DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 7 recites “the first surface”. Appropriate correction is required to “a first surface” to address lack of antecedent basis.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 8 recites “second side side”. Appropriate correction is required to addressee repeated “side”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shima et al (JP2013110163A; “Shima” hereinafter), in view of Kawasaki et al (US 20070207640; “Kawasaki” hereinafter), and further in view of Kim et al (US 20180352665; “Kim” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Shima teaches: a circuit board mounting structure, comprising:
a circuit board (201, figs. 5A, 7B) configured to have a first side and a second side (see annotated fig. 5A below) forming both edges in a first direction (see ‘D10’ in annotated fig. 5A below), and a third side and a fourth side (see annotated fig. 5A below) forming both edges in a second direction (W, fig. 5A) crossing the first direction;
a mounting portion (200s, fig. 7) configured to have a mounting surface (see annotated fig. 7B below) formed along an up-down direction (see annotated fig. 7B below), to which the circuit board is attached and the first surface of the circuit board faces the mounting surface (see annotated fig. 7B below); and
a plurality of screws (see annotated fig. 7B below, ¶[0002]) configured to fix the circuit board to the mounting portion (¶[0032]-[0033]); wherein
the circuit board has
a hanging hole (201A) formed in a portion of an edge portion of the circuit board, through which a part of the mounting portion is inserted (fig. 7B); and
a plurality of screw insertion holes (201B, 201C, fig. 5A) through which the plurality of screws are inserted (fig. 7B);
the mounting portion has
a hook (210, fig. 7) configured to protrude from the mounting surface and to be inserted into the hanging hole to support (via 210A, fig. 8) a supported portion (edge of 201A, fig. 7A) that is an edge portion of the hanging hole on the first side of the circuit board (fig. 7A);
a plurality of fastening holes (see annotated fig. 7A below) into which the plurality of screws inserted into the plurality of screw insertion holes of the circuit board are fastened (fig, 7B); and
a rotation restricting portion (220A1’ and 220B1, fig. 7A) configured to restrict rotation of the circuit board about the hook inserted through the hanging hole by coming in contact with an outer edge of the circuit board in a state in which the hook supports the supported portion of the circuit board (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 7A-7B, see at least ¶[0048]-[0049]);
the hook has
a protruding base portion (see annotated fig. 8 below) configured to protrude from the mounting surface and support the supported portion of the circuit board; and
a separation restricting portion (see annotated fig. 8 below) configured to protrude from a tip-end portion (see annotated fig. 8 below) of the protruding base portion and to restrict movement of the supported portion supported by the protruding base portion (via 210A, fig. 8) in a direction away from the mounting surface (as disclosed upon examination of figures 7B and 8);
a dimension of the hanging hole in the first direction of the circuit board is larger than a dimension of the hook in the up-down direction (the hook 210 is thinner than the diameter of the hole 201A, otherwise the hook will not enter the hole); and
by bringing the circuit board close to the mounting surface in a state in which the first direction of the circuit board is aligned in the up-down direction, the hook is inserted into the hanging hole and the supported portion is placed on the protruding base portion (figs. 10A-12, disclosed this limitation).
Shima does not explicitly disclose:
the hanging hole formed in a portion of an edge portion along the first side close to the third side,
a plurality of wire harnesses are wired from the mounting portion side to a second surface of the circuit board via the outer sides of the third side and the fourth side of the circuit board,
the first side of the circuit board faces upward, the separation restricting portion configured to protrude upward from a tip-end portion of the protruding base portion.
However, Kawasaki teaches:
a plurality of wire harnesses (33, 35, fig. 2, ¶[0033]) are wired from a side (31, figs. 2-3, 6) of a mounting portion (9 and 10, figs. 3-4, 6, ¶[0031]) to a second surface (surface where capacitors 14 are disposed, fig. 2) of a circuit board (8, fig. 2) via an outer side (side proximate to 31 in fig. 2) the circuit board (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Shima, such that a plurality of wire harnesses are wired from the mounting portion side to a second surface of the circuit board via the outer sides of the third side and the fourth side of the circuit board, in order to allow unobstructed mounting space for electronic components within the circuit board for the advantage of maximizing utilization of said space. The claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique of routing wire harnesses was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Kawasaki (MPEP §2143). Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP §2144.04).
Shima in view of Kawasaki does not explicitly disclose:
the hanging hole formed in a portion of an edge portion along the first side close to the third side,
the first side of the circuit board faces upward, the separation restricting portion configured to protrude upward from a tip-end portion of the protruding base portion.
