DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 15, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the term “a sufficient low level” which is a relative term and renders the claim indefinite. Said term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The claim in indefinite because the metes and bounds of what amounts constitute “a sufficient low level” are not readily ascertained.
Claims 15 and 16 recite the limitation "the graft" in the 1st line of each claim. Both claims depend from claim 14. Claim 14 does not recite the phrase “a graft” and, as such, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 20 recites the limitation, “wherein the distractive force induces a recipient site to generate a tissue engineering scaffold”. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear how a scaffold is ‘generated’ by application of a distractive force, e.g., is the scaffold created ex vivo and implanted or is the tissue site primed via a distractive to force to act as a scaffold?
Claim 20 further recites, “an allograft or xenograft of the material that has been processed to lose immunogenicity and maintaining particular growth and differentiation factors and clues”. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear if an additional method step is required and/or what processes yield “to lose immunogenicity and maintaining particular growth and differentiation factors and clues”. It is also unclear which ‘particular’ growth and differentiation factors and clues are to be maintained. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are not readily ascertained.
Additionally, claim 20 does not end with a period and as such the claim is not definitively limited only to the limitations expressly recited in the claim. See MPEP 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims, 1, 4, 6-8, 10, 11, 14, 15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khouri (US 2007/0251531 A1, Nov. 1, 2007, hereafter as “Khouri”).
The instant claims are drawn to a method of accelerating ingrowth of host living cells into a graft, the method comprising applying a mechanical tension over an interface of the graft and host cells to induce the ingrowth of host tissue (claims 1-13); a method of augmenting soft tissue comprising injecting material derived from fat into a region of a body of a patient expanded by application of a distracting force to increase the volume of the region of the body (claim 14-16); and a method of augmenting soft tissue comprising injecting material derived from homologous graft into a region of a body of a patient expanded by application of a force to increase the volume of the region of the body (claims 17-20).
Regarding instant claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 14, 15, 17 and 19, Khouri teaches a method for preparing a soft tissue site, and augmenting the soft tissue site, such as the breast(s) of a subject though use of devices that exert a distractive force (e.g., vacuum/mechanical tension) and injecting fat tissue that may be further processed into the soft tissue site (abstract; [0009] and [0027]). Khouri further teaches that the distractive force expands the breasts, i.e., provides more space for an increase in grafting volume ([0027]). Khouri teaches that the fat may be obtained from the same subject (autograft) or another human (allograft) ([0016]). Khouri also teaches said method helps generate new blood vessels that can revascularize the grafts ([0036] and [0045]).
MPEP 2112.02 (II) states,
[W]hen the claim recites using an old composition or structure and the "use" is directed to a result or property of that composition or structure, then the claim is anticipated.
Khouri teaches the claimed method step of “applying a mechanical tension over an interface of the graft and host cells” (claim 1) and, as such, one of ordinary skill would reasonably expect the same method step would yield the same result of inducing ingrowth of host tissue.
Regarding instant claim 8, Khouri, as discussed above, teaches applying vacuum pressure to tissue to expand the tissue ([0026] and [0027]). While Khouri does not explicitly state that the expansion is by passively preventing intrinsic recoil of pre-stretched tissue, Khouri teaches the positively recited method step of applying a distractive force by an external device over the graft/tissue site. MPEP 2111.04(I) states, “the court noted that a ‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited’”. MPEP 2112.01(I) further states, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established”. Accordingly, the teaching of applying a distractive force by Khouri meets the limitations of the claim.
Regarding instant claims 10-11, Khouri further teaches applying a vacuum continuously or intermittently at pressures of less than about 20-25 mm Hg so as to not rupture capillaries ([0014], [0028], [0029] and [0035]; claims 2 and 3).
The teachings of Khouri render the instant claims anticipated.
Claims 1, 6-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Becker (US 2002/0198474 A1, Dec. 26, 2002, hereafter as “Becker”).
The instant claims are described above.
Regarding instant claims 1, 6, 7, 14, Becker teaches a method for grafting fat cells from one part of a patient’s body to another part of the body (autologous) comprising the steps of inserting harvested fat cells to a selected site and subjecting the graft area to a reduced pressure, wherein the reduced pressure is applied externally (abstract; [0019]). Becker teaches that the applied pressure stretches the skin at the selected site (i.e., increases volume) ([0009]). Becker further teaches that said reduced pressure is produced via a vacuum ([0011]). Becker teaches that the fat cells are from a human (claim 1). Becker teaches applying an external vacuum pressure over the tissue site after the fat cells have been inserted as well as applying vacuum pressure to tissue allows the skin to stretch and induce vascularization ([0022] and [0026]).
MPEP 2112.02 (II) states,
[W]hen the claim recites using an old composition or structure and the "use" is directed to a result or property of that composition or structure, then the claim is anticipated.
Becker teaches the claimed method step of “applying a mechanical tension over an interface of the graft and host cells” (claim 1) and, as such, one of ordinary skill would reasonably expect the same method step would yield the same result of inducing ingrowth of host tissue.
