DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-27 are currently pending and prosecuted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant contends the prior art of record fails to teach the claimed limitations. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Specifically, Applicant argues the prior art reference, Mark, fails to teach the gesture detected by Mark may not be considered a writing or drawing input. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a gesture is an input in which a user writes or draws a chape of some form on a touch screen in order to input a control function or command, which then changes the illumination of the touch screen. In Mark, the drawing input of a gesture changes the picture displayed, provides a moving mouse, which changes the illumination of the individual pixels to show the user, and changes the various selectable GUI elements in a pattern.
It appears Applicant may be attempting to incorporate the limitations of Claim 6 into the broad limitations of Claim 1. However, Applicant does not address the teachings of Williams as it is applied to Claim 6, which teaches what it appears Applicant is attempting to argue regarding Claim 1.
As such, Applicant’s arguments are not considered persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mark, US PG-Pub 2012/0017147, hereinafter Mark, in view of Chi et al., US PG-Pub 2016/0202873, hereinafter Chi.
Regarding Claim 1, Mark teaches an interactive illumination system (Fig. 1, and corresponding descriptions) comprising:
a light source (pico projector 102);
a first input device (keypad 1708) configured to detect a control input ([0086], “A number of analog devices may be coupled to the control processor 1701 . . ., such as a keypad 1708 as shown in FIG. 17. . . . a keypad or keyboard”; [0069], “pressing a function button 1002 on the mobile device 100”, noting a function button may be provided on a keypad or keyboard); and
a second input device (touch screen display 103) configured to detect a writing or drawing input ([0036]-[0039], “an example touch gesture in which a simple finger drag 208 across the surface of the touch screen 103 is interpreted by the mobile device user interface”; [0069], “To select the highlighted object, a user may perform a second command, tracing a touch gesture on the touch screen display 103 . . . on the mobile device 100"),
wherein the light source is configured to generate an illumination based on the writing or drawing input and modify a characteristic of the illumination based on the control input (Figs. 10-12, and corresponding descriptions; [0072], “a mobile device 100 may be configured to project a mouse arrow 1202 or other suitable pointer in response to the user's touch event on the touch screen display 103. The user may move the arrow by moving a finger on the touch screen to select items by placing the mouse arrow 1202 on the item and performing a second action, such as double tapping on the touch screen display 103 or pressing a function key 1002”, showing how the device moves the mouse to a selection point, which modifies a characteristic of the illumination, and presses a function key to select the item).
However, Mark does not explicitly teach wherein the illumination is synchronized with a sound output.
Chi teaches wherein the illumination is synchronized with a sound output (Chi: [0049], “The output unit 150 is typically configured to output various types of information, such as audio, video, tactile output, and the like”; [0070], “the visual key may be displayed on the touch screen in various shapes, for example, graphic, text, icon, video, or a combination thereof”; [0096], “The memory 170 may store data related to various patterns of vibrations and audio which are output in response to touch inputs on the touch screen.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the audio synchronization taught by Chi into the device taught by Mark in order to provide a video on a display (Chi: [0005]), thereby providing a more immersive user experience.
Regarding Claim 2, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the system of claim 1 further comprising:
a housing (Mark: mobile device 100); and
a rechargeable battery (Chi: [0100], “The power supply unit 190 may include a battery, which is typically rechargeable”),
wherein the housing includes the light source (Mark: Figs. 1 and 17A, and corresponding descriptions, showing the pico projector is located within the housing).
Regarding Claim 3, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the housing further includes at least one of the first input device and the second input device (Mark: Figs. 1 and 17A, and corresponding descriptions, showing the mobile device includes the touchscreen and a keypad/keyboard).
Regarding Claim 4, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the system of claim 2 further comprising:
a sensing device configured to detect a position of the housing (Mark: [0099], noting the use of accelerometers 1713a-c), wherein the tight source is configured to generate the illumination based on the position of the housing (Mark: [0099], noting the use of accelerometers 1713a-c, Figs. 5A-6D, and corresponding descriptions, showing the position of the projection is changed based on the position of the device).
Regarding Claim 5, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the system of claim 2 further comprising:
a sensing device configured to detect an orientation of the housing (Mark: [0099], noting the use of accelerometers 1713a-c), wherein the light source is configured to generate the illumination based on the orientation of the housing (Mark: [0099], noting the use of accelerometers 1713a-c, Figs. 5A-6D, and corresponding descriptions, showing the orientation of the projection is changed based on the orientation of the device).
Regarding Claim 7, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the second input device comprises a touchscreen including a display configured to detect the writing or drawing input (Mark: touch screen display 103);
wherein the display is configured to display a user interface including a graphical input element (Mark: Figs. 10-12, and corresponding descriptions; [0072], “a mobile device 100 may be configured to project a mouse arrow 1202 or other suitable pointer in response to the user's touch event on the touch screen display 103. The user may move the arrow by moving a finger on the touch screen to select items by placing the mouse arrow 1202 on the item”).