However, Kim teaches:
a hanging hole (344 and 345, fig. 20) formed in a portion of an edge portion along a first side close to a third side (see annotated fig. 19 below) of a circuit board (50, figs.19-20), the first side of the circuit board faces upward (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to rearrange the hanging hole, mounting portion, and first side orientation of the circuit board of Shima as modified by Kawasaki, such that the hanging hole is formed in a portion of an edge portion along the first side close to the third side, the first side of the circuit board faces upward, leading to the separation restricting portion to protrude upward from a tip-end portion of the protruding base portion, while maintaining the position relationship between the mounting portion and first side, second side, third side, and fourth side as claimed (e. g. the second side of Shima now becomes the first side), since claim would have been obvious because it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP §2144.04)
Regarding claim 7, Shima in view of Kawasaki and Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Shima further teaches: wherein
the first direction of the circuit board is the longitudinal direction of the circuit board (fig. 5A teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 8, Shima in view of Kawasaki and Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Shima further teaches: an image forming apparatus (100), comprising:
a sheet conveying device (190, 270, 280, 290, fig. 1, ¶[0024]) configured to convey a sheet (P, fig. 1, ¶[0024]);
a printing device configured to form an image on the conveyed sheet (80, 101, 110, fig. 1, ¶[0016]-[0018], [0020], [0025]); and
a circuit board mounting structure according to claim 1 for mounting a circuit board configured to control the sheet conveying device or the printing device (figs. 5A, 7-9, ¶[0002], [0029]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shima in view of Kawasaki and Kim, and further in view of Abe et al (US 20110315580; “Abe” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Shima in view of Kawasaki and Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the circuit board has a fitting hole formed in a portion of an edge portion along the second side near the third side; and the mounting portion has a fitting protrusion configured to protrude from the mounting surface and fit into the fitting hole.
However, Abe teaches:
a circuit board (3, fig. 2) has a fitting hole (3a, fig. 2) formed in a portion of an edge portion along an upper and lower side near another side perpendicular to said upper and lower sides (fig. 2); and a mounting portion (1, fig. 2) has a fitting protrusion (113, fig. 2 and 6) configured to protrude from the mounting surface and fit into the fitting hole (¶[0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting portion and circuit board of Shima in view of Kawasaki and Kim, such that wherein the circuit board has a fitting hole formed in a portion of an edge portion along the second side near the third side; and the mounting portion has a fitting protrusion configured to protrude from the mounting surface and fit into the fitting hole, in order to provide an aligning feature for mounting the circuit board to the mounting board. The claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique of mounting protrusions for circuit boards was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Kawasaki (MPEP §2143).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shima in view of Kawasaki and Kim, and further in view of Numasawa et al (US 20200381873; “Numasawa” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Shima in view of Kawasaki and Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein one of the plurality of screw insertion holes is formed between the hanging hole and the third side of the circuit board.
However, Numasawa teaches:
one (see ‘1’ in annotated fig. 2 below) of a plurality of screw insertion holes (2001, fig. 2) is formed between an upper screw insertion hole and a lower screw insertion hole (fig. 2) along a third side (see annotated fig. 2 below) of a circuit board (200) for attachment to a mounting portion (300, ¶[0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting portion and circuit board of Shima in view of Kawasaki and Kim, with Numasawa’s teaching, such that one of the plurality of screw insertion holes is formed between the hanging hole and the third side of the circuit board, in order to increase mechanical stability, vibration resistance and impact strength when fixed to the mounting board. The claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique of mounting a plurality of fixing screws for circuit boards was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Numasawa (MPEP §2143).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shima in view of Kawasaki and Kim, and further in view of Yamaguchi (JP2004179416A; “Yamaguchi” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, Shima in view of Kawasaki and Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the rotation restricting portion comes in contact with the second side of the circuit board.
However, Yamaguchi teaches:
a rotation restricting portion (8, fig. 7) comes in contact with a second side of a circuit board (3, fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Shiba’s rotation restricting portion via Yamaguchi’s teaching, such that and circuit board of Shima in view of Kawasaki and Kim, with Numasawa’s teaching, such that the rotation restricting portion comes in contact with the second side of the circuit board, in order to enhance rotation of the circuit board while being fitted to the mounting board. The claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique of mounting a plurality of fixing screws for circuit boards was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Yamaguchi (MPEP §2143).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claims 1-2, a combination of limitations that teaches: wherein the mounting portion is a sheet metal member; and the fitting protrusion is a protrusion formed by half punch processing. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that teaches: wherein a lower edge portion of the protruding base portion forms a guiding portion that is inclined obliquely downward from a tip-end side toward a base side of the protruding base portion; and when the hook is inserted into the hanging hole by bringing the circuit board close to the mounting surface in a state in which the first direction of the circuit board is aligned in the up-down direction, the guiding portion guides a guided portion, which is an edge portion of the second side of the hanging hole in the circuit board, diagonally downward. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is:
US 20140079433 A1 Image Forming Apparatus. This invention relates generally to a lower voltage power supply board including a low voltage circuit configured to lower a voltage from an external power supply to a specified voltage and supply the specified voltage to other units, and a cover. The lower frame has an upper surface facing upward and includes a plurality of fixing portions. The low voltage power supply board is fixed to the fixing portions of the lower frame.
US 20210204425 A1 PCB Assembly Structure for Electronic Appliance. This invention generally relates to a PCB assembly includes a panel including at least one guide protrusion, at least one mounting portion, and at least one dislocation prevention protrusion, and a PCB including at least one guide hole formed to correspond to the at least one guide protrusion.
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841