DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because reference number “11” in Fig. 2 has a superfluous line extending from the top; and the line of reference number “32” in Fig. 5 is not aligned with the reference number. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 –6, 8, 10, 14, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “adjacent struts”, “a proximal diameter”, and “a distal diameter”, although the lines are understood by the Examiner to mean “adjacent struts of the plurality of struts”, “the proximal diameter”, and “the distal diameter” as all of the elements were previously defined, the Examiner suggests the lines be amended to read “adjacent struts of the plurality of struts”, “the proximal diameter”, and “the distal diameter” for the purpose of maintaining consistent language throughout the claims;
Claim 4 recites “struts of circumferentially adjacent rows of struts” in line 3, although the line is understood by the Examiner to mean “struts of circumferentially adjacent rows of the plurality of struts”, the Examiner suggests the line be amended to read “struts of circumferentially adjacent rows of the plurality of struts” for the purpose of maintaining consistent language throughout the claims;
Claims 5 and 8 recites “the expandable element”, although the line is understood by the Examiner to mean “the expandable section” as previously defined and as Applicant’s disclosure does not disclose an “expandable element”, the Examiner suggests the line be amended to read “the expandable section” for the purpose of maintaining consistent language throughout the claims;
Claim 6 recites “membrane captures the fluid when” although the line is understood by the Examiner to mean “membrane is configured to capture the fluid when” as the recitation is a functional limitation, the Examiner suggests the line be amended to read “membrane is configured to capture the fluid when” for the purpose of maintaining consistent language throughout the claims;
Claim 10 recites “a proximal side” in line 2, although the line is understood by the Examiner to mean “the proximal side” as the “proximal side” was defined in claim 1, the Examiner suggests the line be amended to read “the proximal side” for the purpose of maintaining consistent language throughout the claims;
Claim 14 recites “embolic implant according with” in line 5, however this appears to be a typographic error, wherein the word “according” appears to have been meant to be stricken out; the Examiner suggests the word “according” be stricken out;
Claim 18 recites “an embolic implant” in line 2, although the line does not rise to the level of being indefinite, as the disclosure makes it clear that there is only one embolic implant, and the line is understood by the Examiner to mean “the embolic implant” as the implant was previously defined, the Examiner suggests the line be amended to read “the embolic implant” for the purpose of maintaining consistent language throughout the claims;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "a plurality of openings" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if Applicant is intending for “the at least one opening on a proximal side” of the membrane, defined in claim 1, to be one of the “plurality of openings” or if Applicant is intending for the “plurality of openings” to be separate and distinct openings from the “at least one opening” defined in claim 1, such that there has to be at least three openings. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will read the claim to mean the former.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 7, 10 – 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jancaric et al (US 2019/0262001 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jancaric discloses an embolic implant (occlusive medical device 10) (abstract, paragraphs [0020], [0043], [0044], and Figs. 1 – 7), comprising:
a tube (laser cut tube 40) comprising:
a distal end (end 22) and a proximal end (end 25) (paragraph [0045] and Fig. 1) (Examiner’s note: as stated in paragraph [0045] the disclosure’s reference to “proximal” and “distal” is merely illustrative, and the device can be used in any orientation, such that the end 22 is the distal end and the end 25 is the proximal end; therefore, for the Examiner is designated the claimed distal end with the disclosed “proximal end 22” and the claimed proximal end with the disclosed “distal end 25” for sake of the rejection);
an expandable section (frame 12) between the distal end and the proximal end (paragraph [0045] and Figs. 1 – 7) and having:
a collapsed state (collapsed configuration) (paragraphs [0045], [0056], [0068], and Fig. 2) in which the expandable section has an intermediate diameter (diameter shown in Fig. 2) that is substantially the same as a proximal diameter of the proximal end and a distal diameter of the distal end (diameters of the ends 25 and 22, respectively, Figs. 1 and 2); and
an expanded state (expanded state – shown in Fig. 1) in which the proximal diameter of the proximal end and the distal diameter of the distal end remain substantially unchanged (Fig. 1) while the intermediate diameter of the expandable section (frame 12) increases (Fig. 1); and
a membrane (membrane 20) covering a distal side (region 14) of the expandable section (frame 12) (Fig. 1) (Examiner’s note: as stated above, the Examiner is interpreting “proximal” discussed in the disclosure of Jancaric as “distal” and vice versa; therefore, although the region 14 is recited as the “proximal” region, it should be understood throughout the rejection as the “distal” region and vice versa), expandable upon expansion of the expandable section to the expanded state, and including at least one opening on a proximal side (side from the large diameter end of the membrane 20 to the end 25) of the expandable section (frame 12) that allows fluid to flow into the expandable section and against an inner surface of the membrane (Examiner’s note: the preceding limitation is an intended use limitation which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning in the manner claimed; with that said, the membrane 20, as discussed in paragraphs [0047 – 0048], has an open end which allows it to expand with increased pressure of fluid flow therethrough and is expandable to extend across the vessel lumen to completely block / occlude the fluid blood / fluid flow through the vessel).
