DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim 1 with dependent claims thereof, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and any dependent claims thereof of U.S. Patent No. 12254279. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because said claims of the instant application includes all of the features of said claims of U.S. Patent No. 12254279. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to omit the step of using a buffer window and context window amounting to a broader representation thereof, In re Karlson 136 USPQ 184 (1963): "Omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same functions as before".
Present invention U.S. Patent No. 12254279
1. A dynamic conversation interface system, comprising:computing hardware, including at least one processor, data storage, and input/output facilities;wherein the computing hardware stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to implement:a plurality of instances of a large language model (LLM) engine, wherein each LLM engine instance is configured according to a respective set of system directives;an agent manager engine operative to instantiate and configure the instances of the LLM engine such that a first LLM engine instance is configured according to a first set of system directives, and a second LLM engine instance is configured according to a second set of system directives that is different from the first set,wherein the first LLM engine instance has a different functional specialization from the second LLM engine instance,wherein the first LLM engine instance and the second LLM engine instance engage in a same conversation session with a user, using the same language dialect, to perform different specializations within that conversation session; andwherein the first set of system directives include directives that determine occurrence of a defined condition for instantiating the second LLM engine instance, andwherein the agent manager engine is further operative to instantiate the second LLM engine instance in response to the occurrence of the defined condition.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the first instance of the LLM engine and the second instance of the LLM engine are respectively associated with different client entities of the dynamic conversation interface system.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the first instance of the LLM engine and the second instance of the LLM engine are informationally isolated from one another such that information provided by the user to the first LLM engine instance is not accessible by the second instance of the LLM engine.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein each LLM engine instance comprises:a buffer memory that is operative to temporarily store recent history of a current conversation in which the LLM engine instance is engaged; anda context window that stores a selected subset of information from the buffer memory which represents context of a defined recent portion of the current conversation.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein each LLM engine instance is configured, via corresponding system directives, to perform optimization of the context window, wherein the optimization includes at least one operation type from among: removal of certain content, compression of messages, directives, or instructions, condensing of stored information, hierarchical organization of stored content.
6. The system of claim 4, wherein each LLM engine instance is configured, via corresponding system directives, to perform optimization of the context window, wherein the optimization includes application of a memory management algorithm that is based on the Ebbinghaus Forgetting Curve.
7. The system of claim 4, wherein each LLM engine instance is configured, via corresponding system directives, to perform optimization of the context window, wherein the optimization includes application of a position-interpolation (PI) algorithm that is operative to extend a size of the context window.
8. The system of claim 4, wherein each LLM engine instance comprises multiple parallel context windows corresponding to respective threads of the conversation.
9. The system of claim 4, wherein each LLM engine instance is operative to dynamically adjust the size of the context window.
10. The system of claim 4, further comprising:a context window optimization engine operative to direct each LLM instance to preferentially focus on certain aspects of the conversation.
11. The system of claim 4, wherein the agent manager engine is further operative to pass at least a portion of the context window information of the first LLM instance to the second LLM instance in response to instantiation of the second LLM instance.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the agent manager engine is further operative to process information of the context window of the first LLM instance to clear or anonymize personal information pertaining to the user before the context window information is passed to the second LLM instance.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the agent manager engine is further operative to process information of the context window of the first LLM instance to such that non-personal information of the context window of the first LLM instance is kept in the context window information to be passed to the second LLM instance, wherein the non-personal information includes expressed objectives, expressed concerns, information indicative of a tone of the conversation, an assessed emotional state of the user, a type of language dialect or terminology employed by the user, or any combination thereof.
14. The system of claim 1, wherein the first set of system directives define attributes of an agent of a first customer service organization.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the first customer service organization is a governmental agency.
16. The system of claim 14, wherein the first customer service organization is an agency that provides social-services benefits information to its customers, and wherein the first set of system directives and the second set of system directives define different sets of information pertaining to the social-service benefits information.
