DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: S701. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a display control unit” and “ a setting unit” in claim 21.
The specification describes a display control unit 205 and a setting unit 206 as being controller by a processor thereby providing sufficient structure and thus avoiding a rejection under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kono (US 2011/0051178).
Regarding claims 1, 20, and 21, Kono discloses an information processing apparatus executing a program that supports software capable of commonly being used in image processing apparatuses of a plurality of manufactures, a control method for an information processing apparatus executing a program that supports software capable of commonly being used in image processing apparatuses of a plurality of manufactures, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that supports software capable of commonly being used in image processing apparatuses of a plurality of manufactures and causes a computer of an information processing apparatus to execute a method comprising:
displaying a screen through which a user operation to set a file format of image data that is obtained by reading a document by an image processing apparatus is received (see Fig. 7 and 12 and paras 26 and 33-34, a user can set a file format for a scanning process via a user interface); and
setting the file format of the image data in accordance with the user operation accepted through the screen (see Figs. 8 and 13 and paras 26-27, and 33-35, a file format is set based on the selection by the user).
Regarding claim 2, Kono further discloses wherein the method further comprises generating a command including a set state of the file format accepted through the screen as an instruction command to the image processing apparatus (see Fig. 7 and 12 and paras 26 and 33-34, a user can set a file format for a scanning process via a user interface).
Regarding claim 3, Kono further discloses wherein the method further comprises converting a format of image data received from the image processing apparatus into the file format accepted through the screen (see paras 37-39, a user can select a file format, such as TIFF or PDF, or another file format and the scanned file will be converted to the selected format).
Regarding claim 4, Kono further discloses wherein the method further comprises generating a command excluding a set state of the file format accepted through the screen as an instruction command to the image processing apparatus (see para 33, a user can select “another output file format” to try and select a different file format that is not displayed to the user).
Regarding claim 5, Kono further discloses wherein the method further comprises generating a command including a set state of another file format supported by the image processing apparatus as the instruction command to the image processing apparatus (see paras 33 and 38, new instructions can be created based on support of the image forming device 20, such as adding PDF as a selectable file format).
Regarding claim 6, Kono further discloses wherein the method further comprises transmitting an instruction command to the image processing apparatus via the software (see paras 24, 26-27, and 29-31, a web application is used to display options to a user based on information stored in supported model database 140).
Regarding claim 7, Kono further discloses wherein the method further comprises generating the instruction command to the image processing apparatus by embedding a set state of a function-and-option supported only by the program into a command generated by the software (see para 31, a web application is used to display options to a user based on information stored in supported model database 140).
Regarding claim 8, Kono further discloses wherein the method further comprises generating a standard instruction command including a set state of a function-and-option supported by the software and an expanded instruction command including a set state of a function-and- option supported only by the program as instruction commands to the image processing apparatus (see paras 31, 33, and 3-38, a web application is used to display options to a user based on information stored in supported model database 140, new instructions can be created based on support of the image forming device 20, such as adding PDF as a selectable file format).
Regarding claim 9, Kono further discloses wherein the set state of the function-and-option supported only by the program includes at least a set state of the file format accepted through the screen (see Figs. 7 and 12, and paras 31, 33, and 3-38, a web application is used to display options to a user based on information stored in supported model database 140.
Regarding claim 10, Kono further discloses wherein the method further comprises switching display or non-display of a control to accept the file format on the screen in accordance with capability information of an application to take in the image data (see Figs. 7 and 12 and paras 31, 33-34, and 37-38, based on the information in the supported model database 140, different file formats will be displayed to a user for selection).
Regarding claim 11, Kono further discloses wherein the method further comprises changing a control displayed on the screen in accordance with capability information of the software (see Figs. 7 and 12 and paras 31, 33-34, and 37-38, based on the information in the supported model database 140, different file formats will be displayed to a user for selection).
Regarding claim 12, Kono further discloses wherein the method further comprises changing a control displayed on the screen in accordance with capability information of the image processing apparatus (see paras 31 and 38, based on the information in the supported model database 140, different file formats will be displayed to a user for selection).
Regarding claim 13, Kono further discloses wherein the method further comprises switching display or non-display of the screen in accordance with capability information of the image processing apparatus (see Figs. 7 and 12 and paras 31, 33-34, and 37-38, based on the information in the supported model database 140, different file formats will be displayed to a user for selection).
Regarding claim 14, Kono further discloses wherein the file format acceptable through the screen is one of PDF, JPEG, TIFF, XPS, OOXML, PNG, DOC, PPT, XLS, TXT, and CSV (see Figs. 7 and 12 and paras 33 and 38, TIFF and PDF file formats are selectable).
Regarding claim 15, Kono further discloses wherein the method further comprises accepting a set state of an additional option included in a set state of the file format on the screen (see Figs. 7 and 12 and paras 31, 33-34, and 37-38, based on the information in the supported model database 140, different file formats will be displayed to a user for selection).
Regarding claim 16, Kono further discloses wherein a setting item of the additional option acceptable through the screen is changed in accordance with a file format acceptable through the screen (see Figs. 7 and 12 and paras 31, 33-34, and 37-38, based on the information in the supported model database 140, different file formats will be displayed to a user for selection).
Regarding claim 18, Kono further discloses wherein the method further comprises generating an instruction command to the image processing apparatus by expanding a command of a standard protocol (see paras 24, 26, and 31, based on the information in the supported model database 140, different file formats will be displayed to a user for selection).
Regarding claim 19, Kono further discloses wherein the method further comprises generating an instruction command to the image processing apparatus by using a command unique to the program or the manufacturer (see paras 24, 26, and 31, based on the information in the supported model database 140, different file formats will be displayed to a user for selection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kono as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Kusakabe (US 2013/0278968).
Kono does not disclose expressly wherein the additional option acceptable through the screen is at least one of PDF/A, high compression, OCR, encryption, electronic signature addition, and per-page division.
Kusakabe discloses wherein the additional option acceptable through the screen is at least one of PDF/A, high compression, OCR, encryption, electronic signature addition, and per-page division (see Figs. 6 and 8 and paras 58-59, OCR is a selectable option for scan data).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the OCR processing of scan data, as described by Kusakabe, with the system of Kono.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to automate a manual task thereby reducing the time spent, reducing errors, and reducing costs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kusakabe with Kono to obtain the invention as specified in claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. To further show the state of the art please refer to the attached Notice of References Cited.
/MARK R MILIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681