Regarding claim 2, Jancaric discloses wherein the expandable section (frame 12) of the tube (laser cut tube 40) includes a plurality of cuts (cuts 50) that define a plurality of struts (struts 52 / struts 18) (paragraph [0053] and Figs. 2 – 6).
Regarding claim 3, Jancaric discloses wherein:
in the collapsed state (collapsed configuration – Fig. 2), circumferentially adjacent struts are positioned adjacent to each other to impart the expandable section with the intermediate diameter that is substantially the same as a proximal diameter of the proximal end and a distal diameter of the distal end (Fig. 2); and
in the expanded state (expanded configuration – Fig. 1), the circumferentially adjacent struts are spaced apart from each other to increase the intermediate diameter of the expandable section (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Jancaric discloses wherein the plurality of struts (struts 52 / struts 18) comprises a plurality of rows of struts extending along a length of the tube (Fig. 2), struts of circumferentially adjacent rows of struts being longitudinally offset from each other (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6 and 7, Jancaric discloses [claim 6] wherein the membrane (membrane 20) captures the fluid when the expandable section is in the expanded state and [claim 7] wherein a configuration of the membrane (membrane 20) in combination with fluid pressure exerted from the proximal portion toward the distal portion of the expandable section enables the embolic implant to be secured at a desired location along a length of a vessel (Examiner’s note: the preceding limitations are intended use limitations which require only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning in the manner claimed; with that said, the membrane 20, as discussed in paragraphs [0047 – 0048], has an open end and a closed end which allows it to capture fluid flow therethrough and is expandable to extend across the vessel lumen to completely block / occlude the fluid blood / fluid flow through the vessel, thereby enabling itself to be secured along the vessel).
Regarding claim 10, Jancaric discloses wherein the membrane (membrane 20) does not cover a proximal side (side from the large diameter end of the membrane 20 to the end 25) of the expandable section (frame 12) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Jancaric discloses wherein the expandable section (frame 12) and the membrane (membrane 20) are retractable (Examiner’s note: there is nothing that prevents the device 10, which includes the frame 12 and membrane 20, from being retracted; therefore, the device 10 is considered retractable).
