DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/02/2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made. See remarks on page 13-22.
The rejection of pending claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, is maintained in view of MPEP 2106.04(d). Applicant’s argument that the amended claims are directed to a security-focused distributed ledger workflow is not persuasive because under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims are still directed to managing and executing transactions and digital assets by receiving a token operation request, verifying or updating identity-linked token records, modifying token records, and providing authorized access based on permissions. These limitations are characterized as certain methods of organizing human activity, including fundamental economic practices. The newly added limitations merely implement the transaction / asset management process using generic distributed ledgers, the claims do not recite a specific improvements to the processor, digital wallet, DID architecture, or distributed ledger network itself. Therefore, the amended limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2a, Prong Two, and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea under Step 2B. See remarks on page 8-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria – Step 1:
Claims 1-18 are directed to a system, claim 19 is directed to a method, and claim 20 is directed a computer storage medium. Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria – Step 2A – Prong One:
Regarding Prong One of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, the claim limitations are to be analyzed to determine whether, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, they “recite” a judicial exception or in other words whether a judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claims. MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1). An “abstract idea” judicial exception is subject matter that falls within at least one of the following groups: a) certain methods of organizing human activity, b) mental processes, and/or c) mathematical concepts. MPEP 2106.04(a).
Representative independents claims 1, 19, and 20 include limitations that recite at least one abstract idea.
Claims 1, 19, and 20 are directed to the abstract idea of “receive, from an entity, a
Dependent Claims:
Claim 2 recites: wherein the processing system is further configured to: generate a cryptographic token directly associated with the DID by minting, via the smart contract, a non-transferable cryptographic token comprising embedded metadata; and link the cryptographic token to an event memorialization structure stored within a decentralized storage node network comprising decentralized storage nodes; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 3 recites: encrypt event records within the event memorialization structure using an encryption key derived from the DID; partition encrypted event records into encrypted data shards; and distribute encrypted data shards across decentralized storage nodes within the decentralized storage node network; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 4 recites: wherein the processing system is further configured to reconstruct at least one encrypted event record from encrypted data shards retrieved from decentralized storage nodes within the decentralized storage node network; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 5 recites: wherein the processing system is further configured to verify cryptographic provenance data embedded within an encrypted event record prior to providing authorized access to the encrypted event record; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 6 recites: wherein the processing system is further configured to dynamically adjust storage distribution of encrypted data shards among decentralized storage nodes within the decentralized storage node network responsive to real-time network performance metrics; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 7 recites: wherein the processing system is further configured to: validate a token swap request received from the digital wallet specifying a first digital asset and a second digital asset through a decentralized exchange protocol integrated with the processing system; and generate a token swap transaction record upon validating the token swap request; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 8 recites: wherein the processing system is further configured to: execute the token swap request through the decentralized exchange protocol; and update cryptographic token records associated with the digital wallet within the distributed ledger in accordance with execution of the token swap request; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 9 recites: wherein the processing system is further configured to: encrypt a document using a cryptographic key generated based upon the DID; and store a cryptographic reference to the encrypted document within the distributed ledger; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 10 recites: wherein the processing system is further configured to generate a secure access link referencing the encrypted document, wherein the secure access link provides access based on access permissions encoded in the smart contract; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 11 recites: wherein the processing system is further configured to: detect anomalous activities associated with the entity identifier linked to the DID; and update the immutable transaction record to include anomaly detection metadata indicating detected anomalous activities; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 12 recites: wherein the processing system is further configured to: generate a graphical representation of transaction lineage or cryptographic provenance associated with the DID; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 13 recites: wherein the processing system is further configured to: initiate a multi-signature transaction through the smart contract; verify receipt of requisite cryptographic signatures; and execute the multi-signature transaction within the distributed ledger upon successful verification of the cryptographic signatures; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 14 recites: wherein: the processing system is further configured to generate a cryptographic approval request transmitted to a recipient entity associated with a decentralized identifier; the decentralized identifier is a recipient DID distinct from the DID uniquely assigned to the entity initiating the transaction request; and The cryptographic approval request is configured to obtain the requisite cryptographic signatures to authorize the multi-signature transaction; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 15 recites: wherein the processing system is further configured to generate an authorization record specifying conditions under which a querying entity obtains authorized access to event-linked identity tokens based on access conditions defined within the smart contract; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 16 recites: wherein the processing system is further configured to verify authentication credentials presented by the entity prior to granting access to identity-based tokens stored in the distributed ledger; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 17 recites: wherein the processing system is further configured to apply role-based access control (RBAC) policies defined within the smart contract, wherein RBAC policies control entity access to cryptographic token records associated with the DID; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 18 recites: wherein the processing system is further configured to generate a security alert upon detecting an unauthorized modification attempt to the immutable transaction record stored within the distributed ledger; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria – Step 2A – Prong Two:
Claim 1, 19, and 20 recites to a generic computer as additional elements to the judicial exception in the preamble. Viewed individually and in combination, this additional element to the identified judicial exception of Step 2A.1, amounts to no more than mere instructions for managing and executing financial transactions and assets on a generic computer. Therefore, at Step 2A.2, these additional elements do not act in combination to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements of claims 1, 19, and 20 considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional element of a generic computer does no more than “[s]imply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry.” See MPEP 2106.05 (citing to Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 225 (2014)).
Therefore claims 1, 19, and 20 is found ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Step 2B:
Viewed as a whole, instructions/method claims recite the concept of “organizing human activity” (i.e., as fundamental economic practices) in managing and executing financial transactions and assets are performed by a generic computer. The method claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Instead, the claims at issue amount to nothing significantly more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using some unspecified, generic computer. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 573 U.S. 208. Mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and limitations to a particular field of use or technological environment cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The use of a computer server is to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murdoch et al. (US 20200401734 A1), in view of Snow et al. (US 12137179 B2), in view of Basu et al. (US 20220173893 A1), and further in view of Robell et al. (US 20230281604 A1).
7. Regarding claims 1, 19, and 20, Murdoch discloses a computing system (a computer-implemented method for securely managing digital assets and generating immutable transaction records linked to decentralized identifiers (DIDs), performed by a processing system in a distributed ledger technology (DLT) network, a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium having stored thereon processor- executable instructions configured to cause a processing system in a computing device to perform operations for securely managing digital assets and generating immutable transaction records linked to decentralized identifiers (DIDs) comprising: a processing system comprising one or more processors configured to: (Claim 1)
establish a cryptographically secured connection to a digital wallet corresponding to the entity identifier included in the received token operation request, (Para. 0005, Embodiments disclosed herein are related to encrypting and sharing one or more data objects stored or to be stored in a personal storage that is associated with a DID. An encryption/decryption key is generated using a passphrase and an identifier of the personal storage that stores or is to store a data object. The data object stored or to be stored in the personal storage is then encrypted using the generated encryption/decryption key. The encrypted data object is then stored in the personal storage that is associated with the DID.; and Para. 0007, In some embodiment, another entity that is not associated with the DID may be allowed to access the data object. In this embodiment, a request for accessing the encrypted data object from another entity may first be received. In response to the request, a protection strategy for protecting the encryption/decryption key is negotiated between the computing system that encrypted the data object and the other entity. In some embodiment, the protection strategy may include encrypting the encryption/decryption key using a second encryption/decryption key of the other entity. The encrypted encryption/decryption key may then be sent to the other entity with the encrypted data object.; and Para. 0028, The principles described herein allow a DID owner's personal data be stored as encrypted data and allow the DID owner's management module to securely access the encrypted data. Further, the encrypted data can also be securely shared with another entity that is not associated with the DID owner. Additionally, the other entity's identifier (e.g., DID or another identifier) is not required to be recorded in the metadata of the shared data object or anywhere in the personal storage, such that the service provider of the personal storage cannot correlate the relationships between the DID owner and the other entity.; and Para. 0119, The DID management module 720 is associated with the DID owner 201 who owns the data stored in the identity hub 711. The DID management module 720 may correspond to the DID management module 320. The DID management module 720 may be a mobile wallet app, an app installed on a personal computer, and/or a browser. The DID management module 720 is configured to have access to the data 712 and 713 stored in the identity hub 711. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the DID management module 320 or 720 may be able to manage multiple DIDs.)
