DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 15 – 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,609. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application and the ‘609 patent both claim a system and method for providing sub-perception stimulation to a patient. For example, claim 29 of the present application requires the additional limitation wherein the supra-perception biphasic stimulation pulses are symmetric, and wherein the sub-perception biphasic stimulation pulses are symmetric that is not required in claim 12 of the ‘609 patent. However, that limitation is required in dependent claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15, 17, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doan (US PGPUB 2014/0364919 – in IDS).
Regarding claim 15, Doan discloses a spinal cord stimulator comprising a plurality of electrodes in an electrode array (e.g. Figs. 2 and 3), the method comprising in order: programming a first amplitude for the implantable spinal cord stimulator (e.g. ¶ 46); providing supra-perception biphasic stimulation pulses at a frequency via one or more first of the plurality of electrodes and one or more second of the plurality of electrodes (e.g. ABSTRACT and ¶ 49), wherein the supra-perception biphasic stimulation pulses have first and second phases, wherein during the first phases the one or more first electrodes provide the first amplitude in sum as an anodic current and the one or more second electrodes provide the first amplitude in sum as a cathodic current, wherein during the second phases the one or more second electrodes provide the first amplitude in sum as an anodic current and the one or more first electrodes provide the first amplitude in sum as a cathodic current (e.g. ¶ 49); programming a second amplitude for the implantable spinal cord stimulator, wherein the second amplitude is lower than the first amplitude; providing sub-perception biphasic stimulation pulses at the frequency via the one or more first electrodes and the one or more second electrodes (e.g. ABSTRACT and ¶ 46), wherein the sub- perception biphasic stimulation pulses have third and fourth phases, wherein during the third phases the one or more first electrodes provide the second amplitude in sum as an anodic current and the one or more second electrodes provide the second amplitude in sum as a cathodic current, and wherein during the fourth phases the one or more second electrodes provide the second amplitude in sum as an anodic current and the one or more first electrodes provide the second amplitude in sum as a cathodic current (e.g. ¶ 49).
Regarding claim 17, Doan discloses wherein a charge of the first phase equals a charge of the second phase for each supra-perception biphasic stimulation pulse, and wherein a charge of the third phase equals a charge of the fourth phase for each sub-perception biphasic stimulation pulse (e.g. Fig. 5b; the charge for the first and second phase appears to be equal).
Regarding claim 20, Doan discloses programming the first and second amplitudes for the implantable spinal cord stimulator comprises entering the first and second amplitudes into an external system in communication with the implantable stimulator device (e.g. Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, Doan discloses the plurality of electrodes are located on one or more leads implanted in a spinal column of the patient (e.g. Figs. 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 23, 25, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doan in view of Moffitt et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0173335 – in IDS).
Regarding claims 16, 23, and 25, Doan discloses the stimulation pulses as previously discussed, but fails to teach the frequency is 130 Hz or less and, more specifically, 90 Hz.
Moffitt teaches wherein the biphasic test pulses are formed at 130 Hz or less (e.g. ¶ 70, modulation delivered at frequencies less than 130 Hz and as low as 2 Hz).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the frequencies as taught by Doan with the specific lower frequencies as taught by Moffitt, since different patients react differently to different therapies, and determining the optimal parameters would require only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 26, Doan discloses programming the first and second amplitudes for the implantable spinal cord stimulator comprises entering the first and second amplitudes into an external system in communication with the implantable stimulator device (e.g. Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 27, Doan discloses the plurality of electrodes are located on one or more leads implanted in a spinal column of the patient (e.g. Figs. 2 and 3).
Claim(s) 18, 19, 29 - 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doan in view of Jaax et al. (US PGPUB 2013/0053923 – in IDS)
Regarding claims 18, 19, and 29, Doan discloses the stimulation as previously discussed. Doan does not disclose wherein the biphasic pulses comprises symmetric biphasic pulses, wherein a duration of the first phases is equal to a duration of the second phase.
Jaax teaches a SCS method wherein the biphasic pulses comprises symmetric biphasic pulses, wherein a duration of the first phases is equal to a duration of the second phase (¶ 95).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to substitute the asymmetrical biphasic pulses disclosed by Doan with the symmetric biphasic pulses taught by Jaax as such a modification is a simple substitution between one known element (asymmetrical biphasic pulses) with another (symmetric biphasic pulses) in order to yield the predictable result of performing SCS.
Regarding claims 30 and 31, Doan discloses wherein a charge of the first phase equals a charge of the second phase for each supra-perception biphasic stimulation pulse, and wherein a charge of the third phase equals a charge of the fourth phase for each sub-perception biphasic stimulation pulse (e.g. Fig. 5b; the charge for the first and second phase appears to be equal).
Regarding claim 32, Doan discloses programming the first and second amplitudes for the implantable spinal cord stimulator comprises entering the first and second amplitudes into an external system in communication with the implantable stimulator device (e.g. Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 33, Doan discloses the plurality of electrodes are located on one or more leads implanted in a spinal column of the patient (e.g. Figs. 2 and 3).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doan in view of Moffitt et al. as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Jaax et al.
Regarding claim 24, Doan in view of Moffitt discloses the stimulation as previously discussed. Doan in view of Moffitt does not disclose wherein the biphasic pulses comprises symmetric biphasic pulses, wherein a duration of the first phases is equal to a duration of the second phase.
Jaax teaches a SCS method wherein the biphasic pulses comprises symmetric biphasic pulses, wherein a duration of the first phases is equal to a duration of the second phase (¶ 95).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to substitute the asymmetrical biphasic pulses disclosed by Doan in view of Moffitt with the symmetric biphasic pulses taught by Jaax as such a modification is a simple substitution between one known element (asymmetrical biphasic pulses) with another (symmetric biphasic pulses) in order to yield the predictable result of performing SCS.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22, 28, and 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach wherein the sub-perception biphasic stimulation pulses wash in for a period of one hour or less during the programming session to provide pain relief to the patient without paresthesia.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796