DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 3-11 in the reply filed on 08/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3, 6-8, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sunny et al. “Lubricant-Infused Nanoparticulate Coatings Assembled by Layer-by-Layer Deposition”.
As to claim 3, Sunny et al. discloses a repellant coating on a substrate (see abstract); wherein the substrate has a coupling layer thereon comprising silica (see 2.1 Coating process, Fig. 1 step iv); the repellent coating includes a bonding layer (fluorinated trichlorosilane to provide surface bound fluorinated compounds) (see section 2.1, Fig. 1, (v)) and a lubricant stably adhered to the bonded layer (to produce a thermodynamically stable lubricant infused surface) (see section 2.1, Fig. 1 (vi). Sunny et al. characterizes the deposited silica nanoparticle coating as a nanoscale film (less than 1mm) and describes the relationship between deposition cycles, silica accumulation, and coating thickness (see Section 1 and 2.a; Fig. 2). The trichlorine functionality is capable of reacting with hydroxyl groups on the silica surface to form covalent bonds, thereby the fluorinated compounds to the silica coupling layer. The fluorinated organic portions extend outward from their surface attachment sites.
As to claims 6-8, the substrate can be a metal or polymer surface (see 2.5 Application on Different Materials).
As to claim 12, Sunny et al. teaches a silica coating on a metal substrate (see Section 4: Experimental).
Claim(s) 3-4 and 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (“Surface Functionalization for a Nontextured Liquid-Infused Surface with Enhanced Lifetime”).
As to claim 3, Zhang et al. discloses a repellent coating on a substrate (Si-wafer), wherein the substrate has a coupling layer comprising a silica layer (D4 layer); the repellent coating includes a bonded layer on the surface of he coup0ling layer (PDMS) comprising an array of compounds each having one end bound to the surface and the opposite end extending array from the surface (see section 3 Results and Discussion); and a lubricant (silicone oil) stably adhered to the bounded layer; wherein the silica layer has a thickness of less than 1mm (see Fig. 1e thickness of about 1 nm).
As to claim 4, the thickness of the coupling layer is less than 100 microns (see Fig. 1e).
As to claims 6-8, the substrate can be a metal (aluminum) or polymer (polyethylene terephthalate) (see page 5898).
As to claim 9-10 and 14 the lubricant is silicone oil and has a viscosity of 40cSt (see section 3. Results and Discussion page 5898).
As to claim 11, the bonded layer has a thickness of less than about 1000nm (see Fig. 1e).
As to claim 12, Zhang et al. states the substrate can be aluminum foil (see page 5895).
As to claim 13, the thickness of the coupling (silica) layer is less than 100 microns (see Fig. 1e).
Claim(s) 3, 6, 8-9, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aizenbeg et al. (US 2015/0175814).
As to claim 3, Aizenberg et al. discloses a repellent coating (see abstract, 0006) on a substrate, wherein the substrate has a coupling layer thereon comprised of a metal oxide layer (see 0020-21, 0040); the repellent coating includes a bounded layer on the surface of the coupling layer comprising an array of compounds each having one end bound to the surface and an oppose end extending away from the surface (see 0037) and a lubricant stably adhered to the bounded layer (see 0049, 0104); and where the coupling layer has a thickness less than 1 mm (see 0015).
As to claim 6 and 8, the substrate is a metal such as aluminum (See 0010, 0040).
As to claims 9 and 17, the lubricant can be an oil having a viscosity of 12.4 9see 0164).
As to claim 15-16, the coupling layer is a metal oxide (aluminum oxide) and the substrate is a metal (aluminum) (See 0040).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunny et al. “Lubricant-Infused Nanoparticulate Coatings Assembled by Layer-by-Layer Deposition” as applied to claim 3 above.
The teachings of Sunny et al. as applied to claims 3 and 12 are as stated above.
Sunny et al. fails to teach the silica layer has a thickness less than 100 microns as required by claims 4 and 13.
Sunny et al. teaches applying nanoscale silica nanoparticle coatings formed by repeated layer-by-layer deposition and describes controlling the thickness of the coating by adjusting the number of deposition cycles (see section 2.2, Fig. 2). Sunny et al. further teaches the silica particle layer affects the surface roughness and how stable the lubricant/sold interface is (see section 2.2 page 6661). The silica layer thickness is therefore a result effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to select a silica coating thickness below 100 microns when forming the layer in Sunny et al. through routine experimentation in order to optimize the surface roughness and the stability of the lubricant/surface interface to provide the desired repellency especially absent any evidence of criticality in using the claimed range.
As to claim 11, Sunny et al. fails to teach the thickness of the bonded layer is less than 1000nm. Sunny et al. teaches the bonded layer for stabilizing the lubricant to the surface. The thickness would therefore been a result effective variable determining the stability of the resulting lubricant on the surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to select bonded layer thickness below 1000 nm when forming the layer in Sunny et al. through routine experimentation in order to optimize the stability of the lubricant/surface interface to provide the desired repellency especially absent any evidence of criticality in using the claimed range.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunny et al. “Lubricant-Infused Nanoparticulate Coatings Assembled by Layer-by-Layer Deposition” as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wei et al. “Silicone Oil-Infused Slippery Surfaces Based on Sol−Gel Process Induced Nanocomposite Coatings: A Facile Approach to Highly Stable Bioinspired Surface for Biofouling Resistance.”
The teachings of Sunny et al. as applied to claim 3 are as stated above.
Sunny et al. teaches forming the silica nanoparticle layer using a layer by layer deposition process followed by removal of the polyelectrolyte . Sunny et al. fails to teach forming the silica layer using a sol-gel process as required by claim 5.
Wei et al. discloses preparing slippery, lubricant-infused surfaces using sol-gel-derived nanocomposite coatings. Wei et al. further teaches infusing the resulting coatings with silicone oils to obtain stable repellant surfaces. Wei et al. teaches forming a silica layer using the sol-gel process.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the repellent coating of Sunny et al. to include forming the silica via sol-gel process as taught by Wei et al. One would have bene motivated to do so since both are directed to forming SLIPS surfaces using a silica layer and Wei et al. teaches an alternative method for forming the silica layer. It has been established that the mere substitution of one known method for forming silica for another has predictable results.
Conclusion
/CACHET I. PROCTOR/
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/CACHET I PROCTOR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712