DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 1, of the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, of US Patent 12,255,703 B2, as being described below. The patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Instant Application 19/080,898.
US Patent 12,255,703 B2
1. A wireless-wireline physically converged system, the wireless-wireline physically converged system comprising: a baseband unit; a wireline segment coupled to the baseband unit, the wireline segment comprising an intermediate transceiver, a distribution transceiver, and a wireline cable coupling the intermediate transceiver to the distribution transceiver; and a wireless segment coupled to the wireline segment by the distribution transceiver, the wireless segment comprising at least one wireless channel communicatively coupling the distribution transceiver to at least one user equipment, wherein the intermediate transceiver: obtains at least one parameter of the wireline segment, and configures at least one setting related to an antenna array within the distribution receiver based at least in part on the at least one parameter of the wireline portion.
1. A wireless-wireline physically converged system, the wireless-wireline physically converged system comprising: a baseband unit; a wireline segment coupled to the baseband unit, the wireline segment comprising an intermediate transceiver, a distribution transceiver, and a wireline cable coupling the intermediate transceiver to the distribution transceiver; and a wireless segment coupled to the wireline segment by the distribution transceiver, the wireless segment comprising at least one wireless channel communicatively coupling the distribution transceiver to at least one user equipment, wherein the intermediate transceiver: obtains at least one parameter of the wireline segment, and configures at least one setting related to an antenna array within the distribution transceiver based at least in part on the at least one parameter of the wireline segment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, recites the limitation "the distribution receiver" in lines 12-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coiffi (US PGPUB 2021/0099277 A1) and further in view of Campos (US PGPUB 2014/0233672 A1).
As per claim 1, Cioffi discloses a wireless-wireline physically converged system (Cioffi, Figs. 1A-2, and paragraph 33), the wireless-wireline physically converged system comprising:
a baseband unit (Coiffi, Fig. 2:210, and paragraph 40);
a wireline segment coupled to the baseband unit (Coiffi, Fig. 2, connection between 210 and 220, and paragraph 40, discloses FIG. 2's RAN baseband system 210 functionality appears physically at the point where the northbound wireline link terminates (even if that baseband functionality is virtualized in software at another location) via Common Public Radio Interfaces (CPRI) or other X-Haul methods known to one of skill in the art), the wireline segment comprising an intermediate transceiver (Cioffi, Fig. 2:220, and paragraph 40, discloses The RAN baseband system is not modified with respect to those in use, the 5G-IF 220 accepts the baseband signals prior to RF conversion and translates them for downlink/uplink transmission on FIG. 2's twisted pair 230. Alternatively, for cases where the RAN baseband is not readily available, the 5G-IF is preceded by a downlink demodulator 260 (and uplink re-modulator)), a distribution transceiver (Coiffi, Fig. 2:240), and a wireline cable coupling the intermediate transceiver to the distribution transceiver (Coiffi, Fig. 2:230); and
a wireless segment coupled to the wireline segment by the distribution transceiver, the wireless segment comprising at least one wireless channel communicatively coupling the distribution transceiver to at least one user equipment (Coiffi, Fig. 2:240:250, and paragraph 43, discloses The wireless 5G-RF signals propagate to/from the wireless end device 250),
wherein the intermediate transceiver:
obtains at least one parameter of the wireline segment (Coiffi, paragraphs 43, 45, and 65, discloses a wireline channel-sounding procedure that will produce a rough estimate of the signal bandwidth that the wireline link can support, as well as determine the group delay), and
Coiffi discloses an intermediate transceiver as being explained above, however, does not explicitly disclose (intermediate transceiver) configures at least one setting related to an antenna array within the distribution receiver based at least in part on the at least one parameter of the wireline portion.
Campos discloses intermediate transceiver (Campos, Fig. 1:30) configures at least one setting related to an antenna array within the distribution receiver based at least in part on the at least one parameter of the wireline portion (Campos. Paragraphs 40-41, discloses At least some of the controllable aspects of the remote antenna unit 500 are labeled as transmit (Tx) frequency (freq) control, gain control, Rx beam control, Tx beam control and Rx freq control. Each of these controllable features may be controlled with the engine 504 as a function information recovered from the intermediary signaling (signaling over the wireline medium 34) and/or transmitted thereto from the signal processor 12 and/or master controller 20. The engine 504 may operate in this manner to facilitate implementing the various signal manipulations contemplated by the present invention to facilitate interfacing between the wireless medium 110 and the wired medium 34. The engine 504 may dynamically vary the related controls according to a current network MAP or other operational constraints, optionally in a manner sufficient to achieve essentially real-time adjustments necessary to facilitate interface multiple feeds and/or signaling through a plurality of antenna ports 510, 512, 514, 516).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Coiffi teachings by setting the parameters of antenna array in a transceiver, as taught by Campos.
The motivation would be to provide an improved communication system with reduced cost (paragraph 42), as taught by Compos.
Conclusion
/SYED HAIDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633