DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2022-0168887, filed on 12/06/2022; and 10-2022-0126426, filed on 10/04/2022 in Korea.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 03/14/2025; and 01/30/2026 have been considered and made of record.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on 03/14/2025 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN et al. [US 2021/0373679], in view of An et al. [KR 10-2022-0017323].
Regarding claim 1, SHIN et al., disclose an electronic device (100, figures 1-15) comprising a solenoid type substrate assembly, comprising:
a base plate (1010, figure 10);
a side frame (a left vertical portion, figure 10) connected to the base plate;
a front cover (1001, figure 10) covering a surface of the base plate;
a back cover (1080, figure 10) covering a surface of the side frame, and provided opposite to the front cover with respect to the side frame (figure 10);
a pen housing (1000/1021, figure 10) arranged on the base plate and configured to accommodate a digital pen (120, figures 2 and 4A); and
a solenoid type substrate assembly (a wireless charging coil 1070, figure 10) provided between the side frame and the pen housing (the coil 1070 is located between the left side frame and a space 1021, figure 10), and electrically charge the digital pen (charging coil 1070 provides to charge a battery 436, figure 4C, paragraph 0113).
SHIN et al., disclose the claimed invention except for the solenoid type substrate assembly is configured to determine whether the digital pen is inside the pen housing.
AN et al., disclose an electronic device (500, figures 1-21) comprising a digital pen (600, figure 5) being inserted into the electronic device, and a solenoid type substrate assembly (a wireless charging coil 510, figure 5) in the electronic device is determined whether the digital pen is inside the pen housing (paragraphs 0110, 0117 and 0133), and electrically charge the digital pen (charging coil 610 provides to charge a battery 630, figures 4-6, paragraph 0083).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a magnetic field sensor to detect a pen in an electronic device of SHIN et al., as suggested by AN et al., in order to detect the forward and/or reverse state of a pen input device in an electronic device.
Regarding claim 3, SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., further disclose The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the pen housing comprises: a housing frame (122, figure 4A and/or 1021, figure 10) arranged on the base plate; and a pen cover (1060 is cover the interior space 1021, figure 10) arranged on the housing frame and provided parallel to the back cover.
Regarding claim 4, SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., disclose wherein the solenoid type substrate assembly (wireless charging coil 1070, figure 10) is provided at a position adjacent to the pen cover (figure 10).
SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the solenoid type substrate assembly is provided at a position spaced apart from the pen cover.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the solenoid type substrate assembly is at a position spaced apart from the pen cover of SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., in order to prevent heat transfer to the sensitive circuitry of the substrate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 5, SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., disclosed wherein the pen cover (1060, figure 10) and the solenoid type substrate assembly (1070, figure 10) are arranged one side surface of the digital pen (figure 10).
SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., disclosed the claimed invention except for wherein the pen cover is arranged to face a rear surface of the digital pen, and wherein the solenoid type substrate assembly is arranged to face a side surface of the digital pen.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set a pen cover is arranged to face a rear surface of a digital pen, and a solenoid type substrate assembly is arranged to face a side surface of the digital pen, in electronic device of SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., in order to design a compact electronic device, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 6, SHIN et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the solenoid type substrate assembly is configured to generate two different magnetic fields.
AN et al., further disclose the solenoid type substrate assembly is configured to generate two different magnetic fields (a first magnetic field 530, and a second magnetic field 540, figure 10, paragraph 0119).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design a solenoid type substrate assembly generating two different magnetic fields in an electronic device of SHIN et al., as suggested by AN et al., in order to control mechanical motion in an electronic device.
Regarding claim 7, SHIN et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the solenoid type substrate assembly is configured to generate one of a first magnetic field for identifying a position of the digital pen and a second magnetic field for charging the digital pen.
AN et al., further disclose the electronic device (500, figures 1-21) comprising a digital pen (600, figure 5) being inserted into the electronic device, and a solenoid type substrate assembly (a wireless charging coil 510, as a first magnetic field, figure 5) in the electronic device is identified a position of the digital pen in the pen housing (paragraphs 0110, 0117 and 0133), and electrically charge the digital pen (a charging coil 610, a second magnetic field, provides to charge a battery 630, figures 4-6, paragraph 0083).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a magnetic field sensor to identify a pen in an electronic device of SHIN et al., as suggested by AN et al., in order to detect a position of a pen input device in an electronic device.
Regarding claim 15, SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., disclosed wherein the base plate and the side frame are formed integrally (figure 10).
