3DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2 Fig 7 in the reply filed on 10/2/25 is acknowledged.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraph 85, “reference phase angle trajectory 39” appears to be in error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the one or more propulsor” appears to be in error for “the one or more propulsors”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “at the least one propulsor” appears to be in error for “the at least one propulsor”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. “the speed reference” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0001978 (Yakobov) in view of US 2020/0248619 (Romero).
Regarding claim 1, Yakobov teaches a propulsion system (Fig 6A; engines/propellers) comprising: at least two propulsors (110, 130; 610, 630), each of the at least two propulsors comprising a fan (130, 630); and a controller having one or more processors configured to implement controller logic (220, 620, and/or 650), in implementing the controller logic, the one or more processors are configured to: determine an actual pairwise phase difference between a pair of propulsors of the at least two propulsors (para 61-68; difference between phases of the propellers is determined); generate a reference phase angle for the pair of propulsors (either a “threshold” value of phase difference – para 68, or an “optimal phase difference” – para 64); compare the actual pairwise phase difference to the reference phase angle to generate a phase error (actual phase difference is compared to the “optimal” value or the “threshold” to generate an error signal); provide the phase error to a phase controller module and generating an output based on the phase error (controller module 220 or 620 receive “control signals” – construed as the “phase error”; modules 220 and 620 generate outputs to control their respective engines); and adjust a speed of at least one propulsor of the at least two propulsors based on the output to drive the phase error towards zero (para 12, 22, 68).
Yakobov fails to teach generating one of an electric machine power command or a speed reference modifier as an output based on the phase error. However, Romero teaches using an electric machine to provide supplemental force to the gas turbine shaft and generating an electric machine power command (para 37-41; command from controller 216 to control the electric machine 212A to augment power to the shaft 40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to generate one of an electric machine power command or a speed reference modifier as an output based on the phase error in order to control the at least one propulsor (e.g. adjust a speed of the at least one propulsor as in Yakobov), as taught by Romero. It is noted that Yakobov controls (adjusts a speed of) an engine based on the phase error. Romero teaches that speed may be adjusted by using an electric machine; therefore, when the combination is made, the electric machine power command will be an output based on the phase error because the speed correction is made due to the phase error. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, generating one of an electric machine power command or a speed reference modifier as an output based on the phase error yields predictable results.
Regarding claim 8, Yakobov teaches a method of operating a propulsion system, the propulsion system comprising at least two propulsors (Fig 6A; engines/propellers), the at least two propulsors (110, 130; 610, 630) each comprising a fan (propellers/fans 130, 630), the method comprising: determining an actual pairwise phase difference between a pair of propulsors of the at least two propulsors (para 61-68; difference between phases of the propellers is determined); generating a reference phase angle for the pair of propulsors (reference phase angle is construed as the “optimal” value or the “threshold” used to generate an error signal); comparing the actual pairwise phase difference to the reference phase angle to generate a phase error (actual phase difference is compared to the “optimal” value or the “threshold” to generate an phase error signal); providing the phase error to a phase controller module and generating an output based on the phase error (controller module 220 or 620 receive “control signals” – construed as the “phase error”; modules 220 and 620 generate outputs to control their respective engines); and adjusting a speed of at least one propulsor of the at least two propulsors based on the output to drive the phase error towards zero (para 12, 22, 68).