17. The system of claim 14, wherein the second set of system directives define attributes of an agent of a second customer service organization which is distinct from the first customer service organization.
18. The system of claim 17, wherein the second customer service organization is a non- governmental customer service organization.
19. The system of claim 14, wherein the first set of system directives defines criteria for determining whether the user is qualified for a product of the first customer service organization.
20. The system of claim 19, wherein at least one of the first set of system directives defines a set of operations to be executed by the system in response to a determination that the user is not qualified for the product, wherein the set of operations includes causing the system to communicatively connect the user with a different customer service organization during the same conversation session, wherein the different customer service organization provides a different product.
1. (Currently Amended) A dynamic conversation interface system, comprising: computing hardware, including at least one processor, data storage, and input/output facilities; wherein the computing hardware stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to implement: a plurality of instances of a large language model (LLM) engine, wherein each LLM engine instance is configured according to a respective set of system directives; an agent manager engine operative to instantiate and configure the instances of the LLM engine such that a first LLM engine instance is configured according to a first set of system directives, and a second LLM engine instance is configured according to a second set of system directives that is different from the first set, wherein the first LLM engine instance has a different functional specialization from the second LLM engine instance, wherein the first LLM engine instance and the second LLM engine instance engage in a same conversation session with a user to perform different specializations within that conversation session; and wherein the first set of system directives include directives that determine occurrence of a defined condition for instantiating the second LLM engine instance, and wherein the agent manager engine is further operative to instantiate the second LLM engine instance in response to the occurrence of the defined condition; and wherein each LLM engine instance comprises: a buffer memory that is operative to temporarily store recent history of a current conversation in which the LLM engine instance is engaged; and a context window that stores a selected subset of information from the buffer memory which represents context of a defined recent portion of the current conversation;.
2. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the first instance of the LLM engine and the second instance of the LLM engine are respectively associated with different client entities of the dynamic conversation interface system.
3. (Original) The system of claim 2, wherein the first instance of the LLM engine and the second instance of the LLM engine are informationally isolated from one another such that information provided by the user to the first LLM engine instance is not accessible by the second instance of the LLM engine.
4. (Cancelled).
5. (Currently Amended) The system of claim [[4]]1, wherein each LLM engine instance is configured, via corresponding system directives, to perform optimization of the context window, wherein the optimization includes at least one operation type from among: removal of certain content, compression of messages, directives, or instructions, condensing of stored information, hierarchical organization of stored content.
6. (Currently Amended) The system of claim [[4]]1, wherein each LLM engine instance is configured, via corresponding system directives, to perform optimization of the context window, wherein the optimization includes application of a memory management algorithm that is based on the Ebbinghaus Forgetting Curve.
7. (Currently Amended) The system of claim [[4]]1, wherein each LLM engine instance is configured, via corresponding system directives, to perform optimization of the context window, wherein the optimization includes application of a position-interpolation (PI) algorithm that is operative to extend a size of the context window.
8. (Currently Amended) The system of claim [[4]]1, wherein each LLM engine instance comprises multiple parallel context windows corresponding to respective threads of the conversation.
9. (Currently Amended) The system of claim [[4]]1, wherein each LLM engine instance is operative to dynamically adjust the size of the context window.
10. (Currently Amended) The system of claim [[4]]1, further comprising: a context window optimization engine operative to direct each LLM instance to preferentially focus on certain aspects of the conversation.
11. (Currently Amended) The system of claim [[4]]1, wherein the agent manager engine is further operative to pass at least a portion of the context window information of the first LLM instance to the second LLM instance in response to instantiation of the second LLM instance.
12. (Original) The system of claim 11, wherein the agent manager engine is further operative to process information of the context window of the first LLM instance to clear or anonymize personal information pertaining to the user before the context window information is passed to the second LLM instance.
