintain particular set point values within the system as required; Further, the teachings of real time tracking of the storage pressure of the hydrogen storage unit 30 with a PID of the hydrogen storage load controller 32C at least implies the use of a pressure sensor in the means for determining since it has been held it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 6, Espie as modified discloses the plant as claimed in Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the pressure sensor is configured to measure the pressure in the buffer store and/or in a line connected to an outlet of the buffer store (Espie, Fig. 3, capacity monitor 32C; Pg. 9, paragraph 153-154, For the hydrogen storage load controller 32C, the pressure and flow of compressed hydrogen from electrolyser and compression system to the storage system may be monitored, as well as the storage pressure, and pressure and flow of compressed hydrogen gas to the ammonia plant 50 may be monitored and controlled. This data may include maximum storage pressure and/or storage pressure ramp variables; for example, maximum and minimum constraints on rate of change, i.e., how quickly flow and/or pressure can be increased and how quickly it can be reduced. Real-time tracking of the hydrogen storage unit 30 may be based on measurement and control of variables such as: storage system pressure and temperature, SP, ST; hydrogen compressor pressure and flow, HCP, HCF. The load controller 32C may comprise one or more PID controllers operable to maintain particular set point values within the system as required; Further, the teachings of real time tracking of the storage pressure of the hydrogen storage unit 30 with a PID of the hydrogen storage load controller 32C at least implies the use of a pressure sensor in the hydrogen storage unit 30 or in a lone connected to the outlet of the hydrogen storage unit since 30 it has been held it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01); Further, the pressure sensor of the hydrogen storage load controller 32C has the same structure as the claimed pressure sensor and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed).
Regarding claim 9, Espie as modified discloses the plant as claimed in Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the liquefier comprises a refrigerator with a cycle circuit in which a cycle gas flow is subjected to a given thermodynamic cycle comprising a compression and an expansion, the plant being configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier by modifying the pressure level of the compression of the cycle gas in the cycle circuit (Espie, Pg. 4, paragraph 71, Typically, hydrogen liquefaction involves some degree of initial compression using a compression system, followed by cryogenic cooling using one or more heat exchangers to around 30K. An expansion step may then take place in an expander. The gas is then passed through a separator before being stored or transferred to the onward supply network S1; Further, the teachings of Espie at least imply the plant being configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier by modifying the pressure level of the compression of the cycle gas in the cycle circuit as the compressor of the thermodynamic cycle would at least be operable between an on state and off state since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01); Further, the plant of Espie as modified has the same structure as the claimed plant and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed).
Regarding claim 11, Espie as modified discloses the plant as claimed in Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the means for determining the fill level of the buffer store comprises a programmable electronic means for storing and processing data comprising a microprocessor, the means for determining the fill level being configured to receive operating data from the hydrogen gas generator and/or consumption data of the liquid hydrogen produced by the liquefier, and to use this data to predict a future fill level of the buffer store in a future time interval, for example between one and twenty-four hours, the plant being configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier as a function of the future fill level of the buffer store determined by the determining means (Fig. 3, facility control system 200, master capacity controller 210, capacity monitors 32C; Fig. 5, steps 440-470; Pg. 4, paragraph 67, Hydrogen storage 30 is in general required as a buffer in view of the variability of renewable power. If, for example, the renewable power availability is low (e.g., during hours of darkness or low wind), then it may not be possible to run the electrolysers of the hydrogen production plant 20 at full capacity or potentially at all. In order to maintain a flow of hydrogen to downstream processes, stored hydrogen can be mobilized; Pg. 15, paragraph 262, FIG. 5 shows a method according to an embodiment. In embodiments, there is provided a method of managing power in a power microgrid configured to supply electrical power to an industrial gas production facility comprising a facility controller and one or more industrial gas plants. The power microgrid comprising a power controller, one or more renewable power sources and one or more energy storage resources. The method is executed by at least one hardware processor; Pg. 15-16, paragraphs 270-277, At step 440, the master facility controller 210 is operable to generate time-dependent predicted power demand data representative of at least a predicted power demand of the industrial gas production facility for a pre-determined time period. The data is generated based on the predicted power profile data sent in step 430 and received by the facility control system 200, the master facility controller 210 is operable to determine quantitative power demand data from process plant data relating to the process plants for a predetermined period. The master facility controller 210 has information on estimated available power from the power profile module 230 and the updated power profile sent in step 420. The master facility controller 210 also has information on plant systems and operation. This information enables calculation of a maximum theoretical production rate for the industrial gas production facility 10 based on the available power for the predetermined time horizon. Then, with knowledge of the process rates at which the various components of the industrial gas production facility 10 must be run at in order to achieve the maximum theoretical production rate, a value of power demand for operation in this regime can be determined. At step 450, the master facility controller 210 is operable to generate and send a power demand signal via a data connection 330 to the power management controller 110. In embodiments, the data sent via data connection 330 comprises data including the power demand of the industrial gas production facility 10. This enables the power management controller, 110 to control the power resources in response to the power demand from the industrial gas production facility 10. This data is sent intermittently. In embodiments, this data is sent every 60 to 90 seconds. Alternatively or additionally, specific equipment data may also be sent on the same data channel or a separate channel. Alternatively or additionally, the data connection 330 may comprise data on future power demands or equipment needs. For example, if scheduled maintenance of equipment