DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action in response to communications received on 03/16/2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority or Provisional
Priority to 09/19/2022 is recognized.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 03/16/2025 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “…the first transmission unit is associated with…”, which lacks antecedent basis, therefore makes the claim indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 recites “…the second transmission unit through the…”, which lacks antecedent basis, therefore makes the claim indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 recites “…the first transmission unit through the transmission path and configured to …. through the transmission path to the first transmission unit”, which lacks antecedent basis, therefore makes the claim indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 recites “…near field communication along the transmission path”, which lacks antecedent basis, therefore makes the claim indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Thomas (WO 2016/180622), in view of Johannes (EP 2 614 980).
Regarding claim 1, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
An arrangement, comprising: Thomas, Para. [0002], teaches “ The present invention relates to an interface arrangement for data, signal and/or voice transmission…”.
a system component of a rail vehicle; Thomas, Paras. [0002], [0026], teaches that the arrangement connects components of a rail vehicle, such as an adjacent first car body and second car body, which house internal components such as brake control and door controls.
a plug connection between the system component of the rail vehicle and the rail vehicle, Thomas, Paras. [0002], [0026]-[0029], Fig. 2, teaches an electrical contact coupling (i.e., plug connection) that interfaces the system of a first car body with the adjacent car body (the rest of the rail vehicle).
wherein the plug connection is configured as an intelligent plug connection Thomas, Paras. [0002], [0012]-[0016], [0026]-[0029], [0033], [0039], Fig. 2, teaches that the electrical interface uses data bus cabling capable of software configurability and diagnostics, rendering the connection “intelligent”. And further teaches utilizing non-contact, wear-free technologies across the coupling interface as an alternative to data bus connectors (i.e., including a wireless ….).
Thomas does not explicitly disclose:
including a wireless transmission path. Johannes, Paras. [0024]-[0029], teaches a contactless connector system that explicitly integrates a wireless data transmission path within the physical plug and receptacle structure.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the intelligent plug connection of Thomas with the integrated wireless data transmission mechanism as taught by Johannes, to eliminate the wear and tear in traditional rail coupling, in order to provide design flexibility.
Regarding claim 2, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claim 1. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the intelligent plug connection includes: a first transmission unit, Thomas teaches the arrangement comprising an intelligent plug connection with a wireless transmission path, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Johannes, Paras. [0024]-[0028], teaches a contactless connector system including a connector (i.e., a first transmission unit) comprising a primary side for transmitting power and data.
a second transmission unit including, Johannes, Paras. [0024]-[0029], teaches a mating receptacle 104 (i.e., a second transmission unit) comprising a secondary side of receiving power and data.
the wireless transmission path, and a shielding, Johannes, Paras. [0024]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], teaches the communication and power transfer occurs wirelessly between the two units. And further teaches providing shielding structures to protect and isolate the transmission components, via hermetic enclosures (acting as shielding) and ferromagnetic cores (acting as electromagnetic shielding to close the magnetic path).
wherein the wireless transmission path and the shielding are arranged between the first transmission unit and the second transmission unit. Johannes, Paras. [0024]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], Figs. 2-4, teaches that the wireless data and power transmission crosses the physical boundary between the primary and secondary sides, and the hermetic enclosures (shielding) are disclosed physically at the mating interface, separating the components of the connector 102 and receptacle 104.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the intelligent non-contact plug connections of Thomas to include the arrangement of the first and second transmission units and the shielding as taught by Johannes, to provide waterproof and weather proof connector, in order to be used in rough environment.
Regarding claim 3, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claim 1. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the wireless transmission path is a bidirectional transmission path. Thomas teaches that the non-contact transmission path is utilized to replace data bus cabling that support network communications, such as “Ethernet networks”.
Johannes, Paras. [0028]-[0030], teaches that the wireless data connection, between the connector and the receptacle supports data exchanges, such as “authentication and identification” as well as processing “payment” in public locations.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the wireless transmission path of the combined prior arts to be a bidirectional transmission path, to enable two-way communications, in order to support network topologies.