13. (Original) The system of claim 12, wherein the agent manager engine is further operative to process information of the context window of the first LLM instance to such that non-personal information of the context window of the first LLM instance is kept in the context window information to be passed to the second LLM instance, wherein the non-personal information includes expressed objectives, expressed concerns, information indicative of a tone of the conversation, an assessed emotional state of the user, a type of language dialect or terminology employed by the user, or any combination thereof.
14. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the first set of system directives define attributes of an agent of a first customer service organization.
15. (Original) The system of claim 14, wherein the first customer service organization is a governmental agency.
16. (Original) The system of claim 14, wherein the first customer service organization is an agency that provides social-services benefits information to its customers, and wherein the first set of system directives and the second set of system directives define different sets of information pertaining to the social-service benefits information.
17. (Original) The system of claim 14, wherein the second set of system directives define attributes of an agent of a second customer service organization which is distinct from the first customer service organization.
18. (Original) The system of claim 17, wherein the second customer service organization is a non-governmental customer service organization.
19. (Original) The system of claim 14, wherein the first set of system directives defines criteria for determining whether the user is qualified for a product of the first customer service organization.
20. (Original) The system of claim 19, wherein at least one of the first set of system directives defines a set of operations to be executed by the system in response to a determination that the user is not qualified for the product, wherein the set of operations includes causing the system to communicatively connect the user with a different customer service organization during the same conversation session, wherein the different customer service organization provides a different product.
Note: The claims are not directed towards patent ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101
Step 1: IS THE CLAIM DIRECTED TO A PROCESS, MACHINE, MANUFACTURE OR COMPOSITION OF MATTER?
Yes
Step 2A.1: IS THE CLAIM DIRECTED TO A LAW OF NATURE, A NATURAL PHENOMENON (PRODUCT OF NATURE) OR AN ABSTRACT IDEA?
No
Step 2A.2: DOES THE CLAIM RECITE ADDITIONAL ELEMENTS THAT INTEGRATE THE JUDICIAL EXCEPTION INTO A PRACTICAL APPLICATION?
Yes, if the claims are alternatively construed to be abstract in step 2A1. The claims seek to improve multiple LLM instances within a dynamically-variable system architecture supported by the specification, and reflected by the claims. In other words, the claims enable the invention to improve the system's performance over a single LLM instance that is trained for the entire conversation flow, ensuring that the conversation stays focused and relevant, and portions of the process optimized to improve its efficiency and effectiveness.
Supported by the following:
In Finjan Inc. v. Blue Coat Systems, Inc., 879 F.3d 1299, 125 USPQ2d 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2018), the claimed invention was a method of virus scanning that scans an application program, generates a security profile identifying any potentially suspicious code in the program, and links the security profile to the application program. 879 F.3d at 1303-04, 125 USPQ2d at 1285-86. The Federal Circuit noted that the recited virus screening was an abstract idea, and that merely performing virus screening on a computer does not render the claim eligible. 879 F.3d at 1304, 125 USPQ2d at 1286. The court then continued with its analysis under part one of the Alice/Mayo test by reviewing the patent’s specification, which described the claimed security profile as identifying both hostile and potentially hostile operations. The court noted that the security profile thus enables the invention to protect the user against both previously unknown viruses and “obfuscated code,” as compared to traditional virus scanning, which only recognized the presence of previously-identified viruses. The security profile also enables more flexible virus filtering and greater user customization. 879 F.3d at 1304, 125 USPQ2d at 1286. The court identified these benefits as improving computer functionality, and verified that the claims recite additional elements (e.g., specific steps of using the security profile in a particular way) that reflect this improvement. Accordingly, the court held the claims eligible as not being directed to the recited abstract idea. 879 F.3d at 1304-05, 125 USPQ2d at 1286-87. This analysis is equivalent to the Office’s analysis of determining that the additional elements integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A Prong Two, and thus that the claims were not directed to the judicial exception (Step 2A: NO).
