DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is in response preliminary amendments for application 19080778 filed on 11/06/2025. Claims 21-40 are presented for examination.
Prior Art Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russel-Clarke et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2013/0188366 A1) in view of Myers et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2013/0076649 A1)
Regarding claim 21, Russel-Clarke teaches an electronic device (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 1 and 4, electronic device 10) comprising:
an enclosure defining two major sides and four peripheral sides (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 1, 4 and 5, glass structures 18 and 20), comprising:
a first enclosure member formed of glass (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, glass structure 20) and defining:
a first wall defining a first portion of a first peripheral side of the four peripheral sides (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, first one of the top, bottom, left or right wall of the electronic device 10);
a second wall defining a first portion of a second peripheral side of the four peripheral sides (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, second one of the top, bottom, left or right wall of the electronic device 10);
a third wall defining a first portion of a third peripheral side of the four peripheral sides (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, third one of the top, bottom, left or right wall of the electronic device 10);
a fourth wall defining a first portion of a fourth peripheral side of the four peripheral sides (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, fourth one of the top, bottom, left or right wall of the electronic device 10); and
a fifth wall defining a first major side of the two major sides (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, center portion 48 where display structure 40 is disposed); and
a second enclosure member coupled to the first enclosure member and defining a second major side of the two major sides and a respective second portion of each of the first, second, third, and fourth peripheral sides (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, glass structure 18); and
a display positioned within the enclosure (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, display structure 40) and comprising:
a fifth segment positioned along the fifth wall and configured to display a fifth graphical output through the fifth wall (Russel-Clarke, Fig. 5, display structure 40 provide image to center portion 48; Russel-Clarke, [0040], display can be a touch screen, i.e., displaying interface for touch screen sensing).
Russel-Clarke further teaches the display structure can extend away to cover more than the front flat surface (Russel-Clarke, [0076] and Fig. 19, Display structures 40 may be formed using a substrate that is sufficiently flexible to allow display structures 40 to conform to the curved shape of surface 88). Russel-Clarke does not seem to explicitly teach the display further extend to cover a first segment positioned along the first wall and configured to display a first graphical output through the first wall;
a second segment positioned along the second wall and configured to display a second graphical output through the second wall;
a third segment positioned along the third wall and configured to display a third graphical output through the third wall; and
a fourth segment positioned along the fourth wall and configured to display a fourth graphical output through the fourth wall.
However, in a related art of providing touch screen for an electronic device, Myers teaches touch sensitive display extending along the side walls of the electronic device (Myers, Figs. 3-5, 7 and 13, edge displays 52).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to extend the touch screen of Russel-Clarke to further cover the side walls as suggested by Myer. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide more areas for the user to provide inputs (Myers, [0003] and [0010]-[0011]).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to expand them to all four side walls of the electronic device. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide even more areas for the user to provide inputs.
Regarding claim 22, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 21 and further teaches the first portion of the first peripheral side defines more than half of a distance from the first major side to the second major side; and
the second portion of the first peripheral side defines less than half of the distance from the first major side to the second major side (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 5 and 7, the portions of the sides are not equal which one more than half and the other less than half).
Regarding claim 23, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 22 and further teaches intermediate member positioned between the first enclosure member and the second enclosure member and defining a third portion of each of the first, second, third, and fourth peripheral sides (Russel-Clarke, Fig. 8, sidewall structure 18).
Regarding claim 24, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 23 and further teaches the intermediate member is formed of metal (Russel-Clarke, [0054], structure 18 may be formed from metal).
Regarding claim 25, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 21 and further teaches the first graphical output comprises a virtual button (Myers, [0049], virtual button 52).
Regarding claim 26, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 25 and further teaches in response to detecting a touch input at the virtual button, the electronic device is configured to change the fifth graphical output displayed through the fifth wall (Myers, [0056], display is changed based on input of user on the touch screen).
Regarding claim 27, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 21 and further teaches the electronic device is a watch (Myers, [0037], wrist-watch).