Regarding claim 4, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claim 1. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the first transmission unit is associated with the system component and connected with sensors, switches, and/or other electrical / electronic / electromechanical functional units of the system component Thomas, Paras. [0026]-[0028], teaches that the first transmission unit (the coupling contact on the first car body) is associated with the rail vehicle’s components and is connected to various discrete electromechanical functional units within the vehicle, such as brake and door control systems.
by electrically conductive connections hardwired by accordingly adapted cables. Thomas, Paras. [0031]-[0036], teaches that the routing from the functional units to the coupling contact interface is achieved by using hardwired electrical cables, teaching the use of adapted data bus cabling, such as electrically conductive Ethernet networks, categorized by specific electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) requirements.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 5, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 4. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement according to The arrangement according to wherein the first transmission unit is configured to receive electrical energy provided by the second transmission unit through the wireless transmission path, Thomas, Paras. [0026]-[0028], teaches that the contactless connector system transmits electrical energy wirelessly from a power supplying unit (the second transmission unit) to a receiving unit (the first transmission unit) via inductive coupling
receive data signals of the sensors, the switches, and/ or other electrical / electronic / electromechanical functional units of the system component Thomas teaches the coupling contact receives data and signals from the hardwired functional units of the vehicle, such as the brake control and door control system, as discussed in the rejection of claim 4.
through the wireless transmission path, and process and transmit the received data signals of the sensors, and/or the switches of the system component through the wireless transmission path to the second transmission unit. Johannes, Paras. [0028]-[0030], teaches that the wireless communication path is utilized to process and transmit data originated from the receiving load (the first transmission unit) back across the wireless path to the power supplying unit (the second transmission unit).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the intelligent plug connection with the inductive power transfer and bidirectional wireless data transmission of the combined prior arts, to provide a wear-free interface, in order to maintain the communications required between the rail cars.
Regarding claim 6, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 4-5. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement according to claim 5, wherein the first transmission units configured to receive data signals of the sensors, the switches, and/or other electrical / electronic / electromechanical functional units of the system component, and to transmit data signals from the second transmission unit in an opposite transmission direction to the sensors, and/or the switches of the system component. Thomas, Paras. [0033]-[0036], teaches that the interface arrangement utilizes a unified “data bus cabling”, stating: “Ethernet networks”, to replace traditional discrete wiring: “By using a reduced number of data bus-based connections as cabling 3, an improvement in maintainability, diagnostic capability, configurability (software) and scalability of the entire interface arrangement 1 can be achieved”, “The data networks can be implemented as examples of Ethernet networks …”.
Johannes, Paras. [0028]-[0030], [0039], supports bidirectional routing across the contactless interface by stating: “Apart from authentication and identification, also safety features can be incorporated, such as a transmission from the load to the power supply that the charging is completed ..”, “Data transmission means additionally allow automated control and authentication before, during and after the charging process”. Performing authentication and automated control, across a wireless RF or optical link requires a two-way handshake.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 5 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 7, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 4-5. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement according to claim 5, wherein the second transmission unit is associated with the rail vehicle Thomas, Paras. [0029]-[0034], “…the interface arrangement 1 shown schematically in FIG. 2 according to the invention serves for data, signal and/or voice transmission between two adjacent car bodies A, B of a multi-section vehicle, …”, “…according to the invention shown schematically in FIG. 2, the electrical contact coupling 10 assigned to the first car body A is…”.
and configured to receive data signals of the sensors, the switches and/or other electrical / electronic / electromechanical functional units of the system component transmitted by the first transmission unit through the transmission path Thomas, Paras. [0026]-[0029], “For example, the first coupling contact 102.1 serves to transmit data and/or signals from…”, “Apart from authentication and identification, also safety features can be incorporated,…”.
and configured to provide electrical energy through the transmission path to the first transmission unit. Johannes, Paras. [0024]-[0030], “A contactless connector 102 according to the present invention has a primary side coil 106 which…”, “…for guiding the magnetic field generated by the primary side coil 106…”.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 5 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 8, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 4-5, 7. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement according to claim 7, wherein the second transmission unit is connected with a control unit Johannes, Paras. [0030]-[0033], “According to the embodiment envisaged in this drawing, the connector 102 is connected directly to the charging circuitry of the power supply via the cable 136,…”.
which provides electrical energy received from the rail vehicle to the second transmission unit Johannes, Paras. [0013], [0024], [0033], “A contactless connector 102 according to the present invention has a primary side coil 106…” connected to a feeding power source, for being inductively coupled to at least one secondary side coil”, which provides the electrical energy to the transmission unit for wireless transfer.
and which is configured to receive and process data signals of the sensors, the switches, and/or other electrical / electronic / electromechanical functional units of the system component provided by the second transmission unit. Johannes, Paras. [0013], [0028], [0039], “…safety features can be incorporated, such as a transmission from the load to the power supply that the charging is completed or that overload conditions have occurred”, “Data transmission means additionally allow automated control and authentication before, during and after the charging process”.