Examples of claims that improve technology and are not directed to a judicial exception include: Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1339, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1691-92 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (claims to a self-referential table for a computer database were directed to an improvement in computer capabilities and not directed to an abstract idea); McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1315, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1102-03 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (claims to automatic lip synchronization and facial expression animation were directed to an improvement in computer-related technology and not directed to an abstract idea); Visual Memory LLC v. NVIDIA Corp., 867 F.3d 1253,1259-60, 123 USPQ2d 1712, 1717 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (claims to an enhanced computer memory system were directed to an improvement in computer capabilities and not an abstract idea); Finjan Inc. v. Blue Coat Systems, Inc., 879 F.3d 1299, 125 USPQ2d 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (claims to virus scanning were found to be an improvement in computer technology and not directed to an abstract idea); SRI Int’l, Inc. v. Cisco Systems, Inc., 930 F.3d 1295, 1303 (Fed. Cir. 2019) (claims to detecting suspicious activity by using network monitors and analyzing network packets were found to be an improvement in computer network technology and not directed to an abstract idea). Additional examples are provided in MPEP § 2106.05(a).
Regarding the December 5th 2025 Memo in light of September 26, 2025 Appeals Review Panel Decision in Ex parte Desjardins, Appeal 2024-000567 for Application 16/319,040, in deciding if a recited abstract idea does or does not direct the entire claim to an abstract idea, when a claim is considered as a whole:
Paragraph 21 of the Specification, which the Appellant cites, identifies improvements in training the machine learning model itself. Of course, such an assertion in the Specification alone is insufficient to support a patent eligibility determination, absent a subsequent determination that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement. See MPEP § 2106.05(a) (citing Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). Here, however, we are persuaded that the claims reflect such an improvement. For example, one improvement identified in the 8 Appeal2024-000567 Application 16/319,040 Specification is to "effectively learn new tasks in succession whilst protecting knowledge about previous tasks." Spec. ,r 21. The Specification also recites that the claimed improvement allows artificial intelligence (AI) systems to "us[e] less of their storage capacity" and enables "reduced system complexity." Id. When evaluating the claim as a whole, we discern at least the following limitation of independent claim 1 that reflects the improvement: "adjust the first values of the plurality of parameters to optimize performance of the machine learning model on the second machine learning task while protecting performance of the machine learning model on the first machine learning task." We are persuaded that constitutes an improvement to how the machine learning model itself operates, and not, for example, the identified mathematical calculation. Under a charitable view, the overbroad reasoning of the original panel below is perhaps understandable given the confusing nature of existing § 101 jurisprudence, but troubling, because this case highlights what is at stake. Categorically excluding AI innovations from patent protection in the United States jeopardizes America's leadership in this critical emerging technology. Yet, under the panel's reasoning, many AI innovations are potentially unpatentable-even if they are adequately described and nonobvious-because the panel essentially equated any machine learning with an unpatentable "algorithm" and the remaining additional elements as "generic computer components," without adequate explanation. Dec. 24. Examiners and panels should not evaluate claims at such a high level of generality.
Specifically, Ex Parte Desjardins explained the following:
Enfish ranks among the Federal Circuit's leading cases on the eligibility of technological improvements. In particular, Enfish recognized that “[m]uch of the advancement made in computer technology consists of improvements to software that, by their very nature, may not be defined by particular physical features but rather by logical structures and processes.” 822 F.3d at 1339. Moreover, because “[s]oftware can make non-abstract improvements to computer technology, just as hardware improvements can,” the Federal Circuit held that the eligibility determinations should turn on whether “the claims are directed to an improvement to computer functionality versus being directed to an abstract idea.” Id. at 1336. (Desjardins, page 8).