Yakobov fails to teach generating one of an electric machine power command or a speed reference modifier as an output based on the phase error. However, Romero teaches using an electric machine to provide supplemental force to the gas turbine shaft and generating an electric machine power command (para 37-41; command from controller 216 to control the electric machine 212A to augment power to the shaft 40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to generate one of an electric machine power command or a speed reference modifier as an output based on the phase error in order to control the at least one propulsor (e.g. adjust a speed of the at least one propulsor as in Yakobov), as taught by Romero. It is noted that Yakobov controls (adjusts a speed of) an engine based on the phase error. Romero teaches that speed may be adjusted by using an electric machine; therefore, when the combination is made, the electric machine power command will be an output based on the phase error because the speed correction is made due to the phase error. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, generating one of an electric machine power command or a speed reference modifier as an output based on the phase error yields predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, 9, Yakobov in view of Romero further teaches each propulsor of the at least two propulsors further comprises a shaft coupled to the fan and an electric machine operably connected to the shaft, and wherein the one or more processors, in implementing a phase angle control scheme, are configured to: provide the phase error to the phase controller module to generate the output as the electric machine power command that is based on the phase error; and adjust an amount of power transferred between the electric machine and the shaft based on the electric machine power command. As discussed above, the combination of Yakobov in view of Romero teaches providing the phase error to the phase controller module to generate the output (Yakobov; controller module 220 or 620 receive “control signals” – construed as the “phase error”; modules 220 and 620 generate outputs to control their respective engines), and the output will be the electric machine power command that is based on the phase error (the electric machine power command will be the output based on the phase error because the speed correction is made due to the phase error). Romero teaches propulsors may comprise a shaft coupled to the fan (Fig 2, para 37-39; shaft 40 coupled to fan 42) and speed adjustments to the engine/propulsor may be made by an electric machine (electric motor 212a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a shaft coupled to the fan and an electric machine operably connected to the shaft, and wherein the one or more processors, in implementing a phase angle control scheme, are configured to: provide the phase error to the phase controller module to generate the output as the electric machine power command that is based on the phase error; and adjust an amount of power transferred between the electric machine and the shaft based on the electric machine power command in order to control speed, as taught by Romero. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, providing a shaft coupled to the fan and an electric machine operably connected to the shaft, and wherein the one or more processors, in implementing a phase angle control scheme, are configured to: provide the phase error to the phase controller module to generate the output as the electric machine power command that is based on the phase error; and adjust an amount of power transferred between the electric machine and the shaft based on the electric machine power command yields predictable results.
Claim(s) 1, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0001978 (Yakobov) in view of US 5027277 (Schneider).
Regarding claim 1, Yakobov teaches a propulsion system (Fig 6A; engines/propellers) comprising: at least two propulsors (110, 130; 610, 630), each of the at least two propulsors comprising a fan (130, 630); and a controller having one or more processors configured to implement controller logic (220, 620, and/or 650), in implementing the controller logic, the one or more processors are configured to: determine an actual pairwise phase difference between a pair of propulsors of the at least two propulsors (para 61-68; difference between phases of the propellers is determined); generate a reference phase angle for the pair of propulsors (either a “threshold” value of phase difference – para 68, or an “optimal phase difference” – para 64); compare the actual pairwise phase difference to the reference phase angle to generate a phase error (actual phase difference is compared to the “optimal” value or the “threshold” to generate an error signal); provide the phase error to a phase controller module and generating an output based on the phase error (controller module 220 or 620 receive “control signals” – construed as the “phase error”; modules 220 and 620 generate outputs to control their respective engines); and adjust a speed of at least one propulsor of the at least two propulsors based on the output to drive the phase error towards zero (para 12, 22, 68).
Yakobov fails to teach generating one of an electric machine power command or a speed reference modifier as an output based on the phase error. However, Schneider teaches a processor configured to generate a speed reference modifier (col 7 l. 64-col 8 l. 59: “summing each said individual phase error signal with the related propeller reference speed signal to produce a modified difference speed error therefor to adjust each slave propeller's blade pitch angle in a manner to reduce the magnitude of each said phase error”; “said improved accuracy phase error signals being presented to said signal summing means for summation with the related propeller reference speed signal to produce said modified speed reference speed error”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to generating one of an electric machine power command or a speed reference modifier as an output based on the phase error, as taught by Schneider. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, generating one of an electric machine power command or a speed reference modifier as an output based on the phase error yields predictable results.
Regarding claim 8, Yakobov teaches a method of operating a propulsion system, the propulsion system comprising at least two propulsors (Fig 6A; engines/propellers), the at least two propulsors (110, 130; 610, 630) each comprising a fan (propellers/fans 130, 630), the method comprising: determining an actual pairwise phase difference between a pair of propulsors of the at least two propulsors (para 61-68; difference between phases of the propellers is determined); generating a reference phase angle for the pair of propulsors (reference phase angle is construed as the “optimal” value or the “threshold” used to generate an error signal); comparing the actual pairwise phase difference to the reference phase angle to generate a phase error (actual phase difference is compared to the “optimal” value or the “threshold” to generate an phase error signal); providing the phase error to a phase controller module and generating an output based on the phase error (controller module 220 or 620 receive “control signals” – construed as the “phase error”; modules 220 and 620 generate outputs to control their respective engines); and adjusting a speed of at least one propulsor of the at least two propulsors based on the output to drive the phase error towards zero (para 12, 22, 68).
