DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 lines 11-12 recites “a Wi-Fi communication protocol”. It is not clear that “a Wi-Fi communication protocol” earlier claimed in line 6 of same claim 17 is same Wi-Fi communication protocol or different. This confusion renders the claim indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 18-20 are also rejected under 35 USC 112b for dependency.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the user-actuated lever" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 18-20 are also rejected under 35 USC 112b for dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stiles et al. (Pub.No.: US 20080258899 A1), hereafter Stiles.
Regarding claim 9, Stiles teaches modular turn signal system (paragraph [0011], “vehicle indication signal system”) for a vehicle (FIG. 1, towing vehicle 101), comprising:
a combination switch module (paragraph [0010], “a multi-function switch”) including:
a lever for selecting a turn direction (FIG. 1, 2, 7 & 8, turn signal lever);
a wireless transmitter (paragraph [0011], a detector transmitter”) for sending turn signal commands (paragraph [0031], “a wireless device (controlling vehicle indication system lighting on trailing vehicle 104) for receiving instructions to emit light (through one or more of brake light lens 164, left turn signal lens 174, right turn signal lens 176”); and
a one or more remote light modules (FIG. 1, lighting package 150), each including:
a housing adapted for mounting on the vehicle (FIG. 1, left turn signal lens 174, right turn signal lens 176);
a light (FIG. 1, light for 174 and 176);
a wireless receiver for receiving turn signal commands from the combination switch module (paragraph [0012], “wireless receiver apparatus, for use in a vehicle indicator signal system”); and
a control module (FIG. 1, control apparatus 100) configured to control the light based on the received turn signal commands (paragraph [0008], “wirelessly detect the vehicle indication signal generated by the wired vehicle indication signal system; and wirelessly transmit, to a receiver of the remote vehicle indication signal system, instructions to activate a remote vehicle indication signal that corresponds to the vehicle indication signal generated by the wired vehicle indication signal system”); and
a mobile application installed on a user device (FIG. 1 receiver display 150 for 104) configured to wirelessly communicate with the combination switch module and the plurality of remote light modules to: configure settings for each of the remote light modules; add or remove remote light modules from the system (paragraph [0032] “each side of trailing vehicle 104--an elongate "light bar" including a single wireless receiver and having both left and right groups of signal lighting may be magnetically coupled to the rear of trailing vehicle 104…receiver display 150 is a battery operated wireless receiver and LED display having a plastic or other light-weight and water proof housing that is portable and easily attached to the bumper of trailing vehicle 104”); and
display a status of each of the remote light modules, wherein the mobile application provides an interface to manage devices, add devices, and adjust system settings (paragraph [0071], “Receiver display 150 is a multi-output device capable of emitting audible as well as visual alerts into its environment”).
Regarding claim 10, Stiles further teaches the remote light modules are powered from a power source on the vehicle (paragraph [0012], “a solar charging battery power supply circuit and a photocell circuit”).
Regarding claim 11, Stiles further teaches the remote light modules are not in wired communication with the combination switch module (paragraph [0009], “an input device corresponding to a vehicle indication signal; and wirelessly transmit instructions, to at least one receiver, to generate the vehicle indication signal corresponding to the input device activated. The vehicle indication signal may be selected from the group consisting of: a turn signal, a brake signal, a backup signal, and a hazard signal”).
Regarding claim 12, Stiles further teaches one or more of the remote light module comprises multiple lights capable of operating independently (paragraph [0012], “a wireless receiver apparatus, for use in a vehicle indicator signal system, the apparatus comprising: …. for automatically engaging and disengaging running lights”)., and the control module is configured to control the operation of each light individually based on signals received from the wireless receiver (paragraph [0009], “an input device corresponding to a vehicle indication signal; and wirelessly transmit instructions, to at least one receiver, to generate the vehicle indication signal corresponding to the input device activated. The vehicle indication signal may be selected from the group consisting of: a turn signal, a brake signal, a backup signal, and a hazard signal”).