Regarding claim 28, Russel-Clarke teaches an electronic device (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 1 and 4, electronic device 10) comprising:
an enclosure defining an interior volume (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 1, 4 and 5, glass structures 18 and 20)and comprising:
a first enclosure member defining a back wall defining a back side of the electronic device (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, glass structure 18); and
a second enclosure member formed of glass (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, glass structure 20) and defining:
a front wall defining a front side of the electronic device (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, center portion 48 where display structure 40 is disposed); and
a set of four peripheral walls extending from the front wall (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, top, bottom, left or right wall of the electronic device 10); and
a touch-sensitive display positioned within the interior volume, the touch-sensitive display conforming to the front wall and configured to display graphical output through the front wall (Russel-Clarke, Fig. 5, display structure 40 provide image to center portion 48; Russel-Clarke, [0040], display can be a touch screen, i.e., displaying interface for touch screen sensing).
Russel-Clarke does not seem to explicitly teach the set of four peripheral walls of the second enclosure member, i.e. front glass, where each peripheral wall extending greater than half a distance between the front side and the back side of the electronic device. However, Russel-Clarke teaches the two glass structure can have different sidewall heights (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 5 and 7, the portions of the sides are not equal which one more than half and the other less than half), and also teaches that a larger thickness T2 would strengthen the glass structure and prevent damage in the event of an impact event (Russel-Clarke, [0049]).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art swap the length and have the top half of the glass structure to have a greater than half of the sidewall. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide strengthen the glass structure and prevent damage in the event of an impact event while maintaining the overall thickness of the device (Russel-Clarke, [0049]).
Russel-Clarke does not seem to explicitly teach the touch-sensitive display conforming to the set of four peripheral walls and display graphical output through the set of four walls.
However, in a related art of providing touch screen for an electronic device, Myers teaches touch sensitive display extending along the side walls of the electronic device (Myers, Figs. 3-5, 7 and 13, edge displays 52).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to extend the touch screen of Russel-Clarke to further cover the side walls as suggested by Myer. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide more areas for the user to provide inputs (Myers, [0003] and [0010]-[0011]).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to expand them to all four side walls of the electronic device. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide even more areas for the user to provide inputs.
Regarding claim 29, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 28 and further teaches the first enclosure member defines a set of four peripheral wall segments extending from the back wall, each peripheral wall segment extending less than half the distance between the front side and the back side of the electronic device (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 5 and 7, the portions of the sides are not equal which one more than half and the other less than half).
Regarding claim 30, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 28 and further teaches the front wall has a first thickness; and
each peripheral wall of the set of four peripheral walls has a second thickness that is different from the first thickness (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 5 and 7, T1 and T2 are different).
Regarding claim 31, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 28 and further teaches the set of four peripheral walls defines a portion of each of a first peripheral side, a second peripheral side, a third peripheral side, and a fourth peripheral side of the electronic device (Russel-Clarke, Fig. 4, edge portions 20; Myers, Fig. 1, peripheral regions).
Regarding claim 32, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 31 and further teaches an intermediate enclosure member positioned between the first enclosure member and the second enclosure member and defining an additional portion of each of the first peripheral side, the second peripheral side, the third peripheral side, and the fourth peripheral side of the electronic device (Russel-Clarke, Fig. 8, sidewall structure 18).
Regarding claim 33, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 28 and further teaches the graphical output comprises:
a first graphical output visible through the front wall (Myers, Fig. 14, virtual button 126); and
a second graphical output visible through a peripheral wall of the set of four peripheral walls (Myers, Fig. 14, virtual button 52).
Regarding claim 34, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 33 and further teaches the second graphical output comprises a virtual button (Myers, Fig. 14, virtual button 52); and
the electronic device is configured to change a device setting in response to detecting a touch input at the virtual button (Myers, [0056], display is changed based on input of user on the touch screen).
