Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “retaining system has a multiplicity of retaining device groups, wherein three retaining device groups and the retaining device groups are designed and arranged such that the vehicle component has, via the damping elements, essentially the same damping in the axial and radial directions relative to each of the damping elements” recited in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. With respect to claim 1, “in the radial and axial directions” lacks proper antecedent basis; and is vague and indefinite since it is not clear radial and axial direction of what element. Claims 2-12 are rejected as dependent from a rejected claim. Additionally, with respect to claim 5, the recitation “…arranged circumferentially around a central retaining opening of the damping element or the mounting surface is designed as a mounting surface arranged essentially between the central retaining opening and the compression openings” is vague and indefinite for the two reasons: (1) applicant inferentially claims there’s “a central retaining opening of the damping element” and (2) “the compression openings” lacks proper antecedent basis. Similarly in claim 10, applicant also inferentially claims there’s “a central retaining opening of the damping element” without setting forth that there is one in the first place.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Eustache (US 6532616 B1).
With respect to claim 1, Eustache discloses a damping element (34) for attachment of a vehicle component (24, figure 4) to a remainder of a vehicle (20, figure 4), the damping element being designed as a one-piece damping element (see claim 3 of Eustache), the damping element comprising: a first damping cylinder (cylinder portion above groove 44); and a second damping cylinder (cylinder portion below groove 44), the first and second damping cylinders being connected to one another via a connecting cylinder (at 44), the damping element is designed such that, when the damping element is in a position of use, only the first and second damping cylinders bear against the vehicle component and against the remainder of the vehicle in a manner that transmits force in the radial and axial directions.
With respect to claim 2, Eustache discloses the damping element according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the first and second damping cylinders are designed to be identical to one another in their basic structure (figure 1 and 4).
With respect to claim 3, Eustache discloses the damping element according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the first damping cylinder, the second damping cylinder, and the connecting cylinder are each designed to be rotationally symmetric about a common rotational axis in that the damping element has a central retaining opening (opening accommodating the screw 38) extending along the common rotational axis or in that the retaining opening is designed as a through hole.
With respect to claim 5, Eustache discloses the damping element according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the first and second damping cylinders each have, on their free front end, a raised mounting surface (14, figure 3) for attachment to the remainder of the vehicle, wherein the mounting surface is designed as a mounting surface and arranged circumferentially around a central retaining opening (opening accommodating the screw 38) of the damping element or the mounting surface is designed as a mounting surface arranged essentially between the central retaining opening and the compression openings of the damping element.
With respect to claim 6, Eustache discloses the damping element according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the damping element (34) is designed such that it has essentially identical deformation characteristics in the axial and radial directions.
With respect to claim 7, Eustache discloses the damping element according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the damping element is designed as a silicone or an elastomer (column 2, lines 47-50), wherein the damping element is designed as a rubber elastomer, or wherein the damping element is made from EPDM or NBR.
With respect to claim 8, Eustache discloses a retaining system for a vehicle for attachment of a vehicle component to a remainder of the vehicle, the retaining system comprising: at least one retaining device group with, in each case, a first retaining device (14) arranged in a force-transmitting manner on the remainder of the vehicle, a second retaining device (32, figure 4) corresponding to the first retaining device and arranged in a force- transmitting manner on the vehicle component; and the damping element (34) according to claim 1 being arranged between the first and second retaining devices.
With respect to claim 10, Eustache discloses the damping element according to claim 8 as advanced above, wherein the first retaining device of at least one retaining device group has a retaining bolt (40, figure 3) corresponding to a central retaining opening (opening receiving screw/bolt 38) of the damping element, and wherein the retaining bolt is designed as an attachment bolt, and wherein the attachment bolt has, at its free front end, a screw thread (the screw 38 inherently has thread).
With respect to claim 11, Eustache discloses the damping element according to claim 8 as advanced above, wherein the first retaining device of at least one retaining device group has an attachment section, wherein the attachment section has a screw thread corresponding to a separate threaded bolt of the retaining system, and wherein the attachment section is designed as a raised attachment projection (figure 3).
With respect to claim 12, Eustache discloses the damping element according to claim 8 as advanced above, wherein the second retaining device (32, figure 4) of at least one retaining device group is designed as a clamp that only partially encompasses the damping element when it is in its position of use and that has a clamp opening (43, figure 4) on its circumference, wherein the clamp and the damping element are matched to one another in design such that the damping element is conveyed into its position of use through the clamp opening, and wherein the clamp has a retaining projection (42) that corresponds to the connecting cylinder and bears axially against only the first and second damping cylinders (figure 1).