Further in Ex Parte Desjardins, Appeal No. 2024-000567 (PTAB September 26, 2025, Appeals Review Panel Decision) (precedential), the claimed invention was a method of training a machine learning model on a series of tasks. The Appeals Review Panel (ARP) overall credited benefits including reduced storage, reduced system complexity and streamlining, and preservation of performance attributes associated with earlier tasks during subsequent computational tasks as technological improvements that were disclosed in the patent application specification. Specifically, the ARP upheld the Step 2A Prong One finding that the claims recited an abstract idea (i.e., mathematical concept). In Step 2A Prong Two, the ARP then determined that the specification identified improvements as to how the machine learning model itself operates, including training a machine learning model to learn new tasks while protecting knowledge about previous tasks to overcome the problem of “catastrophic forgetting” encountered in continual learning systems. Importantly, the ARP evaluated the claims as a whole in discerning at least the limitation “adjust the first values of the plurality of parameters to optimize performance of the machine learning model on the second machine learning task while protecting performance of the machine learning model on the first machine learning task” reflected the improvement disclosed in the specification. Accordingly, the claims as a whole integrated what would otherwise be a judicial exception instead into a practical application at Step 2A Prong Two, and therefore the claims were
The claim itself does not need to explicitly recite the improvement described in the specification (e.g., “thereby increasing the bandwidth of the channel”). See, e.g., Ex Parte Desjardins, Appeal No. 2024-000567 (PTAB September 26, 2025, Appeals Review Panel Decision) (precedential), in which the specification identified the improvement to machine learning technology by explaining how the machine learning model is trained to learn new tasks while protecting knowledge about previous tasks to overcome the problem of “catastrophic forgetting,” and that the claims reflected the improvement identified in the specification. Indeed, enumerated improvements identified in the Desjardins specification included disclosures of the effective learning of new tasks in succession in connection with specifically protecting knowledge concerning previously accomplished tasks; allowing the system to reduce use of storage capacity; and the enablement of reduced complexity in the system. Such improvements were tantamount to how the machine learning model itself would function in operation and therefore not subsumed in the identified mathematical calculation.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
an agent manager engine
Such a term on its own provides basic structure of managing agents but not with the specificity needed. For instance, an agent manager engine can manage multiple engines but lacks the specificity for different system directives and LLMs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200135187 A1 Chao; Pu-sen et al. (hereinafter Chao) in view of US 20230403357 A1 Ezell; Joel (hereinafter Ezell).
Re claim 1, Chao teaches
1. A dynamic conversation interface system, comprising: computing hardware, including at least one processor, data storage, and input/output facilities; wherein the computing hardware stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to implement: (fig. 1 & fig. 2 hardware)
a plurality of instances of a large language model (LLM) (LLM not taught by Chao) engine, wherein each LLM engine instance is configured according to a respective set of system directives; (switching models based on a trigger such as a user speaking characteristic e.g. language change from English to another language as in 0060 with 0050)
an agent manager engine operative to instantiate and configure the instances of the LLM engine such that a first LLM engine instance is configured according to a first set of system directives, and a second LLM engine instance is configured according to a second set of system directives that is different from the first set, (switching from first model to another model based on a trigger such as a user speaking characteristic e.g. language change from English to another language as in 0060 with 0050, here the specialization is languages)
wherein the first LLM engine instance has a different functional specialization from the second LLM engine instance, (switching from first model to another model based on a trigger such as a user speaking characteristic e.g. language change from English to another language as in 0060 with 0050, here the specialization is languages model1 = English and model2 = Chinese for example)
wherein the first LLM engine instance and the second LLM engine instance engage in a same conversation session with a user to perform different specializations within that conversation session, and (switching in real-time based on a trigger such as a user speaking characteristic e.g. language change from English to another language as in 0060 with 0050, here the specialization is languages model1 = English and model2 = Chinese for example)
wherein the first set of system directives include directives that determine occurrence of a defined condition for instantiating the second LLM engine instance, and wherein the agent manager engine is further operative to instantiate the second LLM engine instance in response to the occurrence of the defined condition. (if model1 = false then model2 and visa versa such that the system can handle any permutation of language changes, switching in real-time based on a trigger such as a user speaking characteristic e.g. language change from English to another language as in 0060 with 0050, here the specialization is languages model1 = English and model2 = Chinese for example)
However, while Chao teaches machine learning models, it fails to teach:
Large language model (LLM) (Ezell known concepts of LLM 0005 and 0172)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chao to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Ezell to allow for a simple substation of LM with LLM for an expanded model as a predictable result, wherein the system of Chao is improved to be expanded to handle more data thereby allowing for faster processing and a more flexible model set.