Regarding instant claim 8, Becker, as discussed above, teaches applying vacuum pressure to tissue to stretch skin and induce vascularization ([0022] and [0026]). While Becker does not explicitly state that the expansion is by passively preventing intrinsic recoil of pre-stretched tissue, Becker teaches the positively recited method step of applying a distractive force by an external device over the graft/tissue site. MPEP 2111.04(I) states, “the court noted that a ‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited’”. MPEP 2112.01(I) further states, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established”. Accordingly, the teaching of applying a distractive force by Becker meets the limitations of the claim.
Regarding instant claim 9, Becker also teaches cleaning the site of injection in conventional manner (sterilize) and subjecting the area to reduced pressure externally (abstract; [0023]-[0025]).
Regarding instant claims 10 and 11, Becker, as discussed above, teaches applying a constant or pulsed (intermittent) reduced pressure (i.e., vacuum/mechanical tension) (abstract; [0022]) . Becker also teaches that the vacuum draws fluid into the graft nurturing the cells until new blood vessels are formed and take over ([0026]).
Thus, the teachings of Becker render the instant claims anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khouri (US 2007/0251531 A1, Nov. 1, 2007, hereafter as “Khouri”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wang et al. (Combining decellularized human adipose tissue extracellular matrix and adipose-derived stem cells for adipose tissue engineering, Acta Biomater. 2013 November; 9(11): 8921–8931; hereafter as “Wang”).
The claimed invention is described above.
Khouri teaches the elements discussed above.
Khouri is silent to the limitations, wherein the graft has the fibrous structural framework of original tissue preserved (instant claim 2) and wherein the graft is in the form of an injectable fluid (instant claim 3).
Wang teaches combining decellularized human adipose tissue extracellular matrix (hDAM) and adipose-derived stem cells for the purpose of soft tissue repair resulting from a lumpectomy or mastectomy (title; abstract). Wang also teaches that decellularization is a helpful way of deriving native ECM from adipose tissues and would provide the foundation of a biomimetic scaffold (page 2, 3rd paragraph). Wang teaches that in order to make hDAM scaffolds injectable, said scaffolds are freeze-derived and further processed to form microparticles and then mixed with saline (page 3, 2nd paragraph).
The references are both drawn to methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation and repair, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a human adipose tissue extracellular matrix that has been decellularized and injected as microparticle scaffolds in saline as suggested by Wang into the invention of Khouri with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Wang teaches that injectable hDAM provides a biomimetic scaffold that is biocompatible and demonstrates good vascularization (paragraph bridging pages 5 and 6). One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a method of augmenting soft tissue utilizing an injectable decellularized material that acts as an adipose tissue scaffold.
Thus, the combined teachings of Khouri and Wang render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker (US 2002/0198474 A1, Dec. 26, 2002, hereafter as “Becker”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wang et al. (Combining decellularized human adipose tissue extracellular matrix and adipose-derived stem cells for adipose tissue engineering, Acta Biomater. 2013 November; 9(11): 8921–8931; hereafter as “Wang”).
The claimed invention is described above.
Becker teaches the elements discussed above.
Becker is silent to the limitations, wherein the graft has the fibrous structural framework of original tissue preserved (instant claim 2) and wherein the graft is in the form of an injectable fluid (instant claim 3).
Wang teaches combining decellularized human adipose tissue extracellular matrix (hDAM) and adipose-derived stem cells for the purpose of soft tissue repair resulting from a lumpectomy or mastectomy (title; abstract). Wang also teaches that decellularization is a helpful way of deriving native ECM from adipose tissues and would provide the foundation of a biomimetic scaffold (page 2, 3rd paragraph). Wang teaches that in order to make hDAM scaffolds injectable, said scaffolds are freeze-derived and further processed to form microparticles and then mixed with saline (page 3, 2nd paragraph).
The references are both drawn to methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation and repair, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a human adipose tissue extracellular matrix that has been decellularized and injected as microparticle scaffolds in saline as suggested by Wang into the invention of Becker with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Wang teaches that injectable hDAM provides a biomimetic scaffold that is biocompatible and demonstrates good vascularization (paragraph bridging pages 5 and 6). One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a method of augmenting soft tissue utilizing an injectable decellularized material that acts as an adipose tissue scaffold.
Thus, the combined teachings of Becker and Wang render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Claims 5, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khouri (US 2007/0251531 A1, Nov. 1, 2007, hereafter as “Khouri”), as applied to claims 1, 14 and 17 above, in view of Lujan-Hernandez et al. (Experimental In-Vivo Models Used in Fat Grafting Research for Volume Augmentation in Soft Tissue Reconstruction, Arch Plast Surg. 2017 Sep; 44(5): 361–369; hereafter as “Hernandez”).
The claimed invention is described above.
Khouri teaches the elements discussed above.
Khouri is silent to “the graft is derived from a xenograft” (claim 5 and 16) or “the material is derived from an animal” (claim 18).
