DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to the communication filed on March 14, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Regarding the claim 1, it recites a storage node configured to store a target data table and comprising: a first memory configured to store first instructions; and one or more first processor coupled to the first memory, wherein the first instructions, when executed by the one or more first processors, cause the storage node to: determine indication information of target data for creating an index, wherein the target data is partial data in the target data table; obtain the target data from the target data table based on the indication information; and provide the target data; and a computing node coupled to the storage node and comprising: a second memory configured to store second instructions; and one or more second processor coupled to the second memory, wherein the second instructions, when executed by the one or more second processors, cause the computing node to: receive the target data from the storage node; and create the index based on the target data.
The claim recited the limitation of - store a target data table, store first instructions, and store second instructions as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. User can memorize data table and instruction as recited in the claim which is mental process. Further, the limitation “determine indication information of target data for creating an index, wherein the target data is partial data in the target data table” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. User can mentally determine the indication information by reading the data from the table. Therefore, the limitation is a mental process. Similar, the limitation “create the index based on the target data” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. User mentally create index or sequence number by the data from table and memorize it. Hence, the limitation is a mental process.
The claim recites three additional elements: obtain the target data from the target data table based on the indication information, provide the target data, and receive the target data from the storage node. The receiving steps as recited amounts to mere data gathering for use in the creating index step, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, (see Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information)). Similarly, the limitation provide the target data is also data gathering which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of receiving (both step) and providing steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The courts have recognized these functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional as they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(d) II, Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information)). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 2 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 2 recites the same abstract idea of creating index of a storage node. The claim recites the limitations of determining the indication information, the second instructions, when executed by the one or more second processors, further cause the computing node to: receive an index creation instruction instructing to create the index based on the target data; determine the indication information based on the index creation instruction; and provide the indication information to the storage node, which can be done mentally with or without the use of a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper) or with a generic computer and is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Therefore, the limitation is a mental process.
Claim 3 is dependent on claim 2 and includes all the limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 3 recites the same abstract idea of creating index of a storage node. The claim recites the limitations of wherein the first instructions, when executed by the one or more first processors, cause the storage node to generate first consumption when the storage node obtains the target data based on the target data table and provides the target data to the computing node, and wherein the second instructions, when executed by the one or more second processors, further cause the computing node to: generate second consumption when the storage node provides the target data to the computing node and the computing node obtains the target data based on the target data table; and provide the indication information to the storage node when the first consumption and the second consumption meet a specified condition, which can be done mentally with or without the use of a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper) or with a generic computer and is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Therefore, the limitation is a mental process.
Claim 4 is dependent on claim 2 and includes all the limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 4 recites the same abstract idea of creating index of a storage node. The claim recites the limitations of wherein the second instructions, when executed by the one or more second processors, further cause the computing node to send, to the storage node, a data obtaining request requesting the storage node to provide, for the computing node, the target data based on the indication information, which can be done mentally with or without the use of a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper) or with a generic computer and is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Therefore, the limitation is a mental process.
Claim 5 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 5 recites the same abstract idea of creating index of a storage node. The claim recites the limitations of wherein the target data is in a data unit of the target data table, and wherein the data unit is a data row or a data column, which can be done mentally with or without the use of a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper) or with a generic computer and is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Therefore, the limitation is a mental process.
Claim 6 is dependent on claim 5 and includes all the limitations of claim 5. Therefore, claim 6 recites the same abstract idea of creating index of a storage node. The claim recites the limitations of wherein the target data comprises the partial data in the data unit, which can be done mentally with or without the use of a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper) or with a generic computer and is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Therefore, the limitation is a mental process.
Claim 7 is dependent on claim 6 and includes all the limitations of claim 6. Therefore, claim 7 recites the same abstract idea of creating index of a storage node. The claim recites the limitations of wherein the partial data is prefix data, intermediate data, suffix data, or data of a specified length in the data unit, which can be done mentally with or without the use of a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper) or with a generic computer and is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Therefore, the limitation is a mental process.