Re claim 14, while Chao switching models, it fails to teach customer service as follows:
14. The system of claim 1, wherein the first set of system directives define attributes of an agent of a first customer service organization. (Ezell subset of agents and a variety of agents ready for unique customers needs as in 0034 and 0038)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chao to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Ezell to allow for a simple substation a user dialogue context to that of customer service, yielding analogous bot/agent operations with predictable results of providing answers to user inquiries, but in the context of customer service.
Re claim 17, while Chao switching models, it fails to teach customer service as follows:
17. The system of claim 14, wherein the second set of system directives define attributes of an agent of a second customer service organization which is distinct from the first customer service organization. (Ezell from one or more companies depending on user needs, subset of agents and a variety of agents ready for unique customers needs as in 0034 and 0038)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chao to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Ezell to allow for a simple substation a user dialogue context to that of customer service, yielding analogous bot/agent operations with predictable results of providing answers to user inquiries, but in the context of customer service.
Re claim 18, while Chao switching models, it fails to teach customer service as follows:
18. The system of claim 17, wherein the second customer service organization is a non-governmental customer service organization. (Ezell, no mention of government services… from one or more companies depending on user needs, subset of agents and a variety of agents ready for unique customers needs as in 0034 and 0038)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chao to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Ezell to allow for a simple substation a user dialogue context to that of customer service, yielding analogous bot/agent operations with predictable results of providing answers to user inquiries, but in the context of customer service.
Claims 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200135187 A1 Chao; Pu-sen et al. (hereinafter Chao) in view of US 20230403357 A1 Ezell; Joel (hereinafter Ezell) and further in view of US 20160111112 A1 Hayakawa; Shoji (hereinafter Hayakawa).
Re claim 2, while Chao teaches machine learning models, it fails to teach:
Large language model (LLM) (Ezell known concepts of LLM 0005 and 0172)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chao to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Ezell to allow for a simple substation of LM with LLM for an expanded model as a predictable result, wherein the system of Chao is improved to be expanded to handle more data thereby allowing for faster processing and a more flexible model set.
However, while Chao teaches identifying a user profile for a speaker as in 0026, implying that multiple users are possible, it fails to teach:
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the first instance of the LLM engine
and the second instance of the LLM engine are respectively associated with different client entities of the dynamic conversation interface system. (Hayakawa switching models when another user is detected 0006)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chao in view of Ezell to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Hayakawa to allow for a combining the prior art elements of Chao’s language trigger models with Hayakawa’s user models, as a substitution of identifying a user profile for a speaker as in 0026 of Chao, such that the combination produces predictable results where users are now expressly identified as well as their language spoken, thereby improving a switch trigger for either user or language using a user profile, which increasing processing power and reduces the need for disambiguation.
Re claim 3, Chao teaches
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the first instance of the LLM engine and the second instance of the LLM engine are informationally isolated from one another such that information provided by the user to the first LLM engine instance is not accessible by the second instance of the LLM engine. (the models entire purpose is to not share data, otherwise English and Chinese would merge into an unreal language…if model1 = false then model2 and visa versa such that the system can handle any permutation of language changes, switching in real-time based on a trigger such as a user speaking characteristic e.g. language change from English to another language as in 0060 with 0050, here the specialization is languages model1 = English and model2 = Chinese for example)
However, while Chao teaches machine learning models, it fails to teach:
Large language model (LLM) (Ezell known concepts of LLM 0005 and 0172)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chao to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Ezell to allow for a simple substation of LM with LLM for an expanded model as a predictable result, wherein the system of Chao is improved to be expanded to handle more data thereby allowing for faster processing and a more flexible model set.
