Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 3/14/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-23 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “said two through- channels that are disposed opposite one another across said central through- channel and spaced at said first distance from said central through-channel are aligned substantially parallel to said two lateral edges of said substrate” must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim (claim 6). No new matter should be entered.
Figure 13A appears to show the opposite of what is claimed. It shows the two through channels disposed opposite one another across said central through channel to be aligned perpendicular to the lateral edges of the substrate,
In instant Figure 1 the applicant showed the lateral edges as the top and the bottom of the drawing. The Examiner interprets Figure 13A to have that same convention [see marked up Figure below]. If the lateral edges are meant to be on the left and right of instant Figure 13A. the applicant should mark up the figure to show so or alternatively change the language of the claim and instant specification to match the Figure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 2010/0239814 MOURAD et al., hereinafter MOURAD.
As for claims 1and 19, MOURAD discloses a paper machine clothing with a substrate (104) with an upper side (laser side) and lower side (opposite side) [0057, Figure 1B] and two lateral edges [Figure 3A]. MOURAD discloses a plurality of through holes (1014) which extend through the substrate connecting the lower side and upper side [Figure 1B and Figure 10]
MOURAD disclose at least a center through-channel (X) having six neighboring through-channels (1-6) [marked up figure 10]. The six neighboring through-channels form an irregular hexagon [marked up figure 10].
As for claims 2, MOURAD discloses two of the six (1 and 4) surrounding through-holes are on opposite sides of said central through-channel (X). This forms a line that is substantially parallel to the lateral edges of the paper machine clothing.
MOURAD discloses a first distance, d1, from said central through-channel (X) to through-channels (1 and 4) and a second distance, d2, to through-channels (2, 3, 5, and 6)
As for claims 3 and 4, the lines of the marked-up figure were measured as total pixels in Microsoft Paint as follows: d1 ~ 55 pixels and d2 ~ 68 pixels. This means that d2 length is about 1.24 times greater than the d1 length which falls within the claimed range.
As for claim 7, MORADS shows that at least ‘3’ is surrounded by six directly neighboring through channels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over U.S. 2010/0239814 MOURAD et al., hereinafter MOURAD
As for claim 6, MOURAD shows its Figure 10 and holes to be oriented in substantially the same configuration as the instant claimed diagram [instant Figure 13A]. While this matches instant Figure 13A it would be perpendicular to the lateral edges. Figure 6 also shows an irregular hexagon wherein the holes are patterned in the rotated 90 degrees and therefore parallel to the lateral edges.
However, both images do not explicitly give the orientation that the image was taken. Therefore, alternatively changes in shape would be prima facie obvious thereby rotating the holes 90 degrees absent evidence of unexpected results [MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (B)].
As for claim 8, MOURAD shows that each of through-channels (2-6) are each surrounded by 6 directly neighboring through channels. The Examiner interprets 5 out of 6 to meet the term ‘substantially all’. If five could not meet the term substantially all then the applicant should have claimed ‘all’. Furthermore, through-channel (1) is at least surrounded by 5 through-holes. The person of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the picture to imply a 6 hole below to continue the pattern. In the alternative it would be obvious to continue the pattern for the full width of the belt.
As for claim 9-11, the figure 10 shows a total of 31 holes and of those 31 holes 13 holes are shown explicitly to have 6 surrounding holes. However, this image only shows part of the clothing. It is the Examiner position that the full clothing meets the claims or would be obvious to do so. In a full -sized paper machine clothing only the holes on the outer edges will not be surrounded. Therefore the percent of through holes with 6 surrounding holes will increase as the width of the fabric increases. MOURAD further explains that there are 50-60 holes per inch of fabric [0055]. A larger width fabric means a higher proportion of holes will be completely surrounded as the patten repeats. At the time of the invention the person of ordinary skill in the art would look to use the pattern supplied for the whole fabric. In Figure 13 of MOURAD it is shown how the fabric patterns repeat themselves through a larger section of fabric.
Claims 12-18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2010/0239814 MOURAD et al., hereinafter MOURAD, in view of U.S. 2019/0323175 KOECKRITZ et al., hereinafter KOECKRITZ.
As for claim 12-14 and 20-22, MOURAD discloses the features as per supra including the substrate with an irregular hexagon pattern of through-holes. MOURAD further disclose non-cylindrical cross-sectional areas with the cross-sectional area becoming smaller proceeding in the thickness direction [Figure 2A and image 6]. MOURAD discloses an image in there may be some overlap of the outer rim but it is difficult to tell [Figure 6 (602)]. It looks like there is either overlap or abutting along diagonals but not along horizontal lines (so 4/6 holes surrounding a center through-hole).
KOECKRITZ discloses a paper machine clothing with a non-cylindrical through-hole and overlapping out rims [Figure 13 and 0019]. At the time of the invention it would be obvious to make the through-holes closer in MOURAD such that there was overlapping outer rims. When the rims are fully overlapping the surface completely disappears. The person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as KOECKRITZ states that overlapping outer rims has the advantage of increasing the open area without hurting structural integrity [0021].
As for claims 15 and 16, KOECKRITZ discloses less than 5% of the upper surface is flat [0023].
As for claims 17 and 18, KOECKRITZ discloses 80% of the lower surface should be flat [0024].
As for claim 23, MOURAD discloses using a laser to form the plurality of through -channels but fails to disclose blowing cooling air. KOECKRITZ discloses using a laser followed by cooling air when forming through-channels for making paper machine clothing [0037]. At the time of the invention it would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to using the cooling air of KOECKRITZ after the laser MOURAD. The person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so by KOECKRITZ who states that cooling has the advantage of inhibiting overheating and damaging of the substrate material [0037].
Conclusion
ANTHONY J. CALANDRA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/Anthony Calandra/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748