Thomas, Paras. [0026]-[0029], teaches that the vehicle-side interface routes signals to central vehicle control units, that process the data.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 5 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 8. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement according to claim 8, wherein the second transmission unit is configured to receive and transmit data signals from the first transmission unit and to the first transmission unit. Johannes teaches that the power supplying unit is configured to receive data signals from the load (the first transmission unit) regarding charging status and overload conditions, as discussed in the rejection of claim 8.
Johannes, Paras. [0030]-[0039], “Data transmission means additionally allow automated control and authentication before, during and after the charging process”, teaches that the data communication channel supports two-way, bidirectional interactions.
Thomas, Paras. [0033]-[0036], similarly teaches that the interface arrangement utilizes “Ethernet networks”, to provide “diagnostic capability” and “configurability (software)”
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 5 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 10, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 8. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement according to claim 7, wherein the control unit is hardwired to a control device of the rail vehicle Johannes, Paras. [0030]-[0039]. And Thomas, Paras. [0027]-[0028].
to provide data communication of data signals of the sensors, the switches, and/or other electrical / electronic / electromechanical functional units of the system component Thomas, Paras. [0027]-[0028], teaches that the hardwired connections routes the data signals into the rail vehicle’s network.
and to provide electrical energy, Johannes, Para. [0033], teaches that the hardwired cable connection links the transmission unit to the power supply circuitry to provide the required electrical energy.
wherein the data signals are provided by the second transmission unit. Thomas in view of Johannes teaches that the second transmission unit receives data signals wirelessly from the first transmission unit, and provides them to the power supply, as discussed in the rejection of claim 7.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 5 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 11, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement according to claim 10, wherein the control device includes processing electronics for received data signals. Thomas, Paras. [0033]-[0036], teaches that the control devices of the vehicle network process data bus signals, to execute software-driven tasks.
Johannes, Paras. [0028]-[0030], teaches that the received data are processed to perform security, such as authentication and identification, etc.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 5 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 12, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement 1 according to claim 10, wherein the control unit is connected at the control device of the rail vehicle for data communications through bidirectional connections at the interfaces of the control device of the rail vehicle. Thomas, Paras. [0033]-[0036], teaches that the data communications are implemented via standard data bus networks, stating: “…examples of Ethernet networks with an exemplary assigned link class “D” (ISO/IEC 11801)”.
Johannes, Paras. [0028]-[0030], teaches that the data communication channel supports two-way, bidirectional interactions, such as the load transmitting status updates to the power supply and the system performing automated authentication.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 5 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 13, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement 1 according to claim 10, wherein the control device of the rail vehicle is connected with a bus system of the rail vehicle. Thomas, Paras. [0012]-[0017], teaches that the control devices and networks that process the data are connected to and form part of the data bus systems of the vehicle. And further teaches that the routing is in the form of “parallel data bus networks”, to distribute signals.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 5 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 14, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 2. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement 1 according to claim 2, wherein the first transmission unit and the second transmission unit are configured for wireless communication or near field communication along the transmission path. Thomas, Paras. [0033]-[0039], teaches that the coupling contacts are configured to use non-contact technologies that rely of wireless or near-field communications.
Johannes, Paras. [0028]-[0030], claim 5, teaches that the data transmission path are established between the connector and receptacle utilizes wireless and near-field communications, such as “radio frequency, inductive, capacitive, and/or optical data transmission”.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 15, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 2. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement according to claim 2, wherein the first transmission unit and the second transmission unit are configured to perform wireless transmission of electrical energy through the wireless transmission path by inductive charging. Thomas, Paras. [0013]-[0017], [0026], [0039], teaches that the contactless connector, comprising first and second transmission units, utilizes primary and secondary coils configured to wirelessly transmit electrical energy via “inductive technologies”.
