DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 4-5, filed 08/24/2026, with respect to claims 4 & 6 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The respective rejection of 05/26/2026 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection, with respect to claim 6, is made in view of Adamski et al. (US 12,253,550 B2), hereinafter Adam.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/24/2026, with respect to claim 2, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 2, in response to applicant's argument that Wang et al. (US 2022/0190591 A1), hereinafter Wang, in view of Furtner (US 2016/0116345 A1) does not disclose injecting current through the switch, this is not persuasive. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the main switch channel) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Furtner discloses, in figure 3, that current is injected into the “body diode 123 of sense transistor 122” (Para [0043]). The parasitic body diode 123 of the sense transistor 112 is a part of the sense transistor and thus current is injected through the switch, as required by the claims as written.
Further, in response to applicant’s arguments that Wang in view of Furtner does not disclose measuring a programming status of the switch, this is not persuasive. The claim, as written, require a measured “programming status” of the switch. Wang discloses, in figure 1 & 2, that the control unit 42/62 measures current that flows through switches 34/54/56 (Para [0047]), which measures a programming status of the respective switch (i.e., conducting/non-conducting). One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Even still, Furtner discloses, in figure 3, that the change in base-emitter voltage of the sense transistor 122 is measured over a plurality of injected currents to obtain an accurate temperature value of the transistor (Para [0038]-[0039]). One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would include the current injection mode of Furtner in the protection circuit of Wang to determine a temperature of the switch which is indicative of its programming status (i.e., an increasing temperature of the switch indicates an ON/conducting state). Thus, measuring a programming status of the switch is disclosed, as required by the claim.
Further still, in response to applicant’s arguments that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Lastly, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, Furtner merely discloses a current injection method to be used in a read mode of operation for respective switches as disclosed by Wang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Adam.
Regarding claim 2, Adam discloses, in figure 10, a switch circuit arrangement, comprising:
a control circuit (processor 1006); and
a measurement circuit coupled to the control circuit (resistivity sensor 1004), the measurement circuit comprising a current source (Col. 10, Lines 18-19, “resistivity sensor 1004 may be configured with its own voltage or current source”), and
a switch (PCM switch 1002) coupled to the measurement circuit (PCM switch 1002 coupled to resistivity sensor 1004),
wherein the control circuit (1006, 1010) comprises a read mode of operation (resistance measuring) that is configured to:
activate the current source to inject current through the switch (Col. 10, Lines 14-16, “heater controller 1010 may be configured to deliver a known current through or voltage to the resistive heater R.sub.H in order to enable the resistivity sensor 1004 to measure a corresponding voltage or current.”), and
based on the current injected through the switch (1002), read, through the measurement circuit (1004), a resulting voltage (Col. 9, Lines 47-49, “the resistivity sensor 1004 may be configured to measure a voltage across the resistive heater R.sub.H when a known current is applied to the resistive heater R.sub.H”) to measure a programming status of the switch (Col. 9 & 10, Lines 65-67 & 1-2, “processor 1006 computes the measured resistance R.sub.H_M of the resistive heater R.sub.H based on the measured value from the resistivity sensor 1004, as well as an adjusted electrical pulse profile for the PCM switch 1002 based on the measured resistance R.sub.H_M”…measured resistance corresponds to an ON/OFF state of the PCM switch 1002).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 & 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2022/0190591 A1), hereinafter Wang, in view of Furtner (US 2016/0116345 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses, in figure 1, a switch circuit arrangement, comprising:
a control circuit (42); and
a measurement circuit coupled to the control circuit (Para [0047], “control unit 42 may receive signals from a current sensor in the path of one or more switches 34”),
a switch (Para [0047], “switches 34”) coupled to the measurement circuit (Para [0047], “current sensor in the path of one or more switches 34”),
wherein the control circuit is configured (Para [0047], “control unit 42 may control the operation switches 34”), to:
based on the current injected through the switch, read, through the measurement circuit (Para [0047], “control unit 42 may receive signals from a current sensor in the path of one or more switches 34”), a resulting voltage to measure a programming status of the switch (Para [0047], “control unit 42 may verify the state of each of switches 42 by determining whether current is flowing in the path of each of switches 34”), but fails to disclose the measurement circuit comprising a current source; and
wherein the control circuit comprises a read mode of operation that is configured to activate the current source to inject current through the switch.