Claims 1, 3, and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hoffman et al (US 20090272872 A1 cited in applicant’s IDS filed 4/2/2025).
With respect to claim 1, Hoffman discloses a damping element (figure 5) for attachment of a vehicle component to a remainder of a vehicle, the damping element being designed as a one-piece damping element, the damping element comprising: a first damping cylinder (62, figure 5); and a second damping cylinder (40), the first and second damping cylinders being connected to one another via a connecting cylinder (figure 5), the damping element is designed such that, when the damping element is in a position of use, only the first and second damping cylinders bear against the vehicle component and against the remainder of the vehicle in a manner that transmits force in the radial and axial directions.
With respect to claim 3, Hoffman discloses the damping element according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the first damping cylinder, the second damping cylinder, and the connecting cylinder are each designed to be rotationally symmetric about a common rotational axis in that the damping element has a central retaining opening (55, figure 5) extending along the common rotational axis or in that the retaining opening is designed as a through hole.
With respect to claim 7, Hoffman discloses the damping element according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the damping element is designed as a silicone or an elastomer (see paragraph [0023]), wherein the damping element is designed as a rubber elastomer, or wherein the damping element is made from EPDM or NBR.
With respect to claim 8, Hoffman discloses a retaining system for a vehicle for attachment of a vehicle component to a remainder of the vehicle, the retaining system comprising: at least one retaining device group with, in each case, a first retaining device (36, figure 5) arranged in a force-transmitting manner on the remainder of the vehicle, a second retaining device (38, figure 5) corresponding to the first retaining device and arranged in a force- transmitting manner on the vehicle component; and the damping element according to claim 1 being arranged between the first and second retaining devices.
With respect to claim 9, Hoffman discloses the damping element according to claim 8 as advanced above, wherein the retaining system has a multiplicity of retaining device groups (see figure 2), wherein three retaining device groups and the retaining device groups are designed and arranged such that the vehicle component has, via the damping elements, essentially the same damping in the axial and radial directions relative to each of the damping elements.
With respect to claim 10, Hoffman discloses the damping element according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the first retaining device of at least one retaining device group has a retaining bolt (76) corresponding to a central retaining opening of the damping element, and wherein the retaining bolt is designed as an attachment bolt, and wherein the attachment bolt has, at its free front end, a screw thread (see figure 5).
With respect to claim 11. The retaining system according to claim 8, wherein the first retaining device of at least one retaining device group has an attachment section, wherein the attachment section has a screw thread corresponding to a separate threaded bolt of the retaining system, and wherein the attachment section is designed as a raised attachment projection (see contact surface of the first retaining device 36).
With respect to claim 12. The retaining system according to claim 8, wherein the second retaining device of at least one retaining device group is designed as a clamp (figure 3) that only partially encompasses the damping element when it is in its position of use and that has a clamp opening (58) on its circumference, wherein the clamp and the damping element are matched to one another in design such that the damping element is conveyed into its position of use through the clamp opening, and wherein the clamp has a retaining projection (projection defining 42) that corresponds to the connecting cylinder and bears axially against only the first and second damping cylinders.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eustache (US 6532616 B1) in view of Yang et al (CN 107504111A cited in applicant’s IDS filed 4/2/2025).
With respect to claim 4, Eustache discloses the damping element according to claim 1 as advanced above except for wherein the first and second damping cylinders each have circumferentially uniformly distributed compression openings for elastic compression of the two damping cylinders when the damping element is conveyed into its position of use, wherein the compression openings of the first and second damping cylinders are designed and arranged on the respective damping cylinder in an identical manner or the compression openings are each arranged radially with respect to a central retaining opening of the damping element.
Yang teaches in a damping element of providing a central retaining opening (2, figure 1) and compression openings (3, figure 1) that are uniformly distributed (see paragraph [0018]) on the damping element to achieve various advantages “ [0013] The beneficial effects of the present invention are: reasonable structure, capable of reducing the stiffness of the shock absorber, being beneficial to shock absorption and assembly, being beneficial to absorbing impact energy, and achieving a better shock-proof effect of the shock-absorbing device.”
. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the damping element of Eustache such that compression openings uniformly distributed thereon for achieving a better shock-proof effect as taught to be desirable by Yang.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art of record further demonstrate damping elements of interest.
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc