DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 5 recites in the 3rd line of the claim “by heating the intake manifold by utilizing the waste heat from the engine, the fuel supplied from the storage unit to the engine is vaporized, or the vaporized fuel is maintained in a gaseous state”. It is unclear if the invention is now vaporizing the fuel twice, wherein claim 5 depends on claim 1, and claim 1 recites a vaporizer, that vaporizes fuel from a heat exchange medium, wherein the heat exchange medium is heated by utilizing waste heat from the engine. Wherein claim 1 recites “the vaporizer is configured to vaporize the fuel supplied from the storage unit to the engine by heating the fuel using the heat exchange medium.”. The Specification does not recite nor reasonably convey how one of ordinary skill in the art can vaporize a vaporized fuel. Wherein claim 1 recites the vaporizer is to vaporize the fuel and supply said fuel to the engine, and claim 5 further recites that the intake manifold is vaporizing the fuel, which has been already vaporized. The Specification does not recite multiple lines of fuel to go through multiple respective vaporizers, and does not recite how one can vaporize a vaporized fuel.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites in the 3rd line of the claim “by heating the intake manifold by utilizing the waste heat from the engine, the fuel supplied from the storage unit to the engine is vaporized, or the vaporized fuel is maintained in a gaseous state”. It is unclear if the invention is now vaporizing the fuel twice, wherein claim 5 depends on claim 1, and claim 1 recites a vaporizer, that vaporizes fuel from a heat exchange medium, wherein the heat exchange medium is heated by utilizing waste heat from the engine. Wherein claim 1 recites “the vaporizer is configured to vaporize the fuel supplied from the storage unit to the engine by heating the fuel using the heat exchange medium.” It is unclear if the fuel is vaporized in the heat exchanger, and then vaporized fuel is to enter an intake manifold to vaporize the vaporized fuel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown et al (US 8,857,162 hereinafter “Brown”)
In regards to claim 1:
Brown teaches an engine device that supplies a fuel to drive an engine (102), the engine device comprising: a storage unit (142) that stores the fuel in a liquid state, a vaporizer (152); and a heat exchanger (134) configured to heat a heat exchange medium (liquid 112) by utilizing waste heat (exhaust 120) from the engine and to supply the heat exchange medium (liquid 112) heated by the waste heat to the vaporizer (152), wherein the vaporizer (152) is configured to vaporize the fuel supplied from the storage unit to the engine by heating the fuel using the heat exchange medium (Figure 3 shows the steps 315-355 of directing exhaust to a heat exchanger to heat a coolant to a desired temperature and then using that heated coolant to vaporize liquid natural gas).
In regards to claim 2:
Brown teaches the vaporized fuel is maintained in a gaseous state by utilizing the waste heat from the engine.
In regards to claim 3:
Brown teaches the waste heat from the engine is heat of an exhaust gas of the engine (Step 315 recites the waste heat being exhaust and Figure 2 shows the exhaust from the engine being directed to the air to liquid heat exchanger 234).
In regards to claim 6:
Brown teaches part or all of a flow path of the fuel from the storage unit through to the engine is formed including a thermal insulation structure (Col 3, Line 59 – Col 4, Line 3 recites “LNG tank 144 is typically a double-walled, vacuum-insulated pressure vessel.” Wherein the part of the flow path at the storage unit is thermally insulated, and although a specific level of insulation is not recited by Brown or in the claims, the conduits that deliver the fuel to the engine will have a level of insulation, wherein all materials insulate to a degree and no materials have perfect insulation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown in view of Okura et al (US 4,099,502 hereinafter “Okura”).
In regards to claim 5:
Brown does not teach an intake manifold that supplies air to the engine
Okura teaches an intake manifold (33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the application for the engine of Brown to have an intake manifold as taught by Okura in order to collect the intake air. Furthermore, the language of “by heating the intake manifold” is functional language and although Brown does not explicitly teach an intake manifold, intake manifolds are common for engines. Okura further teaches that an intake manifold heated by waste heat from an engine (exhaust gases) to vaporize an air and fuel mixture in an intake manifold. And in this combination, any non-vaporized fuel that is to be delivered to the engine, will be heated to a vaporizing temperature prior to entering the combustion chamber of the engine.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown in view of Watanabe et al (US 2003/0188726 hereinafter “Watanabe”).
In regards to claim 7:
Brown does not teach a heater that performs heating when the engine is started in order to vaporize the fuel supplied from the storage unit to the engine.
Watanabe teaches a heater (first heater with plate-like heater 50) that performs heating when the engine is started in order to vaporize fuel supplied from a storage unit (24) to an engine (1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the application for the system of Brown to have a heater as taught by Watanabe in order to heat a fuel during a start up when the exhaust and coolant is still cold (Paragraph [0010] of Watanabe recites “preferably, the first heater is an electric heater, the second heater uses as a heat source heat generated from the internal combustion engine, the first heater vaporizes the fuel in starting the internal combustion engine, and the second heater vaporizes the fuel after warming up the internal combustion engine.”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown in view of Svensson et al (US 11,649,761 hereinafter “Svensson”).
In regards to claim 8:
Brown does not teach the fuel to be ammonia or methanol.
Svensson teaches a fuel that is methanol (Col 3 Lines 60-65 recites “The intake manifold 122 supplies a methanol/air mixture 126 comprising methanol 158 and air 130”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the application to have the fuel of Brown be methanol as taught by Svensson in order to provide a known alternative fuel for combustion in an engine with low production costs (Col 1, Lines 26-41 of Svensson recites “For example, methanol has relatively low production costs and can be less expensive to produce relative to other alternative fuels.”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-2 of Remarks, filed 7/7/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art. Applicant has amended the independent claim to recite that a vaporizer receives a heated medium, wherein the heated medium is first heated by waste heat from the engine. Newly found prior art addresses this limitation, wherein exhaust heat from the engine heats a coolant, and the heated coolant heats a fuel to be vaporized.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES J KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3747 /HUNG Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747