DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, “the at least a first reflector” and “the at least a second reflector” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claims 16 and 20, “the first top mechanical fixture”, “the first bottom mechanical fixture”, “the second top mechanical fixture” and “the second bottom mechanical fixture” lack proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11-13, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0109302) in view of Ahn et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2002/0003232).
Regarding claims 1, 11-13, 17, 18, Lim discloses (Fig. 4) a method and an apparatus for pluggable inter-chip optical coupling, wherein the apparatus comprises: a first sub-assembly, wherein the first sub-assembly comprises: at least a first photonic chip (406) in communication with an optical source ([0061[), wherein the at least a first photonic chip comprises one or more passive optical elements (waveguide) ; a first high tolerance grating coupler element (430) configured to interface with at least a second photonic chip (402); and a first set of one or more alignment features (410a, 410b); and a second sub-assembly, wherein the second sub-assembly comprises: the at least a second photonic chip, a second high tolerance grating coupler element (434) configured to interface with the at least a first photonic chip; and a second set of one or more alignment features (404a, 404b), wherein the second set of one or more alignment features are configured to engage the first sub-assembly at the first set of one or more alignment features, wherein attaching the first sub-assembly to the second sub-assembly using the first set of alignment features and the second set of alignment features aligns the first high tolerance grating coupler in optical communication with the second high tolerance grating coupler. Since the grooves or trenches of Lim are left open or deep or etched in silicon, as understood, they are oxide open trenches or deep trenches or through silicon trenches as claimed. Lim does not specifically disclose the at least a second photonic chip comprises a sensing region. Ahn et al. teach (Fig. 1) a photonic chip (110) having a sensing region (140). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide a sensing region in the apparatus of Lim in view of Ahn et al. to reduce costs by implementing an optical network in the substrate as known and predictable.
Claim(s) 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim in view of Ahn et al., further in view of Holzapfel et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2019/0017938).
Regarding claims 3, 4, Lim in view of Ahn et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Lim and Ahn et al. do not specifically disclose a first or a second reflector as claimed. Holzapfel et al. teach (Fig. 12, [0067]) providing a reflector (M) to recycle lost light back into a grating coupler. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such reflectors in the grating couplers of Lim in view of Ahn et al. and Holzapfel et al. to improve operation of the device as taught, known and predictable.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim in view of Ahn et al., further in view of Holzapfel et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2019/0017938).
Regarding claims 8-10, Lim in view of Ahn et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Lim and Ahn et al. do not specifically disclose the optical source being a distributed feedback laser, a vertical cavity laser or a vernier-tuned distributed Bragg reflector laser as claimed. However, such types of lasers are conventional and well known in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such types of lasers in the device of Lim in view of Ahn et al. to reliably, cost-effectively and compactly generate light as known and predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-7, 14, 15, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878