is known in advance which will result in lower power demands, this information could be sent to the power management controller 110 and may form part of the power demand data. At step 460, the power management controller 110 utilizes the predicted power demand data to generate control set point values for controlling a generated power output of the one or more renewable power sources and for controlling a flow of electrical power to or from the energy storage resources. The control set point values are selected to adjust the available power as a function of time for the predetermined time period to correspond to the demanded power for the predetermined time period. At step 470, the power management controller 110 sends one or more control signals comprising the control set point values to the one or more renewable power sources and to the one or more energy storage resources. The power management controller 110 controls the power resources in response to the power demand control signal received from the master facility controller 210 via the data connection 330 in order to match the available power to the power demand; Further, the plant of Espie as modified has the same structure as the claimed plant and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Regarding claim 12, Espie as modified discloses the plant as claimed in Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the hydrogen gas generator comprises an intermittent electrical supply supplied by a renewable energy source, for example solar, and in that the means for determining the fill level is configured to receive weather forecast data and to predict, including from this data, the future fill level of the buffer store (Espie, Fig. 1, power microgrid 12, renewable power sources 72, 74; Fig. 5, steps 400-440; Pg. 4, paragraph 67, Hydrogen storage 30 is in general required as a buffer in view of the variability of renewable power. If, for example, the renewable power availability is low (e.g., during hours of darkness or low wind), then it may not be possible to run the electrolysers of the hydrogen production plant 20 at full capacity or potentially at all. In order to maintain a flow of hydrogen to downstream processes, stored hydrogen can be mobilized; Pg. 15, paragraph 263-264, At step 400, the weather management system 120 may be configured to receive environmental and meteorological measurements from, in embodiments, a weather and forecast database (not shown) which may comprise a weather data service or other internet-connected resource. Load, solar power and wind power data measured locally may also be used. Based on the weather data received, the weather management system 120 generates a model to predict future power generation. In embodiments, the weather management system 120 generates an updated prediction (or forecast) at predetermined intervals; Pg. 15, paragraph 266, At step 410, the power management controller 110 monitors available power. Given the inherent variability of renewable energy sources, the power management controller 110 may monitor parameters such as energy generation from the renewable power sources 72, 74, energy storage from the energy storage resources 76a, 76b and loads to/from the local power grid infrastructure 80, and controls aspects thereof; Pg. 15, paragraph 269-270, At step 430, an updated predicted power profile for the nth predetermined time period is sent to the facility control system 200 via data connection 300. Steps 400 to 430 are then repeated for the next time interval (i.e. the n+1th predetermined time period). At step 440, the master facility controller 210 is operable to generate time-dependent predicted power demand data representative of at least a predicted power demand of the industrial gas production facility for a pre-determined time period; Further, the teaching of Espie as modified at least imply the means for determining the fill level is configured to receive weather forecast data and to predict, including from this data, the future fill level of the buffer store since it has been held it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 13, Espie as modified discloses a method for producing liquefied hydrogen using a plant (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above; Fig. 1; Fig. 5, steps 400-470), the method comprising the steps of:
providing the plant as claimed in Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above);
determining the fill level of the buffer store (Fig. 3, facility control system 200, master capacity controller 210, capacity monitors 32C; Pg. 7-8, paragraph 126-127, Further, the facility control system 200 comprises capacity monitors 32C, 5OC for the hydrogen storage 32 and ammonia storage 50 respectively, and load controllers 22C, 24C, 26C, 28C, 40C and SOC for the electrolysers 22, LP compressor(s) 24, MP compressor(s) 26P, purification stages 28P, ASU 40 and ammonia production plant 50 respectively. The master facility controller 210 may, in embodiments, be operable to measure and control the necessary systems and output process data from each element of the industrial gas production facility 10; Pg. 9, paragraph 153-154, For the hydrogen storage load controller 32C, the pressure and flow of compressed hydrogen from electrolyser and compression system to the storage system may be monitored, as well as the storage pressure, and pressure and flow of compressed hydrogen gas to the ammonia plant 50 may be monitored and controlled. This data may include maximum storage pressure and/or storage pressure ramp variables; for example, maximum and minimum constraints on rate of change, i.e., how quickly flow and/or pressure can be increased and how quickly it can be reduced. Real-time tracking of the hydrogen storage unit 30 may be based on measurement and control of variables such as: storage system pressure and temperature, SP, ST; hydrogen compressor pressure and flow, HCP, HCF. The load controller 32C may comprise one or more PID controllers operable to maintain particular set point values within the system as required); and
regulating the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier as a function of the determined fill level of the buffer store (Espie, Pg. 4, paragraph 67, Hydrogen storage 30 is in general required as a buffer in view of the variability of renewable power. If, for example, the renewable power availability is low (e.g., during hours of darkness or low wind), then it may not be possible to run the electrolysers of the hydrogen production plant 20 at full capacity or potentially at all. In order to maintain a flow of hydrogen to downstream processes, stored hydrogen can be mobilized; Pg. 9, paragraph 153-154, For the hydrogen storage load controller 32C, the pressure and flow of compressed hydrogen from electrolyser and compression system to the storage system may be monitored, as well as the storage pressure, and pressure and flow of compressed hydrogen gas to the ammonia plant 50 may be monitored and controlled. This data may include maximum storage pressure and/or storage pressure ramp variables; for example, maximum and minimum constraints on rate of change, i.e., how quickly flow and/or pressure can be increased and how quickly it can be reduced. Real-time tracking of the hydrogen storage unit 30 may be based on measurement and control of variables such as: storage system pressure and temperature, SP, ST; hydrogen compressor pressure and flow, HCP, HCF. The load controller 32C may comprise one