DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 recites the limitation "the two sensors" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2 recites the limitation "the two unit lifting devices" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3 recites the limitation "the apparatus” in n line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3 recites the limitation "the two unit lifting devices" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3 recites the limitation "the two sensors" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3 recites the limitation "the different tanks" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyagi (US 2018/0015726) in view of Usui (US 2017/0297345).
With regard to claim 1, Aoyagi discloses an inkjet recording apparatus (31) [Para. 0035] comprising:
a unit which is provided with a tank (B) [Para. 0080; Fig. 2] for storing liquid;
a unit lifting device (47) [Fig. 8] which lifts and lowers the unit [Fig. 2];
a control part (5) [Para. 0037] which controls the unit lifting device; and
a sensor (K) [Para. 0112] which detects a rise of a liquid surface in the tank [height L2 of the ink level in ink tank B; Para. 0112; Fig 2], wherein
Aoyagi does not disclose the sensor is provided at two positions separated in a horizontal direction, and the control part determines that the unit tilts when one of the sensors detects the rise of the liquid surface.
Usui teaches sensors provided at two positions separated in a horizontal direction [Fig. 2B, 2C] and the control part (30) [detection circuit; Para. 0112] determines that the unit (20) [container; Para. 0112] tilts when one of the sensors detects the rise of the liquid surface [based on capacitance and level of the liquid; Step S106;Para. 0112]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the apparatus of Aoyagi with sensors provided at two positions separated in a horizontal direction for the purpose of accurately detecting the remaining ink amount and determining when the unit tilts as taught by Usui for the purpose of outputting a warning messing about ink shortage.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyagi (US 2018/0015726) in view of Asami (US 2010/177148) and further in view of Usui (US 2017/0297345).
With regard to claim 4, Aoyagi discloses an inkjet recording apparatus (31) [Para. 0035] comprising:
a unit (361) [placement table; Para. 0091] which is provided with a tank (B) [Para. 0080; Fig. 2] for storing liquid;
a unit lifting device (362) [moving mechanism; Para. 0091] which lifts and lowers the unit [Fig. 2];
a control part (5) [Para. 0037] which controls the unit lifting device; and
a sensor (K) [Para. 0112] which detects a height of the liquid surface [Para. 0112]
Aoyagi does not disclose a sensor using a floating body floated on the liquid, wherein the sensor is provided at a position separated from a center of the tank in a horizontal direction, and the control part determines that the unit tilts when a change in height of the liquid surface detected by the sensor is equal to or larger than a threshold value.
Asami teaches a sensor (45) using a floating body (45a) [float member; Para 0057] floated on the liquid, wherein the sensor is provided at a position separated from a center of the tank in a horizontal direction [Fig. 1],
Usui teaches a control part (30) [detection circuit; Para. 0112] determines that the unit (20) [container; Para. 0112] tilts when a change in height of the liquid surface detected by the sensor is equal to or larger than a threshold value [based on capacitance and level of the liquid; Step S106;Para. 0094, 0112]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a sensor using a floating body in the apparatus of Aoyagi as taught by Asami for the purpose of accurately detecting the remaining ink amount.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a control part to determine that the unit tilts when a change in height of the liquid surface detected by the sensor is equal to or larger than a threshold for the purpose of outputting a warning messing about ink shortage.
Conclusion
/TRACEY M MCMILLION/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853