DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 03/14/2025.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1, 8 and 15 “is associated one” should be “is associated with one” . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
In re to claims 15-20, method claims 15-20 are rejected based on the following case law, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore, the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Gondoo US 2024/0291309.
Regarding Claims 1, 8 and 15, Gondo teaches (Figures 1-12) a system (Fig. 1) comprising: a power source(200) ; a load ( 300); a power factor correction converter (F, 110 and 130) comprising: an input circuitry (F and 110) coupled to the power source and configured to receive an input voltage from the power source (see fig. 1); an output circuitry (120) coupled to the load (300) and configured to provide an output voltage to the load (Vout sent to 300); a boost circuitry (at 130) electrically coupled to the input circuitry and to the output circuitry, wherein the boost circuitry comprises at least one capacitor (cbuff); at least one switch (S31-S32), wherein the at least one switch is in the input circuitry or the boost circuity (at 130), wherein the at least one switch is configured to operate in at least two states including an on state and an off state (on and off states of the switches, also see modes in figures 3-5), wherein operating in the on state causes the boost circuitry to charge the at least one capacitor (when S32 is on) and wherein operating in the off state causes the at least one capacitor to discharge (when S32 is off); and a power factor correction converter (140) controller configured to control the at least one switch to change states between the on state and the off state at a first ratio (duty ratio of operation see fig. 4-5 and fig. 10-11, with CCM and DCM), wherein the first ratio is associated with one or more time periods (with Tdcm or Tccm) for the on state and one or more periods for the off state (with Tdcm or Tccm) and also with a first efficiency threshold associated with the on state (see fig. 12 graph and DCM and CCM operations). (For Example: Par. 42-46 and 71-75)
Regarding Claims 2, 9 and 16, Gondo teaches (Figures 1-12) wherein the first efficiency threshold is associated with an optimal power factor efficiency (see fig. 12). (For Example: Par. 42-46 and 71-75)
Regarding Claims 3, 10 and 17, Gondo teaches (Figures 1-12) wherein the voltage input comprises a single-phase input voltage (200).
Regarding Claims 5, 12 and 19, Gondo teaches (Figures 1-12) wherein the power factor correction converter controller (140) is further configured to determine the first ratio based on a current load associated with the power factor correction converter (with IL, see fig. 4-5 and the type of load being heavy or low load). (For Example: Par. 50-54, 58-59 and 71-75)
Regarding Claims 6 and 13, Gondo teaches (Figures 1-12) wherein the power factor correction converter controller is further configured to determine the first ratio based on a predicted load (IL′, see fig. 4-5). (For Example: Par. 50-54, 58-59 and 71-75)
Regarding Claims 7, 14 and 20, Gondo teaches (Figures 1-12)wherein the power factor correction converter controller is further configured to determine the first ratio based on a load profile (depending if the system is in heavy load or low load with CCM and DCM, see 12). (For Example: Par. 42-46 and 71-75)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gondo and Zhen US 2018/0278156.
Regarding Claim 4, 11 and 18, Gondo teaches (Figures 1-12) the system.
Gondo does not teach wherein the voltage input comprises a three-phase input voltage.
Zhen teaches (Figure 2) wherein the voltage input comprises a three-phase input voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Gondo to include wherein the voltage input comprises a three-phase input voltage, as taught by Zhen to enable the system to operate from a three phase source.
Conclusion
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838