DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are hereby under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/09/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 9: The claim limitation “a bioimpedance module for performing bioimpedance calculations” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder “module” coupled with functional language “for performing bioimpedance calculations” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier that has a known structural meaning before the phrase “module”.
Regarding “a bioimpedance module”, a review of the specification shows that the instant specification does not recite sufficient structure for performing the claimed function. The only recitation of “a bioimpedance module” appears in para. [0030]. For the purposes of examination, “a bioimpedance module” is being interpreted as any element capable of performing the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
As discussed above, the claim limitations below are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Claim 9: “a bioimpedance module for performing bioimpedance calculations”.
The specification merely discloses the functions performed by these limitations. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would not understand the specification, the drawings, and the original claims to disclose any particular structure that achieves the disclosed functionality. As recited above, para. [0030] of the instant specification only recites “a bioimpedance module performing bioimpedance (e.g., IPG calculations)”. The instant specification does not recite the corresponding structure of “a bioimpedance module”.
The limitations fail to comply with the written description requirement as the limitations are unbound functional limitations which cover all ways of performing the respective functions and the inventor has not provided sufficient disclosure to show possession of such invention. The limitations therefore fail to comply with the written description requirement. See MPEP 2181.II.A.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claims are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the claim limitation “a bioimpedance module for performing bioimpedance calculations” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. As recited above, para. [0030] of the instant specification only recites “a bioimpedance module performing bioimpedance (e.g., IPG calculations)”. The instant specification does not recite the corresponding structure of “a bioimpedance module”. For the purposes of examination, “a bioimpedance module” is being interpreted as any element capable of performing the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Regarding claim 2, lines 3-4 recite “the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes inject alternating current into the fingertip”, which is directed to and/or encompasses a human organism. It is recommended to the Applicant to amend the claim to read along the lines of “the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes are configured to inject alternating current into the fingertip” (emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10-12, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carek et al. (US 20230225623 A1), hereinafter referred to as Carek.
The claims are generally directed towards a user computing device, comprising: a housing; an impedance plethysmography (IPG) sensor positioned on the housing, the IPG sensor having a pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and a pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes that together are sized to fit under a fingertip of a user, the IPG sensor being configured to generate IPG data indicative of an impedance at the fingertip of the user with respect to time; and a processor configured to: receive the IPG data; generate a pulsatile signal for deriving a blood pressure or a proxy of blood pressure of the user based at least in part on the IPG data; and determine the blood pressure or the proxy of blood pressure of the user based on the pulsatile signal.
Regarding claim 1, Carek discloses a user computing device (Abstract, para. [0007], para. [0117]), comprising:
a housing (Fig. 2A, para. [0117-0120], “a phone … wearable device …”);
an impedance plethysmography (IPG) sensor positioned on the housing, the IPG sensor having a pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and a pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes that together are sized to fit under a fingertip of a user, the IPG sensor being configured to generate IPG data indicative of an impedance at the fingertip of the user with respect to time (Fig. 2, element 212, para. [0043], “configured to be placed in direct contact with … fingertip …”, para. [0133], “wearable device can further comprise a fourth sensor … positioned on second surface … or any can be positioned on any additional surface of wearable device … configured to receive … an impedance plethysmogram (IPG) signal … pair of electrodes that are configured to sense electrical activity and a pair of electrodes that are configured to emit and/or input current …”); and
a processor (para. [0063], “processor”, para. [0110], para. [0126]) configured to:
receive the IPG data (para. [0063], para. [0133], “sense electrical activity …”);
generate a pulsatile signal for deriving a blood pressure or a proxy of blood pressure of the user based at least in part on the IPG data (para. [0063], para. [0133], “impedance plethysmogram (IPG) signal …”); and
determine the blood pressure or the proxy of blood pressure of the user based on the pulsatile signal (para. [0063], “determine a blood pressure measurement of the subject based on … IPG signals …”).
Regarding claim 2, Carek discloses the user computing device of claim 1, further comprising a user interface (Fig. 1, para. [0104], “display interface …”, para. [0107], para. [0113])).