Regarding claim 12, Jancaric discloses further comprising: a coupler (tubular portion at the end 25 – shown in Fig. 1) on the proximal end (end 25) of the tube (laser cut tube 40) to facilitate coupling and uncoupling of the embolic implant to a delivery device (paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 14, Jancaric an embolic system (occlusive medical device 10) (abstract, paragraphs [0020], [0043], [0044], and Figs. 1 – 7), comprising:
a delivery system (sheath and pull wire) (paragraphs [0046] and [0068]) including:
a wire (pull wire); and
a detachment device (distal end of the pull wire) at a distal end of the wire (paragraph [0046]); and
an embolic implant (occlusive medical device 10) with a proximal end (end 25) engageable and disengageable by the detachment device of the delivery system (paragraph [0046]) (Examiner’s note: as stated in paragraph [0046] the end of the wire is releasably secured to the end 25; therefore, the end of the wire is a detachment device as it releases the end 25 of the medical device 10 and the proximal end 25 is engageable / disengageable with the end of the wire (i.e., the detachment device), the embolic implant including:
a tube (laser cut tube 40) comprising:
a distal end (end 22) and a proximal end (end 25) (paragraph [0045] and Fig. 1) (Examiner’s note: as stated in paragraph [0045] the disclosure’s reference to “proximal” and “distal” is merely illustrative, and the device can be used in any orientation, such that the end 22 is the distal end and the end 25 is the proximal end; therefore, for the Examiner is designated the claimed distal end with the disclosed “proximal end 22” and the claimed proximal end with the disclosed “distal end 25” for sake of the rejection);
an expandable section (frame 12) between the distal end and the proximal end (paragraph [0045] and Figs. 1 – 7) and having:
a collapsed state (collapsed configuration) (paragraphs [0045], [0056], [0068], and Fig. 2) in which the expandable section has an intermediate diameter (diameter shown in Fig. 2) that is substantially the same as a proximal diameter of the proximal end and a distal diameter of the distal end (diameters of the ends 25 and 22, respectively, Figs. 1 and 2); and
an expanded state (expanded state – shown in Fig. 1) in which the proximal diameter of the proximal end and the distal diameter of the distal end remain substantially unchanged (Fig. 1) while the intermediate diameter of the expandable section (frame 12) increases (Fig. 1); and
a membrane (membrane 20) covering a distal side (region 14) of the expandable section (frame 12) (Fig. 1) (Examiner’s note: as stated above, the Examiner is interpreting “proximal” discussed in the disclosure of Jancaric as “distal” and vice versa; therefore, although the region 14 is recited as the “proximal” region, it should be understood throughout the rejection as the “distal” region and vice versa), expandable upon expansion of the expandable section to the expanded state, and including at least one opening on a proximal side (side from the large diameter end of the membrane 20 to the end 25) of the expandable section (frame 12) that allows fluid to flow into the expandable section and against an inner surface of the membrane (Examiner’s note: the preceding limitation is an intended use limitation which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning in the manner claimed; with that said, the membrane 20, as discussed in paragraphs [0047 – 0048], has an open end which allows it to expand with increased pressure of fluid flow therethrough and is expandable to extend across the vessel lumen to completely block / occlude the fluid blood / fluid flow through the vessel).
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Forber (US 6,221,086 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Forber discloses an embolic implant (vascular occlusion 300) (abstract, col. 2 lines 46 – 67, col. 9 line 40 – col. 10 line 7, and Figs. 1,17,18), comprising:
a tube (tube made out of wires 22 – shown in Fig. 1, described in col. 9 lines 40 – 67) comprising:
a distal end (distal band – opposite proximal band 330 – Fig. 17, 18) and a proximal end (proximal band 330) (col. 9 line 40 – col. 10 line 7 and Figs. 17 – 18);
an expandable section (central section between proximal and distal ends – shown in Fig. 17; discussed in col. 5 lines 17 – 20) between the distal end and the proximal end (Figs. 1,17,18) and having:
a collapsed state (collapsed configuration) in which the expandable section has an intermediate diameter that is substantially the same as a proximal diameter of the proximal end and a distal diameter of the distal end (Examiner’s note: although not shown, because the occlusion device is made out of a self-expandable material, it inherently is compressible. Additionally, the term “substantially” is a broad term. Because the expandable section is compressible, it must decrease in size to a diameter that is “substantially” the same (i.e., relatively close to) as that of the proximal and distal ends. Therefore, it is said that Forber discloses the limitation above); and
an expanded state (expanded state – shown in Fig. 17) in which the proximal diameter of the proximal end and the distal diameter of the distal end remain substantially unchanged (Figs. 1, 17, 18) while the intermediate diameter of the expandable section (central section between proximal and distal ends) increases (Fig. 1,17,18); and
a membrane (film 320) covering a distal side of the expandable section (Examiner’s note: as shown in Figs. 17, 18, the film 320 covers the entire expandable section), expandable upon expansion of the expandable section to the expanded state (Fig. 17, 18), and including at least one opening on a proximal side (proximal side 350) of the expandable section that allows fluid to flow into the expandable section and against an inner surface of the membrane (col. 8 line 66 – col. 9 line 15, col. 10 lines 1 – 7, and Figs. 17,18);
[claim 9] wherein the membrane includes a plurality of openings (holes 340) on the proximal side (proximal side 350) of the expandable section (col. 10 lines 1 – 7 and Figs. 17,18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jancaric et al (US 2019/0262001 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Fojtik (US 2022/0183693 A1).