Regarding claim 13, Stiles further teaches the wireless receiver further facilitates communication with other vehicle systems, wherein the control module is adapted to receive signals from said other vehicle systems for integrating additional functionalities into the programmed lighting logic (paragraph [0012], “The processor comprises any suitable microprocessor or programmable logic controller together with power supply, input/output interface circuitry, and memory circuitry. The display comprises any suitable lighting package selected from the group consisting of: a light bulb, a plurality of low power light bulbs, a light-emitting diode ("LED"), an LED array, and a plasma text display”).
Regarding claim 15, Stiles further teaches the light assembly is connected to the remote module via a wire connection and is mounted separately from the remote module (claim 50, “a remote vehicle indication signal that corresponds to said vehicle indication signal generated by said wired vehicle indication signal system”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiles et al. (Pub.No.: US 20080258899 A1), hereafter Stiles in view of Handiganoor et al. (Pub. No.: US 20250077213 A1), hereafter Handiganoor.
Regarding claim 1, Stiles teaches a signaling system (paragraph [0011], “vehicle indication signal system”) for a vehicle (FIG. 1, towing vehicle101), comprising:
a combination switch module (paragraph [0010], “a multi-function switch”) including a user-actuated lever for signaling a turn (FIG. 1, 2, 7 & 8, turn signal lever) and a wireless transmitter (paragraph [0011], a detector transmitter”) “configured to transmit a control signal in response to actuation of the user-actuated lever (paragraph [0031], “a wireless device (controlling vehicle indication system lighting on trailing vehicle 104) for receiving instructions to emit light (through one or more of brake light lens 164, left turn signal lens 174, right turn signal lens 176”); and
at least one remote light module (FIG. 1, lighting package 150) including:
a housing (FIG. 1, left turn signal lens 174, right turn signal lens 176);
a light source disposed within the housing (FIG. 1, 174, 176);
a wireless receiver configured to receive the control signal from the combination switch module (paragraph [0012], “wireless receiver apparatus, for use in a vehicle indicator signal system”); and
a control module (FIG. 1, control apparatus 100), coupled to the light source and the wireless receiver, the control module configured to activate the light source in response to the received control signal (paragraph [0031], “a wireless device (controlling vehicle indication system lighting on trailing vehicle 104) for receiving instructions to emit light (through one or more of brake light lens 164, left turn signal lens 174, right turn signal lens 176, and backup light lens 184) may accept encoded instructions: from control apparatus 100”);
wherein the signaling system is installed without a wired harness connecting the combination switch module and the one remote light module (paragraph [0008], “wirelessly detect the vehicle indication signal generated by the wired vehicle indication signal system; and wirelessly transmit, to a receiver of the remote vehicle indication signal system, instructions to activate a remote vehicle indication signal that corresponds to the vehicle indication signal generated by the wired vehicle indication signal system”).
Stiles does not disclose the control module further configured to receive over-the-air (OTA)software updates for modifying the behavior of the remote light module.
Handiganoor teaches the control module further configured to receive over-the-air (OTA)software updates for modifying the behavior of the remote light module (ABSTRACT, “controls receiving of the OTA update data from the remote update server and through the communication transceiver and the selected communication protocol, and updates software or firmware executable by the controller using the received OTA update data”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stiles in view of Handiganoor to incorporate receiving over-the-air (OTA) software updates for upgrades include, for example, bug fixes and software/firmware updates (Handiganoor, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 2, Stiles as modified above further teaches the combination switch module has a multi- position lever interface to activate left, right, or hazard turn signaling (Stiles , paragraph [0026], “A "hazard signal" switch 105 and a turn signal lever 110 are commonly mounted on steering column 103. Inside steering column 103 is a portion of the wiring harness” and paragraph [0027], “turn signal lever 110, or brake pedal 120 are applied by an operator of vehicle 101, light is emitted through left turn signal lens 171, right turn signal lens 173, or brake light lenses 160, depending upon which input device the operator activates”).
Regarding claim 3, Stiles as modified above further teaches the light modules are configured to mount on exterior vehicle surfaces including the front, rear, and sides (Stiles , FIG. 1, 174, 176).
