DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Office Action is in response to the Applicant's amendments and remarks filed8/5/2026. Claims 7-12 and 14 were amended. Claims 1-6, 13 and 15-20 are presently pending and presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6, 13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites method for geospatial data visualization and analysis.
Step 2A – Prong 1
Independent Claims 1 and 15 as a whole recite a method of organizing human activity. The limitations from exemplary Claim 1 reciting “be sent over to a client in response to navigation for the bundle; load data corresponding to a geographic area from a data into the embedded, the geographic data including: a plurality of coordinate points corresponding to a plurality of locations of interest in the geographic area; and one or more attributes for each coordinate point; space partitioning the geographic area into a plurality of cells and assigning, as a grid index for each cell, a unique identifier for each cell; associate each coordinate point with a single grid index corresponding to a cell that the coordinate point is within; receive input from a user of the client, the input indicative of a first region to analyze in the geographic area; identify, as a first set of grid indexes, which grid indexes of the plurality of grid indexes are within the first region; calculate desired statistics from the attributes of the coordinate points associated with each grid index in the first set of grid indexes; and display the desired statistics on the client” is a method of managing interactions between people, which falls into the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping, for example this is organizing a database to collect and analyze data and present results to an individual which is construed as managing personal behavior. The mere recitation of a generic computer (computer readable medium, application, geographic information system, database, internet, device, browser, URL, server of claim 1; computer-implemented, application, database, internet, device, browser, URL, server of claim 15) does not take the claim out of the methods of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Claims 1-6, 13 and 15-20 and their underlining limitations, steps, features and terms, are further inspected by the Examiner under the current examining guidelines, and found, both individually and as a whole, not to include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The limitations are directed to limitations referenced in MPEP 2106.05 that are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Limitations that are not enough include, as a non-limiting or non-exclusive examples, such as: (i) adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions, (ii) insignificant extra solution activity, and/or (iii) generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim recites the additional elements of (computer readable medium, application, geographic information system, database, internet, device, browser, URL, server of claim 1; computer-implemented, application, database, internet, device, browser, URL, server of claim 15). The computer readable medium, application, geographic information system, database, internet, device, browser, URL, server of claim 1; computer-implemented, application, database, internet, device, browser, URL, server of claim 15, are recited at a high level of generality and are generically recited computer elements. The generically recited computer elements amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The combination of these additional elements are additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as discussed above, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Thus, even when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claims are ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-9, 11-15 and 17-20 are also directed to same grouping of methods of organizing human activity. The additional elements of the computer readable medium in claims 2-6, 13 and 19-20; application in claims 2, 4-6, 13; device in claims 2, 4-6, 13 and 16; browser in claims 2, 4-6, 13 and 18; server of claim 5; map in claims 4, 13 and 18, are additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-6, 13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrade et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 20180316571 - hereinafter Andrade) in view of Watts et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 20130014046 - hereinafter Watts) in view of De Jong et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 20240272773 - hereinafter Jong).
Re. claim 1 and 15, Andrade teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising:
an application bundle for implementing a geographic information system (GIS), the application bundle including an embedded database and configured to: [Andrade; ¶49-¶52].
execute within the browser on the client device, wherein the application bundle, when executed within the browser, causes the client device to: [Andrade; ¶49-¶52].
receive input from a user of the client device, the input indicative of a first region to analyze in the geographic area; [Andrade; ¶77 shows user selecting what they’d like to analyze such as “this example, a user has selected to analyze a particular footfall of a set of consumers. For example, the user has selected a footfall insight 204. The user is prompted to select a location for the footfall analysis and has selected Chicago, Ill. using control 206. The user is prompted to select a map visualization and has selected a heat map visualization using control 208. The user is also prompted to select a date range and has selected Jan. 31, 2017-Feb. 15, 2017 at control 210”].
identify, as a first set of grid indexes, which grid indexes of the plurality of grid indexes are within the first region; [Andrade; ¶77 shows one example of grid index as date range and falling within those dates].
calculate desired statistics from the attributes of the coordinate points associated with each grid index in the first set of grid indexes; and [Andrade; ¶201]
display the desired statistics on the client device. [Andrade; ¶201].