Claims 15, 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200135187 A1 Chao; Pu-sen et al. (hereinafter Chao) in view of US 20230403357 A1 Ezell; Joel (hereinafter Ezell) and further in view of US 20220375259 A1 Banerjee; Ashim et al. (hereinafter Banerjee).
Re claim 15, the combination teaches multiple companies with a subset of agents using model switching per user, but fails to teach:
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the first customer service organization is a governmental agency. (Banerjee customer and agent interactions in a government setting 0163 and 0190).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chao in view of Ezell to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Banerjee to allow for simple substitution of the private company of Ezell to include a government offering analogous services to a customer such as analogous competing insurance or benefits, thereby expanding the agent subset allowing for more user options.
Re claim 16, the combination teaches multiple companies with a subset of agents using model switching per user, but fails to teach:
16. The system of claim 14, wherein the first customer service organization is an agency that provides social-services benefits information to its customers, and wherein the first set of system directives and the second set of system directives define different sets of information pertaining to the social-service benefits information. (Banerjee government services encompass social services under BRI, such as any form of help precluding a narrowed claim context, or whether social service is not given a customary meaning e.g. social interaction service… customer and agent interactions in a government setting 0163 and 0190).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chao in view of Ezell to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Banerjee to allow for simple substitution of the private company of Ezell to include a government offering analogous services to a customer such as analogous competing insurance or benefits, thereby expanding the agent subset allowing for more user options.
Re claim 19, the combination teaches multiple companies with a subset of agents using model switching per user, but fails to teach:
19. The system of claim 14, wherein the first set of system directives defines criteria for determining whether the user is qualified for a product of the first customer service organization. (Banerjee customer and agent interactions in a government setting 0163 and 0190).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chao in view of Ezell to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Banerjee to allow for simple substitution of the private company of Ezell to include a government offering analogous services to a customer such as analogous competing insurance or benefits, thereby expanding the agent subset allowing for more user options.
Re claim 20, the combination teaches multiple companies with a subset of agents (Ezell 0034 and 0038 with products e.g. 0003) using model switching per user (Chao 0050 and 0060), but fails to teach switching for eligibility or qualification:
20. The system of claim 19, wherein at least one of the first set of system directives defines a set of operations to be executed by the system in response to a determination that the user is not qualified for the product, wherein the set of operations includes causing the system to communicatively connect the user with a different customer service organization during the same conversation session, wherein the different customer service organization provides a different product. (Banerjee customer products and eligibility provides yes/no, in which case a different agent can intervene, customer and agent interactions in a government setting 0163 and 0190).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chao in view of Ezell to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Banerjee to allow for simple substitution of the private company of Ezell to include a government offering analogous services to a customer such as analogous competing insurance or benefits, thereby expanding the agent subset allowing for more user options, and further for modification of the combination such that the agent subset products contains eligible versus non-eligible thereby further substituting the concept of transferring agents/bot-agents for predictable results of literal agent transfer in either government or non-government settings using the user profiles of Chao and agent subsets of Ezell.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to, including dependent claims 5-13 thereof, as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240211693 A1 Mazor; Igal et al.
Customer agent switch
US 20200135187 A1 Chao; Pu-sen et al.
Language switching mid-conversation
US 20160111112 A1 Hayakawa; Shoji
Speaker change detection
US 20220375259 A1 Banerjee; Ashim et al.
Customer service including government
US 20230403357 A1 Ezell; Joel
Large language models
US 20240107083 A1 COPPELMANS; CAMIEL et al.
Government and private agents
/MICHAEL COLUCCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655 (571)-270-1847
Examiner FAX: (571)-270-2847
Michael.Colucci@uspto.gov