DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment2. In an amendment dated, March 23, 2026, claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-16 and 18-20 are amended. Currently claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 23, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks filed on March 23, 2026, Applicant argues prior art of record fails to disclose claimed limitation of independent claims 1, 8 and 15 as filed. The office respectfully disagrees. The claim limitation recites rendering(i.e. displaying) on a display device (i.e. artificial reality device) a set of data (i.e. family tree) superimposed over a projection of a three-dimensional physical environment and based on user input (i.e. manipulation modifying a number of generation or a number of branches of family tree) displayed data is modified and displayed (i.e. rendered) on display (i.e. artificial reality device). Thus claim limitation recites manipulating stored data (i.e. genealogy data related to family tree) of artificial reality device user on a display device and displaying information of family tree based on users input on the display of artificial reality device. Prior art of record Myres discloses displaying genetic and genealogical data on a display device and based on users input modify displayed data (i.e. identify at least one genetically related individual from a genetic database in response to an input of inquiring individual). And based on user input modify displayed data (i.e. inquiring individual and each of the at least one genetically related individuals (i.e. family tree) are displayed). Myres discloses methods and systems for geographically displaying the individuals and their "relatives" that have been identified through genetic similarities and genealogical data. The process 320 of graphically displaying relatives of the inquiring individual may be presented across a domain of time. Using a time domain to display segments of time or time periods, a geographical display of the relatives may represent each relative during a period that includes the event date. Thus said information is displayed on a display device (i.e. artificial reality device) to the user.
Prior art Mangum discloses the use of augmented reality device 110 used to display geological information (i.e. data) related to genetic and genealogical information stored in the genetic connection engine 134, the content system 130 determines a list of graves that are connected to the user. Augmented reality is used to display graphical elements overlaid on a continually updating image of an area around an augmented reality device (e.g., a mobile device). Augmented reality (AR) is a simulated environment created by combining computer graphics with the real world as perceived by a user. A typical AR system includes an AR headset that provides augmented views of a physical, real-world environment with computer-generated elements (e.g., images, video, sound, etc.). Thus, prior art Mangum discloses the use of augmented reality device that the user performs an input related to family tree (i.e. biographical information about the ancestor) and the device (i.e. augmented reality device) displays graphical elements (i.e. data) overlaid on a continually updating image of an area around an augmented reality device (e.g. three-dimensional physical environment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to have family data/data stored in a genealogy database be displayed to the user via augmented reality device as an alternat display device that would allowing the user a more immersive experience when viewing said data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myres et al (PG Pub 2008/0081331) in view of Mangum et al (PG Pub NO 2019/0236366).
As in claim 1, Myres et al discloses a computer-implemented method (Fig 1 and Par 0014) comprising:
rendering, for display via an artificial reality device, an artificial reality environment comprising a family tree superimposed over a projection of a three-dimensional physical environment, wherein the family tree reflects pedigree data stored in a genealogy database about an individual; (Fig 1, 3-4 and Abstract) discloses displaying genetic and genealogical data includes displaying indicators of related individuals. a computer system having a display device, a processor device, a database and media having computer-executable instructions configured to display indicators of related individuals identifying at least one genetically related individual from a genetic database and geographically displaying indicators.
But fails to discloses displaying data; displayed data superimposed over a projection of a three-dimensional physical environment and receiving, via the artificial reality device, a user input comprising a manipulation modifying a number of generation or a number of branches of the family tree within the artificial reality environment; and rendering, for display via the artificial reality device, a modified artificial reality environment reflecting the manipulation of the family tree according to the user input and the pedigree data.
However Mangum et al (Fig 1, 2 and Par 0043 ) discloses augmented reality device 110 used to display geological information (i.e. data). (Par 0029 and Fig 3E) discloses the augmented reality device provides 230 a graphical element overlaid on the updating image of the area. [0030] The augmented reality device 110 presents for display a GUI that allows a user to enter an ancestor name and a cemetery name. The GUI displays input fields for receiving user input such as first and last name of the ancestor, date of birth of the ancestor, date of death of the ancestor, nickname of the ancestor, and birth location of the ancestor. The input may be a text entry from a keyboard or a voice entry from a microphone. The content system 130 searches the grave database 135 for graves that match the received ancestor name and cemetery name. [0032] In response to the search query, the grave selection engine 131 sends a list of the graves to the augmented reality device 110 through the network 120. The augmented reality device 110 displays the list of the graves, and the user selects a grave of interest. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to have family data/data stored in a genealogy database be displayed to the user via augmented reality device as an alternat display device that would allowing the user a more immersive experience when viewing said data.