Regarding claim 16, SHIN et al., disclose an electronic device (100, figures 1-15) comprising a solenoid type substrate assembly, comprising:
a base plate (1010, figure 10);
a side frame (a left vertical portion, figure 10) connected to the base plate;
a front cover (1001, figure 10) covering a surface of the base plate;
a back cover (1080, figure 10) covering a surface of the side frame, and provided opposite to the front cover with respect to the side frame (figure 10);
a pen housing (1000/1021, figure 10) arranged on the base plate and configured to accommodate a digital pen (120, figures 2 and 4A); and
a substrate assembly (a wireless charging coil 1070, figure 10) provided between the side frame and the pen housing (the coil 1070 is located between the left side frame and a space 1021, figure 10), and electrically charge the digital pen (charging coil 1070 provides to charge a battery 436, figure 4C, paragraph 0113).
SHIN et al., disclose the claimed invention except for the solenoid type substrate assembly is configured to generate one of a first magnetic field that determines whether the digital pen is provided inside the pen housing and a second magnetic field that electrically charges the digital pen.
AN et al., further disclose the electronic device (500, figures 1-21) comprising a digital pen (600, figure 5) being inserted into the electronic device, and a solenoid type substrate assembly (a wireless charging coil 510, as a first magnetic field, figure 5) in the electronic device is identified a position of the digital pen in the pen housing (paragraphs 0110, 0117 and 0133), and electrically charge the digital pen (a charging coil 610, a second magnetic field, provides to charge a battery 630, figures 4-6, paragraph 0083).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a magnetic field sensor to identify a pen in an electronic device of SHIN et al., as suggested by AN et al., in order to detect a position of a pen input device in an electronic device.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN et al. [US 2021/0373679], in view of An et al. [KR 10-2022-0017323] and OOKAWA et al. [US 2016/0094082].
Regarding claim 20, SHIN et al., disclose an electronic device (100, figures 1-15) comprising a substrate assembly, comprising:
a pen housing (1000/1021, figure 10) configured to accommodate a digital pen (120, figures 2 and 4A); and
a substrate assembly (a wireless charging coil 1070, figure 10) provided between a side frame (a left vertical portion, figure 10) and the pen housing (the coil 1070 is located between the left side frame and a space 1021, figure 10), and electrically charge the digital pen (charging coil 1070 provides to charge a battery 436, figure 4C, paragraph 0113).
SHIN et al., disclose the claimed invention except for the substrate assembly is configured to determine whether the digital pen is provided inside the pen housing, and wherein, the substrate assembly comprises a plurality of printed circuit boards (PCBs) stacked in a direction parallel to a direction from the side frame toward the pen housing.
AN et al., disclose an electronic device (500, figures 1-21) comprising a digital pen (600, figure 5) being inserted into the electronic device, and a solenoid type substrate assembly (a wireless charging coil 510, figure 5) in the electronic device is determined whether the digital pen is inside the pen housing (paragraphs 0110, 0117 and 0133), and electrically charge the digital pen (charging coil 610 provides to charge a battery 630, figures 4-6, paragraph 0083).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a magnetic field sensor to detect a pen in an electronic device of SHIN et al., as suggested by AN et al., in order to detect the forward and/or reverse state of a pen input device in an electronic device.
OOKAWA et al., disclose a coil printed circuit board assembly (10, figure 9) comprises a multi-layer wireless charger, as a plurality of printed circuit boards (1, 1X and 1X, figure 9) wherein the plurality of printed circuit boards are stacked together (figure 9).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design a solenoid type substrate assembly including a plurality of layers stacked in a direction parallel to a direction from the side frame toward a pen housing of an electronic device of SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., as suggested by OOKAWA et al., in order to improve charging capabilities of an electronic device, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 2, 8-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of OOKAWA et al. [US 2016/0094082].
Regarding claims 2 and 17, SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., disclose wherein the solenoid type substrate assembly comprises a single layer wireless charging coil (1070, figure 10) parallel to a direction from the side frame toward the pen housing (figure 10).
SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the solenoid type substrate assembly comprises a plurality of printed circuit boards (PCBs) stacked in a direction parallel to a direction from the side frame toward the pen housing.
OOKAWA et al., disclose a coil printed circuit board assembly (10, figure 9) comprises a multi-layer wireless charger, as a plurality of printed circuit boards (1, 1X and 1X, figure 9) wherein the plurality of printed circuit boards are stacked together (figure 9).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design a solenoid type substrate assembly including a plurality of layers stacked in a direction parallel to a direction from the side frame toward a pen housing of an electronic device of SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., as suggested by OOKAWA et al., in order to improve charging capabilities of an electronic device, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the solenoid type substrate assembly comprises a first PCB, a second PCB, and a third PCB sequentially stacked in a direction parallel to the direction from the side frame toward the pen housing; and a coil wound on the first PCB, the second PCB, and the third PCB.
