DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Park (U.S. 2025/0075873, effectively filed 9/1/2023 as provisional 63/580,195) in view of Arima (U.S. 4,652,979) in view of 652 (JP2005088652A )
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a lighting device for a vehicle (see fig 1), comprising:
a housing (housing 120) having and inner space and an opening exposing the inner space;
a transparent lens (functional layer 143) portion coupled to the housing and covering the opening of the housing portion;
a light source (light source 110) disposed in the inner space of the housing and configured to emit light toward the transparent lens portion;
a first layer (color layer 142) disposed in the inner space of the housing, adjoining the transparent lens, and configured to allow the light emitted from the light source to pass through; and
a second layer (pattern layer 145) positioned between the light source and the transparent lens (see fig. 1), spaced apart from the transparent lens (spaced apart by protective layer 141) and configured to allow the light emitted from the light source to pass through (allows light through 145b),
wherein the second layer includes a plurality of pattern portions (openings 145a), each having a geometric pattern (see p. 0053, can be formed of a specific shape, specifically geometric as shown in figure 3)
wherein the plurality of portions are also different from a light transmittance of the first layer such that the geometric pattern of each pattern portion is selectively visible from an outside of the vehicle (portions have different light transmittance than the blocking portions 145b) when the light source is turned on (first layer transmits colored light, pattern portion blocks non pattern light).
Park does not teach that the transparent lens is coupled directly to the housing, that second layer is disposed in the inner space of the housing and that the plurality of portions respectively have different light transmittances.
Arima teaches that the transparent lens (outer lens 26) is directly coupled to the housing (see fig. 1, within mounting flange 20) and the second layer (lens member 24, 26) is disposed in the inner space of the housing (see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have formed the housing as taught by Arima to securely mount the lens structures of Park, providing additional structural rigidity, preventing damage or misalignment of the lens structures (see col. 5 lines 58-68), and preventing light leakage.
JP2005088652A teaches that that the plurality of portions respectively have different light transmittances (see abstract, see fig. 2, different gradients).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used different light transmittances as taught by 652 to enable further design features and more interesting graphics in the structure of Park, see abstract of 652.
The Examiner notes that the limitation “transparent lens” has been interpreted as “a transmissive optical device that focuses or disperses a light beam by means of refraction”.
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches that the first layer portion has a same color as a vehicle body of the vehicle (see p. 0055).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches wherein: the transparent lens has a first surface facing in a first direction toward the light source (inner surface) and a second surface facing in a second direction opposite to the first direction (outer surface), and the first layer is disposed on the first or second surface of the transparent lens (outer surface).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches that the first layer portion comprises a film attached to the transparent lens portion (film 140).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches that the first layer comprises a coating layer applied to the transparent lens (forms a coating).
Regarding claim 7, 625 teaches that the second geometric pattern includes a gradient pattern (see fig. 2)
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches comprising a third layer coated on and covering the transparent lens (first protective layer 141).
Regarding claim 10, Park teaches further comprising a grille disposed on a front portion of a vehicle body, wherein the housing is mounted to the grille (see fig. 3).
Claim 6, 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Arima and 652, further in view of Hwang (U.S. 11,667,235).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches that the pattern portion comprises: a first pattern portion (innermost columns of triangles) having a geometric pattern and a second pattern portion having a second geometric pattern (outermost columns of triangles).
Park does not teach a second pattern portion having a light transmittance lower than that of the first pattern portion.
Hwang teaches that the pattern portion comprises: a first pattern portion (fine pattern 44) configured to allow the light emitted from the light source portion to pass through; and a second pattern (diffusion paint portion 46)portion having a light transmittance lower than that of the first pattern portion (first pattern is transparent).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a pattern layer as taught by Hwang to provide additional design features and elements, i.e. as a decorative element (see col. 1 lines 35-48 of Hwang).
Regarding claim 8, Hwang teaches that the pattern portion further comprises a third pattern portion (opaque pattern 42) formed with stripes, arranged across the first pattern portion and the second pattern portion, and having a light transmittance lower than that of the first pattern portion (opaque metal).
Regarding claim 9, Park does not teach further comprising a third layer portion coated on the transparent lens portion and covering the transparent lens portion.
Hwang teaches a third layer portion (clear paint portion 30) coated on the transparent lens portion and covering the transparent lens portion (covers rear of transparent lens portion).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the clear paint portion of Hwang on the rear of the transparent lens of Glickman to protect the transparent lens and provide an additional layer for aesthetic effects such as the black paint portion 20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Examiner notes that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant’s previous arguments directed at Dassanayake appear to conclude that the combination of Park in view of Dassanayake would replace the lens structures of Park with that of Dassanayake, i.e. that one of ordinary skill in the art must pull the transflective ink from Dassanayake to combine it with Park. The Examiner disagrees with this conclusion, the secondary reference, now Arima, is only relied on to teach the housing.
In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner now relied on Arima which teaches a housing structure with structural benefits.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Salter (U.S. 10,946,815) teaches a similar lens structure with the pattern structures (inner surface of lens 38) spaced apart from an additional optical layer 170.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Matthew J. Peerce/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875