Hernandez teaches using animal models for fat grafting research in soft tissue augmentation (abstract). Hernandez also teaches using grafts that are derived from animals including xenografts (page 363, 1st full paragraph).
The references are both drawn to methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a material derived from an animal such as a xenograft into the invention of Khouri, as suggested by Hernandez, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Hernandez teaches xenografts are suitable in fat grafting for soft tissue reconstruction.
Thus, the combined teachings of Khouri and Hernandez render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Claims 5 and 16are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker (US 2002/0198474 A1, Dec. 26, 2002, hereafter as “Becker”), as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, in view of Lujan-Hernandez et al. (Experimental In-Vivo Models Used in Fat Grafting Research for Volume Augmentation in Soft Tissue Reconstruction, Arch Plast Surg. 2017 Sep; 44(5): 361–369; hereafter as “Hernandez”).
The claimed invention is described above.
Becker teaches the elements discussed above.
Becker is silent to “the graft is derived from a xenograft” (claim 5 and 16).
Hernandez teaches using animal models for fat grafting research in soft tissue augmentation (abstract). Hernandez also teaches using grafts that are derived from animals including xenografts (page 363, 1st full paragraph).
The references are both drawn to methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a material derived from an animal such as a xenograft into the invention of Becker, as suggested by Hernandez, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Becker teaches xenografts are suitable in fat grafting for soft tissue reconstruction.
Thus, the combined teachings of Becker and Hernandez render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khouri (US 2007/0251531 A1, Nov. 1, 2007, hereafter as “Khouri”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Liao et al. (Application of Platelet-Rich Plasma and Platelet-Rich Fibrin in Fat Grafting: Basic Science and Literature Review, Tissue Eng Part B Rev, 2014 Aug 1; 20(4): 267-276; hereafter as “Liao”).
The claimed invention is described above.
Khouri teaches the elements discussed above.
Khouri is silent to infusing the graft with one or more materials that invite tissue ingrowth (instant claim 12), prior to and/or during graft application (instant claim 13). It is noted that the instant specification states that platelet-rich plasma is an exemplary material that invites tissue ingrowth (page 7, 3rd paragraph).
Liao teaches the inclusion of platelet-rich plasma in fat graft compositions for soft tissue augmentation and reconstruction (abstract). Liao teaches that the fat grafts were harvested from the dorsal scapular region and mixed with a near identical volume of autologous PRP (prior to graft application), which was activated by CaCl2 and thrombin. The mixtures were implanted (during graft application) in the subcutaneous ear of the rabbit model, and the results showed a significant increase in viable adipocytes and angiogenesis in the PRP group (page 271, left col., 2nd full paragraph). Liao states that activated PRP appears to increase fat graft survival in most small animal studies and some clinical studies (page 273, paragraph bridging left and right columns).
The references are both drawn to methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a material that invites tissue ingrowth such as platelet-rich plasma before or during graft application as suggested by Liao into the invention of Khouri with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Liao teaches the inclusion of platelet-rich plasma significantly increased as well as increased fat graft survival. One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a method of augmenting soft tissue with the improved outcome of increased viable adipocytes and angiogenesis and improved survival of the fat graft.
Thus, the combined teachings of Khouri and Liao render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker (US 2002/0198474 A1, Dec. 26, 2002, hereafter as “Becker”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Liao et al. (Application of Platelet-Rich Plasma and Platelet-Rich Fibrin in Fat Grafting: Basic Science and Literature Review, Tissue Eng Part B Rev, 2014 Aug 1; 20(4): 267-276; hereafter as “Liao”).
The claimed invention is described above.
Becker teaches the elements discussed above.
Becker is silent to infusing the graft with one or more materials that invite tissue ingrowth (instant claim 12), prior to and/or during graft application (instant claim 13). It is noted that the instant specification states that platelet-rich plasma is an exemplary material that invites tissue ingrowth (page 7, 3rd paragraph).
Liao teaches the inclusion of platelet-rich plasma in fat graft compositions for soft tissue augmentation and reconstruction (abstract). Liao teaches that the fat grafts were harvested from the dorsal scapular region and mixed with a near identical volume of autologous PRP (prior to graft application), which was activated by CaCl2 and thrombin. The mixtures were implanted (during graft application) in the subcutaneous ear of the rabbit model, and the results showed a significant increase in viable adipocytes and angiogenesis in the PRP group (page 271, left col., 2nd full paragraph). Liao states that activated PRP appears to increase fat graft survival in most small animal studies and some clinical studies (page 273, paragraph bridging left and right columns).
The references are both drawn to methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a material that invites tissue ingrowth such as platelet-rich plasma before or during graft application as suggested by Liao into the invention of Becker with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Liao teaches the inclusion of platelet-rich plasma significantly increased as well as increased fat graft survival. One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a method of augmenting soft tissue with the improved outcome of increased viable adipocytes and angiogenesis and improved survival of the fat graft.
Thus, the combined teachings of Becker and Liao render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Claims 3, 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khouri (US 2007/0251531 A1, Nov. 1, 2007, hereafter as “Khouri”), as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, in view of Van Epps et al. (USPN 8,697,057 B2, Apr. 15, 2014; hereafter as “Van Epps”).
