DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 are original. Therefore, claims 1-7 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
An end in the positive direction of the gas injection port in a direction along the positive direction (Claim 4)
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a downstream side” in line 12 of claim 1, however it is not clear what the side is downstream of. This limitation will be interpreted as best understood by the patent examiner.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a direction from the gas injection port to the liquid ejection port is a positive direction and a direction opposite to the positive direction is a negative direction … the cover portion being in contact with, on a positive direction side, an upper surface of the nozzle body facing the positive direction side… of end faces of the cover portion facing the gas injection port, an end face located closest to a negative direction side” (underline for emphasis) in lines 16-26 of claim 1, and while the terms “a positive direction” and “a negative direction” are clear it is not clear what constitutes “a positive direction side” and “a negative direction side” because there is no point of origin in which to measure what constitutes the respective sides, nor are their two distinct sides that can be used in comparison with each other to determine a positive direction side and a negative direction side. This limitation will be interpreted as best understood by the patent examiner.
Claims 2-7 depend on claim 1, therefore claims 2-7 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Esaki (US2014/0263743).
Regarding claim 1, Esaki discloses a spray nozzle (Fig. 1-13 & 16, all structural features utilizing the embodiment of item 200B in Fig. 16 for item 200)) comprising:
a nozzle body (Fig. 10 & 16, 113) connected to a pump (Fig. 1, 2000; Para. 0097; A compressor is a pump.), ; and
a cover member (Fig. 16, 200) attachable to and detachable from the nozzle body (Para. 0138), the cover member covering an outer surface of the nozzle body (Fig. 16, 113b & 113s)
wherein the outer surface of the nozzle body and an inner surface of the cover member define a suction passage (Fig. 16, 221) through which a liquid circulates,
the nozzle body defines a gas injection passage (Fig. 16, 115) through which a liquid pressurized and fed from the pump circulates (Para. 0131-0132, 0137), and a liquid ejection passage (Fig. 16, 222) connected to the suction passage on a downstream side (Fig. 16),
in a cross section including a gas injection port (Fig. 16, opening of 115 on surface 113s) being an opening of the gas injection passage on the downstream side and a liquid ejection port (Fig. 16, 240) being an opening of the liquid ejection passage on the downstream side, when a direction from the gas injection port to the liquid ejection port is a positive direction (Fig. 16, direction from 113a through 115; Annotated Fig. 16) and a direction opposite to the positive direction is a negative direction (Annotated Fig. 16), the cover member includes a cover portion (Fig. 16, 250), the cover portion being in contact with, on a positive direction side, an upper surface of the nozzle body (Fig. 16, 113s) facing the positive direction side, and being exposed to an outside (Fig. 16, exposed to an outside of the nozzle body), and
of end faces of the cover portion facing the gas injection port (Annotated Fig. 16), an end face located closest to a negative direction side is located outward of an edge of the gas injection port in a direction orthogonal to the positive direction (Annotated Fig. 16).
Annotated Figure(s)
Regarding claim 2, Esaki discloses the spray nozzle according to claim 1.
Esaki further discloses a liquid pool (Fig. 16, 260) between the suction passage and the liquid ejection passage, and wherein a maximum flow path sectional area of the liquid pool is larger than a maximum flow path sectional area of the suction passage (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 3, Esaki discloses the spray nozzle according to claim 1.
Esaki further discloses wherein the liquid pool is defined by the outer surface of the nozzle body and the inner surface of the cover member Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 6, Esaki discloses the spray nozzle according to claim 1.
Esaki further discloses wherein entire areas of the end faces of the cover portion facing the gas injection port are located outward of the edge of the gas injection port in the direction orthogonal to the positive direction (Figs. 10 & 16).
Regarding claim 7, Esaki discloses the spray nozzle according to claim 1.
Esaki further discloses wherein, when a virtual straight line is drawn to intersect the positive direction through an end in the negative direction of the gas injection passage and an end of the upper surface closest to the gas injection port (Annotated Fig. 16),
entire areas of the end faces of the cover portion facing the gas injection port are located outward of the virtual straight line in the direction orthogonal to the positive direction (Annotated Fig. 16).
Annotated Figure(s)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The most relevant prior art includes Esaki (US 2014/0263743), Higashiyama (US 2021/0128866), Lee (US 2010/0206305), Sasai (US 2016/0354560), and Bagwell (US 4,767,576).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The combination of the prior arts teaches various features of the claimed invention, as presented above, but fail to teach or suggest, in combination with other limitations of claim 4 “wherein the nozzle body has, as the upper surface, a first upper surface, disposed at a same position as an end in the positive direction of the gas injection port in a direction along the positive direction, and being orthogonal to the positive direction, and the cover portion includes a first cover portion in contact with the first upper surface.”
The combination of the prior arts teaches various features of the claimed invention, as presented above, but fail to teach or suggest, in combination with other limitations of claim 5 “wherein the nozzle body has, as the upper surface, a second upper surface located on the positive direction side of the liquid ejection passage, and the cover portion includes a second cover portion in contact with the second upper surface.”
Conclusion
/ANDREW DOMENIC ONDREJCAK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3752
August 21, 2026
/TUONGMINH N PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752