Detailed Action
This is a Non-final Office action in response to communications received on 3/14/2025. Claims 1-12 are pending and are examined.
Drawings
The drawings, filed 3/14/2025, are acknowledged.
Provisional Priority
The provisional priority date of 12/23/2020 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1 and 12, the claim recites “a processor having an input receiving a real-time live digital media steam and an input defining a payload for a watermark”, however “an input receiving a real-time live digital media steam” appears two have a typographical error and an improper descriptor of “an input”. The claim should more correctly recite “a processor having an input comprising a real-time live digital media stream and an input defining a payload for a watermark”, or similar language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2 and 12, the claims recite “less than about 500 millisecond of latency”. This language “about 500 milliseconds” is unclear as to the actual upper limit of the latency.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. US 12273601 B2 (Lucchi). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application are taught by the use of synonyms and change of limitation order from the patent identified above.
Application 19/079,523
Patent No. US 12273601 B2
1. A live media streaming architecture with real-time watermarking, comprising:
a processor having an input receiving a real-time live digital media steam and an input defining a payload for a watermark,
the processor including a watermarking module that applies the watermark, including at least a portion of the payload, to individual frames of the digital media stream, such that individual portions of the payload are applied to a frame or sub frame level; and
an edge device transmitting differently watermarked digital media streams as live media streams based on the output of the watermarking module to respective different subscriber devices among a plurality of subscriber devices.
1. A live media streaming architecture with real-time watermarking, comprising: …
a first input configured to receive the real-time live digital media stream from the origin device and a second input configured to receive a payload for use in creating a watermark
watermarking module, comprising computer program instructions that when processed by the processor configures the processor to: apply a respective watermark, including at least a portion of the payload, to each individual frame of the real-time live digital media stream
generate a respective uniquely watermarked real-time live digital media stream for each subscriber device by defining a respective unique sequence of individual frames or subframes selected from among the plurality of differently watermarked real-time live digital media streams based on respective information associated the subscriber device
2. The live media streaming architecture of claim 1, wherein the watermarking library, when applying a watermark to a stream, introduces less than about 500 millisecond of latency to delivery of the stream.
2. The live media streaming architecture of claim 1, wherein the watermarking module, to apply the watermark to the real-time live digital media stream, introduces less than 500 milliseconds of latency to delivery of the real-time live digital media stream through the third one or more computer networks.
3. The live media streaming architecture of claim 1, wherein the watermarking library generates a first version of a subframe with a first watermark and a second version of a subframe with a second watermark, and wherein the edge device delivers a first stream to a first subscriber device with a first sequence of versions of subframes and a second stream to a second subscriber device with a second sequence of versions of subframes different from the first sequence.
3. The live media streaming architecture of claim 1, wherein the watermarking module generates a first version of a subframe with a first watermark and a second version of a subframe with a second watermark, and wherein the edge device delivers a first stream to a first subscriber device with a first sequence of versions of subframes and a second stream to a second subscriber device with a second sequence of versions of subframes different from the first sequence.
4. The live media streaming architecture of claim 1, wherein the watermarking library generates a first version of a frame with a first watermark and a second version of a frame with a second watermark, and wherein the edge device delivers a first stream to a first subscriber device with a first sequence of versions of frames and a second stream to a second subscriber device with a second sequence of versions of frames different from the first sequence.
4. The live media streaming architecture of claim 1, wherein the watermarking module generates a first version of a frame with a first watermark and a second version of a frame with a second watermark, and wherein the edge device delivers a first stream to a first subscriber device with a first sequence of versions of frames and a second stream to a second subscriber device with a second sequence of versions of frames different from the first sequence.
5. The live media streaming architecture of claim 1, wherein the digital media stream comprises an audio stream, wherein a frame of the audio stream is marked with the watermark.
5. The live media streaming architecture of claim 1, wherein the real-time live digital media stream comprises an audio stream, wherein a frame of the audio stream is marked with the watermark.
6. The live media streaming architecture of claim1, wherein the digital media stream comprises a video stream, wherein a frame of the video stream is marked with the watermark.
6. The live media streaming architecture of claim 1, wherein the real-time live digital media stream comprises a video stream, wherein a frame of the video stream is marked with the watermark.
7. The live media streaming architecture of claim 1, wherein the digital media stream comprises both a video stream and an audio stream, wherein frames of both the audio stream and the video stream are marked with the watermark.
7. The live media streaming architecture of claim 1, wherein the real-time live digital media stream comprises both a video stream and an audio stream, wherein frames of at least the video stream are marked with the watermark.
8. The live video streaming architecture of claim 1, wherein a payload of the watermark carries data indicating at least one of a republisher, a subscriber, or metadata about the digital media stream.