As in claim 2, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a geographical location associated with the family tree; and rendering the artificial reality environment including the family tree in response to detecting that the artificial reality device is at the geographical location. Mangum et al [0031] The content system 130 may also search the grave database 135 for graves based on the geographical location information from the GPS receiver 117. For example, if the geographical location information indicates that the current location of the augmented reality device 110 is in a particular cemetery (e.g., Arlington National Cemetery), the content system 130 searches the grave database 135 for graves that are in the cemetery. In another example, the user searches for graves that share genetic and genealogical connection with the user.
As in claim 3, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein determining the geographical location comprises determining a historical site associated with the individual, a gravesite associated with the individual, or a museum exhibit associated with the individual. Myres et al [0035] [0035] Once the genetic matches are identified and alternatively displayed 250, the method generates 300 a list of relatives 305 (FIG. 2). The list of relatives 305 is generated from the genetic data 30 (FIG. 1) and the genealogical data 40 (FIG. 1) located within database 25. Relatives are determined 310 from the genetic matches and added to the list of relatives 305. The identified relatives further includes related information such as event dates (e.g., date of birth, date of christening/baptism, date of marriage, date of divorce, date of death, etc.) and the corresponding event location for the corresponding event. Mangum et al [0031] The content system 130 may also search the grave database 135 for graves based on the geographical location information from the GPS receiver 117. For example, if the geographical location information indicates that the current location of the augmented reality device 110 is in a particular cemetery (e.g., Arlington National Cemetery), the content system 130 searches the grave database 135 for graves that are in the cemetery. In another example, the user searches for graves that share genetic and genealogical connection with the user.
As in claim 4, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising sharing, with an additional artificial reality device, an artificial reality experience comprising the family tree by: detecting that the additional artificial reality device is at the geographical location associated with the family tree; and rendering, via the additional artificial reality device and based on detecting that the additional artificial reality device is at the geographical location, an additional artificial reality environment comprising the family tree superimposed on a view of a physical environment associated with the additional artificial reality device. Myres et al (Fig 1 and Par 0023) discloses Database 25 may be configured to store genetic data sets including genetic data 30 for a plurality of members and corresponding genealogical data sets including genealogical data 40 each extending any number of successively lineal ancestral familial generations. Mangum et al [0010] The system environment 100 comprises an augmented reality device 110, a network 120, and a content system 130. The augmented reality device 110 communicates with the content system 130 through the network 120. [0011] Although FIG. 1 illustrates only a single instance of the components of the system environment 100, in practice, more than one of each component may be present, and additional or fewer components may be used. For example, there may be more than one user connected to the network 120 through a plurality of augmented reality devices 110. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art at the time of the filing that have said data be shared with additional artificial reality device via network connection to allow multiple user use said data on their artificial reality device.
As in claim 5, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 4, further comprising: receiving, from the additional artificial reality device, an update to the artificial reality experience by receiving a modification to the genealogy item or by receiving another family tree to include as part of the artificial reality experience; generating a modified artificial reality experience based on receiving the update; and sharing the modified artificial reality experience with artificial reality devices at the geographical location associated with the family tree. Myres et al (Fig 1 and Par 0023) discloses Database 25 may be configured to store genetic data sets for a plurality of members and corresponding genealogical data sets. Mangum et al [Par 0011] discloses more than one user connected to the network 120 through a plurality of augmented reality devices 110. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art at the time of the filing to have update to the artificial reality experience based on receiving another genealogy item from additional artificial reality device since the data set is dependent on others data.
As in claim 6, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein receiving the user input comprises receiving a gesture input or a device input that moves, rotates, or resizes the family tree within the artificial reality environment. Mangum et al [0050] As the user moves towards (or away from) the selected grave 324 to which they are being directed, the AR device 110 updates 250 the GUI in response to that movement.
As in claim 7, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein rendering the modified artificial reality environment comprises moving, rotating, or resizing the family tree in relation to the three-dimensional physical environment of the artificial reality environment. Mangum et al [0050] Specifically, this includes augmented reality device 110 updates 250 where the pin is visually overlaid with respect to the image of the area based on the motion of the mobile device 350.As the user moves towards (or away from) the selected grave 324 to which they are being directed, the AR device 110 updates 250 the GUI in response to that movement.
