DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claim(s)
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Galloway et al (US Patent No. 4215394).
Regarding claim 1, Galloway teaches a circuit breaker (i.e., circuit breaker apparatus) (fig. 3) comprising: switching circuitry (i.e., switching circuitry 16) coupled to a load (i.e., load SCR1-SCR6 corresponds to load Delta-Star transformer 50) and to an alternating current (AC) voltage supply (i.e., alternating current (AC) voltage supply 32a-c, 3.phi 480 Vac 60 Hz), and comprising a first-phase circuit (i.e., first-phase circuit Phase A), a second-phase circuit (i.e., second-phase circuit Phase B), and a third-phase circuit (i.e., third-phase circuit Phase C), wherein each of the first-phase, second-phase, and third-phase circuits includes: a first switch (i.e., first switch SCR1A/phi.A, SCR3A/phi.B, and SCR5A/phi.C) including a first terminal (i.e., first terminal anode terminals of the respective SCRs; SCR1A/phi.A, SCR3A/phi.B, and SCR5A/phi.C) coupled to a respective phase terminal of the load (i.e., respective phase terminal of the load terminals of the respective load-SCRs; SCR1/phi.A, SCR3/phi.B, and SCR5/phi.C), and a second terminal (i.e., second terminal cathode terminals of the respective SCRs; SCR1A/phi.A, SCR3A/phi.B, and SCR5A/phi.C); a second switch (i.e., second switch SCR4A/phi.A, SCR6A/phi.B, and SCR2A/phi.C) including a first terminal (i.e., first terminal anode terminals of the respective SCRs; SCR4A/phi.A, SCR6A/phi.B, and SCR2A/phi.C) coupled to the second terminal of the first switch (implicit, as seen in fig. 3), and a second terminal (i.e., second terminal cathode terminals of the respective SCRs; SCR4A/phi.A, SCR6A/phi.B, and SCR2A/phi.C) coupled to a respective phase terminal of the AC voltage supply (i.e., respective phase terminal of the AC voltage supply DI/DT4, DI/DT6, and DI/DT2 for the 3-phase A, B, and C, respectively); a first leakage current circuit (i.e., first leakage current circuit D1/D4 per phase A, D3/D6 per phase B, and D5/D2 per phase C) including a first terminal (i.e., first terminal CA, CB, and CC) coupled (i.e., coupled via the LC-junction of each phase) to the second terminal of the first switch (implicit, as seen in fig. 3), and a second terminal (i.e., second terminal DT1/DT4 per phase A, DT3/DT6 per phase B, and DT5/DT2 per phase C) coupled to a first of two other phase terminals of the AC voltage supply (i.e., first of two other phase terminals of the AC voltage supply D1 via DT1 and D4 via DT4 for phase A, D3 via DT3 and D6 via DT6 for phase B, and D5 via DT5 and D2 via DT2 for phase C); and a second leakage current circuit (i.e., second leakage current circuit CaA-ChA/phi.A, CaB-ChB/phi.B, and CaC-ChC/phi.C) including a first terminal (i.e., first terminal the Left-Side T-junction node terminals of the respective capacitors CaA, CaB, and CaC) coupled to the second terminal of the first switch (implicit, as seen in fig. 3), and a second terminal (i.e., second terminal the Right-Side T-junction node terminals of the respective chokes ChA, ChB, and ChC) coupled (i.e., coupled via BCa per phase A, BCb per phase B, and BCc per phase C) to a second of the two other phase terminals of the AC voltage supply (i.e., second of the two other phase terminals of the AC voltage supply coupled via BCa per phase A, BCb per phase B, and BCc per phase C for the 3-Phase A, B, and C, respectively); wherein in a standby mode (i.e., In the Standby mode the system 10 is electrically connected to the Transmission Line 18 but is not injecting a ripple signal and hence no service control will occur; Col. 3 lines 43+) of the circuit breaker, each of the first switches is closed (ON), each of the second switches is off, and switches (i.e., Delta-Star switches ConA/BCa, ConB/BCb, and ConC/BCc for the 3-phase A, B, and C, respectively) of each of the first and second leakage current circuits are on (i.e., and an ON/ Standby Section 58 for providing the firing signals for SCRs 2, 4 and 6 to maintain these conductive during standby conditions whereby the backfeed current can be handled without voltage buildup; Col. 3 lines 43+) allowing leakage current flow from at least one respective phase terminal of the load to one or more of two other phase terminals of the AC voltage supply based at least in part on voltage potentials between the phase terminals of the load and the phase terminals of the AC voltage supply (e.g., While the bottom SCRs 2, 4 and 6 are maintained conductive during standby it is important that the proper charge be maintained on the Commutating Capacitors CaA, CaB and CaC. This is necessary to provide the capability of commutating the lower SCRs 2, 4 and 6 in proper sequence when the apparatus is actuated to be in the transmission or Rhythm In mode. Thus, the upper commutating SCRs 1A, 3A and 5A are pulsed in proper sequence to thereby maintain the appropriate charge on Commutating Capacitors CaA, CaB and CaC; Col. 3 lines 43+).