The claimed invention is described above.
Khouri teaches the elements discussed above.
Khouri is silent to the limitations, “wherein the graft is in the form of a paste or injectable fluid” (instant claim 3) and “wherein the material is derived from a xenograft” (instant claims 5 and 16).
Van Epps teaches a composition comprising adipose tissue (grafted), a hydrogel material, and a compound having the structure of formula I for the purpose of soft tissue replacement including breast reconstruction (col. 2, lines 34-51; col. 4, lines 11-19; col. 6, lines 27-31). Van Epps teaches that the adipose tissue can be from the same individual who is undergoing the soft tissue replacement procedure (autograft), a donor individual who is not the same individual undergoing the soft tissue replacement procedure (allograft), or from an animal source (xenograft) (col. 6, lines 27-31). Van Epps also teaches that the composition can be in the form of an injectable solution or a paste (col. 39, lines 51-55).
The references are both drawn to methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation and reconstruction, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a material derived from an animal as suggested by Van Epps into the invention of Khouri with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Van Epps teaches that an autograft, allograft or xenograft are all suitable equivalent sources for obtaining adipose tissue for the purpose of soft tissue replacement (MPEP 2144.06). One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a method of augmenting soft tissue utilizing a composition comprising an adipose material from an animal source (xenograft). It would have also been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the composition in an injectable solution or paste form as suggested by Van Epps into the invention of Khouri with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Van Epps teaches that either a solution or paste formulation are suitable for the purpose of injecting a fat grafting composition for soft tissue reconstruction including the breast. MPEP 2144.07 states, “[t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination”.
Thus, the combined teachings of Khouri and Van Epps render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Claims 3- 5 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker (US 2002/0198474 A1, Dec. 26, 2002, hereafter as “Becker”), as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, in view of Van Epps et al. (USPN 8,697,057 B2, Apr. 15, 2014; hereafter as “Van Epps”).
The claimed invention is described above.
Becker teaches the elements discussed above.
Becker is silent to the limitations, wherein the graft is in the form of a paste or injectable fluid (instant claim 3), wherein the graft is derived from a homologous/allograft (instant claims 4, 15 and 17) and wherein the material is derived from a xenograft (instant claims 5 and 16), wherein the injected material is derived from an animal (instant claim 18).
Van Epps teaches a composition comprising adipose tissue (grafted), a hydrogel material, and a compound having the structure of formula I for the purpose of soft tissue replacement including breast reconstruction (col. 2, lines 34-51; col. 4, lines 11-19; col. 6, lines 27-31). Van Epps teaches that the adipose tissue can be from the same individual who is undergoing the soft tissue replacement procedure (autograft), a donor individual who is not the same individual undergoing the soft tissue replacement procedure (allograft), or from an animal source (xenograft) (col. 6, lines 27-31). Van Epps also teaches that the composition can be in the form of an injectable solution or a paste (col. 39, lines 51-55).
The references are both drawn to methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation and reconstruction, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a material derived from an autograft, allograft or xenograft (i.e., human or animal sources) as suggested by Van Epps into the invention of Becker with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Van Epps teaches that an autograft, allograft or xenograft are all suitable equivalent sources for obtaining adipose tissue for the purpose of soft tissue replacement (MPEP 2144.06). One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a method of augmenting soft tissue utilizing a composition comprising an adipose material from any of the above sources. It would have also been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the composition in an injectable solution or paste form as suggested by Van Epps into the invention of Becker with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Van Epps teaches that either a solution or paste formulation are suitable for the purpose of injecting a fat grafting composition for soft tissue reconstruction including the breast. MPEP 2144.07 states, “[t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination”.
Thus, the combined teachings of Becker and Van Epps render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10, 11, 14, 15, 17 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-40 of U.S. Patent No. 8,066,691 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant claims significantly overlap with the subject matter of the patented claims.
The instant claims are drawn to a method of accelerating ingrowth of host living cells into a graft, the method comprising applying a mechanical tension over an interface of the graft and host cells to induce the ingrowth of host tissue (claims 1-13); a method of augmenting soft tissue comprising injecting material derived from fat into a region of a body of a patient expanded by application of a distracting force to increase the volume of the region of the body (claim 14-16); and a method of augmenting soft tissue comprising injecting material derived from homologous graft into a region of a body of a patient expanded by application of a force to increase the volume of the region of the body (claims 17-20).
The patented claims are drawn to a method for augmenting a subject's breast, comprising the steps of: a) applying a distractive force to said breast sufficiently to expand the breast; b) obtaining a sample of body fat; and c) injecting microdroplets of said sample of body fat from step (b) throughout said breast that was subjected to a distractive force; thereby augmenting the breast of said subject. The patented claims further claim that the distractive force is a vacuum, wherein the vacuum is applied over the breast, the distractive force is applied continuously or intermittently, the material source is human and can be from either the patient or another person, applying a distractive force expands the lattice and creates additional space for receipt of fat microdroplets, and the distractive force is further applied post-injection.