Regarding Claim 8, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein modifying a characteristic of the illumination comprises modifying an intensity, size or shape of the illumination (Mark: Fig. 10, and corresponding descriptions, showing the device illuminating the box 8 on the projection, which changes the illumination intensity of a shape).
Regarding Claim 9, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the system of claim 2 further comprising:
a speaker (Mark: speaker 1754) and a microphone (Mark: microphone 1758),
wherein the microphone is configured to detect an audio command (Mark: [0088]), and
wherein the speaker is configured to generate the sound output based on the audio command (Mark: [0088]).
Regarding Claim 10, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the light source is further configured to generate another illumination based on the audio command detected by the microphone (Chi: [0069], “The microphone 122 is generally implemented to permit audio input to the mobile terminal 100. The audio input can be processed in various manners according to a function being executed in the mobile terminal 100”, noting how a function may be executed, which may include a change in the illumination of the projection, based on the audio input from the microphone).
Regarding Claim 11, Mark teaches a method (method 1300, 1400, 1500) comprising:
detecting, with a first input device (keypad 1708), a control input ([0086], “A number of analog devices may be coupled to the control processor 1701 . . ., such as a keypad 1708 as shown in FIG. 17. . . . a keypad or keyboard”; [0069], “pressing a function button 1002 on the mobile device 100”, noting a function button may be provided on a keypad or keyboard);
detecting, with a second input device (touch screen display 103), a writing or drawing input ([0036]-[0039], “an example touch gesture in which a simple finger drag 208 across the surface of the touch screen 103 is interpreted by the mobile device user interface”; [0069], “To select the highlighted object, a user may perform a second command, tracing a touch gesture on the touch screen display 103 . . . on the mobile device 100"); and
generating, with a light source (pico projector 102), an illumination based on the writing or drawing input and modifying a characteristic of the illumination based on the control input (Figs. 10-12, and corresponding descriptions; [0072], “a mobile device 100 may be configured to project a mouse arrow 1202 or other suitable pointer in response to the user's touch event on the touch screen display 103. The user may move the arrow by moving a finger on the touch screen to select items by placing the mouse arrow 1202 on the item and performing a second action, such as double tapping on the touch screen display 103 or pressing a function key 1002”, showing how the device moves the mouse to a selection point, which modifies a characteristic of the illumination, and presses a function key to select the item).
However, Mark does not explicitly teach wherein the illumination is synchronized with a sound output.
Chi teaches wherein the illumination is synchronized with a sound output (Chi: [0049], “The output unit 150 is typically configured to output various types of information, such as audio, video, tactile output, and the like”; [0070], “the visual key may be displayed on the touch screen in various shapes, for example, graphic, text, icon, video, or a combination thereof”; [0096], “The memory 170 may store data related to various patterns of vibrations and audio which are output in response to touch inputs on the touch screen.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the audio synchronization taught by Chi into the device taught by Mark in order to provide a video on a display (Chi: [0005]), thereby providing a more immersive user experience.
Regarding Claim 13, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the method of claim 11 further comprising:
determining a position of an apparatus that includes the light source (Mark: [0099], noting the use of accelerometers 1713a-c, Figs. 5A-6D); and
generating a second illumination based on the position (Mark: [0099], noting the use of accelerometers 1713a-c, Figs. 5A-6D, and corresponding descriptions, showing the position of the projection is changed based on the position of the device).
Regarding Claim 14, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the method of claim 11 further comprising:
determining an orientation of an apparatus that includes the light source (Mark: [0099], noting the use of accelerometers 1713a-c); and
generating a second illumination based on the orientation (Mark: [0099], noting the use of accelerometers 1713a-c, Figs. 5A-6D, and corresponding descriptions, showing the orientation of the projection is changed based on the orientation of the device).
Regarding Claim 15, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the method of claim 11, wherein modifying a characteristic of the illumination comprises modifying the intensity, size or shape of the illumination (Mark: Fig. 10, and corresponding descriptions, showing the device illuminating the box 8 on the projection, which changes the illumination intensity of a shape).
