DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a corresponding spherical sliding surface of a radially displaceable bearing cover” (the bearing cover is identified as either component 28 or component 70 in the specification; neither component appears to have a spherical surface in the drawings), and “wherein the lower bearing includes a bearing bush with a spherical plain bearing surface and a pivot column-side bearing ring with a cylindrical bearing surface, the spherical plain bearing surface cooperating with the cylindrical bearing surface” (there appears to be cylindrical surfaces cooperating with cylindrical surfaces and spherical surfaces cooperating with spherical surfaces, but not a cylindrical surface directly cooperating with a spherical surface) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the lower bearing includes a bearing bush with a spherical plain bearing surface and a pivot column-side bearing ring with a cylindrical bearing surface, the spherical plain bearing surface cooperating with the cylindrical bearing surface.” It is unclear whether the “a spherical plain bearing surface” is one of the “spherical guide surfaces” recited in parent claim 1.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the lower bearing includes a spherical bearing and a cylindrical bearing.” It is unclear whether the “spherical bearing” is one of the “spherical guide surfaces” recited in parent claim 1.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the upper bearing includes a housing-side bearing shell having a spherical plain bearing surface and a pivot column-side bearing ring having a spherical bearing surface”. It is unclear whether the “spherical plain bearing surface” and/or whether the “spherical bearing surface” are the “spherical guide surfaces” recited in parent claim 1.
According to MPEP § 2173.03, “a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the lower bearing includes a bearing bush with a spherical plain bearing surface and a pivot column-side bearing ring with a cylindrical bearing surface, the spherical plain bearing surface cooperating with the cylindrical bearing surface.” The drawings appears to show a cylindrical surface cooperating with another cylindrical surface, and a spherical surface cooperating with another spherical surface (see 74 and 78 in Fig. 5), but do not appear to show a spherical surface (directly) cooperating with a cylindrical surface. This conflict between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain.
Claim 7 recites “a corresponding spherical sliding surface of a radially displaceable bearing cover.” The specification identifies the bearing cover as either inner support bearing cover 28 or (upper) bearing cover 70. However, as seen in the drawings, neither component 28 nor component 70 appears to have a spherical surface. (Note that in a cross-section a spherical surface would appear as a curve, and neither 28 nor 70 have a curve.) This conflict between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bargende (US2023/0286620 - corresponding to DE102020208773 cited by Applicant).
Bargende discloses:
Re claim 1
A pivot column bearing (120, Fig. 1) for a pivotable fin stabilizer (100, Fig. 1) of a watercraft (102, Fig. 1), the fin stabilizer having a pivot column (106, Fig. 1) pivotable about a vertical axis (108, Fig. 1), the pivot column bearing comprising:
an upper bearing (168, Fig. 1); and
a lower bearing (166, Fig. 1), the upper and lower bearings being configured to mount the pivot column pivotably about the vertical axis;
wherein at least one of the upper bearing and the lower bearing has spherical guide surfaces (para. [0028] - “ spherical roller bearing”).
Re claim 10
A fin stabilizer with a pivot column bearing according to claim 1 (see abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bargende (US2023/0286620, cited by Applicant) in view of Unger (US2021/0215203).
Re claim 2
Bargende discloses all claim dependency limitations, see above, but is silent to wherein the lower bearing includes a bearing bush with a spherical plain bearing surface and a pivot column-side bearing ring with a cylindrical bearing surface, the spherical plain bearing surface cooperating with the cylindrical bearing surface.
Unger teaches wherein the lower bearing (see Fig. 5) includes a bearing bush (see 310 in Fig. 5) with a spherical plain bearing surface (see inside of 310 in Fig. 5) and a pivot column-side bearing ring (see component at 324 in Fig. 5) with a cylindrical bearing surface (see outside of 324 in Fig. 5), the spherical plain bearing surface cooperating with the cylindrical bearing surface (See Fig. 5)(see para. [0015] - “marine”), for the purpose of better withstanding axial loads (para. [0002]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing/invention to modify the device of Bargende such that wherein the lower bearing includes a bearing bush with a spherical plain bearing surface and a pivot column-side bearing ring with a cylindrical bearing surface, the spherical plain bearing surface cooperating with the cylindrical bearing surface , as taught by Unger, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of better withstanding axial loads.