Murdoch does not explicitly disclose generate an immutable transaction record comprising transaction metadata, wherein the transaction metadata comprises a transaction timestamp, a cryptographic hash linked to the DID, and an event reference identifier.
However, Snow teaches generate an immutable transaction record comprising transaction metadata, wherein the transaction metadata comprises a transaction timestamp, a cryptographic hash linked to the DID, and an event reference identifier, (Column 1/line 33, The underlying technology in these processes is called blockchain, which is a decentralized, digital database storing all forms of data, such as transactions, using lists of records, called blocks, that are linked together using cryptography to achieve immutability. The data, such as transactions, can originate from different blockchain accounts. Transactions are typically hashed using a cryptographic algorithm, such as SHA-256 known in the art, and organized into a data structure called a Merkle tree, known in the art. Pairs of transaction hashes are concatenated and hashed (also referred hereto as “combined”) until a single hash remains, known as the Merkle root. The Merkle tree is stored within a block and connected to the previous block in the current block header. Thus, each block includes a cryptographic hash of the previous block, time stamp, and data. The time stamp proves that the data in the block existed when the block was published on a decentralized computer system with the block's hash. As each block includes information about the preceding block, the blocks form a chain, with each additional block reinforcing the ones before. Blockchain platforms (systems) have multiple full nodes containing a complete copy of the blockchain and participating in block validation and maintenance of the state of the network. Because the hash value of each block uniquely corresponds to the data in the block, once recorded, the data in any given block cannot be altered retroactively without also altering all the subsequently recorded blocks.; and Column 3/line 36, The present invention also allows for integration with Layer-0 blockchain platforms, such as Cosmos and Polkadot, which aim to connect multiple existing unique blockchain platforms for making transactions across different protocols efficient. The present invention can be used to manage a transferred asset under a blockchain account of the buyer and to continue to track the asset's movements across multiple blockchain accounts.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Snow to the known invention of Murdoch would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate DID features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include retrieve cryptographic token records from a distributed ledger within a distributed ledger technology (DLT) network, wherein the cryptographic token records comprise at least one non-transferable cryptographic token linked to the DID; generate an immutable transaction record comprising transaction metadata, wherein the transaction metadata comprises a transaction timestamp, a cryptographic hash linked to the DID, and an event reference identifier result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that an user can have a secure way to transfer digital-asset transactions, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
Murdoch as modified does not explicitly disclose receive, from an entity, a token operation request for updating or verifying a decentralized identifier (DID)-linked non-transferable identity-based token, wherein the received token operation request comprises an entity identifier linked to a
However, Robell teaches receive, from an entity, a token operation request for updating or verifying a decentralized identifier (DID)-linked non-transferable identity-based token, wherein the received token operation request comprises an entity identifier linked to a(Abstract Section, The present disclosure is related to blockchain technologies, tokenization and non-fungible token (NFT) technologies, identity verification, account verification, information security (InfoSec), and fraud prevention technologies, and in particular, to technologies for creating NFT identities (IDs) for individuals and/or organizations. An NFT ID service interacts with users to obtain ID information such as ID documents, biographical data, biometric data, and/or any other suitable data. The NFT ID service includes an NFT ID engine that generates an NFT-based form of digitized and/or tokenized ID, using blockchain technology, smart contracts, distributed ledgers, digital wallets, and the ID information.; and Para. 0019, Some websites and social media platforms previously or currently offer identity verification processes (also known as “account verification”). Account verification is a process of verifying that a new or existing account (e.g., account with the social media platform) is owned and/or operated by a specified individual or organization. Verified accounts are often visually distinguished by an icon (e.g., check mark, badge, and/or the like) somewhere in the profile of the verified account, incorporated in or with the account's avatar, next to the user name of verified individual or organization, and/or somewhere that is visually identifiable by other users of the platform.; and Para. 0027-0028, The NFT ID engine 350 is an adaptable and multipurpose software and/or hardware element that generates an NFT-based form of digitized/tokenized ID, using blockchain technology, smart contracts, distributed ledgers, digital wallets 310, and/or identity data (e.g., identity documents, personal info, biometric data, and/or the like). In some implementations, the NFT ID engine 350 is an application operated by one or more computing devices such as one or more servers (e.g., a cluster of cloud compute nodes, one or more edge compute nodes, and/or the like). Additionally or alternatively, the NFT ID engine 350 may be a distributed application operated by multiple app servers 320... The NFT ID engine 350 accepts inputs (e.g., inputs 401 in FIG. 4) from any number of sources, processes the inputs, and produces NFT IDs (e.g., outputs 402 in FIG. 4) that can be used on Web2 and/or Web3 platforms (see e.g., FIG. 2), and/or carried by individuals via digital wallets 310. In various implementations, the NFT ID engine 350 can take any form of physical ID, digital ID, and/or other info, process them in complex ways as defined by the users (e.g., users 310, 360), and generate and output an NFT ID form to be used in various applications (apps) such as Web2 and/or Web3 apps (see e.g., FIG. 2). The generated NFT IDs are then stored in the NFT ID DB(s) 340 via the DB servers 330 in one or more distributed ledgers or blockchains (e.g., blockchains 415 in FIG. 4).; and Para. 0046, In a second example implementation, the inputs 401 include identity documents and/or other info/data as defined by an NGO sector 204 entity such as non-profit orgs (e.g., schools, religious orgs, and/or the like), for-profit orgs (e.g., corporations, LLCs, and/or the like), and/or the like. The info and usage model for each NGO NFT ID 402 is decided by the users 310 and/or admins 360 of such orgs. In this example, the NFT ID engine 350 generates NGO/commercial NFT IDs from the accepted inputs. In one example, the NGO/commercial NFT IDs 402 generated by the NFT ID engine 350 may be access credentials in NFT format that are used to access computing systems, physical buildings, and/or specific areas of an enterprise.; and Para. 0089, If a smart contract 411 for generating the NFT ID 402 already exists (e.g., the relevant org has already defined or developed a suitable smart contract 411), the wallet 310 triggers execution of the smart contract 411 (step 5.2), which causes the NFT engine 350 to provide the supplied info to the file system (step 5.3b) and request the NFT framework 403 to mint an NFT ID 402 (step 5.3a). If a smart contract 411 for generating the NFT ID 402 does not exist (e.g., the relevant org has not defined or developed a suitable smart contract 411), the wallet 310 triggers the NFT engine 350 to generate a suitable smart contract 411 (step 5.2, step 5.3a), which is then executed to mint the NFT ID 402 (step 5.3a, step 5.3b, step 5.4). The NFT framework 403 mints the NFT ID 402 by, for example, conceptualizing the NFT ID 402, creating the digital asset, tokenizing the asset, and then minting the NFT. Conceptualizing the NFT ID 402 can involve the NFT framework 403 determining the identity that the NFT ID 402 will represent according to a predefined configuration. Creating the digital asset can involve the NFT framework 403 creating a digital representation of the identity (also referred to as a “digital ID”). The digital ID can be or include an image, video, audio data, text, and/or any other content/data. The digital ID can be provided by the user 501 and/or created by the NFT framework 403. The NFT framework 403 can use various image and/or audio generation mechanisms to generate the digital ID. Tokenizing the asset can involve the NFT framework 403 linking the digital ID to a unique ID (e.g., a hash of the digital ID, a random number, and/or the like), which is to be stored on a blockchain 415. This allows the NFT ID 402 to be verified and tracked as a unique and original digital asset. Then, the NFT ID 402 is minted or created by assigning it a specific number of tokens and adding it to the blockchain. The NFT can then be bought, sold, and traded just like any other cryptocurrency.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Robell to the known invention of Murdoch as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate DID features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include receive, from an entity, a token operation request for updating or verifying a decentralized identifier (DID)-linked non-transferable identity-based token, wherein the received token operation request comprises an entity identifier linked to a DID uniquely assigned to the entity result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that the token operation is tied to a spefiic verified identity so that the system can confirm that the token is associated with the correct entity before updating or verifying, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
Murdoch does not explicitly disclose store the immutable transaction record within the distributed ledger in a manner preserving cryptographic integrity of the transaction metadata.