While the patented claims do not explicitly state that the mechanical tension induces ingrowth of host tissue (instant claim 1), the patent discloses the positively recited method step of applying a distractive force (i.e., vacuum). MPEP 2111.04(I) states, “the court noted that a ‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited’”. MPEP 2112.01(I) further states, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established”. Accordingly, the teaching of applying a distractive force by the patent meets the limitations of the claim.
While the patent does not explicitly claim that the expansion is by passively preventing intrinsic recoil of pre-stretched tissue (instant claim 8), the patent discloses the positively recited method step of applying a distractive force by an external device over the graft/tissue site. MPEP 2111.04(I) states, “the court noted that a ‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited’”. MPEP 2112.01(I) further states, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established”. Accordingly, the teaching of applying a distractive force by the patent meets the limitations of the claim.
Thus, the subject matter of the patented claims anticipates the subject matter of the instant claims.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-40 of U.S. Patent No. 8,066,691 B2, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Liao et al. (Application of Platelet-Rich Plasma and Platelet-Rich Fibrin in Fat Grafting: Basic Science and Literature Review, Tissue Eng Part B Rev, 2014 Aug 1; 20(4): 267-276; hereafter as “Liao”).
The claimed invention is described above.
The patent teaches the elements discussed above.
The patent is silent to infusing the graft with one or more materials that invite tissue ingrowth (instant claim 12), prior to and/or during graft application (instant claim 13). It is noted that the instant specification states that platelet-rich plasma is an exemplary material that invites tissue ingrowth (page 7, 3rd paragraph).
Liao teaches the inclusion of platelet-rich plasma in fat graft compositions for soft tissue augmentation and reconstruction (abstract). Liao teaches that the fat grafts were harvested from the dorsal scapular region and mixed with a near identical volume of autologous PRP (prior to graft application), which was activated by CaCl2 and thrombin. The mixtures were implanted (during graft application) in the subcutaneous ear of the rabbit model, and the results showed a significant increase in viable adipocytes and angiogenesis in the PRP group (page 271, left col., 2nd full paragraph). Liao states that activated PRP appears to increase fat graft survival in most small animal studies and some clinical studies (page 273, paragraph bridging left and right columns).
The patent and Liao are both drawn to methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a material that invites tissue ingrowth such as platelet-rich plasma before or during graft application as suggested by Liao with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Liao teaches the inclusion of platelet-rich plasma significantly increased as well as increased fat graft survival. One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a method of augmenting soft tissue with the improved outcome of increased viable adipocytes and angiogenesis and improved survival of the fat graft.
Thus, the claimed subject matter of the instant application is unpatentable over the patent in view of Liao.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-40 of U.S. Patent No. 8,066,691 B2, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wang et al. (Combining decellularized human adipose tissue extracellular matrix and adipose-derived stem cells for adipose tissue engineering, Acta Biomater. 2013 November ; 9(11): 8921–8931; hereafter as “Wang”).
The claimed invention is described above.
The patent teaches the elements discussed above.
The patent is silent to wherein the graft has the fibrous structural framework of original tissue preserved (instant claim 2) and wherein the graft is in the form of a paste or injectable fluid (instant claim 2).
Wang teaches combining decellularized human adipose tissue extracellular matrix (hDAM) and adipose-derived stem cells for the purpose of soft tissue repair resulting from a lumpectomy or mastectomy (title; abstract). Wang also teaches that decellularization is a helpful way of deriving native ECM from adipose tissues and would provide the foundation of a biomimetic scaffold (page 2, 3rd paragraph). Wang teaches that in order to make hDAM scaffolds injectable, said scaffolds are freeze-derived and further processed to form microparticles and then mixed with saline (page 3, 2nd paragraph).
The patent and Wang are both drawn to methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation and repair, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a human adipose tissue extracellular matrix that has been decellularized and injected as microparticle scaffolds in saline as suggested by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Wang teaches that injectable hDAM provides a biomimetic scaffold that is biocompatible and demonstrates good vascularization (paragraph bridging pages 5 and 6). One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a method of augmenting soft tissue utilizing an injectable decellularized material that acts as an adipose tissue scaffold.
Thus, the claimed subject matter of the instant application is unpatentable over the patent in view of Wang.
Claims 3, 5, 16 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-40 of U.S. Patent No. 8,066,691 B2, as applied to claims 1, 14 and 17 above, in view of Van Epps et al. (USPN 8,697,057 B2, Apr. 15, 2014; hereafter as “Van Epps”).
The claimed invention is described above.
The patent teaches the elements discussed above.
The patent is silent to the limitations, wherein the graft is in the form of a paste or injectable fluid (instant claim 3), wherein the graft is derived from a xenograft (instant claims 5 and 16), wherein the material is derived from an animal (instant claim 18).
