Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/14/25 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0201759 (MILLS).
Regarding claim 1: The reference discloses a powder coating comprising a binding agent, a hardening agent, and porous particles. It is recognized that the reference does not specify the porous particles are found in a range of 1-12 wt% or that the particle size is 1-200um. However, the reference discloses the porous particles comprise 5 wt% of the powder coating and have a particle size of 45um. These values are within the claimed ranges. See Example 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a powder coating having porous particles within the claimed limits.
Regarding claims 2-3: The reference discloses a particle size of 45um. See Example 1. Further, the reference discloses that particle size may be selected by the size of the sieve. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose a specific size.
Regarding claims 4-5: The resin and curing agent are extruded first and then the zeolite is added and extruded. See Example 1.
Regarding claim 6: The porous particles are zeolite. See Example 1.
Claims 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0201759 (MILLS) in view of CN 109468086.
Regarding claims 7-14: The MILLS reference discloses the powder coating as described in the above 103 rejection. It is recognized that the reference does not disclose the powder coating as an adhesion promoter. However, the CN reference disclose that it is known to use a powder coating as an adhesion promoter for adhesively affixing parts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the MILLS powder coating as an adhesion promoter. One would be motivated by the reasoned expectation of obtaining a improved adherence as described, regardless of the parts being joined.
/ELIZABETH E MULVANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785