However, Snow teaches store the immutable transaction record within the distributed ledger in a manner preserving cryptographic integrity of the transaction metadata, (Because the hash value of each block uniquely corresponds to the data in the block, once recorded, the data in any given block cannot be altered retroactively without also altering all the subsequently recorded blocks. Accordingly, if a network node is compromised and a transaction within an existing block is modified, then the Merkle root of this block and the hash values of all subsequent blocks will change, which will cause the network to reject the fraudulent block. As a result, blockchains are resilient to data modifications. The blocks of prior art blockchain systems, however, have a limit on how much data or information they can include, thus each block can be thought of as being limited spatially.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Snow to the known invention of Murdoch would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate DID features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include store the immutable transaction record within the distributed ledger in a manner preserving cryptographic integrity of the transaction metadata result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that an user can have a secure way to transfer digital-asset transactions, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
Murdoch as modified does not explicitly disclose retrieve cryptographic token records from a distributed ledger within a distributed ledger technology (DLT) network, wherein the cryptographic token records comprise at least one non-transferable cryptographic token linked to the DID.
However, Robell teaches retrieve cryptographic token records from a distributed ledger within a distributed ledger technology (DLT) network, wherein the cryptographic token records comprise at least one non-transferable cryptographic token linked to the DID; (Para. 0027-0028, The NFT ID engine 350 is an adaptable and multipurpose software and/or hardware element that generates an NFT-based form of digitized/tokenized ID, using blockchain technology, smart contracts, distributed ledgers, digital wallets 310, and/or identity data (e.g., identity documents, personal info, biometric data, and/or the like). The NFT ID engine 350 accepts inputs (e.g., inputs 401 in FIG. 4) from any number of sources, processes the inputs, and produces NFT IDs (e.g., outputs 402 in FIG. 4) that can be used on Web2 and/or Web3 platforms (see e.g., FIG. 2), and/or carried by individuals via digital wallets 310. In various implementations, the NFT ID engine 350 can take any form of physical ID, digital ID, and/or other info, process them in complex ways as defined by the users (e.g., users 310, 360), and generate and output an NFT ID form to be used in various applications (apps) such as Web2 and/or Web3 apps (see e.g., FIG. 2). The generated NFT IDs are then stored in the NFT ID DB(s) 340 via the DB servers 330 in one or more distributed ledgers or blockchains (e.g., blockchains 415 in FIG. 4)… A blockchain includes a growing list of records (or a DB of transactions) that are linked together using some identifier and/or other like mechanism. This list of records/blocks may be referred to as a “ledger”. In the context of blockchain technologies, a “ledger” refers to a series of interconnected records or blocks (a “distributed ledger” is another term for a blockchain). The ledger is shared, replicated, and synchronized among nodes in a blockchain network.; and Claim 4. wherein the transaction data includes one or more of a token ID for the NFT ID, ownership information of an owner of the NFT ID, a reference to a storage location of the metadata in a distributed file system, and supply information indicating a number and type of NFT IDs to be minted.; and Claim 8. wherein the minting process is to: store the reference to the storage location of the metadata in the NFT ID, not store the set of inputs or the metadata in a blockchain, and cause the NFT ID, when minted, to be recorded as a transaction in a block on a blockchain.; and Claim 10. wherein the issuance of the minted NFT ID is recorded as a transaction in a block on a blockchain.; and Claim 11. wherein issuance of the minted NFT ID from the admin to the user is recorded as another transaction in another block on the blockchain.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Robell to the known invention of Murdoch would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate DID features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include retrieve cryptographic token records from a distributed ledger within a distributed ledger technology (DLT) network, wherein the cryptographic token records comprise at least one non-transferable cryptographic token linked to the DID result in an improved invention because applying said technique will allow the system to check trusted blockchain records, thus improving the overall security and performance of the invention.
Murdoch does not explicitly disclose execute a smart contract deployed on the distributed ledger, wherein the smart contract cryptographically modifies cryptographic token records in response to the token operation request.
However, Robell teaches execute a smart contract deployed on the distributed ledger, wherein the smart contract cryptographically modifies cryptographic token records in response to the token operation request, (Claim 1. One or more non-transitory computer-readable media (NTCRM) comprising instructions for providing non-fungible token (NFT) identity (ID) services, wherein execution of the instructions by one or more processors of a computing system is to cause the computing system to: receive a set of inputs from a set of data sources; cause storage of the set of inputs as metadata; and execute a smart contract to cause an NFT ID to be minted based on the metadata and according to a set of parameters defined by the smart contract.; and Claim 3. wherein execution of the instructions is to cause the computing system to: detect a trigger to mint the NFT ID for a user, wherein the trigger includes transaction data to be used for executing the smart contract or the transaction data is generated in response to detection of the trigger; and execute the smart contract based on the detected trigger.; and Claim 4. wherein the transaction data includes one or more of a token ID for the NFT ID, ownership information of an owner of the NFT ID, a reference to a storage location of the metadata in a distributed file system, and supply information indicating a number and type of NFT IDs to be minted.; and Claim 7. wherein the execution of the smart contract is to cause the computing system to send the transaction data to an NFT framework to perform a minting process to mint the NFT ID.; and Claim 14. wherein execution of the instructions is to cause the computing system to generate the smart contract based on a configuration obtained from an admin.; and Claim 15. wherein the configuration includes one or more of a subset of inputs of the set of inputs to be provided by individual users, a subset of inputs of the set of inputs to be provided by individual admins, content types or formats of the set of inputs, a list of network addresses, address ranges, or domains that are permitted to access the NFT ID services, one or more types of apps that are permitted to access the NFT ID services, one or more device types that are permitted to be used to mint/create NFT IDs, cryptographic mechanisms to be used for storing the set of inputs, cryptographic mechanisms to be used for minting the NFT ID, content types or formats of minted NFT IDs, a location or range of locations for storing the metadata, a location or range of locations for storing minted NFT IDs, parameters or criteria for transferring NFT IDs, a list of verification nodes, and parameters or criteria for blockchain nodes to act as verification nodes.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Robell to the known invention of Murdoch as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate contract features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include execute a smart contract deployed on the distributed ledger, wherein the smart contract cryptographically modifies cryptographic token records in response to the token operation request, result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that an user can have a secure way to transfer digital-asset transactions, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
Murdoch does not explicitly disclose provide authorized access to the immutable transaction record according to access permissions defined within the smart contract.