Van Epps teaches a composition comprising adipose tissue (grafted), a hydrogel material, and a compound having the structure of formula I for the purpose of soft tissue replacement including breast reconstruction (col. 2, lines 34-51; col. 4, lines 11-19; col. 6, lines 27-31). Van Epps teaches that the adipose tissue can be from the same individual who is undergoing the soft tissue replacement procedure (autograft), a donor individual who is not the same individual undergoing the soft tissue replacement procedure (allograft), or from an animal source (xenograft) (col. 6, lines 27-31). Van Epps teaches augmenting breast tissue in women (Examples 3-5 and 10). Van Epps also teaches that the composition can be in the form of an injectable solution or a paste (col. 39, lines 51-55).
The patent and Van Epps are both drawn to methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation and reconstruction, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a material derived from aa xenograft/an animal as suggested by Van Epps with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Van Epps teaches that an autograft, allograft or xenograft are all suitable equivalent sources for obtaining adipose tissue for the purpose of soft tissue replacement (MPEP 2144.06). One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a method of augmenting soft tissue utilizing a composition comprising an adipose material from an animal source. It would have also been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the composition in an injectable solution or paste form as suggested by Van Epps with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Van Epps teaches that either a solution or paste formulation are suitable for the purpose of injecting a fat grafting composition for soft tissue reconstruction including the breast. MPEP 2144.07 states, “[t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination”.
Thus, the claimed subject matter of the instant application is unpatentable over the patent in view of Van Epps.
Claims 1, 8, 12-15, 17 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 9,066,795 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant claims significantly overlap with the subject matter of the patented claims.
The instant claims are described above.
The patented claims are drawn to a method of treatment comprising: transitioning a region of a patient's body from a first state to a second state (augmenting), wherein the patient's body region envelops a first volume in the first state and envelopes a second volume in the second state, the second volume being greater than the first volume (increase in volume); conforming a passive stent to a contour of the patient's body region, after the body region is transitioned to the second state; affixing the passive stent to the patient’s body region, when the patient's body region is in the second state; and increasing the rigidity of the passive stent such that the passive stent maintains the patient's body region in the second state, and wherein the passive stent does not further enlarge the patient's body region beyond the second volume. The patented claims further claim applying a vacuum pressure, wherein the patient’s body region is the patient’s breast (soft tissue), including a growth promoting agent, and injecting a cellular agent including fat.
The patented claims do not teach an embodiment comprising all of the claimed elements in combination. However, the patent teaches each of the elements and it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the elements with a reasonable expectation of success because the patent discloses all of the elements are suitable for treating a patient by augmenting soft tissue in said patient. MPEP 2144.07 states, “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination”.
While the patented claims do not explicitly state that the mechanical tension induces ingrowth of host tissue (instant claim 1), the patent discloses the positively recited method step of applying a distractive force (i.e., vacuum). MPEP 2111.04(I) states, “the court noted that a ‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited’”. MPEP 2112.01(I) further states, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established”. Accordingly, the teaching of applying a distractive force by the patent meets the limitations of the claim.
While the patent does not explicitly claim that the expansion is by passively preventing intrinsic recoil of pre-stretched tissue (instant claim 8), the patent discloses the positively recited method step of applying a distractive force by an external device over the graft/tissue site. MPEP 2111.04(I) states, “the court noted that a ‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited’”. MPEP 2112.01(I) further states, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established”. Accordingly, the teaching of applying a distractive force by the patent meets the limitations of the claim.
Thus, the subject matter of the patented claims and the subject matter of the instant claims are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 9,066,795 B2, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wang et al. (Combining decellularized human adipose tissue extracellular matrix and adipose-derived stem cells for adipose tissue engineering, Acta Biomater. 2013 November ; 9(11): 8921–8931; hereafter as “Wang”).
The claimed invention is described above.
The patent teaches the elements discussed above.
The patent is silent to wherein the graft has the fibrous structural framework of original tissue preserved (instant claim 2) and wherein the graft is in the form of a paste or injectable fluid (instant claim 2).
Wang teaches combining decellularized human adipose tissue extracellular matrix (hDAM) and adipose-derived stem cells for the purpose of soft tissue repair resulting from a lumpectomy or mastectomy (title; abstract). Wang also teaches that decellularization is a helpful way of deriving native ECM from adipose tissues and would provide the foundation of a biomimetic scaffold (page 2, 3rd paragraph). Wang teaches that in order to make hDAM scaffolds injectable, said scaffolds are freeze-derived and further processed to form microparticles and then mixed with saline (page 3, 2nd paragraph).
The patent and Wang are both drawn to methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation and repair, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a human adipose tissue extracellular matrix that has been decellularized and injected as microparticle scaffolds in saline as suggested by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Wang teaches that injectable hDAM provides a biomimetic scaffold that is biocompatible and demonstrates good vascularization (paragraph bridging pages 5 and 6). One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a method of augmenting soft tissue utilizing an injectable decellularized material that acts as an adipose tissue scaffold.
Thus, the claimed subject matter of the instant application is unpatentable over the patent in view of Wang.
