DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. feeding assembly, dispensing assembly, driver, and a refrigeration assembly in at least claim 1.
Feeding assembly is interpreted to cover a tube as per claim 2; and equivalents thereof.
Dispensing assembly is interpreted to cover a dispensing plate as per claim 4; and equivalents thereof.
Driver is interpreted to cover a motor as per para [0022] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Refrigeration assembly is interpreted to cover a compressor, a condenser, and an evaporator as per para [0023] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 calls for the limitation “a third opening” (line 4); which limitation is indefinite as it is unclear as to how a third opening is introduced in the claim when there is no prior recitation of first and second openings. It raises some confusion as to whether elements are omitted in the claim.
To overcome this issue; applicant is encouraged to change the dependency of claim 4 to claim 3; since claim 3 introduce first and second openings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson (US 5709095 A).
Regarding claim 1:
Johnson discloses a cold drink machine (Fig. 1-8) with a washable freezing cylinder #40, comprising a housing #12, a freezing cylinder #40, a feeding assembly #112, a dispensing assembly #116, a driver mounting frame #48, a driver #42, a stirrer #146, and a refrigeration assembly (#36, #30, & #38),
wherein the freezing cylinder, the feeding assembly, the driver mounting frame, the driver, the stirrer, and the refrigeration assembly are arranged inside the housing (Fig. 2-3), and the dispensing assembly is arranged outside the housing (Fig. 2-3);
wherein the freezing cylinder is arranged along a length direction of the housing (Fig. 2-3), and the freezing cylinder is integrally formed (Fig. 2-3);
wherein the feeding assembly is arranged at a rear end of the freezing cylinder to deliver drink ingredients into the freezing cylinder (Fig. 3);
wherein the dispensing assembly is detachably arranged at a front end of the freezing cylinder to dispense frozen drinks outside the freezing cylinder (Fig. 3; col. 4, L 50-54); and
wherein the driver mounting frame is arranged on the feeding assembly (either directly or indirectly; see Fig. 3), the driver is mounted on the driver mounting frame (Fig. 3), the stirrer is installed at a drive end of the driver and is located inside the freezing cylinder (Fig. 3 & 5), and the refrigeration assembly is configured to lower a temperature inside the freezing cylinder to a required frozen drink production temperature (col. 5, L 24-41).
Regarding claim 5:
Johnson further discloses a support frame #62, wherein the support frame is disposed inside the housing (Fig. 3), and a lower part of the driver is mounted on the support frame (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6:
Johnson further discloses a support tray #29, wherein the support tray is mounted on a front outer side of the housing and positioned below the dispensing assembly (see Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-3 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art of record, Johnson (US 5709095 A); discloses the features of claim 1; and further discloses wherein the feeding assembly includes a delivery tube #112, the rear end of the freezing cylinder is provided with a first opening (opening at #110), the delivery tube has an input end and an output end (Fig. 3), and the housing is provided with a feeding port at its top (port of #44, receiving #41); and an input end of the delivery tube in communication with the feeding port and an output end in communication with the first opening (Fig. 3 & 7). There is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Johnson to provide a first mounting frame, and a first sealing ring, wherein the first sealing ring is arranged at the first opening, and the first mounting frame is installed at the rear end of the freezing cylinder; and wherein the delivery tube is fixed to the first mounting frame.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Crandall (US 11920836 B2), Dong (US 11019832 B2), Dong (US 10806163 B2), Caiano (US 20190124944 A1), McKay (US 8496141 B2), Leitzke (US 6637214 B1), Meserole (US 6494055 B1), Vogel (US 6220047 B1), and Poerio (US 3188826 A).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763