or more PID controllers operable to maintain particular set point values within the system as required; Zhao, Paragraph 51, Furthermore, since wind power is intermittent and uncontrollable, generating electricity only when there is wind, the system may include a central control unit, which may include at least one microprocessor, temperature sensor, and pressure sensor, for controlling at least one of the wind power generation equipment, hydrogen production equipment, compression equipment, and cryogenic equipment… Furthermore, when the central control unit includes a microprocessor and a temperature sensor, the temperature sensor detects the temperature of the hydrogen in real time and feeds the detected temperature back to the microprocessor. The microprocessor controls the cryogenic equipment based on the temperature to control the hydrogen temperature in real time and achieve the preset hydrogen temperature value (e.g., 65K and/or 33K). When the central control unit includes a microprocessor and a pressure sensor, the pressure sensor can detect the degree of hydrogen compression (pressure value) in real time and feed this back to the processor, which then controls the working state of the compression device. When the central control device includes a microprocessor, a temperature sensor, and a pressure sensor, its control mechanism is similar to that of the aforementioned embodiments, and will not be repeated here for the sake of simplicity; Further, the teachings of Espie as modified at least imply coordination between the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity and the fill level of the hydrogen storage to regulate the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier as a function of the determined fill level of the buffer store since it has been held it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)). Further, the limitations of claim 13 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14, Espie as modified discloses the method as claimed in Claim 13 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 13 above), wherein the determination of the fill level of the buffer store is measured, and/or estimated and/or predicted from operating data from the plant, which includes: hydrogen production capacity per hydrogen gas generator, historical hydrogen production capacity per hydrogen gas generator, meteorological data, current and future consumption of liquid hydrogen produced by the liquefier (Fig. 5, steps 400-470; Pg. 4, paragraph 67, Hydrogen storage 30 is in general required as a buffer in view of the variability of renewable power. If, for example, the renewable power availability is low (e.g., during hours of darkness or low wind), then it may not be possible to run the electrolysers of the hydrogen production plant 20 at full capacity or potentially at all. In order to maintain a flow of hydrogen to downstream processes, stored hydrogen can be mobilized; Pg. 15, paragraph 263-264, At step 400, the weather management system 120 may be configured to receive environmental and meteorological measurements from, in embodiments, a weather and forecast database (not shown) which may comprise a weather data service or other internet-connected resource. Load, solar power and wind power data measured locally may also be used. Based on the weather data received, the weather management system 120 generates a model to predict future power generation. In embodiments, the weather management system 120 generates an updated prediction (or forecast) at predetermined intervals; Pg. 15, paragraph 266, At step 410, the power management controller 110 monitors available power. Given the inherent variability of renewable energy sources, the power management controller 110 may monitor parameters such as energy generation from the renewable power sources 72, 74, energy storage from the energy storage resources 76a, 76b and loads to/from the local power grid infrastructure 80, and controls aspects thereof; Pg. 15-16, paragraph 269-277, At step 430, an updated predicted power profile for the nth predetermined time period is sent to the facility control system 200 via data connection 300. Steps 400 to 430 are then repeated for the next time interval (i.e. the n+1th predetermined time period). At step 440, the master facility controller 210 is operable to generate time-dependent predicted power demand data representative of at least a predicted power demand of the industrial gas production facility for a pre-determined time period. The data is generated based on the predicted power profile data sent in step 430 and received by the facility control system 200, the master facility controller 210 is operable to determine quantitative power demand data from process plant data relating to the process plants for a predetermined period. The master facility controller 210 has information on estimated available power from the power profile module 230 and the updated power profile sent in step 420. The master facility controller 210 also has information on plant systems and operation. This information enables calculation of a maximum theoretical production rate for the industrial gas production facility 10 based on the available power for the predetermined time horizon. Then, with knowledge of the process rates at which the various components of the industrial gas production facility 10 must be run at in order to achieve the maximum theoretical production rate, a value of power demand for operation in this regime can be determined. At step 450, the master facility controller 210 is operable to generate and send a power demand signal via a data connection 330 to the power management controller 110. In embodiments, the data sent via data connection 330 comprises data including the power demand of the industrial gas production facility 10. This enables the power management controller, 110 to control the power resources in response to the power demand from the industrial gas production facility 10. This data is sent intermittently. In embodiments, this data is sent every 60 to 90 seconds. Alternatively or additionally, specific equipment data may also be sent on the same data channel or a separate channel. Alternatively or additionally, the data connection 330 may comprise data on future power demands or equipment needs. For example, if scheduled maintenance of equipment is known in advance which will result in lower power demands, this information could be sent to the power management controller 110 and may form part of the power demand data. At step 460, the power management controller 110 utilizes the predicted power demand data to generate control set point values for controlling a generated power output of the one or more renewable power sources and for controlling a flow of electrical power to or from the energy storage resources. The control set point values are selected to adjust the available power as a function of time for the predetermined time period to correspond to the demanded power for the predetermined time period. At step 470, the power management controller 110 sends one or more control signals comprising the control set point values to the one or more renewable power sources and to the one or more energy storage resources. The power management controller 110 controls the power resources in response to the power demand control signal received from the master facility controller 210 via the data connection 330 in order to match the available power to the power demand).