Yakobov fails to teach generating one of an electric machine power command or a speed reference modifier as an output based on the phase error. However, Schneider teaches a processor configured to generate a speed reference modifier (col 7 l. 64-col 8 l. 59: “summing each said individual phase error signal with the related propeller reference speed signal to produce a modified difference speed error therefor to adjust each slave propeller's blade pitch angle in a manner to reduce the magnitude of each said phase error”; “said improved accuracy phase error signals being presented to said signal summing means for summation with the related propeller reference speed signal to produce said modified speed reference speed error”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to generating one of an electric machine power command or a speed reference modifier as an output based on the phase error, as taught by Schneider. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, generating one of an electric machine power command or a speed reference modifier as an output based on the phase error yields predictable results.
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, 10-11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0001978 (Yakobov) in view of US 5027277 (Schneider) and further in view of US 2020/0408148 (Beauchesne-Martel).
Regarding claims 3, 10, Yakobov teaches each propulsor of the at least two propulsors further comprises a fuel delivery system operably connected to a combustion section (Fig 1, para 34; combustor 116 receives fuel) but fails to teach wherein the one or more processors, in implementing a speed control scheme, are further configured to: generate a speed reference for one or more propulsors of the at least two propulsors; receive an actual speed of the propulsor of the at least two propulsors; compare the actual speed to the reference speed to generate a speed error; provide the speed error to a fuel controller module to generate a fuel command based on the speed error; and adjust an amount of fuel supplied to the combustion section of the one or more propulsors of the at least two propulsors with the fuel delivery system to drive the speed error towards zero. However, Beauchesne-Martel teaches one or more processors, in implementing a speed control scheme, are further configured to: generate a speed reference for one or more propulsors of the at least two propulsors (para 47-50; speed reference 410); receive an actual speed of the propulsor of the at least two propulsors (output shaft speed 402); compare the actual speed to the reference speed to generate a speed error (para 50); provide the speed error to a fuel controller module to generate a fuel command based on the speed error (controller 210, or module 207 or 206; “the speed control loop 207 to determine a fuel flow needed to obtain a desired power turbine speed”); and adjust an amount of fuel supplied to the combustion section of the one or more propulsors of the at least two propulsors with the fuel delivery system to drive the speed error towards zero (Fig 4A-4B; or Fig 5A-5B, para 52-54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the one or more processors, in implementing a speed control scheme, further configured to: generate a speed reference for one or more propulsors of the at least two propulsors; receive an actual speed of the propulsor of the at least two propulsors; compare the actual speed to the reference speed to generate a speed error; provide the speed error to a fuel controller module to generate a fuel command based on the speed error; and adjust an amount of fuel supplied to the combustion section of the one or more propulsors of the at least two propulsors with the fuel delivery system to drive the speed error towards zero, as taught by Beauchesne-Martel. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the one or more processors, in implementing a speed control scheme, further configured to: generate a speed reference for one or more propulsors of the at least two propulsors; receive an actual speed of the propulsor of the at least two propulsors; compare the actual speed to the reference speed to generate a speed error; provide the speed error to a fuel controller module to generate a fuel command based on the speed error; and adjust an amount of fuel supplied to the combustion section of the one or more propulsors of the at least two propulsors with the fuel delivery system to drive the speed error towards zero yields predictable results.
Regarding claims 4, 11, Yakobov in view of Schneider and Beauchesne-Martel further teaches the one or more processors are further configured to: generate, with the phase controller module, the speed reference modifier for the one or more propulsors of the at least two propulsors based on the phase error as the output; and modify the speed reference with the speed reference modifier prior to comparing the actual speed to the speed reference to generate the speed error. Schneider teaches a processor configured to: generate, with a phase controller module, a speed reference modifier for the one or more propulsors of the at least two propulsors based on the phase error as the output; and modify the speed reference with the speed reference modifier prior to comparing the actual speed to the speed reference to generate the speed error (col 7 l. 64-col 8 l. 59: “summing each said individual phase error signal with the related propeller reference speed signal to produce a modified difference speed error therefor to adjust each slave propeller's blade pitch angle in a manner to reduce the magnitude of each said phase error”; “said improved accuracy phase error signals being presented to said signal summing means for summation with the related propeller reference speed signal to produce said modified speed reference speed error”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the one or more processors further configured to: generate, with the phase controller module, a speed reference modifier for the one or more propulsors of the at least two propulsors based on the phase error as the output; and modify the speed reference with the speed reference modifier prior to comparing the actual speed to the speed reference to generate the speed error in order to provide improved accuracy, as taught by Schneider. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the one or more processors further configured to: generate, with the phase controller module, a speed reference modifier for the one or more propulsors of the at least two propulsors based on the phase error as the output; and modify the speed reference with the speed reference modifier prior to comparing the actual speed to the speed reference to generate the speed error yields predictable results.