Regarding Claim 16, Mark teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions ([0101]), the instructions, when executed by one or more processors (processor 1701), causing the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
detecting, with a first input device (keypad 1708), a control input ([0086], “A number of analog devices may be coupled to the control processor 1701 . . ., such as a keypad 1708 as shown in FIG. 17. . . . a keypad or keyboard”; [0069], “pressing a function button 1002 on the mobile device 100”, noting a function button may be provided on a keypad or keyboard);
detecting, with a second input device (touch screen display 103), a writing or drawing input ([0036]-[0039], “an example touch gesture in which a simple finger drag 208 across the surface of the touch screen 103 is interpreted by the mobile device user interface”; [0069], “To select the highlighted object, a user may perform a second command, tracing a touch gesture on the touch screen display 103 . . . on the mobile device 100"); and
generating, with a light source (pico projector 102), an illumination based on the writing or drawing input and modifying a characteristic of the illumination based on the control input (Figs. 10-12, and corresponding descriptions; [0072], “a mobile device 100 may be configured to project a mouse arrow 1202 or other suitable pointer in response to the user's touch event on the touch screen display 103. The user may move the arrow by moving a finger on the touch screen to select items by placing the mouse arrow 1202 on the item and performing a second action, such as double tapping on the touch screen display 103 or pressing a function key 1002”, showing how the device moves the mouse to a selection point, which modifies a characteristic of the illumination, and presses a function key to select the item).
However, Mark does not explicitly teach wherein the illumination is synchronized with a sound output.
Chi teaches wherein the illumination is synchronized with a sound output (Chi: [0049], “The output unit 150 is typically configured to output various types of information, such as audio, video, tactile output, and the like”; [0070], “the visual key may be displayed on the touch screen in various shapes, for example, graphic, text, icon, video, or a combination thereof”; [0096], “The memory 170 may store data related to various patterns of vibrations and audio which are output in response to touch inputs on the touch screen.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the audio synchronization taught by Chi into the device taught by Mark in order to provide a video on a display (Chi: [0005]), thereby providing a more immersive user experience.
Regarding Claim 17, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise:
detecting the writing or drawing input on a touchscreen of the second input device (Mark: touch screen display 103).
Regarding Claim 19, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein modifying a characteristic of the illumination comprises modifying an intensity, size, or shape of the illumination (Mark: Fig. 10, and corresponding descriptions, showing the device illuminating the box 8 on the projection, which changes the illumination intensity of a shape).
Regarding Claim 20, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining a position of an apparatus that includes the light source (Mark: [0099], noting the use of accelerometers 1713a-c, Figs. 5A-6D); and
generating a second illumination based on the position (Mark: [0099], noting the use of accelerometers 1713a-c, Figs. 5A-6D, and corresponding descriptions, showing the position of the projection is changed based on the position of the device).
Regarding Claim 21, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining an orientation of an apparatus that includes the light source (Mark: [0099], noting the use of accelerometers 1713a-c); and
generating a second illumination based on the orientation (Mark: [0099], noting the use of accelerometers 1713a-c, Figs. 5A-6D, and corresponding descriptions, showing the orientation of the projection is changed based on the orientation of the device).
Claims 6, 12, 18 and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mark, as modified by Chi, as applied to claim 1, 11 or 16 above, and further in view of Williams et al., US PG-Pub 2013/0342704, hereinafter Williams.
Regarding Claim 6, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the system of claim 1. However, Mark, as modified by Chi, does not explicitly teach wherein the illumination comprises a replica of the writing or drawing input (Mark: Figs. 10-12, and corresponding descriptions; [0072], “a mobile device 100 may be configured to project a mouse arrow 1202 or other suitable pointer in response to the user's touch event on the touch screen display 103. The user may move the arrow by moving a finger on the touch screen to select items by placing the mouse arrow 1202 on the item”).
Williams teaches wherein the illumination comprises a replica of the writing or drawing input (Williams: Fig. 1, and corresponding descriptions; [0124], noting the drawing is projected onto the projection surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the writing projections taught by Mark, as modified by Chi, into the device taught by Williams in order to allow the user to create diagrams or draw pictures to be displayed on the projection screen (Williams: [0124]), thereby providing a higher quality user presentation device.
Regarding Claim 22, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the system of claim 1. However, Mark, as modified by Chi, does not explicitly teach wherein the light source is further configured to dynamically project the illumination, and
wherein the illumination comprises one or more dynamically projected: shapes, patterns, images, text, or figures.
Williams teaches wherein the light source is further configured to dynamically project the illumination (Williams: Figs. 1 and 9, and corresponding descriptions; [0124], noting the drawing is projected onto the projection surface; [0046]-[0049]), and
wherein the illumination comprises one or more dynamically projected: shapes, patterns, images, text, or figures (Williams: Figs. 1 and 9, and corresponding descriptions; [0124], noting the drawing is projected onto the projection surface; [0046]-[0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the writing projections taught by Mark, as modified by Chi, into the device taught by Williams in order to allow the user to create diagrams or draw pictures to be displayed on the projection screen (Williams: [0124]), thereby providing a higher quality user presentation device.
Regarding Claim 23, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the system of claim . However, Mark, as modified by Chi, does not explicitly teach, wherein the light source is further configured to dynamically project the illumination, and wherein the illumination comprises synchronously formed patterns or synchronously formed characters based on the writing or drawing input in real-time.