Claim 8 is dependent on claim 6 and includes all the limitations of claim 6. Therefore, claim 8 recites the same abstract idea of creating index of a storage node. The claim recites the limitations of wherein the target data comprises a character string type and/or a large object class field type, which can be done mentally with or without the use of a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper) or with a generic computer and is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Therefore, the limitation is a mental process.
As to claims 9-20, they have similar limitations as of claims 1-8 above. Hence, they are rejected under the same rational as of claims 1-8 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirose (Pub. No. : US 20180181602 A1 )
As to clam 1 Hirose teaches a system comprising:
a storage node configured to store a target data table (paragraphs [0019], [0034]: The information processing apparatus 1 stores the target data DT1 stored in the storage apparatus 2 into the storage apparatus 3) and comprising:
a first memory configured to store first instructions; and one or more first processor coupled to the first memory, wherein the first instructions, when executed by the one or more first processors, cause the storage node to:
determine indication information of target data for creating an index, wherein the target data is partial data in the target data table (paragraphs [0050]: The data acquisition unit 111 acquires each data included in target data DT1 stored in the storage apparatus 2, wherein the data acquisition unit 111 refers to the information storage region 130, in which the index definition information 132 for identifying a column to be used for creation of index);
obtain the target data from the target data table based on the indication information (paragraph [0050]: the data acquisition unit 111 refers to the information storage region 130, in which the index definition information 132 for identifying a column to be used for creation of index); and
provide the target data (paragraph [0051]: The data management unit 112 stores data acquired by the data acquisition unit 111 individually into the storage apparatus 3); and
a computing node coupled to the storage node (paragraph [0052], [0130]: The index creation unit 113) and comprising:
a second memory configured to store second instructions (paragraph [0065]: the index definition information 132 depicted in FIG. 13B is information that defines index information IDX corresponding to data stored in the employee table); and
one or more second processor coupled to the second memory, wherein the second instructions, when executed by the one or more second processors, cause the computing node to:
receive the target data from the storage node (paragraph [0092]: the index definition information 132 depicted in FIG. 15 is acquired by the process at S22, the data acquisition unit 111 acquires, from among the data included in the target data DT1, data included in “employee number” that is a column to be used for creation of index information IDXb); and
create the index based on the target data (see fig. 15 and paragraph [0093]: the index creation unit 113 creates index information IDX from the creation source data stored in the storage apparatus 2 by the process at S25. Note that IDX is index see paragraph [0050]).
As to clam 2 Hirose teaches wherein before determining the indication information, the second instructions, when executed by the one or more second processors, further cause the computing node to: receive an index creation instruction instructing to create the index based on the target data; determine the indication information based on the index creation instruction; and provide the indication information to the storage node (paragraph [0050]).
As to clam 3 Hirose teaches wherein the first instructions, when executed by the one or more first processors, cause the storage node to generate first consumption when the storage node obtains the target data based on the target data table and provides the target data to the computing node, and wherein the second instructions, when executed by the one or more second processors, further cause the computing node to: generate second consumption when the storage node provides the target data to the computing node and the computing node obtains the target data based on the target data table; and provide the indication information to the storage node when the first consumption and the second consumption meet a specified condition (paragraph [0062]).
As to clam 4 Hirose teaches wherein the second instructions, when executed by the one or more second processors, further cause the computing node to send, to the storage node, a data obtaining request requesting the storage node to provide, for the computing node, the target data based on the indication information (paragraph [0053]).
As to clam 5 Hirose teaches wherein the target data is in a data unit of the target data table, and wherein the data unit is a data row or a data column (paragraphs [0019], [0070]).
As to clam 6 Hirose teaches wherein the target data comprises the partial data in the data unit (paragraph [0062]).
As to clam 7 Hirose teaches wherein the partial data is prefix data, intermediate data, suffix data, or data of a specified length in the data unit (paragraph [0040]).
As to clam 8 Hirose teaches wherein the target data comprises a character string type and/or a large object class field type (paragraph [0066]).
As to claims 9-20, they have similar limitations as of claims 1-8 above. Hence, they are rejected under the same rational as of claims 1-8 above.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers or paragraphs in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in its entirety as potentially teaching of all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, listed on form PTO-892, and not relied upon, if any, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MD I UDDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169