As in claim 8, Myres et al discloses a system (Fig 1) comprising:
at least one processor (Fig 1 item 70); and one or more memory devices coupled to the at least one processor (Fig 1), the one or more memory devices storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor [0026] The processor 70 provides a computational means for executing processes and methods for carrying out the receiving, processing and displaying of the data as described herein. Processor 70 is further configured to identify and describe a genetic pattern for a given data set, for example, a family tree. A genetic pattern might include a genetic marker, or chromosomal fragment, that is identical by descent. Processor 70 is further configured to correlate the genetic pattern for various family trees and predict an antecedent genetic pattern in the first family tree, for example, based on a statistical probability of relatedness. The various functions of processor 70 are executed according to methods stored in a medium 72. , cause the at least one processor to:
render, for display via an artificial reality device, an artificial reality environment comprising a family tree superimposed over a projection of a three- dimensional physical environment, wherein the family tree reflects pedigree data stored in a genealogy database about an individual; (Fig 1, 3-4 and Abstract) discloses displaying genetic and genealogical data includes displaying indicators of related individuals. a computer system having a display device, a processor device, a database and media having computer-executable instructions configured to display indicators of related individuals identifying at least one genetically related individual from a genetic database and geographically displaying indicators.
But fails to discloses displaying data; displayed data superimposed over a projection of a three-dimensional physical environment and receive, via the artificial reality device, a user input comprising a manipulation modifying a number of generation or a number of branches of the family tree displayed within the artificial reality environment; and render, for display via the artificial reality device, a modified artificial reality environment reflecting the manipulation of the family tree according to the user input and the pedigree data. However Mangum et al (Fig 1, 2 and Par 0043 ) discloses augmented reality device 110 used to display geological information (i.e. data). (Par 0029 and Fig 3E) discloses the augmented reality device provides 230 a graphical element overlaid on the updating image of the area. [0030] The augmented reality device 110 presents for display a GUI that allows a user to enter an ancestor name and a cemetery name. The GUI displays input fields for receiving user input such as first and last name of the ancestor, date of birth of the ancestor, date of death of the ancestor, nickname of the ancestor, and birth location of the ancestor. The input may be a text entry from a keyboard or a voice entry from a microphone. The content system 130 searches the grave database 135 for graves that match the received ancestor name and cemetery name. [0032] In response to the search query, the grave selection engine 131 sends a list of the graves to the augmented reality device 110 through the network 120. The augmented reality device 110 displays the list of the graves, and the user selects a grave of interest. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to have family data/data stored in a genealogy database be displayed to the user via augmented reality device as an alternat display device that would allowing the user a more immersive experience when viewing said data.
As in claim 9, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more memory devices further store instructions that, when executed by the at Least one processor (Myres et al Fig 1 and Mangum et al, Fig 1), cause the at least one processor to: determine a geographical location associated with the family tree; and render the artificial reality environment including the family tree in response to detecting that the artificial reality device is at the geographical location. Mangum et al [0031] The content system 130 may also search the grave database 135 for graves based on the geographical location information from the GPS receiver 117. For example, if the geographical location information indicates that the current location of the augmented reality device 110 is in a particular cemetery (e.g., Arlington National Cemetery), the content system 130 searches the grave database 135 for graves that are in the cemetery. In another example, the user searches for graves that share genetic and genealogical connection with the user.
As in claim 10, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the one or more memory devices further store instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to determine the geographical location by determining a historical site associated with the individual, a gravesite associated with the individual, or a museum exhibit associated with the individual. Myres et al [0035] [0035] Once the genetic matches are identified and alternatively displayed 250, the method generates 300 a list of relatives 305 (FIG. 2). The list of relatives 305 is generated from the genetic data 30 (FIG. 1) and the genealogical data 40 (FIG. 1) located within database 25. Relatives are determined 310 from the genetic matches and added to the list of relatives 305. The identified relatives further includes related information such as event dates (e.g., date of birth, date of christening/baptism, date of marriage, date of divorce, date of death, etc.) and the corresponding event location for the corresponding event. Mangum et al [0031] The content system 130 may also search the grave database 135 for graves based on the geographical location information from the GPS receiver 117. For example, if the geographical location information indicates that the current location of the augmented reality device 110 is in a particular cemetery (e.g., Arlington National Cemetery), the content system 130 searches the grave database 135 for graves that are in the cemetery. In another example, the user searches for graves that share genetic and genealogical connection with the user.