However, Basu teaches provide authorized access to the immutable transaction record according to access permissions defined within the smart contract, (Para. 0156, In an embodiment, when the artist writes a transaction to the blockchain creating the NFT, they may also specify access permissions and any needed requirements for storage, such as the amount of data to be stored and the quality of service required, for example, the speed of access and the reliability of access. Additionally, the artist must provide a supply of tokens to fund the initial storage. Typically the supply of tokens is performed by locking tokens, by the artist, to form a reward source for awarding a payment to the at least two blobbers for creating the NFT. The artist sends NFT data and NFT download details as input to a create NFT request sent to the blockchain platform. The NFT data is stored according to the NFT download details and access information is provided to the artist according to the download details. The access information may include an NFT ID, a URL, and a terms of service for purchasing the NFT. The terms of service may include permission settings, such as, but not limited to an activation date, a deactivation date, and a modification permitted flag. The permission flags or setting may be applied to the at least two blobbers. The permission settings may allow the owner to create an NFT allocation with the capability to upload files and folders without deletion, copy, move, and updates. Alternatively, the permission settings may allow the artist to upload new data and delete data after creating the NFT. The permission setting may allow for additional uploads, updates of existing files, deletion of files, rename of files, moving of existing files, and copying of existing files. The permission settings may allow the owner to set the NFT to immutable and responsive to setting the NFT to immutable the owner may be prohibited from setting the NFT to mutable. The permission setting may allow the owner to revoke previous allowed permission.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Basu to the known invention of Murdoch as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate DID features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include provide authorized access to the immutable transaction record according to access permissions defined within the smart contract result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that an user can have a secure way to transfer digital-asset transactions, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
8. Regarding claim 2, Murdoch as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to: generate a cryptographic token directly associated with the DID by minting, via the smart contract, a non-transferable cryptographic token comprising embedded metadata; and link the cryptographic token to an event memorialization structure stored within a decentralized storage node network comprising decentralized storage nodes.
However, Basu teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to: generate a cryptographic token directly associated with the DID by minting, via the smart contract, a non-transferable cryptographic token comprising embedded metadata; and link the cryptographic token to an event memorialization structure stored within a decentralized storage node network comprising decentralized storage nodes, (Para. 0006, According to one embodiment of the invention, there is a method that includes a processor and a local storage device accessible by the processor for processing NFTs on a blockchain platform. A request for processing an NFT is received on the blockchain platform, by a requestor. The NFT is accessed by chunks C (C1, C2, . . . , Cn) from at least two blobbers B (B1, B2, . . . , Bn). The NFT is reconstructed from the chunks C (C1, C2, . . . , Cn) to process the request; and Para. 0156, In an embodiment, when the artist writes a transaction to the blockchain creating the NFT, they may also specify access permissions and any needed requirements for storage, such as the amount of data to be stored and the quality of service required, for example, the speed of access and the reliability of access. Additionally, the artist must provide a supply of tokens to fund the initial storage. Typically the supply of tokens is performed by locking tokens, by the artist, to form a reward source for awarding a payment to the at least two blobbers for creating the NFT. The artist sends NFT data and NFT download details as input to a create NFT request sent to the blockchain platform. The NFT data is stored according to the NFT download details and access information is provided to the artist according to the download details. The access information may include an NFT ID, a URL, and a terms of service for purchasing the NFT. The terms of service may include permission settings, such as, but not limited to an activation date, a deactivation date, and a modification permitted flag. The permission flags or setting may be applied to the at least two blobbers. The permission settings may allow the owner to create an NFT allocation with the capability to upload files and folders without deletion, copy, move, and updates. Alternatively, the permission settings may allow the artist to upload new data and delete data after creating the NFT. The permission setting may allow for additional uploads, updates of existing files, deletion of files, rename of files, moving of existing files, and copying of existing files. The permission settings may allow the owner to set the NFT to immutable and responsive to setting the NFT to immutable the owner may be prohibited from setting the NFT to mutable. The permission setting may allow the owner to revoke previous allowed permission.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Basu to the known invention of Murdoch as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate cryptographic token features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the processing system is further configured to: generate a cryptographic token directly associated with the DID by minting, via the smart contract, a non-transferable cryptographic token comprising embedded metadata; and link the cryptographic token to an event memorialization structure stored within a decentralized storage node network comprising decentralized storage nodes technique will ensure that the tokens embedded with metadata is linked to the DID, thus improving the overall performance and security of the invention.
9. Regarding claim 3, Murdoch as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to: encrypt event records within the event memorialization structure using an encryption key derived from the DID; partition encrypted event records into encrypted data shards; and distribute encrypted data shards across decentralized storage nodes within the decentralized storage node network.
However, Basu teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to: encrypt event records within the event memorialization structure using an encryption key derived from the DID; partition encrypted event records into encrypted data shards; and distribute encrypted data shards across decentralized storage nodes within the decentralized storage node network, (Para. 0041-0042, Messages representing generated blocks are sent to all miners by identifying the block with a block hash, transaction hash, and a signature of the minor producing the block. The miners receiving the messages replay the transactions for the block and sign an authentication message. If there is enough miners authenticating the block, a consensus ticket is signed. In some embodiments a ⅔+1 agreement or 67% agreement is needed to generate the consensus ticket. The term “sharding” is a technique in blockchain that seeks to achieve scalability within a blockchain network. The process of sharding seeks to split a blockchain network into separate shards, that contain their own data, separate from other shards.; and Para. 0077-0095, FIG. 1 shows an overview of the process of sharing an encrypted NFT's content 100. The encrypted NFT may be a shadow NFT. In some embodiments, a request for processing an NFT is received on the blockchain platform, by a requestor. The NFT is accessed by chunks C (C1, C2, . . . , Cn) from at least two blobbers B (B1, B2, . . . , Bn). The NFT is reconstructed from the chunks C (C1, C2, . . . , Cn) to process the request. The request may be one viewing, editing, purchasing, funding, and transferring ownership of the NFT. Various means may be used to specify the NFT, for example, but not limited to, a content identification, an NFT ID, a path identification, a Uniform Resource Identifier (URI), a Uniform Resource Locator (URL),… Once all slices of the data have been received, the viewer 110 reconstructs the original data, that is, the NFT.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Basu to the known invention of Murdoch as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate encrypted record features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the processing system is further configured to: encrypt event records within the event memorialization structure using an encryption key derived from the DID; partition encrypted event records into encrypted data shards; and distribute encrypted data shards across decentralized storage nodes within the decentralized storage node network result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that stored records are encrypted, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
10. Regarding claim 4, Murdoch as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to reconstruct at least one encrypted event record from encrypted data shards retrieved from decentralized storage nodes within the decentralized storage node network.
However, Basu teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to reconstruct at least one encrypted event record from encrypted data shards retrieved from decentralized storage nodes within the decentralized storage node network, (Para. 0077, FIG. 1 shows an overview of the process of sharing an encrypted NFT's content 100. The encrypted NFT may be a shadow NFT. In some embodiments, a request for processing an NFT is received on the blockchain platform, by a requestor. The NFT is accessed by chunks C (C1, C2, . . . , Cn) from at least two blobbers B (B1, B2, . . . , Bn). The NFT is reconstructed from the chunks C (C1, C2, . . . , Cn) to process the request. The request may be one viewing, editing, purchasing, funding, and transferring ownership of the NFT. Various means may be used to specify the NFT, for example, but not limited to, a content identification, an NFT ID, a path identification, a Uniform Resource Identifier (URI), a Uniform Resource Locator (URL), and the like.; and Para. 0221, The web client 1010 utilizes toolkit 1060 to perform configurable operation that may be tailored for XYZ studios 1052 requirements. With the disclosed high performance blockchain and storage network, referred to as blockchain dStorage 1002, the disclosed support fills a critical need in the NFT space, by providing a decentralized data storage layer that can efficiently support the large space requirements needed for rich token content. In an embodiment, the toolkit 1060 provides a set of tools that allows creators to easily deploy, mint, and manage custom token collections on the blockchain, while storing all token metadata on the blockchain. The blockchain dStorage 1002 infrastructure includes storage providers and storage accessors, including blobbers 1008, miners, sharders, and validators 1003. Payment for performing services is supported by read/write pools 1006. The Web client 1010 invokes an NFT factory contract 1065 supporting various NFT operations. The operations may include blockchain NFT contract ERC721 and/or ERC2981 which may create, access, view, and transfer ownership for collectibles. Transferring ownership is different from trading NFTs. Usually artists/creators own the NFT and get royalties on all trades, in the case of a studio selling the NFT royalty rights to someone, the NFT rights are transferred to the new owner.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Basu to the known invention of Murdoch as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate decentralized storage nodes features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the processing system is further configured to reconstruct at least one encrypted event record from encrypted data shards retrieved from decentralized storage nodes within the decentralized storage node network. result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that encrypted records stored across multiple nodes to be reconstructed to ensures records can be recovered, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
11. Regarding claim 5, Murdoch does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to verify cryptographic provenance data embedded within an encrypted event record prior to providing authorized access to the encrypted event record.
