The claims received 5/6/2025 are entered. Claims 5-7 and 10-14 are cancelled. Claim 16 is new.
Claim Interpretation
Although the phrase “expansion device” combines the nonce term “device” with the function of “expansion” the phrase is not interpreted under 35 USC §112(f) as it is considered to have sufficiently definite meaning in the art corresponding to a structure. MPEP 2181
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-9, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Derosier et al (US 11,493,245).
Regarding claim 1, Derosier discloses an apparatus for improving the performance of a direct expansion refrigeration system, the apparatus comprising:
an inlet separator (11) adapted to be connected to an expansion device outlet of said direct expansion refrigeration system, said inlet separator having a liquid refrigerant outlet (15) and a two-phase refrigerant outlet (13; “two-phase” discussed below),
an evaporator (25) having an evaporator inlet (23) directly connected to said inlet separator liquid outlet (15),
an ejector (33) having a motive flow inlet (31) directly connected to said inlet separator two-phase refrigerant outlet (13),
an evaporator outlet refrigerant line (27) connected at a first end to an outlet of said evaporator, said evaporator outlet having an evaporator outlet liquid refrigerant line (30) and an evaporator outlet vapor refrigerant line (29),
said evaporator outlet liquid refrigerant line connected to a side port of said ejector (35), said evaporator outlet vapor refrigerant line connected to a compressor (“compressor” of figure 1),
said inlet separator (11) configured to simultaneously and continuously deliver two-phase refrigerant to said ejector and refrigerant liquid to said evaporator.
Further regarding the two-phase refrigerant outlet (13) of Derosier. Derosier describes the condition of the refrigerant at outlet 13 as being “vapor flash gas”. In the art flash gas is understood to be the result of sudden vaporization of a saturated liquid due to pressure drop and thus includes droplet entrainment within the vapor. Under this reading the claim is anticipated by Derosier. This is the first basis of the rejection.
Alternatively, regarding limitations drawn to the phase of the refrigerant, the "manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus from the prior art" And “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” MPEP 2114. Absent distinguishing structure, a mere functional limitation is not sufficient to define over the prior art. In this instance the phase of the refrigerant can be adjusted by system temperature and pressure. For example adjusting upstream throttling achieved by expansion device (3) adjusts a downstream refrigerant quality (ratio of vapor refrigerant mass to total refrigerant mass). Under this reading the claim is anticipated by Derosier. This is the second basis of the rejection.
Regarding claim 2, Derosier discloses said inlet separator (11) is configured to simultaneously and continuously deliver two-phase refrigerant directly to said ejector (33) and refrigerant liquid directly to said evaporator (25) via the evaporator inlet.
Regarding claim 3, Derosier discloses said inlet separator and said ejector are combined in an integrated refrigerant recycling device (4:1-6).
Regarding claim 4, Derosier discloses said evaporator inlet is a distributor (19).
Regarding claim 8, Derosier discloses direct expansion refrigeration system comprising:
a refrigerant line connecting the following, in order of refrigerant flow:
an expansion device (3),
an ejector (33);
an evaporator (25), and
a compressor (“compressor” of figure 1), said
expansion device (3) is configured to deliver two-phase refrigerant to a motive inlet (31) of said ejector (as per 4:1-6 the separator is inclusive with the ejector and thus receives L+V from the expansion valve), said evaporator is configured to deliver liquid refrigerant to a recirculating liquid inlet of said ejector (35), and said ejector is configured to deliver two phase refrigerant to said evaporator (from 37).
Further regarding two-phase refrigerant. As discussed above the inlet separator 11 is treated as part of the ejector and thus anticipates the claim. Alternatively taking the inlet separator and ejector to be separate the two alternative rejections discussed at claim 1 are imported here.
Regarding claim 9, Derosier discloses an apparatus for improving the performance of a direct expansion refrigeration system, the apparatus comprising:
an inlet separator (13) adapted to be connected to an expansion device (3) outlet of said direct expansion refrigeration system, said inlet separator having a liquid refrigerant outlet (15) and a vapor refrigerant outlet (15),
an evaporator (25) having an evaporator inlet (19) directly connected to said inlet separator vapor outlet (15),
an ejector (33) having a motive flow inlet directly connected to said inlet separator liquid refrigerant outlet (13),
an evaporator outlet header (27) having a vapor outlet refrigerant line (29) and a liquid outlet refrigerant line (30),
said evaporator outlet header outlet liquid refrigerant line (30) connected to a recirculating liquid inlet (35) of said ejector,
said evaporator outlet header vapor outlet refrigerant line (29) connected to a compressor (“compressor” of figure 1),
said inlet separator (11) configured to simultaneously and continuously deliver vapor refrigerant to said evaporator inlet (19) and liquid refrigerant to said ejector (liquid refrigerant by way of at least path 30).