Claims 3, 5, 16 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 9,066,795 B2, as applied to claims 1, 14 and 17 above in view of Van Epps et al. (USPN 8,697,057 B2, Apr. 15, 2014; hereafter as “Van Epps”).
The claimed invention is described above.
The patent teaches the elements discussed above.
The patent is silent to the limitations, wherein the graft is in the form of a paste or injectable fluid (instant claim 3), wherein the graft is derived from a xenograft (instant claims 5 and 16), wherein the material is derived from an animal (instant claim 18).
Van Epps teaches a composition comprising adipose tissue (grafted), a hydrogel material, and a compound having the structure of formula I for the purpose of soft tissue replacement including breast reconstruction (col. 2, lines 34-51; col. 4, lines 11-19; col. 6, lines 27-31). Van Epps teaches that the adipose tissue can be from the same individual who is undergoing the soft tissue replacement procedure (autograft), a donor individual who is not the same individual undergoing the soft tissue replacement procedure (allograft), or from an animal source (xenograft) (col. 6, lines 27-31). Van Epps teaches augmenting breast tissue in women (Examples 3-5 and 10). Van Epps also teaches that the composition can be in the form of an injectable solution or a paste (col. 39, lines 51-55).
The patent and Van Epps are both drawn to methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation and reconstruction, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a material derived from aa xenograft/an animal as suggested by Van Epps with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Van Epps teaches that an autograft, allograft or xenograft are all suitable equivalent sources for obtaining adipose tissue for the purpose of soft tissue replacement (MPEP 2144.06). One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a method of augmenting soft tissue utilizing a composition comprising an adipose material from an animal source. It would have also been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the composition in an injectable solution or paste form as suggested by Van Epps with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Van Epps teaches that either a solution or paste formulation are suitable for the purpose of injecting a fat grafting composition for soft tissue reconstruction including the breast. MPEP 2144.07 states, “[t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination”.
Thus, the claimed subject matter of the instant application is unpatentable over the patent in view of Van Epps.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 9,066,795 B2, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Becker (US 2002/0198474 A1, Dec. 26, 2002, hereafter as “Becker”).
The instant claims are described above.
The patent teaches the elements discussed above.
The patent is silent to “constant suction” (instant claim 10) and “intermittent suction” (instant claim 11).
Becker teaches a method for grafting fat cells from one part of a patient’s body to another part of the body comprising the steps of inserting harvested fat cells to a selected site and subjecting the graft area to a reduced pressure, wherein the reduced pressure is applied externally (abstract). Becker teaches that the applied pressure stretches the skin at the selected site (i.e., increases volume) ([0009]). Becker further teaches that said reduced pressure is produced via a vacuum ([0011]). Becker teaches applying a constant or pulsed (intermittent) reduced pressure (i.e., vacuum/mechanical tension) (abstract; [0022]). Becker also teaches that the vacuum draws fluid into the graft nurturing the cells until new blood vessels are formed and take over ([0026]).
The patent and Becker are both drawn to similar methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation and reconstruction, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include constant or intermittent suction as suggested by Becker with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Becker teaches a similar method that constant or intermittent suction are effective in vascularizing the tissue site and improving graft survival. One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a method of augmenting soft tissue with improved graft survival.
Thus, the claimed subject matter of the instant application is unpatentable over the patent in view of Becker.
Claims 1, 8, 12-15, 17 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 9,522,058 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant claims significantly overlap with the subject matter of the patented claims.
The instant claims are described above.
The patented claims are drawn to a method for augmenting an organ, comprising: transitioning the organ from a first state to a second state, wherein the organ envelops a first volume in the first state and envelopes a second volume in the second state, the second volume being greater than the first volume (increase in volume); and affixing a passive stent to an outer surface of the organ when the organ is in the second state; wherein the passive stent maintains the organ in the second state. The patented claims further claim that the organ is a breast, injecting an agent derived from adipose (fat) tissue, injecting a tissue matrix, injecting a growth promoting agent, applying vacuum pressure, applying a constant vacuum pressure.
The patented claims do not teach an embodiment comprising all of the claimed elements in combination. However, the patent teaches each of the elements and it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the elements with a reasonable expectation of success because the patent discloses all of the elements are suitable for augmenting an organ such as a breast. MPEP 2144.07 states, “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination”.
While the patented claims do not explicitly state that the mechanical tension induces ingrowth of host tissue (instant claim 1), the patent discloses the positively recited method step of applying a distractive force (i.e., vacuum). MPEP 2111.04(I) states, “the court noted that a ‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited’”. MPEP 2112.01(I) further states, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established”. Accordingly, the teaching of applying a distractive force by the patent meets the limitations of the claim.
While the patent does not explicitly claim that the expansion is by passively preventing intrinsic recoil of pre-stretched tissue (instant claim 8), the patent discloses the positively recited method step of applying a distractive force by an external device over the graft/tissue site. MPEP 2111.04(I) states, “the court noted that a ‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited’”. MPEP 2112.01(I) further states, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established”. Accordingly, the teaching of applying a distractive force by the patent meets the limitations of the claim.