Johannes, Paras. [0025]-[0027], teaches that power transmission components to be completely covered by “a hermetic overmolding” and “encased hermetically within a housing”.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 16, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 2. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement 1 according to claim 2, wherein the first transmission unit, the second transmission unit, and the wireless transmission path are arranged in the shielding. Thomas, Paras. [0007]-[0012], teaches the EMC line categories.
Johannes, Paras. [0016]-[0025], [0031]-[0036], teaches that the first transmission unit (connector 102), the second transmission unit (receptacle 104), and the wireless transmission path between them are arranged within shielding structures to protect the connections. And further teaches utilizing hermetic enclosures, where the receptacle housing acts as a shield into where the connectors and wireless path are arranged during mating. Also teaches shielding using ferromagnetic cores that enclose the coils and the wireless transmission path.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 17, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 16. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement 1 according to claim 16, wherein the shielding is configured as a housing or the shielding is arranged in or at a housing or additionally in the housing or about the housing. Thomas, Paras. [0004], teaches that the interface arrangement itself utilizes outer housing to protect the components from the environment.
Johannes, Paras. [0016]-[0027], [0034]-[0036], teaches that the shielding structures are configured as housing, and that the electromagnetic shielding is arranged in a housing.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 18, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claim 1. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement 1 according to claim 1, wherein the intelligent plug connection is arranged at an interface between the rail vehicle and the system component, or between a console or support connected with the rail vehicle and the system component. Thomas, Paras. [0002]-[0004], [0029], teaches that the intelligent plug connection is arranged at the interface between adjacent car bodies. And further teaches that the contact coupling is arranged at the interface between car body “A” and car body “B”, to route signals to internal units like the brake control.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 19, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10. Thomas in view of Johannes discloses:
The arrangement according to claim 10, wherein the intelligent plug connection with the wireless transmission path forms an interruption of a galvanic connection between the sensors, switches, and/or other electrical / electronic / electromechanical functional units of the system component of the rail vehicle through connection conductors of the sensors, switches, and/or other electrical / electronic / electromechanical functional units of the system component and the control device of the rail vehicle. Thomas teaches that the functional units on one side of the coupling are hardwired to the first transmission unit, and the control device on the adjacent vehicle side is hardwired to the second transmission unit, and the wireless transmission path bridges the gap between them, as discussed in the rejection of claim 10. Thomas, Paras. [0007]-[0012], teaches the necessity of managing EMC and separate cables of EMC categories.
Johannes, Paras. [0007]-[0012], [0027], [0032]-[0036], teaches that utilizing the wireless/contactless transmission path interrupts the electrical circuit, forming a complete galvanic separation between the hardwired components on the primary and secondary sides of the interface. And further teaches that the galvanic separation provides a secure interface, to protect the components in harsh environments.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 5 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Thomas (WO 2016/180622), in view of Johannes (EP 2 614 980), and further in view of Mathieu (10,071,715).
Regarding claim 20, Thomas in view of Johannes discloses the limitations of claim 1. Thomas-Johannes and Mathieu disclose:
A rail vehicle, comprising: the system component configured as the brake caliper, wherein the rail vehicle includes the arrangement according to claim 1. Thomas, Paras. [0002]-[0004], [0026]-[0028], teaches implementing the interface arrangement in a rail vehicle. And further teaches that the interface arrangement and its coupling contacts connect and transmit signals for the vehicle’s braking system, such as brake control and emergency braking systems as the functional system components utilizing the interface.
Mathieu, Col. 3, ll. 40-56, Col. 10, ll. 29-38, Fig. 3a, teaches a rail vehicle brake system where the components such as measurement sensors and their associated interfaces, are mounted directly on the brake caliper to monitor braking forces.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the system components of Thomas-Johannes for the sensor interface 300 of Mathieu’s brake caliper, in order to ensure the brake sensor data links do not fail in the severe conditions of the rail vehicle.
References Considered But Not Relied Upon
Cooper (US 2022/0266876) teaches a system and method including a first control system and a second control system, where the processors communicate a wireless linking message, including a request to establish a communication link, to the remote vehicle based on the vehicle identifier associated with the remote vehicle.
Partovi (US 2013/0119928) teaches a system and method for intelligent charging of multiple electric or electronic devices with a multi-dimensional inductive charger.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are rejected.
The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 9:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615