Regarding claim 15, Espie as modified discloses the method as claimed in Claim 13 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 13 above), wherein the step of regulating the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier comprises a modification of the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier which is performed in response to a change in the fill level of the buffer store, the modification of the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity being carried out concomitantly and/or before and/or after the change in the determined fill level of the buffer store (Fig. 5, steps 440-470; Pg. 4, paragraph 67, Hydrogen storage 30 is in general required as a buffer in view of the variability of renewable power. If, for example, the renewable power availability is low (e.g., during hours of darkness or low wind), then it may not be possible to run the electrolysers of the hydrogen production plant 20 at full capacity or potentially at all. In order to maintain a flow of hydrogen to downstream processes, stored hydrogen can be mobilized; Pg. 15-16, paragraphs 270-277, At step 440, the master facility controller 210 is operable to generate time-dependent predicted power demand data representative of at least a predicted power demand of the industrial gas production facility for a pre-determined time period. The data is generated based on the predicted power profile data sent in step 430 and received by the facility control system 200, the master facility controller 210 is operable to determine quantitative power demand data from process plant data relating to the process plants for a predetermined period. The master facility controller 210 has information on estimated available power from the power profile module 230 and the updated power profile sent in step 420. The master facility controller 210 also has information on plant systems and operation. This information enables calculation of a maximum theoretical production rate for the industrial gas production facility 10 based on the available power for the predetermined time horizon. Then, with knowledge of the process rates at which the various components of the industrial gas production facility 10 must be run at in order to achieve the maximum theoretical production rate, a value of power demand for operation in this regime can be determined. At step 450, the master facility controller 210 is operable to generate and send a power demand signal via a data connection 330 to the power management controller 110. In embodiments, the data sent via data connection 330 comprises data including the power demand of the industrial gas production facility 10. This enables the power management controller, 110 to control the power resources in response to the power demand from the industrial gas production facility 10. This data is sent intermittently. In embodiments, this data is sent every 60 to 90 seconds. Alternatively or additionally, specific equipment data may also be sent on the same data channel or a separate channel. Alternatively or additionally, the data connection 330 may comprise data on future power demands or equipment needs. For example, if scheduled maintenance of equipment is known in advance which will result in lower power demands, this information could be sent to the power management controller 110 and may form part of the power demand data. At step 460, the power management controller 110 utilizes the predicted power demand data to generate control set point values for controlling a generated power output of the one or more renewable power sources and for controlling a flow of electrical power to or from the energy storage resources. The control set point values are selected to adjust the available power as a function of time for the predetermined time period to correspond to the demanded power for the predetermined time period. At step 470, the power management controller 110 sends one or more control signals comprising the control set point values to the one or more renewable power sources and to the one or more energy storage resources. The power management controller 110 controls the power resources in response to the power demand control signal received from the master facility controller 210 via the data connection 330 in order to match the available power to the power demand; Zhao, Paragraph 51, Furthermore, since wind power is intermittent and uncontrollable, generating electricity only when there is wind, the system may include a central control unit, which may include at least one microprocessor, temperature sensor, and pressure sensor, for controlling at least one of the wind power generation equipment, hydrogen production equipment, compression equipment, and cryogenic equipment… Furthermore, when the central control unit includes a microprocessor and a temperature sensor, the temperature sensor detects the temperature of the hydrogen in real time and feeds the detected temperature back to the microprocessor. The microprocessor controls the cryogenic equipment based on the temperature to control the hydrogen temperature in real time and achieve the preset hydrogen temperature value (e.g., 65K and/or 33K). When the central control unit includes a microprocessor and a pressure sensor, the pressure sensor can detect the degree of hydrogen compression (pressure value) in real time and feed this back to the processor, which then controls the working state of the compression device. When the central control device includes a microprocessor, a temperature sensor, and a pressure sensor, its control mechanism is similar to that of the aforementioned embodiments, and will not be repeated here for the sake of simplicity; Further, the teachings of Espie as modified at least imply wherein the step of regulating the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier comprises a modification of the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier which is performed in response to a change in the fill level of the buffer store since it has been held it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01); As best understood, see 112(b) rejection above). Further, the limitations of claim 15 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Regarding