However, Snow teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to verify cryptographic provenance data embedded within an encrypted event record prior to providing authorized access to the encrypted event record, (Para. 0005-0007, Embodiments disclosed herein are related to encrypting and sharing one or more data objects stored or to be stored in a personal storage that is associated with a DID. An encryption/decryption key is generated using a passphrase and an identifier of the personal storage that stores or is to store a data object. The data object stored or to be stored in the personal storage is then encrypted using the generated encryption/decryption key. The encrypted data object is then stored in the personal storage that is associated with the DID. In some embodiment, a DID management module that is configured to manage the DID is allowed to access the data object. In this embodiment, a request for accessing the data object from the DID management module may first be received. In response to the request, the encrypted data object is sent to the DID management module. The DID management module is caused to have access to the passphrase and the identifier of the first personal storage, such that the DID management module is capable of regenerating the encryption/decryption key that was used to encrypt the data object. In some embodiment, another entity that is not associated with the DID may be allowed to access the data object. In this embodiment, a request for accessing the encrypted data object from another entity may first be received. In response to the request, a protection strategy for protecting the encryption/decryption key is negotiated between the computing system that encrypted the data object and the other entity. In some embodiment, the protection strategy may include encrypting the encryption/decryption key using a second encryption/decryption key of the other entity. The encrypted encryption/decryption key may then be sent to the other entity with the encrypted data object. The other entity may decrypt the encrypted encryption/decryption key. Thereafter, the other entity may decrypt the encrypted data using the decrypted encryption/decryption key.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Snow to the known invention of Murdoch would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate record features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the processing system is further configured to verify cryptographic provenance data embedded within an encrypted event record prior to providing authorized access to the encrypted event record result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that data is verified before allowing access to prevent data being tampered with, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
12. Regarding claim 6, Murdoch as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to dynamically adjust storage distribution of encrypted data shards among decentralized storage nodes within the decentralized storage node network responsive to real-time network performance metrics.
However, Basu teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to dynamically adjust storage distribution of encrypted data shards among decentralized storage nodes within the decentralized storage node network responsive to real-time network performance metrics, (Para. 0076-0077,An NFT owner may wish to share their content, possibly for compensation. For unencrypted NFTs, the process is straightforward. However, if encryption is used, a few additional steps must be taken. This process takes advantage of proxy re-encryption so that the viewer of the data may receive the data encrypted with their own public key, whereas the blobbers storing the data never see the unencrypted content. The owner's private key is a key component of the re-encryption process, so a proxy for the owner (with the owner's private key) must be available online. This role could be managed by the curator, or the owner might have their own proxy machine. FIG. 1 shows an overview of the process of sharing an encrypted NFT's content 100. The encrypted NFT may be a shadow NFT. In some embodiments, a request for processing an NFT is received on the blockchain platform, by a requestor. The NFT is accessed by chunks C (C1, C2, . . . , Cn) from at least two blobbers B (B1, B2, . . . , Bn). The NFT is reconstructed from the chunks C (C1, C2, . . . , Cn) to process the request. The request may be one viewing, editing, purchasing, funding, and transferring ownership of the NFT. Various means may be used to specify the NFT, for example, but not limited to, a content identification, an NFT ID, a path identification, a Uniform Resource Identifier (URI), a Uniform Resource Locator (URL), and the like…. [Reconstructdata114]: Once all slices of the data have been received, the viewer 110 reconstructs the original data, that is, the NFT.; and Para. 0222, The NFT contract itself stores a reference to that data on the blockchain dStorage network, which can then be used by any third party system such as a gallery or marketplace to access the metadata for each token. The toolkit may provide studios and artists with a rich feature set including, for example, but not limited to (1) Launching a new NFT (ERC721) contract with zero code; (2) Configuring and managing tailored token contracts; (3) Curating and storing token metadata on the blockchains dStorage; (4) Seamless integration between the blockchain network and the blockchain dStorage network; (5) Minting new tokens with a few clicks; (6) Hosting a public token sale; (7) Distributing packs containing a random set of tokens that is only revealed when the pack is opened; (8) Multi-chain support; (9) Highly configurable storage settings to support freezing metadata, pack mechanics, data reveals, dynamic content, and the like; and (10) Interoperable with third party marketplaces, galleries, and other platforms.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Basu to the known invention of Murdoch as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate performance metrics features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the processing system is further configured to dynamically adjust storage distribution of encrypted data shards among decentralized storage nodes within the decentralized storage node network responsive to real-time network performance metrics result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that adjusting shards based on real-time performance metrics, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
13. Regarding claim 8, Murdoch does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to: execute the token swap request through the decentralized exchange protocol; and update cryptographic token records associated with the digital wallet within the distributed ledger in accordance with execution of the token swap request.
However, Snow teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to: execute the token swap request through the decentralized exchange protocol; and update digital asset balances associated with the digital wallet within the distributed ledger in accordance with execution of the token swap request, (Column 5/line 62, one key book applying to the identity-based blockchain account, the at least one key book having a key page. The system includes: a hardware processor; and a memory device storing instructions. When the instructions are executed by the hardware processor, they cause the processor to: record a multi-signature transaction originating from the identity-based blockchain account in the secondary chain; associate the multi-signature transaction with the key page of the at least one key book, the key page including (i) a signature-authorization rule, and (ii) a plurality of keys corresponding to a plurality of transaction authorizers; record, in the secondary chain, an authorization of the multi-signature transaction from a transaction authorizer of the plurality of transaction authorizers; and once a number of authorizations recorded on the secondary chain satisfies the signature-authorization rule, record the multi-signature transaction on the primary chain for execution.; and Column 15/line 1, In one embodiment of the invention, the authorization rules for updating the public key hash of an entry in a Key Page may be unique. For example, this particular type of transaction may always be single-signature and could only be used to update the entry corresponding to the signer. If the transaction is signed with a simple signature, then the only entry that can be updated is the one with a key hash that matches the signer. If the transaction is signed with Key Book Authority, then the only entry that can be updated is the one owned by that Key Book Authority. All other modifications of a Key Page may be performed by updating the Key Page using general (non-unique) authorization rules.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Snow to the known invention of Murdoch would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate exchange protocol features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include provide authorized access to the immutable transaction record according to access permissions defined within the smart contract result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that validated swap requests and updating balances are automated, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
14. Regarding claim 9, Murdoch discloses wherein the processing system is further configured to: encrypt a document using a cryptographic key generated based upon the DID; and store a cryptographic reference to the encrypted document within the distributed ledger, (Para. 0005, Embodiments disclosed herein are related to encrypting and sharing one or more data objects stored or to be stored in a personal storage that is associated with a DID. An encryption/decryption key is generated using a passphrase and an identifier of the personal storage that stores or is to store a data object. The data object stored or to be stored in the personal storage is then encrypted using the generated encryption/decryption key. The encrypted data object is then stored in the personal storage that is associated with the DID.; and Para. 0162-0163, FIG. 13 illustrates a flowchart of an example method 1300 for allowing a DID management module associated with the DID to access an encrypted data object, which may correspond to the act 1203 of FIG. 12. The method 1300 may include receiving a request for the encrypted data object from the DID management module (act 1301). The encrypted data object may correspond to the encrypted data object 713 of FIG. 7. The DID management module may correspond to the DID management module 720 of FIG. 7. The method 1300 may also include causing the DID management module to have access to the passphrase and the identifier of the first personal storage in response to the request (act 1302). Referring back to FIG. 7, the passphrase 723 may be caused to be entered by the DID owner 728. Alternatively, or in addition, the passphrase 723 may be stored at the DID management module 720 after the DID owner 728 first entered it. Further, the personal storage identifier 724 and/or the key identifier 725 may be included in the metadata of the encrypted data object 713′. Alternatively, or in addition, the personal storage identifier 724 and/or key identifier 725 may be obtained from the identity hub 711 where the encrypted data object 713 is stored.)