Regarding claim 10, Carek discloses the user computing device of claim 1, further comprising an optical module comprising a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor positioned on the housing and proximate the IPG sensor, the PPG sensor including an emitter configured to emit light and a detector configured to detect the light emitted from the emitter, the PPG sensor being configured to generate PPG data indicative of an amount of light detected by the detector (Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, element 210, para. [0122], “emit an infrared LED and a green LED … photodetectors …”, para. [0130-0131], “third sensor … a second PPG-based signal …”).
Regarding claim 11, Carek discloses the user computing device of claim 10, wherein the PPG sensor is positioned centrally within the IPG sensor between the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes (Fig. 2A, element 210, para. [0130] – element 210 is positioned centrally between elements 212).
Regarding claim 12, Carek discloses the user computing device of claim 10, wherein the PPG sensor is positioned below at least a portion of the IPG sensor (Fig. 2A, element 210, para. [0130] – element 210 is positioned below a portion of element 212).
Regarding claim 15, Carek discloses the user computing device of claim 1, wherein the housing has an upper side and a lower side and a plurality of side walls, the IPG sensor positioned on at least one of the upper side, one of the plurality of side walls, or the lower side (Fig. 2A, Fig. 2C, para. [0117-0118], “phone sensor …”, para. [0133], “fourth sensor 212 can be configured to receive … an impedance plethysmogram (IPG) signal …”).
Regarding claim 16, Carek discloses the user computing device of claim 1, wherein the user computing device comprises at least one of a smartphone, a smartwatch, a tablet computer, a laptop, earbuds, a headset, headphones, or gaming controllers (para. [0117-0118], “phone sensor … watches … “smart” wearable devices …”).
Regarding claim 17, Carek discloses a method for monitoring blood pressure of a user (Abstract, para. [0003], para. [0007], para. [0117]), the method comprising:
generating, via an impedance plethysmography (IPG) sensor of a user computing device, IPG data indicative of an impedance at a fingertip of a user with respect to time, the IPG sensor having a pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and a pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes that together are sized to fit under the fingertip of the user (Fig. 2, element 212, para. [0043], “configured to be placed in direct contact with … fingertip …”, para. [0133], “wearable device can further comprise a fourth sensor … positioned on second surface … or any can be positioned on any additional surface of wearable device … configured to receive … an impedance plethysmogram (IPG) signal … pair of electrodes that are configured to sense electrical activity and a pair of electrodes that are configured to emit and/or input current …”);
generating, via a processor, a pulsatile signal for deriving the blood pressure of the user based at least in part on the IPG data (para. [0063], “processor”, para. [0133], “impedance plethysmogram (IPG) signal …”); and
determining, via the processor, the blood pressure of the user based on the pulsatile signal (para. [0063], “determine a blood pressure measurement of the subject based on … IPG signals …”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carek et al. (US 20230225623 A1), hereinafter referred to as Carek, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Akl et al. (US 20170105637 A1), hereinafter referred to as Akl.
Regarding claim 3, Carek discloses the user computing device of claim 1, wherein the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes inject alternating current into the fingertip and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes measure a resulting voltage (para. [0043], “configured to be placed in direct contact with … fingertip …”, para. [0133], “wearable device can further comprise a fourth sensor … configured to receive … an impedance plethsmogram (IPG) signal … pair of electrodes that are configured to sense electrical activity and a pair of electrodes that are configured to emit and/or input current …”).
However, Carek does not explicitly disclose wherein the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes are arranged exterior of the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes.
Akl teaches an analogous device for generating a pulsatile signal for deriving a blood pressure of the user based on IPG data (para. [0008-0009]). Akl further teaches generating IPG data utilizing a pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes that are arranged exterior of the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes (Fig. 4, elements 204/206, elements 304/306, para. [0021], para. [0027-0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Carek to explicitly position the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes exterior of the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes, as taught by Akl. This is because Akl teaches the positioning of the electrodes on a single tissue site allows for a voltage drop across the body tissue circuit path to be monitored, which allows for impedance measurements caused by blood pulse waves to be analyzed for blood pressure monitoring (para. [0027-0028], para. [0030]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Carek discloses the user computing device of claim 3.