claim 17, Espie as modified discloses the method as claimed in Claim 13 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 13 above), further comprising a step of stopping the plant in which the liquefier is stopped, followed by a step of restarting the plant and the liquefier, the method comprising, after restarting and before a step of regulating the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier, a given delay, for example between two and twelve hours, and/or a delay until the fill level of the buffer store reaches a predetermined threshold (Espie, Pg. 4, paragraph 67, Hydrogen storage 30 is in general required as a buffer in view of the variability of renewable power. If, for example, the renewable power availability is low (e.g., during hours of darkness or low wind), then it may not be possible to run the electrolysers of the hydrogen production plant 20 at full capacity or potentially at all. In order to maintain a flow of hydrogen to downstream processes, stored hydrogen can be mobilized; Pg. 15-16, paragraphs 269-277; At step 430, an updated predicted power profile for the nth predetermined time period is sent to the facility control system 200 via data connection 300. Steps 400 to 430 are then repeated for the next time interval (i.e. the n+1th predetermined time period). At step 440, the master facility controller 210 is operable to generate time-dependent predicted power demand data representative of at least a predicted power demand of the industrial gas production facility for a pre-determined time period. The data is generated based on the predicted power profile data sent in step 430 and received by the facility control system 200, the master facility controller 210 is operable to determine quantitative power demand data from process plant data relating to the process plants for a predetermined period. The master facility controller 210 has information on estimated available power from the power profile module 230 and the updated power profile sent in step 420. The master facility controller 210 also has information on plant systems and operation. This information enables calculation of a maximum theoretical production rate for the industrial gas production facility 10 based on the available power for the predetermined time horizon. Then, with knowledge of the process rates at which the various components of the industrial gas production facility 10 must be run at in order to achieve the maximum theoretical production rate, a value of power demand for operation in this regime can be determined. At step 450, the master facility controller 210 is operable to generate and send a power demand signal via a data connection 330 to the power management controller 110. In embodiments, the data sent via data connection 330 comprises data including the power demand of the industrial gas production facility 10. This enables the power management controller, 110 to control the power resources in response to the power demand from the industrial gas production facility 10. This data is sent intermittently. In embodiments, this data is sent every 60 to 90 seconds. Alternatively or additionally, specific equipment data may also be sent on the same data channel or a separate channel. Alternatively or additionally, the data connection 330 may comprise data on future power demands or equipment needs. For example, if scheduled maintenance of equipment is known in advance which will result in lower power demands, this information could be sent to the power management controller 110 and may form part of the power demand data. At step 460, the power management controller 110 utilizes the predicted power demand data to generate control set point values for controlling a generated power output of the one or more renewable power sources and for controlling a flow of electrical power to or from the energy storage resources. The control set point values are selected to adjust the available power as a function of time for the predetermined time period to correspond to the demanded power for the predetermined time period. At step 470, the power management controller 110 sends one or more control signals comprising the control set point values to the one or more renewable power sources and to the one or more energy storage resources. The power management controller 110 controls the power resources in response to the power demand control signal received from the master facility controller 210 via the data connection 330 in order to match the available power to the power demand; Further, the teachings of Espie as modified at least imply a step of stopping the plant in which the liquefier is stopped, followed by a step of restarting the plant and the liquefier, the method comprising, after restarting and before a step of regulating the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier, a given delay, for example between two and twelve hours, and/or a delay until the fill level of the buffer store reaches a predetermined threshold since it has been held it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01); As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Claims 7-8, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Espie as modified by Zhao as applied to claim 1 and 13 above, respectively, and further in view of Matsuda et al. (JP 2020024064), hereinafter Matsuda.
Regarding claim 7, Espie as modified discloses the plant as claimed in Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the liquefier comprises a refrigerator having a cycle circuit in which a cycle gas flow is subjected to a given thermodynamic cycle (Espie, Pg. 4, paragraph 71, Typically, hydrogen liquefaction involves some degree of initial compression using a compression system, followed by cryogenic cooling using one or more heat exchangers to around 30K. An expansion step may then take place in an expander. The gas is then passed through a separator before being stored or transferred to the onward supply network S1).
However, Espie as modified does not explicitly disclose the plant being configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier by modifying the flow rate and/or quantity of cycle gas in the cycle circuit.