As in claim 11, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the one or more memory devices further store instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to share, with an additional artificial reality device, an artificial reality experience comprising the family tree by: detecting that the additional artificial reality device is at the geographical location associated with the family tree; and rendering, via the additional artificial reality device and based on detecting that the additional artificial reality device is at the geographical location, an additional artificial reality environment comprising the family tree superimposed on a view of a physical environment associated with the additional artificial reality device. Myres et al (Fig 1 and Par 0023) discloses Database 25 may be configured to store genetic data sets including genetic data 30 for a plurality of members and corresponding genealogical data sets including genealogical data 40 each extending any number of successively lineal ancestral familial generations. Mangum et al [0010] The system environment 100 comprises an augmented reality device 110, a network 120, and a content system 130. The augmented reality device 110 communicates with the content system 130 through the network 120. [0011] Although FIG. 1 illustrates only a single instance of the components of the system environment 100, in practice, more than one of each component may be present, and additional or fewer components may be used. For example, there may be more than one user connected to the network 120 through a plurality of augmented reality devices 110. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art at the time of the filing that have said data be shared with additional artificial reality device.
As in claim 12, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the one or more memory devices further store instructions that, when executed by the at Least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
receive, from the additional artificial reality device, an update to the artificial reality experience by receiving a modification to the family tree or by receiving another genealogy item to include as part of the artificial reality experience; generate a modified artificial reality experience based on receiving the update; and share the modified artificial reality experience with artificial reality devices at the geographical location associated with the family tree. Myres et al (Fig 1 and Par 0023) discloses Database 25 may be configured to store genetic data sets for a plurality of members and corresponding genealogical data sets. Mangum et al [Par 0011] discloses more than one user connected to the network 120 through a plurality of augmented reality devices 110. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art at the time of the filing to have update to the artificial reality experience based on receiving another genealogy item from additional artificial reality device since the data set is dependent on others data.
As in claim 13, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the one or more memory devices further store instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to receive the user input by receiving a gesture input or a device input that moves, rotates, or resizes the family tree within the artificial reality environment. Mangum et al [0050] As the user moves towards (or away from) the selected grave 324 to which they are being directed, the AR device 110 updates 250 the GUI in response to that movement.
As in claim 14, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more memory devices further store instructions that, when executed by the at Least one processor, cause the at least one processor to render the modified artificial reality environment by moving, rotating, or resizing the family tree in relation to the three-dimensional physical environment of the artificial reality environment. Mangum et al [0050] Specifically, this includes augmented reality device 110 updates 250 where the pin is visually overlaid with respect to the image of the area based on the motion of the mobile device 350.As the user moves towards (or away from) the selected grave 324 to which they are being directed, the AR device 110 updates 250 the GUI in response to that movement.
As in claim 15, Myres et al discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
rendering, for display via an artificial reality device, an artificial reality environment comprising a family tree superimposed over a projection of a three-dimensional physical environment, wherein the family tree reflects pedigree data stored in a genealogy database about an individual; (Fig 1, 3-4 and Abstract) discloses displaying genetic and genealogical data includes displaying indicators of related individuals. a computer system having a display device, a processor device, a database and media having computer-executable instructions configured to display indicators of related individuals identifying at least one genetically related individual from a genetic database and geographically displaying indicators.
But fails to discloses displaying data; displayed data superimposed over a projection of a three-dimensional physical environment and receiving, via the artificial reality device, a user input comprising a manipulation modifying a number of generation or a number of branches of the family tree displayed within the artificial reality environment; and rendering, for display via the artificial reality device, a modified artificial reality environment reflecting a manipulation of the family tree according to the user input. However Mangum et al (Fig 1, 2 and Par 0043 ) discloses augmented reality device 110 used to display geological information (i.e. data). (Par 0029 and Fig 3E) discloses the augmented reality device provides 230 a graphical element overlaid on the updating image of the area. [0030] The augmented reality device 110 presents for display a GUI that allows a user to enter an ancestor name and a cemetery name. The GUI displays input fields for receiving user input such as first and last name of the ancestor, date of birth of the ancestor, date of death of the ancestor, nickname of the ancestor, and birth location of the ancestor. The input may be a text entry from a keyboard or a voice entry from a microphone. The content system 130 searches the grave database 135 for graves that match the received ancestor name and cemetery name. [0032] In response to the search query, the grave selection engine 131 sends a list of the graves to the augmented reality device 110 through the network 120. The augmented reality device 110 displays the list of the graves, and the user selects a grave of interest. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to have family data /data stored in a genealogy database be displayed to the user via augmented reality device as an alternat display device that would allowing the user a more immersive experience when viewing said data.