OOKAWA et al., disclose the coil printed circuit board assembly (10, figure 9) comprises a multi-layer wireless charger, as a first PCB (1, figure 9), a second PCB (1x, figure 9), and a third PCB (1x, figure 9) sequentially stacked together (figure 9); and a coil wound on the first PCB (2A, figure 9), the second PCB (3A, figure 9), and the third PCB (6A, figure 9).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set a solenoid type substrate assembly including a plurality of printed circuit boards stacked in a direction parallel to a direction from a side frame toward a pen housing of an electronic device of SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., as suggested by OOKAWA et al., in order to improve charging capabilities of an electronic device, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 9, SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the first PCB, the second PCB, and the third PCB each comprise a PCB body and a plurality of side vias formed penetrating the PCB body.
OOKAWA et al., further disclose wherein the first PCB, the second PCB, and the third PCB each comprise a PCB body and a plurality of side vias (H, figure 9, paragraph 0081) formed penetrating the PCB body.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a first, a second and a third board including a through hole therein an electronic device of SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., as suggested by OOKAWA et al., in order to provide electrically interconnection from a first circuit board to a third circuit board in an electronic device.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the coil comprises one input end arranged on the first PCB and two output ends arranged on the second PCB.
OOKAWA et al., disclose wherein the coil comprise one input end (5, figure 9) arranged on the first PCB and at least one output ends (P3, figure 9) arranged on the second PCB and at least one out ends (P5, figure 9) arranged on the third PCB.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set one input end arranged on a first PCB and at least one output end from a third PCB into a second PCB of an electronic device of SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., as suggested by OOKAWA et al., in order to reduce a thickness of a solenoid substrate assembly in an electronic device, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 11, SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein a current flowing along the coil enters the coil through the input end and exits the coil through one of the two output ends.
OOKAWA et al., further disclose wherein a current flowing along the coil enters the coil through the input end (5, figures 9 and 10-14) and exits the coil through one of the two output ends (P3 & P5, figures 9 and 10-14).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the coil design circuit board of OOKAWA et al., for a solenoid substrate assembly of an electronic device of SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., in order to maintain power efficiency in a solenoid substrate assembly in an electronic device.
Regarding claim 12, SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein one of the first PCB and the third PCB further comprises an output via formed penetrating the PCB body and provided at a position spaced apart from the side via.
OOKAWA et al., further disclose wherein one of the first PCB and the third PCB further comprises an output (P5, figure 9) via formed penetrating the PCB body.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set an output via formed penetrating a third PCB and provided at a position spaced apart from the side via in a solenoid substrate assembly of SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., as suggested by OOKAWA et al., in order to reduce mechanical vibration in a solenoid substrate assembly of an electronic device.
Regarding claim 13, SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the solenoid type substrate assembly further comprises a magnetic layer having magnetism and arranged between two adjacent PCBs among the first PCB, the second PCB, and the third PCB.
OOKAWA et al., further disclose wherein the solenoid type substrate assembly further comprises a magnetic layer (a magnetic shield layer MS is laminated between at least two adjacent boards, figures 9-10 and 13-14, paragraph 0186) having magnetism and arranged between two adjacent PCBs among the first PCB, the second PCB, and the third PCB.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a magnetic layer between two adjacent PCBs among a first PCB, a second PCB, and a third PCB in a substrate of SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., as suggested by OOKAWA et al., in order to provide magnetic coupling between layers in a multi-layer board in electronic device.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., and OOKAWA et al., as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Park et al. [US 2018/0032163].
Regarding claim 14, SHIN et al., in view of AN et al., and OOKAWA et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the solenoid type substrate assembly further comprises a shield layer provided opposite to the pen housing with respect to the first PCB, the second PCB, and the third PCB.
Park et al., disclose an electronic device (600, figure 6A) comprising a pen housing (621, figure 6A) which is hold an digital pen (620, figure 6A), and at least one shield layer (6102, figure 6A) provided opposite to the pen housing (figure 6A, paragraph 0123).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set a shield layer opposite to a pen housing in an electronic device of SHIN et al., in view of An et al., and OOKAWA et al., as suggested by Park et al., in order to mitigate electromagnetic interference (EMI) for a digital pen in an electronic device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kang et al. [US 2003/0169039] disclose weak-magnetic field sensor using printed circuit board.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/ Primary Patent Examiner, 2841/2800