However, Furtner discloses, in figure 3, 4, & 7, the measurement circuit (measurement circuit for high-side sense-FET 186 and measurement circuit for low-side sense-FET 188) comprising a current source (Para [0043], “measurement system 130 includes…current source 132, current source 134”); and
wherein the control circuit comprises a read mode of operation (Para [0050], “measurement mode”) that is configured to activate the current source to inject current through the switch (Para [0043], “switches 136 and 138 are controlled by select singal SEL0 and SEL1 to inject current I0 and N.Math.I0, respectively, into body diode 123 of sense transistor 122”…which is constituted by high side voltage measurement signal, VMHS2 and low side voltage measurement signal, VMLS2 for their corresponding sense transistors 186 and 188, respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the current sources of Furtner in the measurement circuit of Wang, to achieve the benefit of independently injecting the necessary current into the selected switch for an accurate measurement related to the selected switch (Furtner, Para [0038]).
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Furtner discloses the switch arrangement of claim 2, and Furtner continues to disclose, in figure 3 & 7, wherein the measurement circuit further comprises an analog-to-digital converter (Para [0039], “measurement circuit 112 [i.e., of 130] may include…an analog to digital converter”), configured to convert an analog value of the resulting voltage to a digital value to be fed to the control circuit (Para [0039], “measurement circuit 112 includes…an analog to digital converter, and a digital calculation circuit…the digital calculation circuit is a microcontroller that is coupled to sense transistor”).
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Furtner discloses the switch arrangement of claim 3, and Furtner continues to disclose, in figure 3 & 7, wherein the analog-to-digital converter (ADC) is a multiple bit analog-to-digital converter (Para [0056], “various types of ADCs such as 12-bit, 16-bit, 24-bit ADCs and may be implemented as successive approximation register ADCs”).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Furtner, as applied to claims 2-3 & 5 above, and further in view of Adam.
Regarding claim 6, Wang in view of Furtner disclose the switch arrangement of claim 2, but do not explicitly disclose wherein measuring the state of the switch by the control circuit through the measurement circuit comprises measuring a resistance value of the switch.
However, Adam discloses, in figure 10, wherein measuring the state of the switch by the control circuit through the measurement circuit comprises measuring a resistance value of the switch (Col. 9 & 10, Lines 65-67 & 1-5, “the processor 1006 computes the measured resistance R.sub.H_M of the resistive heater R.sub.H based on the measured value from the resistivity sensor 1004, as well as an adjusted electrical pulse profile for the PCM switch 1002 based on the measured resistance R.sub.H_M. In some embodiments, the processor 1006 may use the received measured resistance R.sub.H_M to look-up a pre-determined adjusted electrical pulse profile for the PCM switch 1002”…measured resistance indicates an ON/OFF state of the PCM switch).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the resistance measurement of Adam in the measurement mode of Wang and Furtner, to achieve the benefit of measuring an attribute of the respective switches to determine an operating mode of the respective switches (Adam, Col. 9, Lines 26-33).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wang, Furtner, and Adam disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 6, and Adam continues to disclose, in figure 10, wherein the switch is a PCM switch (PCM switch 1002).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Wang, Furtner, and Adam as applied to claims 6-7 above, and further in view of Corman et al. (US 2010/0260076 A1), hereinafter Corman.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wang, Furtner, and Adam discloses the switch circuit arrangement of claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the switch is a micro-electromechanical system (MEMS) switch.