However, modified Carek does not explicitly disclose wherein the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes are arranged in a linear pattern.
Akl further teaches the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes are arranged in a linear pattern (Fig. 4, elements 204/206, elements 304/306, para. [0021], para. [0027-0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrodes taught by modified Carek to explicitly be positioned in a linear pattern, was taught by Akl. This is because Akl teaches a linear pattern of electrodes on a single tissue site allows for a voltage drop across the body tissue circuit path to be monitored, which allows for impedance measurements caused by blood pulse waves to be analyzed for blood pressure monitoring (para. [0027-0028], para. [0030]).
Regarding claim 18, Carek discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes inject alternating current into the fingertip and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes measure a resulting voltage (para. [0043], “configured to be placed in direct contact with … fingertip …”, para. [0133], “wearable device can further comprise a fourth sensor … configured to receive … an impedance plethsmogram (IPG) signal … pair of electrodes that are configured to sense electrical activity and a pair of electrodes that are configured to emit and/or input current …”).
However, Carek does not explicitly disclose wherein the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes are arranged exterior of the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes.
Akl teaches an analogous method for generating a pulsatile signal for deriving a blood pressure of the user based on IPG data (para. [0008-0009]). Akl further teaches generating IPG data utilizing a pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes that are arranged exterior of the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes (Fig. 4, elements 204/206, elements 304/306, para. [0021], para. [0027-0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and electrodes disclosed by Carek to explicitly position the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes exterior of the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes, as taught by Akl. This is because Akl teaches the positioning of the electrodes on a single tissue site allows for a voltage drop across the body tissue circuit path to be monitored, which allows for impedance measurements caused by blood pulse waves to be analyzed for blood pressure monitoring (para. [0027-0028], para. [0030]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Carek discloses the method of claim 17.
However, modified Carek does not explicitly disclose wherein the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes are arranged in a linear pattern.
Akl further teaches the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes are arranged in a linear pattern (Fig. 4, elements 204/206, elements 304/306, para. [0021], para. [0027-0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrodes taught by modified Carek to explicitly be positioned in a linear pattern, was taught by Akl. This is because Akl teaches a linear pattern of electrodes on a single tissue site allows for a voltage drop across the body tissue circuit path to be monitored, which allows for impedance measurements caused by blood pulse waves to be analyzed for blood pressure monitoring (para. [0027-0028], para. [0030]).
Claims 5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carek et al. (US 20230225623 A1), hereinafter referred to as Carek, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Eletr et al. (US 20220225945 A1), hereinafter referred to as Eletr.
Regarding claim 5, Carek discloses the user computing device of claim 1, wherein the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes are constructed of a conductive material (para. [0133], “stainless-steel electrodes”).
However, Carek does not explicitly disclose wherein the IPG sensor further comprises an insulating substrate material arranged between the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes and the user computing device, wherein the insulating substrate material is configured to mitigate electrical shorting between the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes, the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes, the housing, and one or more internal electronics of the user computing device.
Eletr teaches an analogous device for measuring cardiac bio signals from a user using electrodes (Abstract, para. [0003]). Eletr further teaches sensors comprise an insulating substrate material arranged between the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes and the user computing device, wherein the insulating substrate material is configured to mitigate electrical shorting between the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes, the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes, the housing, and one or more internal electronics of the user computing device (Fig. 1G, element 113d, para. [0064]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Carek to additionally include an insulating substrate, as taught by Eletr. This is because Eletr teaches the addition of an insulating substrate and electrically isolating the electrodes from the computing device allows for the electrodes to operate better, allowing the device to obtain more accurate bio signals (para. [0062]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Carek discloses the user computing device of claim 5.
However, modified Carek does not explicitly disclose the device further comprises electrical circuity electrically coupled with the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes that passes through the insulating substrate material to internal electrodes on a non-fingertip side of the IPG sensor.