Regarding claim 6, Galloway teaches the circuit breaker of claim 1, wherein in an off mode (i.e., The SCR's 1 and 4 are commutated off via a commutation circuit which includes serially connected commutation SCR's 1A and 4A and freewheeling diodes D1 and D4. Commutating choke ChA and Commutating Capacitor CaA are serially connected between the juncture of SCR1A and 4A and the juncture of SCR1 and 4; fig. 3) of the circuit breaker, at least each of the first switches is open preventing current flow from the AC voltage supply to the load (implicit, as seen in fig. 3) (e.g., thus if a window of conventional duration were used to trigger the load SCRs 1--6 there could occur a situation in which the backfeed current would maintain the load SCR off for the duration of its trigger pulse and after the backfeed current diminished in magnitude the SCR still could not conduct, i.e. absence of gate signal. By providing a window of a duration almost equal to 180.degree., conduction of the load SCRs 1-6 is assured in any backfeed current situation where it falls below the SCRs' conducting amplitude. This is to prevent current imbalance in the primary windings PA, PB and PC of isolation transformer 50 which could result in core saturation as discussed earlier; Col. 3 lines 43+).
Regarding claim 7, Galloway teaches the circuit breaker of claim 1, wherein in an on mode (i.e., The transition from the standby mode of operation to "on" or transmit mode of operation and back again are accomplished through the same On/Standby Section 58; Col. 3 lines 43+) of the circuit breaker, each of the first switches is closed, each of the second switches is on, and the switches of the first and second leakage current circuits are off allowing current flow from the AC voltage supply to the load via the first and second switch (implicit, as seen in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Galloway teaches the circuit breaker of claim 1, wherein each of the phase terminals of the AC voltage supply corresponds to a different phase of a three-phase AC voltage each out-of-phase relative to one another (implicit, as seen in fig. 3) (e.g., In addition to handling the backfeed current, the system must be turned `on` and `off` in a preselected sequence (i.e. "on" with beginning of Phase A, "off" with end of Phase C) to assure that no current imbalance occurs with the attendant problems of saturation of the core of transformer 50; Col. 3 lines 43+).
Regarding claim 11, Galloway teaches the circuit breaker of claim 1, wherein each of the second switches comprises a solid state switch (implicit, as seen in fig. 3) (e.g., SCRs switches are solid state breakers SSB).
Regarding claim 12, Galloway teaches the circuit breaker of claim 1, wherein each of the switches of the first and second leakage current circuits comprises a solid state switch (implicit, as seen in fig. 3) (e.g., contactors are solid state breakers SSBs).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Galloway teaches the invention set forth above. However, Galloway does not particularly teach wherein the first leakage current circuit includes: a first capacitor including a first terminal coupled to the second terminal of the first switch, and a second terminal coupled to an anode terminal of a first diode in series with the first capacitor; the first diode including the anode terminal, and a cathode terminal coupled to a first terminal of a third switch in series with the first diode; and the third switch including the first terminal, and a second terminal coupled to a first of two other phase terminals of the AC voltage supply.
Hence claim 2 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claim 3 depends on objected claim 2, consequently claim 3 will also be deemed allowable.
Regarding claim 4, Galloway teaches the invention set forth above. However, Galloway does not particularly teach wherein the first leakage current circuit includes: a first capacitor including a first terminal coupled to the second terminal of the first switch, and a second terminal coupled to an anode terminal of a first silicon- controlled rectifier in series with the first capacitor; and the first silicon-controlled rectifier including the anode terminal, and a cathode terminal coupled to a first of two other phase terminals of the AC voltage supply.
Hence claim 4 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claim 5 depends on objected claim 4, consequently claim 5 will also be deemed allowable.
Regarding claim 9, Galloway teaches the invention set forth above. However, Galloway does not particularly teach further comprising processing circuitry coupled to each of the second switches and to the switches of the first and second leakage current circuits and configured to transmit signals to respective switches to turn the respective switches on and off.
Hence claim 9 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Regarding claim 10, Galloway teaches the invention set forth above. However, Galloway does not particularly teach wherein each of the first switches comprises an electromechanical switch.
Hence claim 10 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claims 13-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 13, Galloway et al (US Patent No. 4215394) substantially teaches the claim limitations as indicated in claim 1. However, Galloway does not teach or suggest a method comprising: determining a closed state of a disconnect switch of a circuit breaker and an open state of a current control switch of the circuit breaker, the respective states of the disconnect and current control switches enabling a standby mode of the circuit breaker, wherein the circuit breaker includes: switching circuitry coupled to a load and to an alternating current (AC) voltage supply, and comprising a first-phase circuit, a second-phase circuit, and a third-phase circuit, wherein each of the first-phase, second-phase, and third-phase circuits includes: the disconnect switch including a first terminal coupled to a respective phase terminal of the load, and a second terminal, the current control switch including a first terminal coupled to the second terminal of the first switch, and a second terminal coupled to a respective phase terminal of the AC voltage supply, a first leakage current circuit including a first terminal coupled to the second terminal of the first switch, and a second terminal coupled to one of two other phase terminals of the AC voltage supply, and a second leakage current circuit including a first terminal coupled to the second terminal of the first switch, and a second terminal coupled to another of the two other phase terminals of the AC voltage supply; and in response to the circuit breaker being enabled in the standby mode, providing, via processing circuitry, signals to switches of the first and second leakage current circuits of each of the first-phase, second-phase, and third-phase circuits allowing leakage current flow from at least one respective phase terminal of the load to one or more of two other phase terminals of the AC voltage supply based at least in part on voltage potentials between the phase terminals of the load and the phase terminals of the AC voltage supply.
Claims 14-20 are allowed, as they depend on allowed claim 13.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838