DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a remote device” in claim 1;
After reviewing the specification, the remote device appears to be drawn to a smartphone or a tablet, or known equivalents, per paragraph [0173]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7-9, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Franceschetti (US 2016/0310697)
Regarding claim 1, Franceschetti teaches a sleep promotion system (see at least Abstract, paragraph [0011]) comprising: at least one body sensor (210, Fig. 2, paragraph [0046]); at least one smart appliance (see Fig. 12, see paragraph [0070]); and at least one processor in communication with the at least one body sensor and the at least one smart appliance (230, Fig. 2, paragraph [0046]), the at least one processor configured to: receive sensor data from the at least one body sensor (see paragraph [0046]); determine a sleep state and/or a sleep stage for a user based on the sensor data (see paragraph [0062]); and cause a change in one or more settings of the at least one smart appliance based on the sleep state and/or sleep stage of the user (see paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 5, Franceschetti teaches a sleep promotion system of claim 1, wherein the sleep state includes an awake state of the user and an asleep state of the user (see paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 7, Franceschetti teaches a sleep promotion system of claim 1, wherein the sensor data includes heart rate (see paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 8, Franceschetti teaches a sleep promotion system of claim 1, wherein the at least one smart appliance includes one or more light bulbs and/or a thermostat (see paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 9, Franceschetti teaches a sleep promotion system comprising: at least one body sensor (210, Fig. 2, paragraph [0046]); at least one smart appliance (see Fig. 12, see paragraph [0070]); and at least one processor in communication with the at least one body sensor and the at least one smart appliance (230, Fig. 2, paragraph [0046]), the at least one processor configured to: receive sensor data from the at least one body sensor (see paragraph [0046]); determine a sleep state and/or a sleep stage for a user based on the sensor data (see paragraph [0062]); and cause a change in one or more settings of the at least one smart appliance based on the sleep state and/or sleep stage of the user (see paragraph [0065]), wherein the at least one smart appliance includes one or more light bulbs and/or a thermostat (see paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 13, Franceschetti teaches the sleep promotion system of claim 9, wherein the sleep state includes an awake state of the user and an asleep state of the user (see paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 15, Franceschetti teaches the sleep promotion system of claim 9, wherein the sensor data includes respiration rate, heart rate (paragraph [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franceschetti in view of Oexman (US 8,768,520).
Regarding claim 2, Franceschetti teaches a sleep promotion system of claim 1, but does not teach the at least one processor is further configured to generate a sleep score for the user based on sensor data.
Oexman teaches a system for providing sleep data (Oexman, Title) which teaches generating sleep score based on monitoring of the user's body (Oexman, Fig. 6, see col. 6, lines 43-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Franceschetti with generating a sleep score for an individual, as taught by Oexman, in order to provide the user with a direct metric on how their sleep is progressing.
Regarding claim 3, Franceschetti as modified teaches a sleep promotion system of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the change in the one or more settings of the at least one smart appliance based on the sleep score (through the combination of references, wherein the change in the setting of the at least one smart appliance is determined based on the sleep score of the at least one individual, as the sleep score must require wake/sleep windows in order to provide a complete score, therefore determining the setting of the smart appliance).
Regarding claim 4, Franceschetti as modified teaches a sleep promotion system of claim 2, wherein the sleep score is based on at least an amount of time the user has slept and/or an amount of time the user has been in deep sleep (Oexman, Fig. 6, see col. 6, lines 43-60).
Regarding claim 10, Franceschetti teaches the sleep promotion system of claim 9, but does not teach the at least one processor is further configured to generate a sleep score for the user based on sensor data.
Oexman teaches a system for providing sleep data (Oexman, Title) which teaches generating sleep score based on monitoring of the user's body (Oexman, Fig. 6, see col. 6, lines 43-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Franceschetti with generating a sleep score for an individual, as taught by Oexman, in order to provide the user with a direct metric on how their sleep is progressing.
Regarding claim 11, Franceschetti as modified teaches the sleep promotion system of claim 10, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the change in the one or more settings of the at least one smart appliance based on the sleep score (through the combination of references, wherein the change in the setting of the at least one smart appliance is determined based on the sleep score of the at least one individual, as the sleep score must require wake/sleep windows in order to provide a complete score, therefore determining the setting of the smart appliance).
Regarding claim 12, Franceschetti as modified teaches the sleep promotion system of claim 10, wherein the sleep score is based on at least an amount of time the user has slept and/or an amount of time the user has been in deep sleep (Oexman, Fig. 6, see col. 6, lines 43-60).