Matsuda teaches the plant being configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier by modifying the flow rate and/or quantity of cycle gas in the cycle circuit (Fig. 1, liquid hydrogen production facility 10, control device 65, nitrogen gas control valve 49, vent stack 48; Pg. 3, The nitrogen gas discharge line 39 is provided so as to connect the hydrogen liquefier 30 and a later described hydrogen vaporizer 61. A nitrogen gas control valve 49 is provided on the nitrogen gas discharge line 39 to control the flow rate of the nitrogen gas N .sub.2 (G) discharged to the hydrogen vaporizer 61. Further, on the hydrogen liquefier 30 side of the nitrogen gas control valve 49 of the nitrogen gas discharge line 39, there is a branch point to a vent stack 48 for discharging nitrogen gas N .sub.2 (G) into the atmosphere; Pg. 4, The liquid hydrogen production facility 10 further includes a control device 65 that controls the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 such that the pressure detected by the pressure sensor 66 (that is, the internal pressure of the buffer tank 20) is equal to or higher than a predetermined set pressure .. The controller 65 controls the temperature detected by the temperature sensor 67 (that is, the temperature of the hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) supplied from the hydrogen vaporizer 61 to the buffer tank 20) to be equal to or higher than a predetermined set temperature. The nitrogen gas control valve 49 is controlled. Specifically, at normal times when the supply amount of the raw hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) generated using renewable energy is not changed, the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 and the nitrogen gas control valve 49 are closed. State. When the supply amount of the raw material hydrogen gas H.sub.2 (G) is insufficient and the internal pressure of the buffer tank 20 can decrease, the controller 65 sets the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 and the nitrogen gas control valve 49 in the open state. To Thereafter, the control device 65 controls the opening degree of the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 so that the pressure of the hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) detected by the pressure sensor 66 becomes equal to or higher than the set pressure, and controls the temperature sensor 67 The opening degree of the nitrogen gas control valve 49 is controlled so that the temperature of the hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) detected at the above becomes equal to or higher than the set temperature; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Espie as modified fails to teach disclose the plant being configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier by modifying the flow rate and/or quantity of cycle gas in the cycle circuit, however Matsuda teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen liquefaction to include the plant being configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier by modifying the flow rate and/or quantity of cycle gas in the cycle circuit. This is strong evidence that modifying Espie as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing sufficient refrigeration capacity for hydrogen liquefaction to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Espie as modified by Matsuda and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing sufficient refrigeration capacity for hydrogen liquefaction to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 8, Espie as modified discloses the plant as claimed in Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Espie as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the plant is configured to decrease the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier by decreasing the flow rate and/or the quantity of cycle gas in the cycle circuit via at least one of the following: a cycle gas discharge line to the feed line, a cycle gas discharge line to a discharge zone, a means for liquefying at least a portion of the cycle gas in the cycle circuit.
Matsuda teaches wherein the plant is configured to decrease the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier by decreasing the flow rate and/or the quantity of cycle gas in the cycle circuit via at least one of the following: a cycle gas discharge line to a discharge zone, a means for liquefying at least a portion of the cycle gas in the cycle circuit (Fig. 1, liquid hydrogen production facility 10, control device 65, nitrogen gas control valve 49, vent stack 48, hydrogen vaporizer 61; Pg. 3, The nitrogen gas discharge line 39 is provided so as to connect the hydrogen liquefier 30 and a later described hydrogen vaporizer 61. A nitrogen gas control valve 49 is provided on the nitrogen gas discharge line 39 to control the flow rate of the nitrogen gas N .sub.2 (G) discharged to the hydrogen vaporizer 61. Further, on the hydrogen liquefier 30 side of the nitrogen gas control valve 49 of the nitrogen gas discharge line 39, there is a branch point to a vent stack 48 for discharging nitrogen gas N .sub.2 (G) into the atmosphere; Pg. 4, The liquid hydrogen production facility 10 further includes a control device 65 that controls the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 such that the pressure detected by the pressure sensor 66 (that is, the internal pressure of the buffer tank 20) is equal to or higher than a predetermined set pressure .. The controller 65 controls the temperature detected by the temperature sensor 67 (that is, the temperature of the hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) supplied from the hydrogen vaporizer 61 to the buffer tank 20) to be equal to or higher than a predetermined set temperature. The nitrogen gas control valve 49 is controlled. Specifically, at normal times when the supply amount of the raw hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) generated using renewable energy is not changed, the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 and the nitrogen gas control valve 49 are closed. State. When the supply amount of the raw material hydrogen gas H.sub.2 (G) is insufficient and the internal pressure of the buffer tank 20 can decrease, the controller 65 sets the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 and the nitrogen gas control valve 49 in the open state. To Thereafter, the control device 65 controls the opening degree of the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 so that the pressure of the hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) detected by the pressure sensor 66 becomes equal to or higher than the set pressure, and controls the temperature sensor 67 The opening degree of the nitrogen gas control valve 49 is controlled so that the temperature of the hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) detected at the above becomes equal to or higher than the set temperature. In the liquid hydrogen production facility 10 according to the present embodiment, when the supply amount of the raw material hydrogen gas H.sub.2 (G) generated using renewable energy is insufficient, the shortage is supplied from the hydrogen gas supply device 60. It can be supplemented
with hydrogen gas H.sub.2 (G). Thus, the raw material hydrogen gas H.sub.2 hydrogen be supplied amount of .sub.(G) is varied gas H .sub.2 to .sub.(G) can be liquefied stably. Further, by providing the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 (control valve) and the control device 65 for controlling the liquid hydrogen control valve 63, the supply amount of the raw hydrogen gas H.sub.2 (G) is insufficient, and Even if the internal pressure can decrease, it is possible to control the internal pressure to be equal to or higher than the set pressure by following the shortage. Further, since the liquid nitrogen N.sub.2 (L) discharged from the hydrogen vaporizer 61 can be used for liquefying the hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) in the hydrogen liquefier 30, the liquid hydrogen H that is in a very low temperature state can be used. It is possible to suppress a relatively large loss of cold generated when .sub.2 (L) is simply vaporized).