However, Corman discloses wherein the plurality of switches are MEMS switches (Para [0005], “embodiment uses RF MEMS switches”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the MEMS switches of Corman in the switch circuit arrangement of Wang, Furtner, and Adam, to achieve the benefit of employing switches with lower power loss (Corman, Para [0005]).
Claim 9-10 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Furtner as applied to claims 2-3 & 5 above, and further in view of Shapiro (US 2017/0363676 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Furtner disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 2, but fail to disclose wherein the switch is configured as a shunt switch comprising:
a first terminal coupled to the measurement circuit and configured to be selectively coupled to a radio frequency (RF) signal, and
a second terminal coupled to a reference voltage or ground.
However, Shapiro discloses, in figure 6, wherein the switch (Para [0057], “single pole dual throw (SPDT) switch network”) is configured as a shunt switch (transistors 616 or 628 ON with 620 or 624 OFF, in combination respectively) comprising:
a first terminal coupled to the measurement circuit (Para [0060] & [0061], “selectable stack 620 and 628…616 and 624 may be measured”…i.e., coupled to a measurement circuit) and configured to be selectively coupled to a radio frequency (RF) signal (RF1), and
a second terminal coupled to a reference voltage or ground (second terminal from 616 is coupled to ground).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the SPDT switch network of Shapiro in the switch circuit of Wang and Furtner, to achieve the benefit of selectively measuring the power handling of the switch circuit arrangement when configured in different modes (Shapiro, Para [0060] & [0061]).
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Furtner disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 2, but fail to disclose wherein the switch is configured as a through switch comprising:
a first terminal coupled to the measurement circuit and a second terminal, the first terminal and the second terminal configured to be selectively coupled to a radio frequency (RF) signal.
However, Shapiro discloses, in figure 6, wherein the switch (Para [0057], “single pole dual throw (SPDT) switch network”) is configured as a through switch (transistors 620 or 624 ON with 616 or 628 OFF, in combination respectively) comprising:
a first terminal coupled to the measurement circuit and a second terminal (Para [0060] & [0061], “selectable stack 620 and 628…616 and 624 may be measured”…i.e., coupled to a measurement circuit), the first terminal and the second terminal configured to be selectively coupled to a radio frequency (RF) signal (RF1 or RF2 selectively coupled to both terminals of 620 or 624 when in an ON position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the SPDT switch network of Shapiro in the switch circuit of Wang and Furtner, to achieve the benefit of selectively measuring the power handling of the switch circuit arrangement when configured in different modes (Shapiro, Para [0060] & [0061]).
Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Furtner disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 2, but fail to disclose a driver circuit coupled to the control circuit and the switch, wherein the control circuit further comprises a program mode of operation that is configured to:
generate a first control pulse, provided to the driver circuit to program the switch to an ON state; and
generate a second control pulse, provided to the driver circuit to program the switch in an OFF state.
However, Shapiro discloses, in figure 2, 4, & 6, a driver circuit coupled to the control circuit and the switch (Para [0047], “logic decoder 422 may…control the drivers, which in this case are level shifters 410, 412, 414, 416, 418, & 420, of the selectable transistor stack 424”), wherein the control circuit further comprises a program mode of operation that is configured (Para [0047], “logic decoder 422 may be designed to accept any analog or digital input signal, decide on what the input signal intended and output any digital or analog signal necessary to control the drivers”) to:
generate a first control pulse, provided to a driver circuit to program the switch to an ON state (Para [0041], “logic decoder 226 receives the control signals and decodes the logic of the signals in order to control turning ON…the transistors of the selectable transistor stack 228”); and
generate a second control pulse, provided to a driver circuit to program the switch in an OFF state (Para [0041], “logic decoder 226 receives the control signals and decodes the logic of the signals in order to control turning OFF…the transistors of the selectable transistor stack 228”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the control pulses of Shapiro in the switch circuit arrangement of Wang and Furtner, to achieve the benefit of controlling the pulses generated for controlling the operation of the transistors (Shapiro, Para [0041]).