8. The live video streaming architecture of claim 1, wherein the payload for the watermark carries data indicating at least one of a republisher, a subscriber, or metadata about the real-time live digital media stream.
12. A live media streaming architecture with real-time watermarking, comprising:
a processor having an input receiving a digital media steam and an input defining a payload for a watermark,
the processor including a watermarking module that applies the watermark, including at least a portion of the payload, to individual frames of the digital media stream,
such that each watermarked frame is produced with a latency of less than about 500 milliseconds; and
an edge device transmitting differently watermarked digital media streams based on the output of the watermarking module to respective different subscriber devices among a plurality of subscriber devices.
9. A live media streaming architecture with real-time watermarking, comprising: …
a first input configured to receive real-time live digital media streams from the plurality of origin devices and a second input configured to receive a respective payload for each publisher for use in creating watermarks,
wherein the third computer storage of the watermarking server computer includes a watermarking module comprising computer program instructions that when processed by the third processor configures the third processor to: apply a respective watermark, including at least a portion of the payload for the respective publisher, to each individual frame of each real-time live digital media stream
10. The live media streaming architecture of claim 9, wherein the watermarking module, to apply the watermark to the real-time live digital media streams, introduces less than 500 milliseconds of latency to delivery of the real-time live digital media streams through the third one or more computer networks.
9. …generate a respective uniquely watermarked real-time live digital media stream for each subscriber device by defining a respective unique sequence of individual frames or subframes selected from among the plurality of differently watermarked real-time live digital media streams based on respective information associated the subscriber device…
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schrempp (US 20160105428 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Schrempp teaches the limitations of claim 9 substantially as follows:
A computer system providing extraction of a watermark in digital media transmitted by a live media streaming architecture, comprising a processing system configured to: (Schrempp; Para. [0030]: Recovering a watermark embedded in MVPD content (i.e. extraction of a watermark in digital media transmitted by a live media streaming architecture))
receive digital media transmitted from a live media streaming architecture to a subscriber device; (Schrempp; Paras. [0030] & [0033]: Receiving and extracting a watermark from a reference stream corresponding to a live MVPD content stream and using the watermark to determine that a viewing user is a subscriber (i.e. receive digital media transmitted from a live media streaming architecture to a subscriber device))
extract a watermark from the received digital media; (Schrempp; Para. [0030]: Receiving and extracting a watermark from a reference stream corresponding to a live MVPD content stream (i.e. extract a watermark from the received digital media))
determine, based on at least the watermark, whether the digital media is authorized; and (Schrempp; Para. [0030]: Receiving and extracting a watermark from a reference stream corresponding to a live MVPD content stream to determine if a match exists in the live stream (i.e. determine, based on at least the watermark, whether the digital media is authorized))
take an action with respect to transmission by the live media streaming architecture to the subscriber device based on the determination; (Schrempp; Paras. [0030] & [0033]: Receiving and extracting a watermark from a reference stream corresponding to a live MVPD content stream and using the watermark to determine that a viewing user is a subscriber (i.e. take an action with respect to transmission by the live media streaming architecture to the subscriber device based on the determination))
wherein the extraction occurs in less than fifteen seconds from a time of transmission by the live media streaming architecture to the subscriber device. (Schrempp; Para. [0030]: The reference stream need only represent a few second of the live stream in order to provide the watermark comparison (i.e. wherein the extraction occurs in less than fifteen seconds from a time of transmission by the live media streaming architecture to the subscriber device))
Regarding claim 10, Schrempp teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Schrempp teaches the limitations of claim 10 as follows:
The computer system of claim 9, wherein the extraction is performed in at least one of blind, non-blind, or informed extraction modes. (Schrempp; Paras. [0030] & [0033]: Receiving and extracting a watermark from a reference stream corresponding to a live MVPD content stream and using the watermark to determine that a viewing user is a subscriber (i.e. informed extraction modes))
Regarding claim 11, Schrempp teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Schrempp teaches the limitations of claim 11 as follows:
The computer system of claim 9, wherein the extraction is performed using a computer program library having an application interface enabling the computer program library to be linked to and used by another computer program. (Schrempp; Para. [0036]: An external interface module that allows a user to request to view content (i.e. a computer program library having an application interface enabling the computer program library to be linked to and used by another computer program))
Prior Art Considered But Not Relied Upon
Young (US 2021/0084389 A1) which teaches A method of applying watermarks containing unique identifiers to a live or recorded video source.
Schupak (US 2019/0182554 A1) which teaches a system of multiple broadcasters creating live streams of digital content where viewers receive copies of said live streams.
Conclusion
/BLAKE I NARRAMORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438