Espie as modified fails to teach disclose wherein the plant is configured to decrease the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier by decreasing the flow rate and/or the quantity of cycle gas in the cycle circuit via at least one of the following: a cycle gas discharge line to a discharge zone, a means for liquefying at least a portion of the cycle gas in the cycle circuit, however Matsuda teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen liquefaction to include wherein the plant is configured to decrease the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier by decreasing the flow rate and/or the quantity of cycle gas in the cycle circuit via at least one of the following: a cycle gas discharge line to a discharge zone, a means for liquefying at least a portion of the cycle gas in the cycle circuit. This is strong evidence that modifying Espie as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing sufficient refrigeration capacity for hydrogen liquefaction to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Espie as modified by Matsuda and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing sufficient refrigeration capacity for hydrogen liquefaction to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 10, Espie as modified discloses the plant as claimed in Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Espie as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the liquefier comprises several independent refrigerators with a cycle circuit each configured to supply the respective cooling power for cooling hydrogen gas from the feed line with a view to the liquefaction thereof, and in that the plant is configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier by differentially modifying the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the various refrigerators.
Matsuda teaches wherein the liquefier comprises several independent refrigerators with a cycle circuit each configured to supply the respective cooling power for cooling hydrogen gas from the feed line with a view to the liquefaction thereof, and in that the plant is configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier by differentially modifying the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the various refrigerators (Fig. 1, liquid hydrogen production facility 10, hydrogen liquefaction unit 30, control device 65, nitrogen gas control valve 49, vent stack 48, hydrogen vaporizer 61; Pg. 2, The first heat exchanger 32, the raw hydrogen gas .sub.H 2 supplied from the buffer tank 20 (G), hydrogen as a refrigerant gas .sub.H 2 (G) (hereinafter referred to as "refrigerant hydrogen gas .sub.H2 (G)") The raw material hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) is cooled by exchanging heat with the hydrogen gas. The first heat exchanger 32 further cools the raw hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) by using the heat of vaporization of the liquid nitrogen N .sub.2 (L) supplied from the liquid nitrogen supply line 29; Pg. 3, The nitrogen gas discharge line 39 is provided so as to connect the hydrogen liquefier 30 and a later described hydrogen vaporizer 61. A nitrogen gas control valve 49 is provided on the nitrogen gas discharge line 39 to control the flow rate of the nitrogen gas N .sub.2 (G) discharged to the hydrogen vaporizer 61. Further, on the hydrogen liquefier 30 side of the nitrogen gas control valve 49 of the nitrogen gas discharge line 39, there is a branch point to a vent stack 48 for discharging nitrogen gas N .sub.2 (G) into the atmosphere; Pg. 4, The liquid hydrogen production facility 10 further includes a control device 65 that controls the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 such that the pressure detected by the pressure sensor 66 (that is, the internal pressure of the buffer tank 20) is equal to or higher than a predetermined set pressure .. The controller 65 controls the temperature detected by the temperature sensor 67 (that is, the temperature of the hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) supplied from the hydrogen vaporizer 61 to the buffer tank 20) to be equal to or higher than a predetermined set temperature. The nitrogen gas control valve 49 is controlled. Specifically, at normal times when the supply amount of the raw hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) generated using renewable energy is not changed, the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 and the nitrogen gas control valve 49 are closed. State. When the supply amount of the raw material hydrogen gas H.sub.2 (G) is insufficient and the internal pressure of the buffer tank 20 can decrease, the controller 65 sets the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 and the nitrogen gas control valve 49 in the open state. To Thereafter, the control device 65 controls the opening degree of the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 so that the pressure of the hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) detected by the pressure sensor 66 becomes equal to or higher than the set pressure, and controls the temperature sensor 67 The opening degree of the nitrogen gas control valve 49 is controlled so that the temperature of the hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) detected at the above becomes equal to or higher than the set temperature. In the liquid hydrogen production facility 10 according to the present embodiment, when the supply amount of the raw material hydrogen gas H.sub.2 (G) generated using renewable energy is insufficient, the shortage is supplied from the hydrogen gas supply device 60. It can be supplemented
with hydrogen gas H.sub.2 (G). Thus, the raw material hydrogen gas H.sub.2 hydrogen be supplied amount of .sub.(G) is varied gas H .sub.2 to .sub.(G) can be liquefied stably. Further, by providing the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 (control valve) and the control device 65 for controlling the liquid hydrogen control valve 63, the supply amount of the raw hydrogen gas H.sub.2 (G) is insufficient, and Even if the internal pressure can decrease, it is possible to control the internal pressure to be equal to or higher than the set pressure by following the shortage. Further, since the liquid nitrogen N.sub.2 (L) discharged from the hydrogen vaporizer 61 can be used for liquefying the hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) in the hydrogen liquefier 30, the liquid hydrogen H that is in a very low temperature state can be used. It is possible to suppress a relatively large loss of cold generated when .sub.2 (L) is simply vaporized; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections below).