15. Regarding claim 10, Murdoch discloses wherein the processing system is further configured to generate a secure access link referencing the encrypted document, wherein the secure access link provides access based on access permissions encoded in the smart contract, (Para. 0162-0167, FIG. 13 illustrates a flowchart of an example method 1300 for allowing a DID management module associated with the DID to access an encrypted data object, which may correspond to the act 1203 of FIG. 12. The method 1300 may include receiving a request for the encrypted data object from the DID management module (act 1301). The encrypted data object may correspond to the encrypted data object 713 of FIG. 7. The DID management module may correspond to the DID management module 720 of FIG. 7…Further, the principles described herein not only allowing the encrypted data objects associated with a DID to be accessed by the DID management module that manages the DID, but also allowing the encrypted data to be shared with another entity that is not associated with the DID. FIG. 14 illustrates a flowchart of an example method 1400 for sharing an encrypted data object stored in a personal storage that is associated with a DID with another entity that is not associated with the DID. The personal storage may correspond to the identity hub 811 of FIG. 8; the encrypted data object may correspond to the encrypted data object 813 of FIG. 8; and the other entity may correspond to the other entity 820 of FIG. 8. The method 1400 includes receiving a request for accessing an encrypted data object from another entity that is not associated with the DID (act 1401).
16. Regarding claim 12, Murdoch does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to: generate a graphical representation of transaction lineage or cryptographic provenance associated with the DID.
However, Snow teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to: generate a graphical representation of transaction lineage or cryptographic provenance associated with the DID, (Column 15/line 1, In one embodiment of the present invention, a blockchain system includes a hardware processor and a memory device storing instructions. When executed by the hardware processor, the instructions, which are stored in the memory, generate a blockchain organized as a merkle tree having a continuously (continually) increasing number of leaves, the merkle tree spanning a plurality of consecutive temporal blocks of a predetermined duration, wherein an end of each consecutive temporal block of the plurality of consecutive temporal blocks constitutes a corresponding reference point, and wherein a first plurality of roots of non-overlapping subtrees of the merkle tree summarizes a cumulative state of the blockchain at a particular temporal block's reference point. In one embodiment of the invention, a root of the first plurality of roots is also a member of a second plurality of roots of non-overlapping subtrees of the merkle tree, the second plurality of roots summarizing a cumulative state of the blockchain at an earlier temporal block's reference point. In one embodiment, the earlier temporal block immediately precedes the particular temporal block whose state is summarized by the first plurality of roots.; and Column 4/line 49, In one embodiment, a method of the present invention generates a blockchain. The method includes the steps of receiving, on a continuous (continual) basis, hashes representing blockchain transactions; appending the received hashes in an order of arrival as leaves of a continuously growing merkle tree; receiving a plurality of temporal reference points over a period of time; and upon receipt of each temporal reference point, deriving a separate plurality of roots of non-overlapping subtrees of the merkle tree (note; the resulting separate pluralities of roots may or may not be different from each other), wherein each derived plurality of roots of non-overlapping subtrees of the merkle tree creates a respective proof of a cumulative state of the blockchain at the corresponding temporal reference point. Two successive temporal reference points define a blockchain block.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Snow to the known invention of Murdoch would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate graph features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the processing system is further configured to: generate a graphical representation of transaction lineage or cryptographic provenance associated with the DID result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that verification is more efficient with a graphical representation of transaction lineage, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
17. Regarding claim 13, Murdoch as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to: initiate a multi-signature transaction through the smart contract; verify receipt of requisite cryptographic signatures; and execute the multi-signature transaction within the distributed ledger upon successful verification of the cryptographic signatures.
However, Snow teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to: initiate a multi-signature transaction through the smart contract; verify receipt of requisite cryptographic signatures; and execute the multi-signature transaction within the distributed ledger upon successful verification of the cryptographic signatures, (Column 5/line 8, In one embodiment of the invention, in a blockchain system having an identity-based blockchain account including a primary chain, a secondary chain, and at least one key book applying to the identity-based blockchain account, the at least one key book having a key page, an invented method includes the steps of recording a multi-signature transaction originating from the identity-based blockchain account in the secondary chain; associating the multi-signature transaction with the key page of the at least one key book, the key page including (i) a signature-authorization rule, and (ii) a plurality of keys corresponding to a plurality of transaction authorizers; recording, in the secondary chain, an authorization of the multi-signature transaction from a transaction authorizer of the plurality of transaction authorizers; and once a number of authorizations recorded on the secondary chain satisfies the signature-authorization rule, recording the multi-signature transaction on the primary chain for execution. In one embodiment of the invented method, each key of the plurality of keys of the key page of the at least one key book includes one of (i) a hash of a transaction authorizer's public key, and (ii) a designation of a key-book authority.; and Column 5/line 30, In one embodiment of the invented method, the identity-based blockchain account belongs to a first digital identity, and the designation of a key-book authority identifies one of (i) a supplemental key book belonging to the first digital identity, and (ii) an external key book belonging to a second digital identity. In one embodiment of the invented method, the supplemental key book belonging to the first digital identity includes a first manager key book for authorizing the multi-signature transaction based on a first characteristic of the multi-signature transaction and a second manager key book for authorizing the multi-signature transaction based on a second characteristic of the multi-signature transaction.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Snow to the known invention of Murdoch would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate multi-signature transaction features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the processing system is further configured to: initiate a multi-signature transaction through the smart contract; verify receipt of requisite cryptographic signatures; and execute the multi-signature transaction within the distributed ledger upon successful verification of the cryptographic signatures result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that multi-signature authorization are enabled for transactions, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
18. Regarding claim 14, Murdoch discloses wherein: the processing system is further configured to generate a cryptographic approval request transmitted to a recipient entity associated with a decentralized identifier; the decentralized identifier is a recipient DID distinct from the DID uniquely assigned to the entity initiating the transaction request; and the cryptographic approval request is configured to obtain the requisite cryptographic signatures to authorize the multi-signature transaction, (Para. 0160-0164, The method 1200 also includes encrypting a data object stored or to be stored in the personal storage using the encryption key (act 1202). The data object may correspond to the data object 506 of FIG. 5. Referring back to FIG. 5, the data object 506 is encrypted by the encryption/decryption key 509 to generate an encrypted data object 510. The encrypted data object is then stored in the personal storage (act 1203)… FIG. 13 illustrates a flowchart of an example method 1300 for allowing a DID management module associated with the DID to access an encrypted data object, which may correspond to the act 1203 of FIG. 12. The method 1300 may include receiving a request for the encrypted data object from the DID management module (act 1301). The encrypted data object may correspond to the encrypted data object 713 of FIG. 7. The DID management module may correspond to the DID management module 720 of FIG. 7. The method 1300 may also include causing the DID management module to have access to the passphrase and the identifier of the first personal storage in response to the request (act 1302). Referring back to FIG. 7, the passphrase 723 may be caused to be entered by the DID owner 728. Alternatively, or in addition, the passphrase 723 may be stored at the DID management module 720 after the DID owner 728 first entered it. Further, the personal storage identifier 724 and/or the key identifier 725 may be included in the metadata of the encrypted data object 713′. Alternatively, or in addition, the personal storage identifier 724 and/or key identifier 725 may be obtained from the identity hub 711 where the encrypted data object 713 is stored. Thereafter, the encrypted data object is sent to the DID management module (act 1303). Referring back to FIG. 7 again, the encrypted data object 713 is sent to the DID management module 720. The DID management module is then caused to regenerate the encryption/decryption key (act 1304). As illustrated in FIG. 7, the DID management module 720 uses the passphrase 723, personal storage identifier 724, and the key identifier 725 as inputs of functions 729 to regenerate the encryption/decryption key 726.)