As in claim 16, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: determining a geographical location associated with the family tree; and rendering the artificial reality environment including the family tree in response to detecting that the artificial reality device is at the geographical location. Mangum et al [0031] The content system 130 may also search the grave database 135 for graves based on the geographical location information from the GPS receiver 117. For example, if the geographical location information indicates that the current location of the augmented reality device 110 is in a particular cemetery (e.g., Arlington National Cemetery), the content system 130 searches the grave database 135 for graves that are in the cemetery. In another example, the user searches for graves that share genetic and genealogical connection with the user.
As in claim 17, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, wherein determining the geographical location comprises determining a historical site associated with the individual, a gravesite associated with the individual, or a museum exhibit associated with the individual. Myres et al [0035] [0035] Once the genetic matches are identified and alternatively displayed 250, the method generates 300 a list of relatives 305 (FIG. 2). The list of relatives 305 is generated from the genetic data 30 (FIG. 1) and the genealogical data 40 (FIG. 1) located within database 25. Relatives are determined 310 from the genetic matches and added to the list of relatives 305. The identified relatives further includes related information such as event dates (e.g., date of birth, date of christening/baptism, date of marriage, date of divorce, date of death, etc.) and the corresponding event location for the corresponding event. Mangum et al [0031] The content system 130 may also search the grave database 135 for graves based on the geographical location information from the GPS receiver 117. For example, if the geographical location information indicates that the current location of the augmented reality device 110 is in a particular cemetery (e.g., Arlington National Cemetery), the content system 130 searches the grave database 135 for graves that are in the cemetery. In another example, the user searches for graves that share genetic and genealogical connection with the user.
As in claim 18, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise sharing, with an additional artificial reality device, an artificial reality experience comprising the family tree by: detecting that the additional artificial reality device is at the geographical location associated with the family tree; and rendering, via the additional artificial reality device and based on detecting that the additional artificial reality device is at the geographical location, an additional artificial reality environment comprising the family tree superimposed on a view of a physical environment associated with the additional artificial reality device. Myres et al (Fig 1 and Par 0023) discloses Database 25 may be configured to store genetic data sets including genetic data 30 for a plurality of members and corresponding genealogical data sets including genealogical data 40 each extending any number of successively lineal ancestral familial generations. Mangum et al [0010] The system environment 100 comprises an augmented reality device 110, a network 120, and a content system 130. The augmented reality device 110 communicates with the content system 130 through the network 120. [0011] Although FIG. 1 illustrates only a single instance of the components of the system environment 100, in practice, more than one of each component may be present, and additional or fewer components may be used. For example, there may be more than one user connected to the network 120 through a plurality of augmented reality devices 110. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art at the time of the filing that have said data be shared with additional artificial reality device.
As in claim 19, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 18, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, from the additional artificial reality device, an update to the artificial reality experience by receiving a modification to the family tree or by receiving another genealogy item to include as part of the artificial reality experience; generating a modified artificial reality experience based on receiving the update; and sharing the modified artificial reality experience with artificial reality devices at the geographical location associated with the family tree. Myres et al (Fig 1 and Par 0023) discloses Database 25 may be configured to store genetic data sets for a plurality of members and corresponding genealogical data sets. Mangum et al [Par 0011] discloses more than one user connected to the network 120 through a plurality of augmented reality devices 110. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art at the time of the filing to have update to the artificial reality experience based on receiving another genealogy item from additional artificial reality device since the data set is dependent on others data.
As in claim 20, Myres et al in view of Mangum et al discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 18, wherein: receiving the user input comprises receiving a gesture input or a device input that moves, rotates, or resizes the family tree within the artificial reality environment; Mangum et al [0050] As the user moves towards (or away from) the selected grave 324 to which they are being directed, the AR device 110 updates 250 the GUI in response to that movement.
and rendering the modified artificial reality environment comprises moving, rotating, or resizing the family tree in relation to the three-dimensional physical environment of the artificial reality environment. Mangum et al [0050] Specifically, this includes augmented reality device 110 updates 250 where the pin is visually overlaid with respect to the image of the area based on the motion of the mobile device 350.As the user moves towards (or away from) the selected grave 324 to which they are being directed, the AR device 110 updates 250 the GUI in response to that movement.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENYAM KETEMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626