Regarding claim 4, Stiles as modified above further teaches a wireless configuration and diagnostic module to allow parameter adjustment and monitoring of combination switch module and light modules (Stiles , ABSTRACT, “a reliable wireless detection method based on feedback to confirm the state of operation of any such pre-existing "vehicle indication signal drive line" and includes a control apparatus that wirelessly transmits 230 instructions to at least one local receiver 150 controlling a number of message devices, including, but not limited to, vehicle indication signal lights”).
Regarding claim 5, Stiles as modified above further teaches the wireless configuration and diagnostic module is a mobile computing device running an associated application (paragraph [0032] “each side of trailing vehicle 104--an elongate "light bar" including a single wireless receiver and having both left and right groups of signal lighting may be magnetically coupled to the rear of trailing vehicle 104…receiver display 150 is a battery operated wireless receiver and LED display having a plastic or other light-weight and water proof housing that is portable and easily attached to the bumper of trailing vehicle 104”) and paragraph [0009], “an input device corresponding to a vehicle indication signal; and wirelessly transmit instructions, to at least one receiver, to generate the vehicle indication signal corresponding to the input device activated. The vehicle indication signal may be selected from the group consisting of: a turn signal, a brake signal, a backup signal, and a hazard signal”).
Regarding claim 6, Stiles as modified above further teaches one or more auxiliary wireless modules interfacing with combination switch module to provide additional capabilities (paragraph [0012], “a single or multi-channel wireless receiver, coupled to the base, for wirelessly receiving instructions from a transmitter apparatus”).
Regarding claim 7, Stiles as modified above further teaches the auxiliary wireless modules are selected from trailer wiring harnesses, reverse lights, cargo lamps, or warning beacons (paragraph [0032], “one or more wireless receivers as part of one or more lighting packages to control all vehicle indication system lighting on trailing vehicle 104”).
Regarding claim 8, Stiles as modified above further teaches the light module comprises multiple light components capable of operating independently, and the control module is configured to control the operation of each light component individually based on signals received from the wireless receiver (paragraph [0012], “a wireless receiver apparatus, for use in a vehicle indicator signal system, the apparatus comprising: …. for automatically engaging and disengaging running lights”).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiles as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Handiganoor et al. (Pub. No.: US 20250077213 A1), hereafter Handiganoor.
Regarding claim 14, Stiles teaches all limitations of claim 9 but does not disclose the wireless receiver is configured to communicate with the mobile application, allowing software updates for enhancing capabilities and functionality of the control module.
Handiganoor teaches the wireless receiver is configured to communicate with the mobile application, allowing software updates for enhancing capabilities and functionality of the control module (ABSTRACT, “controls receiving of the OTA update data from the remote update server and through the communication transceiver and the selected communication protocol, and updates software or firmware executable by the controller using the received OTA update data”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stiles in view of Handiganoor to incorporate receiving over-the-air (OTA) software updates for upgrades include, for example, bug fixes and software/firmware updates (Handiganoor, paragraph [0002]).
Claims 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiles et al. (Pub.No.: US 20080258899 A1), hereafter Stiles in view of Grant (Pub. No.: US 20240138043 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Stiles teaches a turn signal system (paragraph [0011], “vehicle indication signal system”) for a utility vehicle (FIG. 1, towing vehicle 101), comprising:
a combination switch module (paragraph [0010], “a multi-function switch”) including:
a user-actuated switch for signaling a turn (FIG. 1, 2, 7 & 8, turn signal lever) and a wireless transmitter (paragraph [0011], a detector transmitter”) “configured to transmit a control signal in response of the user-actuated lever (paragraph [0031], “a wireless device (controlling vehicle indication system lighting on trailing vehicle 104) for receiving instructions to emit light (through one or more of brake light lens 164, left turn signal lens 174, right turn signal lens 176”); and
at least one remote light module (FIG. 1, lighting package 150) including:
a housing (FIG. 1, left turn signal lens 174, right turn signal lens 176);
a LED light source disposed within the housing (FIG. 1, 174, 176 and paragraph [0012], “a light-emitting diode ("LED"), an LED array”);
a wireless receiver configured to receive the control signal from the combination switch module (paragraph [0012], “wireless receiver apparatus, for use in a vehicle indicator signal system”); and
a control module (FIG. 1, control apparatus 100), coupled to the light source and the wireless receiver, the control module configured to activate the light source in response to the received control signal (paragraph [0031], “a wireless device (controlling vehicle indication system lighting on trailing vehicle 104) for receiving instructions to emit light (through one or more of brake light lens 164, left turn signal lens 174, right turn signal lens 176, and backup light lens 184) may accept encoded instructions: from control apparatus 100”);
wherein the signaling system is installed without a wired harness connecting the combination switch module and the one remote light module (paragraph [0008], “wirelessly detect the vehicle indication signal generated by the wired vehicle indication signal system; and wirelessly transmit, to a receiver of the remote vehicle indication signal system, instructions to activate a remote vehicle indication signal that corresponds to the vehicle indication signal generated by the wired vehicle indication signal system”).
