September 11, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 4, line 5, “the lower end (4") of said seat (4)” lacks antecedent basis. Applicant has not defined that the “seat” has a lower end. It appears that it should have been - - the lower end (4") of said
The aforementioned problem renders the claim vague and indefinite. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilkinson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,033,421 B2).
As for Claim 1, Wilkinson et al. teach a chair for user sitting, said chair comprising:
- a support structure (11), which is intended to be placed in abutment against a ground;
- a seat , which comprises, in a single body, a support portion (21), which is mounted
above said support structure (11), and a seat portion (13), which defines a seat surface in order to receive a user in seated position;
- a back (15), which is extended along a main extension direction, substantially vertical, between an upper end and an opposite lower end , and is hinged to the support portion of said seat around a hinging axis, at a hinging point 95 (See Figures 3a-3c and 3e below);
wherein said back (15) is rotatable around said hinging axis between at least one rest position (SGU), in which said back (15) is placed substantially vertical, and at least one reclined position (SGR);
wherein said back (15) is mechanically connected to the scat portion (13) of said seat, at a connection point, in order to move said seat portion (13), along at least one translation
direction (see annotated Fig. 3c above) substantially orthogonal to the main extension direction of said back (15), following the rotation of said back (15) around said hinging axis;
wherein said hinging point is placed in proximity to the lower end of said back (15), and said connection point is placed above said hinging point, between said hinging point and the upper end of said back (15);
wherein said seat comprises elastic return elements, which are integral with said support portion and said seat portion (13) of said seat and comprise at least two elastic leaf springs, each of which comprises a central portion , which is fixed to said support portion, and two lateral wings (91,93), which are extended projecting from opposite sides of said central portion and are extended up to respective ends fixed to said seat portion (13);
wherein the lateral wings (91,93) of said leaf springs is extended starting from said central portion, moving away from said back (15), and being tilted with respect to an axis substantially orthogonal to the seat surface of said seat portion (13)substantially orthogonal to the scat surface of said scat portion (32);
wherein said lateral wings (91,93) are configured for being elastically bent following the translation of said seat portion 13 along said translation direction (see Figures 3b and 3e that show the lateral wings 91,93 being elastically bent ), and for exerting an elastic return force on said seat portion (13) in order to force said back (15) to rotate towards said rest position; wherein said lateral wings (91,93) are flexible between: a first position, in which said lateral wings (91,93) are placed tilted with respect to said axis by a rest angle, and a second position, of bending, in which said lateral wings (91,93) are placed tilted with respect to said axis by an operative angle, which is smaller than said rest angle.
wherein said lateral wings (91,93) are configured for being elastically bent following the translation of said seat portion (13) along said translation direction, and for exerting an elastic return force on said seat portion (13) in order to force said back (15) to rotate towards said rest position (SGU);
wherein said lateral wings (91,93) are flexible between:
-a first position, in which said lateral wings (91,93) are placed tilted with respect to said axis by a rest angle , and
a second position, of bending, in which said lateral wings (91,93) are placed tilted with
respect to said axis by an operative angle, which is smaller than said rest angle.
As for Claim 2, Wilkinson et al. further comprises at least one connecting rod (49), which is pivoted to said back and to said seat portion in order to kinematically connect said back (15) to the seat portion (13) of said seat at said connection point.
As for Claim 3, Wilkinson et al. teach that said back (15) is provided with a first housing seat and said seat portion (13) is provided with a second housing seat, and said connecting rod (49) is partially housed in the first housing seat of said back (15) and in the second housing seat said seat portion (13).
As for Claim 4, Wilkinson et al. teach that said back (15) is provided with: a main portion (41), substantially vertical, which is extended along said main extension direction between said upper end and a bent portion (See annotated Fig. 3d above); and a connection portion (49), which is placed transverse to said main portion and is extended between said bent portion and the lower end of said seat; wherein said hinging point (I) is placed on the connection portion (43) of said back (4), and said connection point (C) is placed on the main portion (41) of said back (4).
As for Claim 5, Wilkinson et al. teach that the support portion of said seat is placed below said seat portion (13), towards said support structure (11), and that said elastic return elements are interposed between said support portion 21 and the seat portion (13) of said seat.
As for Claim 6, Wilkinson et al. teach that the support portion of said seat is extended along a main extension direction, between a rear end, at which said back (15) is hinged, and an opposite front end; wherein said elastic return elements comprise a rear leaf spring (91), fixed at the rear end of the support portion of said seat, and a front leaf spring (93), fixed at the front end of the support portion of said seat.
As for Claim 7, Wilkinson et al. teach that said rear leaf spring (91) is placed tilted with a first rest angle with respect to said axis, and that said front leaf spring (93) is placed tilted with a second rest angle with respect to said axis, and said second rest angle is greater than said first rest angle.
As for Claim 8, Wilkinson et al. teach that said seat portion (13) is extended, parallel to said main extension direction of said support portion, between a rear side, fixed to said back (15), and an opposite front side; wherein said front leaf spring is placed with said lateral wings (93) fixed at the front side of said seat portion.
As for Claim 9, Wilkinson et al. teach that the support portion of said seat is constrained to said support structure (11) and integral with the latter for movements of said seat portion (13) along said translation direction.
As for Claim 10, Wilkinson et al. teach that each said elastic leaf spring defines four virtual hinging points, including two first virtual hinging points between the central portion of said elastic leaf spring and the support portion of said seat, and two second virtual hinging points between the seat portion of said seat and the lateral wings of the corresponding said leaf spring.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention.
/Rodney B White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636