19. Regarding claim 15, Murdoch as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to generate an authorization record specifying conditions under which a querying entity obtains authorized access to event-linked identity tokens based on access conditions defined within the smart contract.
However, Basu teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to generate an authorization record specifying conditions under which a querying entity obtains authorized access to event-linked identity tokens based on access conditions defined within the smart contract, (Para. 0155-0156, The NFTs may be tied to storage allocations directly on the blockchain. However, in some embodiment, the data may not be stored on the blockchain itself, but the record of payment for storage and the management of the blobbers storing the data is publicly available on the blockchain. In an embodiment, when the artist writes a transaction to the blockchain creating the NFT, they may also specify access permissions and any needed requirements for storage, such as the amount of data to be stored and the quality of service required, for example, the speed of access and the reliability of access. Additionally, the artist must provide a supply of tokens to fund the initial storage. Typically the supply of tokens is performed by locking tokens, by the artist, to form a reward source for awarding a payment to the at least two blobbers for creating the NFT. The artist sends NFT data and NFT download details as input to a create NFT request sent to the blockchain platform. The NFT data is stored according to the NFT download details and access information is provided to the artist according to the download details. The access information may include an NFT ID, a URL, and a terms of service for purchasing the NFT. The terms of service may include permission settings, such as, but not limited to an activation date, a deactivation date, and a modification permitted flag. The permission flags or setting may be applied to the at least two blobbers. The permission settings may allow the owner to create an NFT allocation with the capability to upload files and folders without deletion, copy, move, and updates. Alternatively, the permission settings may allow the artist to upload new data and delete data after creating the NFT. The permission setting may allow for additional uploads, updates of existing files, deletion of files, rename of files, moving of existing files, and copying of existing files. The permission settings may allow the owner to set the NFT to immutable and responsive to setting the NFT to immutable the owner may be prohibited from setting the NFT to mutable. The permission setting may allow the owner to revoke previous allowed permission.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Basu to the known invention of Murdoch as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate access conditions features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the processing system is further configured to generate an authorization record specifying conditions under which a querying entity obtains authorized access to event-linked identity tokens based on access conditions defined within the smart contract result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that access controls are tied to smart contracts, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
20. Regarding claim 16, Murdoch discloses wherein the processing system is further configured to verify authentication credentials presented by the entity prior to granting access to identity-based tokens stored in the distributed ledger, (Para. 0002, Decentralized Identifiers (DIDs) are a new type of identifier, which are independent of any centralized registry, identity provider, or certificate authority. Distributed ledger technology (such as blockchain) provides the opportunity for using fully decentralized identifiers. Distributed ledger technology uses globally distributed ledgers to record transactions between two or more parties in a verifiable way. Once a transaction is recorded, the data in the section of ledger cannot be altered retroactively without the alteration of all subsequent sections of the ledger, which provides a fairly secure platform. In such a decentralized environment, each owner of DID generally has control over his/her own data using his/her DID. The DID owner may access the data stored in the personal storage that is associated with the DID via a DID management module, which may be a mobile app, a personal computer, a browser, etc; and Para. 0163, The method 1300 may also include causing the DID management module to have access to the passphrase and the identifier of the first personal storage in response to the request (act 1302). Referring back to FIG. 7, the passphrase 723 may be caused to be entered by the DID owner 728. Alternatively, or in addition, the passphrase 723 may be stored at the DID management module 720 after the DID owner 728 first entered it. Further, the personal storage identifier 724 and/or the key identifier 725 may be included in the metadata of the encrypted data object 713′. Alternatively, or in addition, the personal storage identifier 724 and/or key identifier 725 may be obtained from the identity hub 711 where the encrypted data object 713 is stored.)
21. Regarding claim 17, Murdoch as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to apply role-based access control (RBAC) policies defined within the smart contract, wherein RBAC policies control entity access to cryptographic token records associated with the DID.
However, Basu teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to apply role-based access control (RBAC) policies defined within the smart contract, wherein RBAC policies control entity access to cryptographic token records associated with the DID, (Para. The terms of service may include permission settings, such as, but not limited to an activation date, a deactivation date, and a modification permitted flag. The permission flags or setting may be applied to the at least two blobbers. The permission settings may allow the owner to create an NFT allocation with the capability to upload files and folders without deletion, copy, move, and updates. Alternatively, the permission settings may allow the artist to upload new data and delete data after creating the NFT. The permission setting may allow for additional uploads, updates of existing files, deletion of files, rename of files, moving of existing files, and copying of existing files. The permission settings may allow the owner to set the NFT to immutable and responsive to setting the NFT to immutable the owner may be prohibited from setting the NFT to mutable. The permission setting may allow the owner to revoke previous allowed permission.; and Para. 0158, The artist must upload the erasure coded and optionally encrypted data to the blobbers. As part of this interaction, the artist must send signed write markers to each blobber. These markers include a Merkle root of the erasure coded data, thereby serving both as a handshake between the artist and the blobber and as a form of payment. The blobber may write a transaction to redeem these markers on the blockchain, but doing so serves as the blobber's commitment to store the data that matches the Merkle root specified by the client. A challenge protocol probabilistically ensures that the blobber is both storing the data and that it matches this agreed-upon Merkle root. The blobber is rewarded or punished depending on the results of the challenge. With an NFT, the blockchain should be able to transfer control of the data corresponding to the NFT to the new owner. If the data for the NFT is encrypted, proxy re-encryption may be used to generate re-encryption keys which requires the original private key used to encrypt the data. This requires the blobbers to re-encrypt the data when an NFT's ownership changes. In this case, the blobbers need to be compensated for their additional work. When selling an NFT on the blockchain platform, the ownership of the associated data allocation must also be transferred with it. When the allocation is transferred to the new owner, the tokens in the corresponding read and write pools remain associated with the NFT. In this way, the initial cost of storing the NFT is already handled by the previous owner.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Basu to the known invention of Murdoch as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate role-based access control (RBAC) policies features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the processing system is further configured to apply role-based access control (RBAC) policies defined within the smart contract, wherein RBAC policies control entity access to cryptographic token records associated with the DID result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that access is granted based on user roles, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
22. Regarding claim 18, Murdoch as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to generate a security alert upon detecting an unauthorized modification attempt to the immutable transaction record stored within the distributed ledger.