Eletr further teaches the device comprises electrical circuity electrically coupled with the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes that passes through the insulating substrate material to internal electrodes on a non-fingertip side of the IPG sensor (Fig. 1G, element 113d, para. [0028], para. [0064]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device taught by modified Carek to additionally include electrical circuity electrically coupled with the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes that passes through the insulating substrate material to internal electrodes on a non-fingertip side of the IPG sensor, as taught by Eletr. This is because Eletr teaches electrically isolating the electrodes and electrical circuitry from the computing device allows for the electrodes to operate better, allowing the device to obtain more accurate bio signals (para. [0028], para. [0062]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Carek discloses the user computing device of claim 8, wherein the electrical circuitry is further electrically coupled with a bioimpedance module for performing bioimpedance calculations (para. [0110], “computer processor …”).
Regarding claim 20, Carek discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes are constructed of a conductive material (para. [0133], “stainless-steel electrodes”).
However, Carek does not explicitly disclose wherein the IPG sensor further comprises an insulating substrate material arranged between the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes and the user computing device, wherein the insulating substrate material is configured to mitigate electrical shorting between the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes, the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes, a housing of the user computing device, and one or more internal electronics of the user computing device.
Eletr teaches an analogous method of utilizing a device for measuring cardiac bio signals from a user using electrodes (Abstract, para. [0003]). Eletr further teaches sensors comprises an insulating substrate material arranged between the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes and the user computing device, wherein the insulating substrate material is configured to mitigate electrical shorting between the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes, the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes, a housing of the user computing device, and one or more internal electronics of the user computing device (Fig. 1G, element 113d, para. [0064]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Carek to additionally include an insulating substrate, as taught by Eletr. This is because Eletr teaches the addition of an insulating substrate and electrically isolating the electrodes from the computing device allows for the electrodes to operate better, allowing the device to obtain more accurate bio signals (para. [0062]).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carek et al. (US 20230225623 A1), hereinafter referred to as Carek, in view of Eletr et al. (US 20220225945 A1), hereinafter referred to as Eletr, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Davis et al. (US 11701023 B1), hereinafter referred to as Davis.
Regarding claim 6 and claim 7, modified Carek discloses the user computing device of claim 5.
However, modified Carek does not explicitly disclose wherein the pair of miniaturized excitation electrodes and the pair of miniaturized sensing electrodes are raised with respect to the insulating substrate material by a certain height (claim 6), wherein the certain height ranges from about 10 microns to about 100 microns (claim 7).
Davis teaches an analogous device comprising an impedance sensor positioned on a housing (Fig. 4A, col. 16, line 45 – col. 17, line 31). Davis further teaches electrodes of the impedance sensor are raised with respect to a substrate by about 10 microns to about 100 microns (col. 31, lines 59-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrodes taught by modified Carek to explicitly be raised with respect to the insulating substrate material from about 10 microns to about 100 microns, as taught by Davis. This is because Davis the microscale of the electrodes allows for optimal contact of the electrodes with the epidermis for prevent noise of bio signals (col. 38, lines 34-49).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carek et al. (US 20230225623 A1), hereinafter referred to as Carek, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Banet et al. (US 20170188859 A1), hereinafter referred to as Banet.
Regarding claim 13, Carek discloses the user computing device of claim 12.
However, Carek does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the miniaturized excitation electrodes and the miniaturized sensing electrodes are constructed of a transparent conducting film.
Banet teaches an analogous device for generating impedance data utilizing electrodes (Abstract, para. [0029]). Banet further teaches the electrodes are constructed of a transparent conducting film (para. [0110]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrodes disclosed by Carek to explicitly be constructed of a transparent conducting film, as taught by Banet. Utilizing transparent conductive films is a simple substitution of utilizing one known conductive material for another for the predictable result of constructing a conductive electrode that is capable of measuring bio signals, as taught by Banet (para. [0110]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Carek discloses the user computing device of claim 13, further comprising electrical circuity electrically coupling the miniaturized excitation electrodes and the miniaturized sensing electrodes constructed of the transparent conducting film to internal electrodes at an underside edge of the miniaturized excitation electrodes and the miniaturized sensing electrodes (Fig. 2C, element 230, para. [0126-0128], “PPG AFE … processor … main board … microcontroller …”).
Conclusion
/K.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JASON M SIMS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791