Stiles does not disclose the wireless receiver utilizes a Wi-Fi communication protocol.
Grant teaches the wireless receiver utilizes a Wi-Fi communication protocol (paragraph [0034], “the wireless module 21 can additionally be connected wireless to wireless lighting through such as, for example, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, Wi-Fi, Zigbee, or the like”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stiles in view of Grant to incorporate a Wi-Fi communication protocol to be able to communicate with the remote and the wireless lights (Grant, paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 19, Stiles as modified above further teaches a mobile application configured to wirelessly communicate with the combination switch module and the at least one remote light module to configure settings or perform diagnostic checks, wherein the mobile application is configured to display an operational status of each of the at least one remote light module (paragraph [0039], “Processor 220 may run diagnostics and require the operator to configure apparatus 100, if in a different vehicle since last configuration, for which instructions appear on display 260. For example, after pressing a SET (L) button, processor 220 acknowledges storage (in internal flash memory) of a pattern associated with Left turn and a message on display 260 changes to a request to activate the Right turn signal and so on”).
Regarding claim 20, Stiles as modified above further teaches the combination switch module includes at least one status indicator configured to visually indicate the operational state of the turn signal system, the at least one status indicator selected from the group consisting of: an active turn signal indication, a hazard light indication, and a system fault indication (paragraph [0011], “The source of primary signals may further comprise a flasher cube that generates a distinct electromagnetic signal upon activation of each of left turn, right turn, and hazard indicator lights of the vehicle indication signal system. The wireless detection means may further comprise at least one visible light sensor positioned proximal a vehicle indicator light for detecting visible light emitted from the vehicle indicator light”)+.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiles as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Grant (Pub. No.: US 20240138043 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Stiles teaches all limitations of claim 9 but does not disclose the wireless transmitter and the wireless receiver utilize a wireless communication protocol selected from the group consisting of: Bluetooth, Zigbee, ZWave, LoRaWAN, and WiFi.
Stiles does not disclose the wireless transmitter and the wireless receiver utilize a wireless communication protocol selected from the group consisting of: Bluetooth, Zigbee, ZWave, LoRaWAN, and WiFi.
Grant teaches the wireless receiver utilizes a Wi-Fi communication protocol (paragraph [0034], “the wireless module 21 can additionally be connected wireless to wireless lighting through such as, for example, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, Wi-Fi, Zigbee, or the like”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stiles in view of Grant to incorporate a Wi-Fi communication protocol to be able to communicate with the remote and the wireless lights (Grant, paragraph [0034]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiles and Grant as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Handiganoor et al. (Pub. No.: US 20250077213 A1), hereafter Handiganoor.
Regarding claim 18, Stiles teaches all limitations of claim 17 but does not disclose the combination switch module further includes a controller adapted to receive software updates wirelessly to modify functionality of the user-actuated switch.
Handiganoor teaches the combination switch module further includes a controller adapted to receive software updates wirelessly to modify functionality of the user-actuated switch (ABSTRACT, “controls receiving of the OTA update data from the remote update server and through the communication transceiver and the selected communication protocol, and updates software or firmware executable by the controller using the received OTA update data”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stiles and Grant in view of Handiganoor to incorporate receiving over-the-air (OTA) software updates for upgrades include, for example, bug fixes and software/firmware updates (Handiganoor, paragraph [0002]).
Conclusion
/SYED M KAISER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831