Williams teaches wherein the light source is further configured to dynamically project the illumination (Williams: Figs. 1 and 9, and corresponding descriptions; [0124], noting the drawing is projected onto the projection surface; [0046]-[0049]), and
wherein the illumination comprises synchronously formed patterns or synchronously formed characters based on the writing or drawing input in real-time (Williams: Figs. 1 and 9, and corresponding descriptions; [0124], noting the drawing is projected onto the projection surface; [0046]-[0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the writing projections taught by Mark, as modified by Chi, into the device taught by Williams in order to allow the user to create diagrams or draw pictures to be displayed on the projection screen (Williams: [0124]), thereby providing a higher quality user presentation device.
Regarding Claim 12, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the method of claim 11 further comprising:
detecting the writing or drawing input on a touchscreen of the second input device (Mark: touch screen display 103).
However, Mark, as modified by Chi, does not explicitly teach generating the illumination as a replica of the writing or drawing input.
Williams teaches generating the illumination as a replica of the writing or drawing input (Williams: Fig. 1, and corresponding descriptions; [0124], noting the drawing is projected onto the projection surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the writing projections taught by Mark, as modified by Chi, into the device taught by Williams in order to allow the user to create diagrams or draw pictures to be displayed on the projection screen (Williams: [0124]), thereby providing a higher quality user presentation device.
Regarding Claim 24, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the method of claim 11. However, Mark, as modified by Chi, does not explicitly teach dynamically projecting the generated illumination, the illumination comprising one or more dynamically projected: shapes, patterns, images, text, or figures.
Williams teaches dynamically projecting the generated illumination, the illumination comprising one or more dynamically projected: shapes, patterns, images, text, or figures (Williams: Figs. 1 and 9, and corresponding descriptions; [0124], noting the drawing is projected onto the projection surface; [0046]-[0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the writing projections taught by Mark, as modified by Chi, into the device taught by Williams in order to allow the user to create diagrams or draw pictures to be displayed on the projection screen (Williams: [0124]), thereby providing a higher quality user presentation device.
Regarding Claim 25, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the method of claim 11. However, Mark, as modified by Chi, does not explicitly teach dynamically projecting the generated illumination by synchronously forming patterns or synchronously forming characters based on the writing or drawing input in real-time.
Williams teaches dynamically projecting the generated illumination by synchronously forming patterns or synchronously forming characters based on the writing or drawing input in real-time (Williams: Figs. 1 and 9, and corresponding descriptions; [0124], noting the drawing is projected onto the projection surface; [0046]-[0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the writing projections taught by Mark, as modified by Chi, into the device taught by Williams in order to allow the user to create diagrams or draw pictures to be displayed on the projection screen (Williams: [0124]), thereby providing a higher quality user presentation device.
Regarding Claim 18, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16. However, Mark, as modified by Chi, does not explicitly teach wherein generating the illumination comprises generating the illumination as a replica of the writing or drawing input.
Williams teaches wherein generating the illumination comprises generating the illumination as a replica of the writing or drawing input (Williams: Fig. 1, and corresponding descriptions; [0124], noting the drawing is projected onto the projection surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the writing projections taught by Mark, as modified by Chi, into the device taught by Williams in order to allow the user to create diagrams or draw pictures to be displayed on the projection screen (Williams: [0124]), thereby providing a higher quality user presentation device.
Regarding Claim 26, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21. However, Mark, as modified by Chi, does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: dynamically projecting the generated illumination, the illumination comprising one or more dynamically projected: shapes, patterns, images, text, or figures.
Williams teaches wherein the operations further comprise:
dynamically projecting the generated illumination, the illumination comprising one or more dynamically projected: shapes, patterns, images, text, or figures (Williams: Figs. 1 and 9, and corresponding descriptions; [0124], noting the drawing is projected onto the projection surface; [0046]-[0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the writing projections taught by Mark, as modified by Chi, into the device taught by Williams in order to allow the user to create diagrams or draw pictures to be displayed on the projection screen (Williams: [0124]), thereby providing a higher quality user presentation device.
Regarding Claim 27, Mark, as modified by Chi, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21. However, Mark, as modified by Chi, does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: dynamically projecting the generated illumination by synchronously forming patterns or synchronously forming characters based on the writing or drawing input in real-time.
Williams teaches wherein the operations further comprise:
dynamically projecting the generated illumination by synchronously forming patterns or synchronously forming characters based on the writing or drawing input in real-time (Williams: Figs. 1 and 9, and corresponding descriptions; [0124], noting the drawing is projected onto the projection surface; [0046]-[0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the writing projections taught by Mark, as modified by Chi, into the device taught by Williams in order to allow the user to create diagrams or draw pictures to be displayed on the projection screen (Williams: [0124]), thereby providing a higher quality user presentation device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEPHEN T. REED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2627
/Stephen T. Reed/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627