Claims 11 & 13-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Wang, Furtner, and Shapiro as applied to claims 9-10 & 12 above, and further in view of Adamski et al. (US 12,253,550 B2), hereinafter Adam.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wang, Furtner, and Shapiro discloses the switch circuit arrangement of claim 10, but fail to disclose a termination load coupled to the through switch, the termination load establishing a path to ground for the current injected through the through switch during the read mode of operation.
However, Adam discloses, in figure 10, a termination load coupled to the through switch (termination load R.sub.H coupled to PCM switch 1002), the termination load establishing a path to ground for the current injected through the through switch during the read mode of operation (when switches Sw1 and Sw2 are in an on position, current injected through the switch 1002 during a read mode of operation to sensor 1004, a path is established to ground).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the PCM switch of Adam in the switch circuit arrangement of Wang, Furtner, and Shapiro, to achieve the benefit operating a measuring mode to change a state of the PCM operation as necessary (Adam, Col. 11, Lines 10-22).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wang, Furtner, and Shapiro disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 12, but fail to disclose wherein the driver circuit comprises;
a first driver to process the first control pulse to program the switch in the ON state; and
a second driver to process the second control pulse to program the switch in the OFF state.
However, Adam discloses, in figure 10, wherein the driver circuit (1012) comprises;
a first driver to process the first control pulse to program the switch in the ON state (Col. 7, Lines 39-40, “differential driver circuits and a corresponding control circuit may be used”…first driver of the differential driver to program an ON state); and
a second driver to process the second control pulse to program the switch in the OFF state (Col. 7, Lines 39-40, “differential driver circuits and a corresponding control circuit may be used”…second driver of the differential driver to program in an opposite state, OFF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the differential driver of Adam in the switch circuit of Wang, Furtner, and Shapiro, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions [i.e., efficiently driving opposite signals as necessary for a change in state], and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415‐421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wang, Furtner, and Shapiro disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 12, but fail to disclose wherein a width and an amplitude of each of the first and second driving pulses generated by the driver circuit are each a function of a temperature of the switch.
However, Adam discloses, in figure 10, wherein a width and an amplitude of each of the first and second driving pulses generated by the driver circuit are each a function of a temperature of the switch (Col. 9 & 10, Lines 65-67 & 1-12, “processor 1006 computes the measured resistance R.sub.H_M of the resistive heater R.sub.H based on the measured value from the resistivity sensor, as well as an adjusted electrical pulse profile for the PCM switch 1002 based on the measured resistance R.sub.H_M…heater controller 1010 in turn outputs the adjusted electrical pulse profile (adjusted in amplitude and/or in pulse width/time) to a driver circuit 1012”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the pulse profile of Adam in the driver circuit outputs of Wang, Furtner, and Shapiro, to achieve the benefit of generating a precise thermal pulse to the PCM region based on the measured temperature, thereby reliably achieving a desired switching state while extending the life of the resistive heater and the phase-change material (Adam, Col. 9, Lines 26-33).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wang, Furtner, Shapiro, and Adam disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 14, and Adam continues to disclose, in figure 10, a temperature sensor coupled to the control circuit and the switch (Col. 9, Lines 44-46, “coupled to the resistive heater R.sub.H of the PCM switch 1002 is a resistivity sensor 1004”…coupled to processor 1006 and heater controller 1010), the temperature sensor being configured to measure the temperature of the switch (resistivity sensor 1004 senses changes in the temperature of the PCM switch 1002 based on the measured resistance value based on a voltage or current applied to the switch).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wang, Furtner, Shapiro, and Adam disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 15, and Adam continues to disclose, in figure 10, an analog-to-digital converter (A/D) configured to generate a digital signal based on an analog signal generated by the temperature sensor (Col. 9, Lines 54-57, “resistivity sensor 1004 may be a conventional voltage or current analog-to-digital (ADC) circuit that outputs a digital value (e.g., an 8-bit word) representing the measured value”).