Claims 6 and 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franceschetti in view of Scorcioni (US 2016/0136385).
Regarding claim 6, Franceschetti teaches a sleep promotion system of claim 1, but does not teach the at least one processor is further configured to receive a user profile comprising the one or more settings.
Scorcioni teaches a system for conditioning sleep environment (Scorioni, Title) which generates a user profile based off of historical data, user preferences, and physical characteristics compiled by a user sensor (see Scorioni, paragraph [0103]), and determine a wake up for the user (Scorcioni, paragraph [0143]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Franceschetti as modified with generating a user profile that can determine a wake up time for the user, as taught by Scorcioni, in order to provide the user with greater personalization with the system thereby enhancing the user experience.
Regarding claim 14, Franceschetti as modified teaches the sleep promotion system of claim 9, but does not teach the at least one processor is further configured to receive a user profile comprising the one or more settings.
Scorcioni teaches a system for conditioning sleep environment (Scorioni, Title) which generates a user profile based off of historical data, user preferences, and physical characteristics compiled by a user sensor (see Scorioni, paragraph [0103]), and determine a wake up for the user (Scorcioni, paragraph [0143]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Franceschetti as modified with generating a user profile that can determine a wake up time for the user, as taught by Scorcioni, in order to provide the user with greater personalization with the system thereby enhancing the user experience.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franceschetti (US 2016/0310697) in view of Scorcioni (US 2016/0136385).
Regarding claim 16, Franceschetti teaches a sleep promotion system comprising: at least one body sensor (210, Fig. 2, paragraph [0046]); at least one smart appliance see Fig. 12, see paragraph [0070]); and at least one processor in network communication with the at least one body sensor and the at least one smart appliance (230, Fig. 2, paragraph [0046]), wherein the at least one body sensor is operable to generate and transmit sensor data for at least one individual to the at least one processor in real time (see paragraph [0046]); wherein the at least one processor is operable to determine a sleep state and/or a sleep stage for the at least one individual based on the sensor data (see paragraph [0065]).
Franceschetti does not teach:
wherein the at least one processor is operable to generate at least one user profile, wherein the at least one user profile is associated with the at least one smart appliance, wherein the at least one user profile includes settings associated with the at least one smart appliance, wherein the settings include commands for the at least one smart appliance upon detection that the at least one individual has fallen asleep or woken up.
Scorcioni teaches a system for conditioning sleep environment (Scorioni, Title) which generates a user profile based off of historical data, user preferences, and physical characteristics compiled by a user sensor (see Scorioni, paragraph [0103]), and determine a wake up for the user (Scorcioni, paragraph [0143]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Franceschetti as modified with generating a user profile that can determine a wake up time for the user, as taught by Scorcioni, in order to provide the user with greater personalization with the system thereby enhancing the user experience.
Through the combination, Franceschetti as modified teaches “wherein the at least one user profile includes settings associated with the at least one smart appliance, wherein the settings include commands for the at least one smart appliance upon detection that the at least one individual has fallen asleep or woken up” as Scorcioni teaches the user profile and Franceschetti teaches adjusting a smart appliance through the sensing of user’s wake state (paragraph [0061]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 17, Franceschetti as modified teaches the sleep promotion system of claim 16, but does not teach the at least one processor is operable to generate a sleep score for the at least one individual based on the sensor data.
Oexman teaches a system for providing sleep data (Oexman, Title) which teaches generating sleep score based on monitoring of the user's body (Oexman, Fig. 6, see col. 6, lines 43-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Franceschetti with generating a sleep score for an individual, as taught by Oexman, in order to provide the user with a direct metric on how their sleep is progressing.
Regarding claim 18, Franceschetti as modified teaches the sleep promotion system of claim 17, wherein at least one of the settings is dependent upon the sleep score of the at least one individual (met through the combination).
Regarding claim 19, Franceschetti as modified teaches the sleep promotion system of claim 17, wherein the sleep score is based on at least an amount of time the at least one individual has slept and/or an amount of time the at least one individual has been in deep sleep (Oexman, Fig. 6, see col. 6, lines 43-60).
Regarding claim 20, Franceschetti as modified teaches the sleep promotion system of claim 16, wherein the at least one smart appliance includes one or more light bulbs and/or a thermostat (Franscechetti, paragraph [0066]).
Conclusion
/NAEL N BABAA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763