Regarding claims 6, 13, Yakobov in view of Schneider and Beauchesne-Martel further teaches the one or more processors are further configured to: determine whether the phase error is less than or exceeds an error threshold; generate, when the phase error is determined to exceed the error threshold, only the speed reference modifier for the at least one propulsor of the at least two propulsors based on the phase error as the output; and adjust the speed of the at least one propulsor of the at least two propulsors based on the output (Schneider col 6 l. 23-col 7 l. 10; col 7 l. 64-col 8 l. 59; corrective action is taken when phase error exceeds a value – construed as an error threshold; the corrective action generates the speed reference modifier as discussed above; Yakobov teaches adjusting speed based on the output - para 12, 22, 68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to the one or more processors are further configured to: determine whether the phase error is less than or exceeds an error threshold; generate, when the phase error is determined to exceed the error threshold, only the speed reference modifier for the at least one propulsor of the at least two propulsors based on the phase error as the output; and adjust the speed of the at least one propulsor of the at least two propulsors based on the output, as taught by Schneider. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the one or more processors are further configured to: determine whether the phase error is less than or exceeds an error threshold; generate, when the phase error is determined to exceed the error threshold, only the speed reference modifier for the at least one propulsor of the at least two propulsors based on the phase error as the output; and adjust the speed of the at least one propulsor of the at least two propulsors based on the output yields predictable results.
Claim(s) 7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0001978 (Yakobov) in view of US 2020/0408148 (Beauchesne-Martel), US 2016/0178464 (Burns), and US 2020/0248622 (Crowley).
Regarding claim 7, 14, Yakobov teaches providing the phase error (as discussed under claim 1) and generating a pitch command (para 22, 68; generating instructions for causing changes), and performing one or more control actions (performing the changes), but fails to teach comparing an actual speed to the speed reference to generate a speed error; compare an actual torque to a reference torque to generate a torque error; provide the phase error, the speed error, and the torque error to a multi-input multi-output(MIMO) control module; generate a fuel command, a pitch command, and a torque command with the MIMO control module.
However, Beauchesne-Martel teaches one or more processors, configured to compare an actual speed to the speed reference to generate a speed error (para 47-50; speed reference 410 compared to actual speed 402 to generate a speed error); and generate a fuel command (controller 210, or module 207 or 206; “the speed control loop 207 to determine a fuel flow needed to obtain a desired power turbine speed”; Fig 4A-4B; or Fig 5A-5B, para 52-54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the one or more processors, configured to compare an actual speed to the speed reference to generate a speed error; and generate a fuel command, as taught by Beauchesne-Martel. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the one or more processors configured to compare an actual speed to the speed reference to generate a speed error; and generate a fuel command yields predictable results.
Burns teaches comparing an actual torque to a reference torque to generate a torque error (para 10-11; actual/detected torque compared to a reference/limit torque; a value outside the limit would be a torque error), and generating a torque command (para 73; command to take action). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the one or more processors configured to compare an actual torque to a reference torque to generate a torque error and to generate a torque command, as taught by Burns. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the one or more processors configured to configured to compare an actual torque to a reference torque to generate a torque error and to generate a torque command yields predictable results.
Crowley teaches that control systems may be multi-input, multi-output (mimo) systems to account for interactions of the control loops (para 61). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the phase error, the speed error, and the torque error to a multi-input multi-output(MIMO) control module; generate a fuel command, a pitch command, and a torque command with the MIMO control module in order to account for interactions of the control loops, as taught by Crowley. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the one or more processors configured to provide the phase error, the speed error, and the torque error to a multi-input multi-output(MIMO) control module; generate a fuel command, a pitch command, and a torque command with the MIMO control module yields predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 5551649 teaches adjusting speed of a propeller to correct phase error.
/ANDREW H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741