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wang, Furtner, Shapiro, and Adam disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 16, and Adam continues to disclose, in figure 10, wherein the control circuit comprises a device configured to store data related to the amplitude and width of the first and second driving pulses as a function of temperature (Col. 9, Lines 57-62, “The measured value may be applied to a processor 1006 which in some embodiments is capable of performing basic arithmetic functions. The processor 1006 may be coupled to a look-up table (LUT) 1008 that stores reference values used in computing an adjusted electrical pulse profile for the PCM switch 1002”).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wang, Furtner, Shapiro, and Adam disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 17, and Adam continues to disclose, in figure 10, wherein the device comprises a lookup table or an arithmetic logic unit (ALU) (look-up table 1008).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wang, Furtner, Shapiro, and Adam disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 14, and Adam continues to disclose, in figure 10, wherein the amplitude and the width of the first and second driving pulses are also a function of an operational time of the switch (Col. 10, Lines 10-12, “the adjusted electrical pulse profile (adjusted in amplitude and/or in pulse width/time) to a driver circuit 1012”).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Wang, Furtner, Shapiro, and Adam disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 19, and Adam continues to disclose, in figure 10, wherein the operational time of the switch serves as an indicator of a number of times the switch undergoes a transition from one state to another (Col. 11, Lines 55-59, “for a constant pulse profile duration, a scaled voltage or a scaled current may be applied to deliver the amount of energy required for an ON or OFF state change”…i.e., the total operational time of the switch determines how often the switch can undergo a transition between states).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Wang, Furtner, and Shapiro disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 12, but fail to disclose wherein the control circuit is further configured to:
receive a command to set the switch to a desired state according to one of an ON state or an OFF state,
determine the state of the switch via the read mode of operation, and
program the switch via the program mode of operation if the state of the switch is determined not to be the desired state.
However, Adam discloses, in figure 10, wherein the control circuit (1006 & 1010) is further configured to:
receive a command to set the switch to a desired state according to one of an ON state or an OFF state (Col. 10, Lines 9-12, “heater controller 1010…outputs the adjusted electrical pulse profile to a driver circuit 1012 that applies corresponding electrical energy to…the PCM switch 1002”),
determine the state of the switch via the read mode of operation (Col. 10, Lines 14-17, “heater controller 1010 may be configured to deliver a known current through or voltage to the resistive heater R.sub.H in order to enable the resistivity sensor 1004 to measure a corresponding voltage or current”), and
program the switch via the program mode of operation if the state of the switch is determined not to be the desired state (Col. 10, Lines 28-30, “In order to compute an adjusted electrical pulse profile, nominal or target reference values for a PCM switch 1002 should be determined”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the control of Adam in the switch circuit of Wang, Furtner, and Shapiro, to achieve the benefit of mitigating or eliminating variations in the resistance of the resistive heaters of the PCM switch by sensing the actual resistance of the resistive heater(s) and then determining a suitable adjusted electrical pulse profile for the resistive heater(s) that generates a precise thermal pulse to the PCM region (Adam, Col. 9, Lines 26-31).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Wang, Furtner, Shapiro, and Adam disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 21, and Adam continues to disclose, in figure 10, wherein the control circuit (1006 & 1010) is further configured to:
determine again the state of the switch via the read mode of operation after the program mode of operation (Col. 9 & 10, Lines 65-67 & 1-12, “the processor 1006 computes the measured resistance R.sub.H_M of the resistive heater R.sub.H based on the measured value from the resistivity sensor 1004, as well as an adjusted electrical pulse profile for the PCM switch 1002 based on the measured resistance R.sub.H_M. In some embodiments, the processor 1006 may use the received measured resistance R.sub.H_M to look-up a pre-determined adjusted electrical pulse profile for the PCM switch 1002. Once an adjusted electrical pulse profile is determined, the processor 1006 applies one or more corresponding control signals to a heater controller 1010. The heater controller 1010 in turn outputs the adjusted electrical pulse profile (adjusted in amplitude and/or in pulse width/time) to a driver circuit 1012”), and