Espie as modified fails to teach disclose wherein the liquefier comprises several independent refrigerators with a cycle circuit each configured to supply the respective cooling power for cooling hydrogen gas from the feed line with a view to the liquefaction thereof, and in that the plant is configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier by differentially modifying the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the various refrigerators, however Matsuda teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen liquefaction to include wherein the liquefier comprises several independent refrigerators with a cycle circuit each configured to supply the respective cooling power for cooling hydrogen gas from the feed line with a view to the liquefaction thereof, and in that the plant is configured to modify the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the liquefier by differentially modifying the cooling power and/or liquefaction capacity of the various refrigerators. This is strong evidence that modifying Espie as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing sufficient refrigeration capacity for hydrogen liquefaction to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Espie as modified by Matsuda and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing sufficient refrigeration capacity for hydrogen liquefaction to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 16, Espie as modified discloses the method as claimed in Claim 13 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 13 above), wherein the liquefier comprises a refrigerator having a cycle circuit in which a cycle gas flow is subjected to a given thermodynamic cycle (Espie, Pg. 4, paragraph 71, Typically, hydrogen liquefaction involves some degree of initial compression using a compression system, followed by cryogenic cooling using one or more heat exchangers to around 30K. An expansion step may then take place in an expander. The gas is then passed through a separator before being stored or transferred to the onward supply network S1).
However, Espie as modified does not explicitly disclose the step of regulating the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity of the liquefier comprising at least one of the following: a modification of the flow rate and/or the quantity of cycle gas in the cycle circuit, for example a discharge of cycle gas from the cycle circuit, a decrease in the quantity of gas in the cycle circuit by partial liquefaction of the cycle gas in a separator vessel, a modification of the pressure of the compression of the cycle gas in the cycle circuit.
Matsuda teaches the step of regulating the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity of the liquefier comprising at least one of the following: a modification of the flow rate and/or the quantity of cycle gas in the cycle circuit, for example a discharge of cycle gas from the cycle circuit (Fig. 1, liquid hydrogen production facility 10, control device 65, nitrogen gas control valve 49, vent stack 48; Pg. 3, The nitrogen gas discharge line 39 is provided so as to connect the hydrogen liquefier 30 and a later described hydrogen vaporizer 61. A nitrogen gas control valve 49 is provided on the nitrogen gas discharge line 39 to control the flow rate of the nitrogen gas N .sub.2 (G) discharged to the hydrogen vaporizer 61. Further, on the hydrogen liquefier 30 side of the nitrogen gas control valve 49 of the nitrogen gas discharge line 39, there is a branch point to a vent stack 48 for discharging nitrogen gas N .sub.2 (G) into the atmosphere; Pg. 4, The liquid hydrogen production facility 10 further includes a control device 65 that controls the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 such that the pressure detected by the pressure sensor 66 (that is, the internal pressure of the buffer tank 20) is equal to or higher than a predetermined set pressure .. The controller 65 controls the temperature detected by the temperature sensor 67 (that is, the temperature of the hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) supplied from the hydrogen vaporizer 61 to the buffer tank 20) to be equal to or higher than a predetermined set temperature. The nitrogen gas control valve 49 is controlled. Specifically, at normal times when the supply amount of the raw hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) generated using renewable energy is not changed, the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 and the nitrogen gas control valve 49 are closed. State. When the supply amount of the raw material hydrogen gas H.sub.2 (G) is insufficient and the internal pressure of the buffer tank 20 can decrease, the controller 65 sets the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 and the nitrogen gas control valve 49 in the open state. To Thereafter, the control device 65 controls the opening degree of the liquid hydrogen control valve 63 so that the pressure of the hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) detected by the pressure sensor 66 becomes equal to or higher than the set pressure, and controls the temperature sensor 67 The opening degree of the nitrogen gas control valve 49 is controlled so that the temperature of the hydrogen gas H .sub.2 (G) detected at the above becomes equal to or higher than the set temperature; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Espie as modified fails to teach disclose the step of regulating the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity of the liquefier comprising at least one of the following: a modification of the flow rate and/or the quantity of cycle gas in the cycle circuit, for example a discharge of cycle gas from the cycle circuit, a decrease in the quantity of gas in the cycle circuit by partial liquefaction of the cycle gas in a separator vessel, a modification of the pressure of the compression of the cycle gas in the cycle circuit, however Matsuda teaches that it is a known method in the art of hydrogen liquefaction to include the step of regulating the cooling power and/or the liquefaction capacity of the liquefier comprising at least one of the following: a modification of the flow rate and/or the quantity of cycle gas in the cycle circuit, for example a discharge of cycle gas from the cycle circuit. This is strong evidence that modifying Espie as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing sufficient refrigeration capacity for hydrogen liquefaction to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Espie as modified by Matsuda and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing sufficient refrigeration capacity for hydrogen liquefaction to improve overall system efficiencies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Misra et al. (US 2026/0235351) discloses a similar plant for producing liquefied hydrogen.
Kimura (US 2026/0217529) discloses a similar plant for producing liquefied hydrogen.
annoThe fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 August 31st, 2026