Regarding claim 35, Russel-Clarke teaches an electronic device (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 1 and 4, electronic device 10) comprising:
an enclosure (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 1, 4 and 5, glass structures 18 and 20) comprising:
a first enclosure member formed of a continuous glass structure (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, glass structure 20) and defining:
a front wall defining a front side of the enclosure (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, center portion 48 where display structure 40 is disposed); and
a peripheral wall structure extending from the front wall and extending continuously along a periphery of the front wall (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, top, bottom, left or right wall of the electronic device 10); and
a second enclosure member coupled to the first enclosure member and defining a back side of the enclosure (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, glass structure 18); and
a display positioned in the enclosure (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, display structure 40) and defining:
a first portion positioned along the front wall and configured to display a first graphical output through the front wall (Russel-Clarke, Fig. 5, display structure 40 provide image to center portion 48; Russel-Clarke, [0040], display can be a touch screen, i.e., displaying interface for touch screen sensing).
Russel-Clarke further teaches the display structure can extend away to cover more than the front flat surface (Russel-Clarke, [0076] and Fig. 19, Display structures 40 may be formed using a substrate that is sufficiently flexible to allow display structures 40 to conform to the curved shape of surface 88). Russel-Clarke does not seem to explicitly teach the display defining a second portion positioned along the peripheral wall structure and configured to display a second graphical output through at least a portion of the peripheral wall structure.
However, in a related art of providing touch screen for an electronic device, Myers teaches touch sensitive display extending along the side walls of the electronic device (Myers, Figs. 3-5, 7 and 13, edge displays 52).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to extend the touch screen of Russel-Clarke to further cover the side walls as suggested by Myer. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide more areas for the user to provide inputs (Myers, [0003] and [0010]-[0011]).
Regarding claim 36, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 35 and further teaches the second enclosure member is formed of glass (Russel-Clarke, [0040], housing 18 may be formed from glass).
Regarding claim 37, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 35 and further teaches the peripheral wall structure extends greater than half of a distance from the front side of the enclosure to the back side of the enclosure (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 5 and 7, the portions of the sides are not equal which one more than half and the other less than half).
Regarding claim 38, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 35 and further teaches the peripheral wall structure defines a respective first portion of each of a first peripheral side of the enclosure, a second peripheral side of the enclosure, a third peripheral side of the enclosure, and a fourth peripheral side of the enclosure (Russel-Clarke, Figs. 4 and 5, top, bottom, left or right wall of the electronic device 10); and
the electronic device further comprises an intermediate enclosure member positioned between the first enclosure member and the second enclosure member and defining a respective second portion of each of the first peripheral side of the enclosure, the second peripheral side of the enclosure, the third peripheral side of the enclosure, and the fourth peripheral side of the enclosure (Russel-Clarke, Fig. 8, sidewall structure 18).
Regarding claim 39, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 38 and further teaches the intermediate enclosure member comprises a metal exterior surface (Russel-Clarke, [0054], structure 18 may be formed from metal).
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russel-Clarke et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2013/0188366 A1) in view of Myers et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2013/0076649 A1) and Baranski et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2016/0255944 A1)
Regarding claim 40, Russel-Clarke in view of Myers teaches the limitations of claim 35 and further teaches the electronic device is a watch (Myers, [0037], wrist-watch)
Russel-Clarke in view of Myers does not seem to explicitly teach the electronic device further comprises a band coupled to the second enclosure member and configured to attach the electronic device to a wearer.
However, in a related art of providing an electronic device in a form of a wrist-watch, Baranski teaches an electronic device comprising a band coupled to a second enclosure member and configured to attach the electronic device to a wearer (Baranski, Figs. 2A-2D, bands 202 and 204 coupled to the sidewalls of the device).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to further include bands of Baranski for the electronic device of Russel-Clarke in view of Myers. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to attach the device on a user’s wrist to function as a wrist-watch (Baranski, [0135]).
Conclusion
/DONG HUI LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629