program again the switch via the program mode of operation if the state of the switch is determined again not to be the desired state (Col. 10, Lines 28-30, “In order to compute an adjusted electrical pulse profile, nominal or target reference values for a PCM switch 1002 should be determined”).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Wang, Furtner, Shapiro, and Adam disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 22, and Adam continues to disclose, in figure 10, wherein the program again occurs after a programmable wait time that limits a rate of consecutive programming of the switch (Col. 10, Lines 63-65, “To change the state of a PCM switch 1002, a certain amount of electrical power dissipated in the resistive heater R.sub.H has to be maintained for a determined period of time”).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Wang, Furtner, Shapiro, and Adam disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 23, and Adam continues to disclose, in figure 10, wherein the switch is a phase-change material (PCM) switch (Col. 10, Line 63, “PCM switch 1002”).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Wang, Furtner, Shapiro, and Adam disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 23, and Adam continues to disclose, in figure 10, wherein the read mode of operation and the program mode of operation of the control circuit operate as a state machine (control circuit 1006 & 1010 operate as a state machine in the read (measure) mode and program mode of operation as the circuit sets the state [i.e., measuring] until conditions are met to transition to the next state [i.e., programming via control pulse]).
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view Furtner as applied to claims 2-3 & 5 above, and further in view of Adam.
Regarding claim 26, Wang in view of Furtner disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 2, but fail to disclose wherein the switch is a replica switch, reproducing an operative switch, whereby measuring the state of the replica switch corresponds to measuring the state of the operative switch.
However, Adam discloses, in figure 10, wherein the switch is a replica switch, reproducing an operative switch (Col. 14, Lines 9, “rather than measure an actual PCM switch, a replica device (e.g., comprising an unused PCM region and associated resistive heater R.sub.H, or just a resistive heater R.sub.H alone that is fabricated to have the same characteristics as a resistive heater of a PCM switch) may be measured”), whereby measuring the state of the replica switch corresponds to measuring the state of the operative switch (Col. 14, Lines 9-16, “rather than measure an actual PCM switch, a replica device (e.g., comprising an unused PCM region and associated resistive heater R.sub.H, or just a resistive heater R.sub.H alone that is fabricated to have the same characteristics as a resistive heater of a PCM switch) may be measured during IC wafer testing and corresponding adjusted electrical pulse profiles may be programmed into each IC. Basically, the actual resistance R.sub.H_M of the resistive heater R.sub.H is characterized at test time.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the replica switch of Adam in the switch circuit of Wang and Furtner, to achieve the benefit of implementing built-in self-testing to offset process variations in switch heater resistance and heater resistance due to device aging (Adam, Col. 13, Lines 17-24).
Regarding claim 27, Wang in view of Furtner disclose the switch circuit arrangement of claim 2, but fail to disclose wherein the switch is part of a radio frequency (RF) circuit and wherein the measurement circuit further comprises an RF isolation inductive arrangement.
However, Adam discloses, in figure 9B & 10, wherein the switch is part of a radio frequency (RF) circuit and wherein the measurement circuit further comprises an RF isolation inductive arrangement (Col. 9, Lines 1-13, “inductor-based isolation embodiment…inductors L1 and L2…in an RF through switch configuration”…which provide an isolated coupling to the measurement circuit 1004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the inductive isolation of Adam in the switch circuit of Wang and Furtner, to achieve the benefit of providing compensation for the parasitic capacitance of the PCM switch (Adam, Col. 9, Lines 1-25).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barrenscheen et al. (US 10,972,088 B1) [Figure 3. Discloses circuits and techniques for detecting or responding to temperature of a power switch based on paired measurements of current and voltage. A driver circuit for a power switch may be configured to perform a current measurement and a voltage measurement associated with a temperature-dependent circuit element and control the power switch based at least in part on the current measurement and the voltage measurement. In some examples, the current and voltage measurements may be used to determine the temperature of the power switch].
/TYLER J PERENY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836