Bargende as modified above further suggests:
Re claim 3
wherein the spherical plain bearing surface of the bearing bush (see 310 in Fig. 5 in Unger) includes two conical portions (see conical portions of 310 in Fig. 5 radially inside on the top and bottom) and a cylindrical portion (see cylindrical portion of 310 in Fig. 5) disposed between the two conical portions
Re claim 4
Bargende discloses all claim dependency limitations, see above, but is silent to wherein the lower bearing includes a spherical bearing and a cylindrical bearing.
Unger teaches the lower bearing (see Fig. 5) includes a spherical bearing (208; para. [0019]; see Fig. 5) and a cylindrical bearing (see around 310 in Fig. 5) (see para. [0015] - “marine”), for the purpose of better withstanding axial loads (para. [0002]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing/invention to modify the device of Bargende such that the lower bearing includes a spherical bearing and a cylindrical bearing, as taught by Unger, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of better withstanding axial loads.
Re claim 5
Bargende discloses all claim dependency limitations, see above, but is silent to wherein the upper bearing includes a housing-side bearing shell having a spherical plain bearing surface and a pivot column-side bearing ring having a spherical bearing surface, the spherical plain bearing surface of the bearing shell cooperating with the corresponding spherical bearing surface of the bearing ring.
Unger teaches wherein the upper bearing includes a housing-side bearing shell (see component at 310 in Fig. 5) having a spherical plain bearing surface and a pivot column-side bearing ring (see component at 324 in Fig. 5) having a spherical bearing surface, the spherical plain bearing surface of the bearing shell cooperating with the corresponding spherical bearing surface of the bearing ring (See Fig. 5), for the purpose of better withstanding axial loads (para. [0002]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing/invention to modify the device of Bargende such that wherein the upper bearing includes a housing-side bearing shell having a spherical plain bearing surface and a pivot column-side bearing ring having a spherical bearing surface, the spherical plain bearing surface of the bearing shell cooperating with the corresponding spherical bearing surface of the bearing ring, as taught by Unger, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of better withstanding axial loads.
Bargende as modified above further suggests:
Re claim 6. The pivot column bearing according to claim 5, wherein the spherical plain bearing surface of the bearing shell and the corresponding spherical bearing surface of the bearing ring each have a lower region arranged radially inwardly relative to an upper region (See Fig. 5 in Unger).
Re claim 7. The pivot column bearing according to claim 5, wherein the bearing ring of the upper bearing (See Fig. 1 in Bargende and Fig. 5 in Unger) has a head portion facing away from the lower bearing, the head portion having a second spherical bearing surface oriented in an opposite direction to the first spherical bearing surface (See Fig. 1 in Bargende and Fig. 5 in Unger) and cooperating with a corresponding spherical sliding surface of a radially displaceable bearing cover (402 in Unger) (as best understood. See 35 USC 112(b) rejection hereinabove).
Re claim 8. The pivot column bearing according to claim 7, wherein the bearing cover (402 in Unger) is guided radially displaceable relative to a thrust ring (204 in Unger).
Re claim 9. The pivot column bearing according to claim 7, wherein the second spherical bearing surface of the upper bearing ring (see component at 324 in Fig. 5 in Unger) has an axial extent less than an axial extent of the first spherical bearing surface (the axial extent of the component at 324 from the end to the passage 324 as see in Fig. 5 is less than the axial extend of the component at 310).
Conclusion
/GREGORY T PRATHER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3618
/MINNAH L SEOH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3618