However, Snow teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to generate a security alert upon detecting an unauthorized modification attempt to the immutable transaction record stored within the distributed ledger, (Column 1/line 48, The time stamp proves that the data in the block existed when the block was published on a decentralized computer system with the block's hash. As each block includes information about the preceding block, the blocks form a chain, with each additional block reinforcing the ones before. Blockchain platforms (systems) have multiple full nodes containing a complete copy of the blockchain and participating in block validation and maintenance of the state of the network. Because the hash value of each block uniquely corresponds to the data in the block, once recorded, the data in any given block cannot be altered retroactively without also altering all the subsequently recorded blocks. Accordingly, if a network node is compromised and a transaction within an existing block is modified, then the Merkle root of this block and the hash values of all subsequent blocks will change, which will cause the network to reject the fraudulent block. As a result, blockchains are resilient to data modifications. The blocks of prior art blockchain systems, however, have a limit on how much data or information they can include, thus each block can be thought of as being limited spatially.; and Column 23/line 7, Signatures can be collected completely on-chain and over a reasonably long timeframe, so that signors can be notified and transactions can be modified. Moving these activities on-chain provides an audit trail of the consensus-building process. The lifetime for signatures and transactions submitted to the Signature chain can be limited to a predetermined time period, e.g., 2 weeks, that can be adjustable. In such a scenario, a transaction will fail if the m-of-n signature threshold is not reached within the allotted time.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Snow to the known invention of Murdoch would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate notification features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the processing system is further configured to generate a security alert upon detecting an unauthorized modification attempt to the immutable transaction record stored within the distributed ledger result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that users are notified when any unauthorized modification attempts are detected, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murdoch et al. (US 20200401734 A1), in view of Snow et al. (US 12137179 B2), in view of Basu et al. (US20220173893 A1), in view of Robell et al. (US 20230281604 A1), and further in view of Tran et al. (US 20200387896 A1)
24. Regarding claim 7, Murdoch as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to: validate a token swap request received from the digital wallet specifying a first digital asset and a second digital asset through a decentralized exchange protocol integrated with the processing system; and generate a token swap transaction record upon validating the token swap request.
However, Tran teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to: validate a token swap request received from the digital wallet specifying a first digital asset and a second digital asset through a decentralized exchange protocol integrated with the processing system; and generate a token swap transaction record upon validating the token swap request, (0035-0051, The device can negotiate and enforce agreements with others blockchain smart contracts. The system may include one or more of the following: code to determine trade settlement amounts and transfers funds automatically, code to automatically pay coupon payments and returns principal upon bond expiration, code to determine payout based on claim type and policy coverage, code to collect insurance based on usage and upon a claim submission, code to determine payout based on claim type and policy coverage, code to transfer electronic medical record from a source to a destination based on patient consent, code to anonymously store wearable health data from wearable devices for public health monitoring, a secured content and code to determine and distributes royalty to an author, code for storing a stock certificate number with stock quantity, code to determine a share registry or a capitalization table from each stock certificate number and stock quantity, code to distribute shareholder communication from a share registry or a capitalization table, code to collect secure shareholder votes from a share registry or a capitalization table for transparent corporate governance, code to provide financial information to shareholder a share registry or a capitalization table for corporate governance, code to enforce majority or supermajority shareholder votes from a share registry or a capitalization table for corporate governance, code for supply chain management, code for tracking chain of custody for an item, or code for peer-to-peer transactions for between two computers.; and Para. 0226, Once each transaction is sent to the network, in one or more embodiments, settlement is immediate; therefore, each trader must be prepared to make the trade and have the assurance that the other trader is prepared to do the same. Various techniques are used by the described technology to coordinate the processes of trading Blockchain tokens for cryptographic currency (e.g., tokens) and/or for other Blockchain tokens. The described technology, in various embodiments, implements an atomic commitment protocol, such as a two-phase commitment protocol, to ensure that both traders are ready to send their respective transaction messages. A coordinator of the two-phase commitment is, in some embodiments, a trusted node, for example a node that both traders mutually agree to have act as coordinator (including each other).)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Tran to the known invention of Murdoch as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate exchange protocols features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the processing system is further configured to: validate a token swap request received from the digital wallet specifying a first digital asset and a second digital asset through a decentralized exchange protocol integrated with the processing system; and generate a token swap transaction record upon validating the token swap request result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that secure and accurate exchanges of assets, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murdoch et al. (US 20200401734 A1), in view of Snow et al. (US 12137179 B2), in view of Basu et al. (US20220173893 A1), in view of Robell et al. (US 20230281604 A1), and further in view of Daniel et al. (US 20170034197 A1).
26. Regarding claim 11, Murdoch discloses wherein the processing system is further configured to: detect anomalous activities associated with the entity identifier linked to the DID; and update the immutable transaction record to include anomaly detection metadata indicating detected anomalous activities.
However, Daniel teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to: detect anomalous activities associated with the entity identifier linked to the DID; and update the immutable transaction record to include anomaly detection metadata indicating detected anomalous activities, (Para. 0025-0027, In summary, in use, the security component 202 generates a new data structure known as a profiler data structure (hereinafter, profiler) for storage in the blockchain 206. The profiler includes executable logic that is executed when the profiler is validated by a miner 204. The profiler logic includes code to cause the generation of new transactions for storage in the blockchain known as profile transactions. In particular, the profile transactions are generated by the profiler according to one or more rules specified in a transaction creation profile that is codified in the profiler logic… The security component 202 monitors the blockchain to ensure the generation of profile transactions complies with the transaction creation profile. Generation of profile transactions in compliance with the transaction generation profile indicates faithful validation and execution of the profiler by miners 204. However, where profile transactions do not appear in the blockchain 206 as expected then non-compliance is identified and a malicious event occurring in respect of the blockchain 206 is detected. Such an occurrence results from miners 204 not correctly validating and executing the profiler (and likely also other transactions and data structures) stored in the blockchain 206. Indeed an absence of one or very few expected profile transactions is enough to warrant alarm that a malicious event has occurred in respect of the blockchain 206. Accordingly, the presence of malicious or erroneously operating miners 204 can be identified and mitigating or remedial action can be taken. Such action can include: generating an alert; communicating the non-compliance with the transaction creation profile to other entities operating with the blockchain 206, such as other computer systems relying on the blockchain 206; terminating access to the blockchain 206; protection of assets recorded in and dependent on the blockchain 206; and inspection of transactions occurring in the blockchain for further anomalous, erroneous and/or malicious occurrences.; and Para. 0031, Where the logic determines that a profile transaction should be generated, the process generates a profile transaction at 330 for storage in the blockchain 206. Three exemplary profile transactions are illustrated 332a, 332b and 332c each generated and stored in the blockchain 206 at particular points in time in accordance with the transaction creation profile.; and Para. 0013, Advantageously the method further comprises, in response to the detection of a deviation from the transaction creation profile, generating a notification signal for communication to one or more entities operating with the blockchain to flag the malicious event.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Daniel to the known invention of Murdoch as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate anomalous activities features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include provide authorized access to the immutable transaction record according to access permissions defined within the smart contract result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensure that the system is detecting anomalous activities and embedding the metadata, thus improving the overall performance and security of the invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
System And Method For Blockchain-based Cross-entity Authentication (US 11025435 B2) teaches methods, systems, and apparatus, including computer programs encoded on computer storage media, for blockchain-based cross-entity authentication are provided. One of the methods includes: obtaining, from a blockchain, a blockchain transaction comprising an authentication request by a first entity for authenticating a user, wherein the authentication request comprises a decentralized identifier (DID) of the user; in response to determining that the first entity is permitted to access authentication information of the user endorsed by a second entity, obtaining an authentication result of the user by the second entity in response to the obtained blockchain transaction, wherein the authentication result is associated with the DID; generating a different blockchain transaction comprising the authentication result; and transmitting the different blockchain transaction to a blockchain node for adding to the blockchain.
In addition to the foregoing, other aspects are described in the claims, drawings, and text. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Davida L. King whose telephone number is (571) 272-4724. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm.
/D.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3699