Regarding claim 5, as discussed above, Jancaric discloses the embolic implant of claim 4 above.
However, Jancaric is silent regarding (i) wherein the plurality of struts rotate upon expansion of the expandable element.
As to the above, Fojtik teaches, in the same field of endeavor, an embolic implant (occlusive device 10’) comprising a tube (hypotube) with a distal end, proximal end, and expandable section comprised of a plurality of struts that rotate upon expansion of the expandable section (abstract, paragraphs [0014 – 0016], [0074], and Figs. 9A-9C) for the purpose of enabling the occlusive device to engage the tissue (i.e., the blood vessel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the plurality of struts of Jancaric to rotate upon expansion of the expandable element, based on the teachings of Fojtik, for the purpose of enabling the occlusive device to engage the tissue (i.e., the blood vessel) (paragraph [0074] – Fojtik).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jancaric et al (US 2019/0262001 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McGuckin, Jr. et al (US 2016/0346453 A1).
Regarding claim 8, as discussed above, Jancaric discloses the embolic implant of claim 1 above. Additionally, Jancaric discloses wherein the expandable element comprises a shape memory alloy (Nitinol) (paragraph [0057]).
However, Jancaric is silent regarding (i) wherein the shape memory alloy (Nitinol) transitions from the collapsed state to the expanded state upon exposure to body temperature.
As to the above, McGuckin, Jr. teaches a vascular occlusion device (vascular device 10; which equates to the occlusive medical device 10 of Jancaric) comprising an expandable element (support structure 12; which equates to the frame 12 of Jancaric) comprised of shape memory material that transitions from the collapsed state to the expanded state upon exposure to body temperature (abstract, paragraphs [0018], [0036], and Figs. 1 – 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the expandable element of Jancaric to comprise a shape memory alloy that transitions from the collapsed state to the expanded state upon exposure to body temperature, based on the teachings of McGuckin, Jr., as it is a known biocompatible material with a known means of expanding said material known to be used within the vasculature, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Nitinol to be expandable via exposure to body temperature, and the results would have been obvious and resulted in the expandable element being able to expand at the desired location as intended.
Claims 13 and 15 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jancaric et al (US 2019/0262001 A1) as applied to claims 12 and 14 above, and further in view of Strauss et al (US 2012/0330348 A1).
Regarding claim 13, as discussed above, Jancaric discloses the embolic implant of claim 12 above. Additionally, does disclose, in paragraph [0046], securing a pull wire to the proximal end of the implant for the purpose of delivering the embolic implant.
However, Jancaric is silent regarding (i) wherein the coupler comprises a threaded coupler.
As to the above, Strauss teaches, in the same field of endeavor, an embolic implant (embolic implant 1500) comprising a distal end (distal end 102), a proximal end (proximal end 1510), an expandable section (wire frame structure / bars 104) extending therebetween, a threaded coupler (proximal end tubular portion with internal threads 1516) (abstract, paragraphs [0043], [0082], and Fig. 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the coupler of Jancaric to be a threaded coupler, based on the teachings of Strauss, for the purpose of being able to threadedly engage a threaded delivery catheter, so that the operator can release the embolic implant so that it can expand (paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, as discussed above, Jancaric discloses the embolic implant of claim 14 above. Additionally, does disclose, in paragraph [0046], securing a pull wire to the proximal end of the implant for the purpose of delivering the embolic implant.
However, Jancaric is silent regarding (i) [claim 15] wherein the detachment device engages and disengages a complementary coupler of the embolic implant and (ii) [claim 16] wherein the detachment device and the coupler are threaded.
As to the above, Strauss teaches, in the same field of endeavor, an embolic system (delivery catheter 210 and embolic implant 1500) comprising a delivery system (delivery catheter 210) including a wire (delivery catheter 210; which equates to the pull wire of Jancaric) and a detachment device (external threads 1502) at a distal end of the wire, an embolic implant (embolic implant 1500) comprising a distal end (distal end 102), a proximal end (proximal end 1510) with a complementary threaded coupler (proximal end tubular portion with internal threads 1516) that is engageable and disengageable with the detachment device, an expandable section (wire frame structure / bars 104) extending therebetween (abstract, paragraphs [0005 – 0006], [0043], [0082], and Fig. 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the coupler of Jancaric to be a complementary threaded coupler with external threads on the detachment device, based on the teachings of Strauss, as complementary threaded connections between two releasably connected parts that are intended to be releasably secured to each other is known (paragraph [0005] - Strauss); and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in threadedly connecting the pull wire and the embolic implant of Jancaric such that the results of the modification would have been predictable and resulted in the modified device being able to operate as intended.