Andrade doesn’t teach, Watts teaches:
load data corresponding to a geographic area from a data server into the embedded database, the geographic data including: [Watts; ¶91-¶93 shows downloaded data with respect to locations].
a plurality of coordinate points corresponding to a plurality of locations of interest in the geographic area; and [Watts; ¶104 shows coordinate points for locations such as “the weather-risk products inventory database can include data related to the geographic coordinates of the tract covered, the amount of coverage provided, the cost of various types of coverage, the liability of various types of coverage, or any other information related to coverage”].
one or more attributes for each coordinate point; [Watts; ¶104 shows attributes such as for one example costs or another example presented in ¶126 as “features” as it states “the features appearing on the map image 191, such as color, terrain styling, labels, and so on can correspond to the features of the earth surface at the corresponding location on the earth surface. Map image 191 can include, for example, a raster image or a vector image stored as map data 271 at the database 270. Map image 191 includes all icons, dots, keys, geographic or political markers, boundaries, features, labels, roads, boundaries, borders, etc. (“map features”) that appear overlaid or incorporated therein with reference to interface display 100. As will be appreciated by those having skill in the art, any of such map features can also correspond to a respective location on the earth surface”].
space partitioning the geographic area into a plurality of cells and assigning, as a grid index for each cell, a unique identifier for each cell; [Watts; Fig. 1 shows map with locations and different identifiers].
associate each coordinate point with a single grid index corresponding to a cell that the coordinate point is within; [Watts; Fig. 1 shows weather station markers for locations].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Watts in the system of Andrade, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Andrade doesn’t teach, Jong teaches:
be sent over the internet to a client device in response to navigation in a browser on the client device to a URL for the bundle; and [Jong; ¶396 shows “access to the one or more first features associated with the trackable object via the link requires authentication of a respective access credential, as similarly described with reference to accessing web page 1088 in FIG. 10T. For example, when the link is activated/selected (e.g., by a recipient of the link, such as a person associated with the entity), a website is launched (e.g., in a web-browsing application) that prompts the recipient of the link to enter a login credential, such as an authorized username and password”].
Re. claim 2 and 16, Andrade in view of Watts in view of Jong teaches medium of claim 1.
Andrade teaches:
wherein the application bundle, when executed within the browser, causes the client device to:
receive a second input from a user of the client device, the second input indicative of a second region to analyze in the geographic area; [Andrade; ¶77 shows user selecting what they’d like to analyze such as “this example, a user has selected to analyze a particular footfall of a set of consumers. For example, the user has selected a footfall insight 204. The user is prompted to select a location for the footfall analysis and has selected Chicago, Ill. using control 206. The user is prompted to select a map visualization and has selected a heat map visualization using control 208. The user is also prompted to select a date range and has selected Jan. 31, 2017-Feb. 15, 2017 at control 210”].
identify, as a second set of grid indexes, which grid indexes of the plurality of grid indexes are within the second region; and [Andrade; ¶77 shows one example of grid index as date range and falling within those dates].
calculate desired statistics from the attributes of the coordinate points associated with each grid index in the second set of grid indexes. [Andrade; ¶201]
Re. claim 3 and 17, Andrade in view of Watts in view of Jong teaches medium of claim 2.
Andrade teaches:
wherein receive a second input indicative of a second region is an adjustment to the first region. [Andrade; ¶155].
Re. claim 4 and 18, Andrade in view of Watts in view of Jong teaches medium of claim 1.
Andrade teaches:
wherein the application bundle, when executed within the browser, causes the client device to: display a map within the browser, wherein receive input includes receive first input from a user clicking one or more points on the map to identify the first region. [Andrade; ¶80 and Fig. 4].
Re. claim 5, Andrade in view of Watts in view of Jong teaches medium of claim 1.
Andrade teaches:
wherein the application bundle, when executed within the browser, causes the client device to: send the first set of grid indexes, an indication of each coordinate point associated with each grid index in the first set of grid indexes, and the coordinate points to a server for storage in response to user input corresponding thereto. [Andrade; ¶77-¶80 and ¶164].
Re. claim 6, Andrade in view of Watts in view of Jong teaches medium of claim 1.
Andrade teaches:
wherein the application bundle, when executed within the browser, causes the client device to: receive a third input from a user indicative of the desired statistics to calculate. [Andrade; ¶201]
Re. claim 13, Andrade in view of Watts in view of Jong teaches medium of claim 1.
Andrade teaches:
wherein the application bundle, when executed within the browser, causes the client device to: display a map within the browser, wherein receive input includes receive first input from a user adjusting the map by zooming and panning to define the first region. [Andrade; ¶80 and Fig. 4].
Re. claim 19, Andrade in view of Watts in view of Jong teaches medium of claim 1.
Andrade teaches:
wherein receive input indicative of a first region includes receive a selection of a region already defined in the data. [Andrade; ¶77].
Re. claim 20, Andrade in view of Watts in view of Jong teaches medium of claim 1.
Andrade teaches:
wherein receive input indicative of a first region includes receive input from a user defining a custom region. [Andrade; ¶77 shows user selecting what they’d like to analyze such as “this example, a user has selected to analyze a particular footfall of a set of consumers. For example, the user has selected a footfall insight 204. The user is prompted to select a location for the footfall analysis and has selected Chicago, Ill. using control 206. The user is prompted to select a map visualization and has selected a heat map visualization using control 208. The user is also prompted to select a date range and has selected Jan. 31, 2017-Feb. 15, 2017 at control 210”. Also see ¶80 and Fig. 4].
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM N EL-BATHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626