Regarding claim 15, Derosier discloses said evaporator inlet comprises a distributor (19).
Regarding claim 16, Derosier discloses said evaporator inlet comprises a distributor (19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derosier et al (US 11,493,245) in view of Yamada et al (US 2007/0028630).
Regarding claim 1, Derosier discloses an apparatus for improving the performance of a direct expansion refrigeration system, the apparatus comprising:
an inlet separator (11) adapted to be connected to an expansion device outlet of said direct expansion refrigeration system, said inlet separator having a liquid refrigerant outlet (15) and a vapor flash gas refrigerant outlet (13)
an evaporator (25) having an evaporator inlet (23) directly connected to said inlet separator liquid outlet (15),
an ejector (33) having a motive flow inlet (31) directly connected to said inlet separator vapor flash gas refrigerant outlet (13),
an evaporator outlet refrigerant line (27) connected at a first end to an outlet of said evaporator, said evaporator outlet having an evaporator outlet liquid refrigerant line (30) and an evaporator outlet vapor refrigerant line (29),
said evaporator outlet liquid refrigerant line connected to a side port of said ejector (35), said evaporator outlet vapor refrigerant line connected to a compressor (“compressor” of figure 1),
said inlet separator (11) configured to simultaneously and continuously deliver vapor flash gas refrigerant to said ejector and refrigerant liquid to said evaporator.
Further regarding the two-phase refrigerant outlet (13) of Derosier. Derosier describes the condition of the refrigerant at outlet 13 as being “vapor flash gas”. In the art flash gas is understood to be the result of sudden vaporization of a saturated liquid due to pressure drop and thus includes droplet entrainment within the vapor. Derosier does not explicitly describe the condition of the refrigerant as two-phase.
Yamada discloses an inlet separator (4) upstream of the motive inlet of ejector (6) where the inlet separator is described as a “dryness degree adjusting mechanism” ([0011]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art to have provided Derosier with inlet separator of Yamada in order to tune the dryness degree of the refrigerant for the ejector enabling larger diameter ejector geometries thereby decreasing fabrication costs of the ejector as discussed at [0011]. This is the third basis of the rejection.
Regarding claim 2, Derosier discloses said inlet separator (11) is configured to simultaneously and continuously deliver two-phase refrigerant directly to said ejector (33) and refrigerant liquid directly to said evaporator (25) via the evaporator inlet.
Regarding claim 3, Derosier discloses said inlet separator and said ejector are combined in an integrated refrigerant recycling device (4:1-6).
Regarding claim 4, Derosier discloses said evaporator inlet is a distributor (19).
Regarding claim 8, Derosier discloses direct expansion refrigeration system comprising:
a refrigerant line connecting the following, in order of refrigerant flow:
an expansion device (3),
an ejector (33);
an evaporator (25), and
a compressor (“compressor” of figure 1), said
expansion device (3) is configured to deliver vapor flash gas refrigerant to a motive inlet (31) of said ejector (as per 4:1-6 the separator is inclusive with the ejector and thus receives L+V from the expansion valve), said evaporator is configured to deliver liquid refrigerant to a recirculating liquid inlet of said ejector (35), and said ejector is configured to deliver two phase refrigerant to said evaporator (from 37).
Further regarding the two-phase refrigerant outlet (13) of Derosier. Derosier describes the condition of the refrigerant at outlet 13 as being “vapor flash gas”. In the art flash gas is understood to be the result of sudden vaporization of a saturated liquid due to pressure drop and thus includes droplet entrainment within the vapor. Derosier does not explicitly describe the condition of the refrigerant as two-phase.
Yamada discloses an inlet separator (4) upstream of the motive inlet of ejector (6) where the inlet separator is described as a “dryness degree adjusting mechanism” ([0011]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art to have provided Derosier with inlet separator of Yamada in order to tune the dryness degree of the refrigerant for the ejector enabling larger diameter ejector geometries thereby decreasing fabrication costs of the ejector as discussed at [0011]. This is the third basis of the rejection.
Regarding claim 15, Derosier discloses said evaporator inlet comprises a distributor (19).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ogata et al (US 10,302,341) two phase refrigerant at motive inlet 14a of ejector
Su et al (US 10,739,047) ejector cycle
Gorbounov et al (US 7,377,126) evaporator outlet header
Yoshii et al (US 12,372,279) ejector cycle
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799