Claims 17 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroeger et al (US 2020/0000476 A1) and in view of Fojtik (US 2022/0183693 A1).
Regarding claims 17 – 19, Kroeger discloses a method for positioning an embolic implant (vascular occlusion device) within a vessel (vessel 10) (abstract, paragraphs [0044], [0047], and Figs. 1 – 5), comprising:
advancing an embolic implant (occlusion device) with an expandable section (self-expanding frame 100) and a membrane (occlusive membrane 430) on a distal portion of the expandable section to a desired location within the vessel (paragraphs [0047], [0071], and Fig. 5) (Examiner’s note: paragraph [0047] recites wherein the occlusion device / self-expanding frame is delivered to the treatment site; therefore, the disclosure encompasses the step of advancing the embolic implant (occlusion device) to a desired location);
expanding the expandable section and the membrane to an expanded state (paragraph [0047] and Fig. 5);
allowing a flow to flow into a proximal portion of the expandable section (self-expandable frame 100) and into an interior of the membrane (membrane 430) (paragraph [0055]), a resulting fluid pressure within the interior of the membrane securing the membrane and the expandable section in place along a length of the vessel (paragraph [0055]).
However, Kroeger is silent the regarding the step of (i) [claims 17 and 18] advancing the embolic implant coupled to a distal end of a delivery wire of a delivery system, (ii) [claim 17] positive recitation of expanding the expandable section, (iii) [claim 17] releasing the embolic implant from the delivery system, and (iv) [claim 19] wherein releasing the embolic implant comprises causing a detachment device of the delivery system at the distal end of the delivery wire to release a coupler on a proximal end of the embolic implant.
As to the above, Fojtik teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a method for positioning an embolic implant (occlusive device 10) within a vessel comprising the steps of advancing the embolic implant (occlusive device 10) coupled to a distal end of a delivery wire (control wire 210) through the lumen of a delivery system (delivery device 200), expanding the embolic implant (occlusive device 10), releasing the embolic implant (occlusive device 10) by causing a detachment device (distal end 212) at the distal end of the delivery wire (control wire 210) to release a coupler (proximal end of the occlusive device 10) on a proximal end of the embolic implant (abstract, paragraphs [0018], [0098 – 0106], and Figs. 14A – 15H).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and system of Kroeger to incorporate the method steps above and further include the delivery system, as taught by Fojtik, for the purpose of being able to deliver the embolic implant of Kroeger into the vessel at the desired location.
Regarding claims 20 and 21, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the method and system of Kroeger to incorporate the delivery system of Fojtik. Additionally, Kroeger makes obvious the desire to recapture the embolic implant with the delivery system, and reposition the embolic implant to a second location within the vessel, and then redeploy the embolic implant (paragraph [0055]) for the purpose of overcoming vessel spasms due to immediate occlusion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method steps of Kroeger in view of Fojtik to further include the steps of recapturing, repositioning, and redeploying the implant to a secondary location for the purpose of overcoming vessel spasms due to immediate occlusion (paragraph [0055] – Kroeger).
Regarding claim 22, as discussed above, Kroeger and Fojtik teach the method of claim 20. Additionally, Kroeger teaches in paragraph [0044] wherein the vascular occlusion device (i.e., the embolic implant) is used for shutting off blood flow prior to organ resection, and in order to restore the normal blood flow through the vasculature after the organ resection the vascular occlusion device must be removed. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and system of Kroeger in view of Fojtik to incorporate the method step of removing the embolic implant from the vessel for the purpose of restoring blood flow to the vasculature after the procedure is completed.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Williams et al (US 2016/0206798 A1) and O’Brien et al (US 2017/0007260 A1) teach vascular occlusion devices with an expandable tube and a membrane.
Conclusion
/Andrew Restaino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771