DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vuorinen (US 6,108,936 A).
Regarding claim 1, Vuorinen discloses a sheet conveying apparatus, comprising: a first conveying section (first drum 11, Fig. 8A) that conveys a strip-shaped sheet having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, with the first surface facing downward; a turn section (center drum 10, Fig. 8A) provided downstream of the first conveying section and having a convex curved surface that has an axis thereof extending in a width direction of the sheet, the turn section being configured to turn over the sheet along the convex curved surface such that the first surface faces inward; and a second conveying section (second drum 11, Fig. 8A) provided downstream of the turn section and configured to convey the sheet with the second surface facing downward, wherein the convex curved surface includes: a small-diameter portion 12 where air nozzles 44 for injecting air are formed; and a pair of large-diameter portions 22 disposed on both sides of the small-diameter portion in an axis direction and extending outward in a radial direction relative to the small-diameter portion to support both end portions of the sheet in the width direction thereof. See col. 8, lines 2-27.
Regarding claim 2, Vuorinen discloses the sheet conveying apparatus according to claim 1. Regarding the language: “wherein the sheet has a pair of uncoated portions not coated with the coating material, at both end portions of the first surface in the width direction, and the pair of large-diameter portions supports the uncoated portions”, the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP § 2115.
Regarding claim 3, Vuorinen discloses the sheet conveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the pair of large-diameter portions 22 is configured to be rotatable around a rotary shaft 27 extending in the axis direction. Col. 8, lines 49-50.
Regarding claim 4, Vuorinen discloses the sheet conveying apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the pair of large-diameter portions 22 is provided with suction holes 53, through which air is drawn in. Col. 9, lines 48-56.
Regarding claim 6, Vuorinen discloses the sheet conveying apparatus according to claim 1. Regarding the language: “wherein the sheet is an electrode sheet having the first surface coated with a paste containing an electrode active material”, the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP § 2115.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vuorinen.
Regarding claim 5, Vuorinen discloses the sheet conveying apparatus according to claim 3, further comprising: a pair of auxiliary rollers 61, the auxiliary rollers being in contact with the pair of respective large-diameter portions 22. See col. 9, lines 31-33 and Fig. 4. Vuorinen lacks the explicit disclosure of the auxiliary rollers configured to be rotatable around a rotary shaft extending in parallel with the rotary shaft 27 of the pair of large-diameter portions. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have the auxiliary rollers configured to be rotatable around a rotary shaft extending in parallel with the rotary shaft of the pair of large-diameter portions, as using a shaft with a roller is very well-known in the art, in order to rotatably mount the rollers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Hikita (US 6,427,941 B1) discloses a web transporting apparatus that transports a web while floating the web.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759