Thus, the subject matter of the patented claims and the subject matter of the instant claims are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 9,522,058 B2, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wang et al. (Combining decellularized human adipose tissue extracellular matrix and adipose-derived stem cells for adipose tissue engineering, Acta Biomater. 2013 November ; 9(11): 8921–8931; hereafter as “Wang”).
The claimed invention is described above.
The patent teaches the elements discussed above.
The patent is silent to wherein the graft has the fibrous structural framework of original tissue preserved (instant claim 2) and wherein the graft is in the form of a paste or injectable fluid (instant claim 2).
Wang teaches combining decellularized human adipose tissue extracellular matrix (hDAM) and adipose-derived stem cells for the purpose of soft tissue repair resulting from a lumpectomy or mastectomy (title; abstract). Wang also teaches that decellularization is a helpful way of deriving native ECM from adipose tissues and would provide the foundation of a biomimetic scaffold (page 2, 3rd paragraph). Wang teaches that in order to make hDAM scaffolds injectable, said scaffolds are freeze-derived and further processed to form microparticles and then mixed with saline (page 3, 2nd paragraph).
The patent and Wang are both drawn to methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation and repair, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a human adipose tissue extracellular matrix that has been decellularized and injected as microparticle scaffolds in saline as suggested by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Wang teaches that injectable hDAM provides a biomimetic scaffold that is biocompatible and demonstrates good vascularization (paragraph bridging pages 5 and 6). One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a method of augmenting soft tissue utilizing an injectable decellularized material that acts as an adipose tissue scaffold.
Thus, the claimed subject matter of the instant application is unpatentable over the patent in view of Wang.
Claims 3, 5, 16 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 9,522,058 B2, as applied to claims 1, 14 and 17 above, in view of Van Epps et al. (USPN 8,697,057 B2, Apr. 15, 2014; hereafter as “Van Epps”).
The claimed invention is described above.
The patent teaches the elements discussed above.
The patent is silent to the limitations, wherein the graft is in the form of a paste or injectable fluid (instant claim 3), wherein the graft is derived from a xenograft (instant claims 5 and 16), wherein the material is derived from an animal (instant claim 18).
Van Epps teaches a composition comprising adipose tissue (grafted), a hydrogel material, and a compound having the structure of formula I for the purpose of soft tissue replacement including breast reconstruction (col. 2, lines 34-51; col. 4, lines 11-19; col. 6, lines 27-31). Van Epps teaches that the adipose tissue can be from the same individual who is undergoing the soft tissue replacement procedure (autograft), a donor individual who is not the same individual undergoing the soft tissue replacement procedure (allograft), or from an animal source (xenograft) (col. 6, lines 27-31). Van Epps teaches augmenting breast tissue in women (Examples 3-5 and 10). Van Epps also teaches that the composition can be in the form of an injectable solution or a paste (col. 39, lines 51-55).
The patent and Van Epps are both drawn to methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation and reconstruction, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a material derived from aa xenograft/an animal as suggested by Van Epps with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Van Epps teaches that an autograft, allograft or xenograft are all suitable equivalent sources for obtaining adipose tissue for the purpose of soft tissue replacement (MPEP 2144.06). One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a method of augmenting soft tissue utilizing a composition comprising an adipose material from an animal source. It would have also been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the composition in an injectable solution or paste form as suggested by Van Epps with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Van Epps teaches that either a solution or paste formulation are suitable for the purpose of injecting a fat grafting composition for soft tissue reconstruction including the breast. MPEP 2144.07 states, “[t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination”.
Thus, the claimed subject matter of the instant application is unpatentable over the patent in view of Van Epps.
Claim 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 9,066,795 B2, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Becker (US 2002/0198474 A1, Dec. 26, 2002, hereafter as “Becker”).
The instant claims are described above.
The patent teaches the elements discussed above.
The patent is silent to “intermittent suction” (instant claim 11).
Becker teaches a method for grafting fat cells from one part of a patient’s body to another part of the body comprising the steps of inserting harvested fat cells to a selected site and subjecting the graft area to a reduced pressure, wherein the reduced pressure is applied externally (abstract). Becker teaches that the applied pressure stretches the skin at the selected site (i.e., increases volume) ([0009]). Becker further teaches that said reduced pressure is produced via a vacuum ([0011]). Becker teaches applying a constant or pulsed (intermittent) reduced pressure (i.e., vacuum/mechanical tension) (abstract; [0022]). Becker also teaches that the vacuum draws fluid into the graft nurturing the cells until new blood vessels are formed and take over ([0026]).
The patent and Becker are both drawn to similar methods of fat grafting for the purpose soft tissue augmentation and reconstruction, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include intermittent suction as suggested by Becker with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Becker teaches a similar method that intermittent suction is effective in vascularizing the tissue site and improving graft survival. One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a method of augmenting soft tissue with improved graft survival.
Thus, the claimed subject matter of the instant application is unpatentable over the patent in view of Becker.
Conclusion
All claims have been rejected; no claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/CASEY S HAGOPIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1617