DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Using claim 3 as exemplary, the claims require “the at least one sample second images” but only provide antecedent basis for this phrase in the singular tense.
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 10 and 19 both use the phrase “the trained model” with antecedent basis for two trained models. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,266,116. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other:
U.S. Patent No. 12,266,116 discloses a system, comprising:
at least one storage device storing executable instructions for image processing; (Claim 1)
and at least one processor in communication with the at least one storage device, wherein when executing the executable instructions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the system to perform operations including: (Claim 1)
obtaining initial data of a subject acquired by an imaging device according to a second tracer; (Claim 1)
obtaining a trained image processing model; and (Claim 1)
generating a target image of the subject by inputting the initial data into the trained image processing model, the target image having a higher image quality than an initial image related to the initial data; (Claim 1)
wherein the trained image processing model is provided by training a preliminary model using training samples related to the second tracer and training samples related to a first tracer different from the second tracer. (Claim 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (“Noise reduction with cross-tracer and cross-protocol deep transfer learning for low-dose PET”) in view of Zhou (US 20190104940 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses the system, comprising: and at least one processor configured to cause the system to perform operations including: (Liu teaches a technique for accomplishing deep learning noise reduction for tracers without sufficient training datasets by using a deep transfer learning approach, which can utilize existing networks trained by the widely available FDG datasets, a more widely available tracer, see Abstract. Pg. 4, ¶ 2 discloses a the computer workstation and GPU.)
obtaining initial data of a subject acquired by an imaging device according to a second tracer; (The training data is acquired as follows, pg. 2, second paragraph from bottom through pg. 3, ¶ 3, “this study included four groups of datasets: single-bed FDG, single-bed FMISO, whole-body FDG and whole-body DOTATATE . . . . For the deep transfer learning strategy, the U-Net was initialized with the well-trained FDG U-Net from the conventional training, which was pre-trained using the datasets in the single-bed or whole-body FDG group as the training data. Then a small number of datasets in the non-FDG group (single-bed FMISO or whole-body DOTATATE) were used to fine tune the pre-trained U-Net . . For each dataset in all the four groups, a full-count sinogram was generated with the acquired full-count list-mode data. Then ten independent replicates of low-count sinograms (each containing 10% counts) were generated.” The initial inference/validation data is fed into the model at pg. 4, ¶ 3, “To test all the scans in the non-FDG tracer group without the correlation between training and testing data, a ‘leave-3-out’ cross-validation approach was used for U-Net A, resulting in four replicate networks trained for single-bed FMISO and five replicate networks trained for whole-body DOTATATE.”)
obtaining a trained image processing model; and (See above and the U-net at pg. 3, Fig. 1.)
generating a target image of the subject by inputting the initial data into the trained image processing model, the target image having a higher image quality than an initial image related to the initial data; (See above and the U-net at pg. 3, Fig. 1. The U-net is trained to generate higher quality versions of the input data.)
wherein the trained image processing model is provided by training a preliminary model using training samples related to the second tracer and training samples related to a first tracer different from the second tracer. (Pg. 3, last paragraph, “For the deep transfer learning strategy, the U-Net was initialized with the well-trained FDG U-Net from the conventional training, which was pre-trained using the datasets in the single-bed or whole-body FDG group as the training data.”)
In the field of emissions tomography image processing Zhou teaches at least one storage device storing executable instructions for image processing, and the at least one processor in communication with the at least one storage device, wherein when executing the executable instructions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the system to perform operations (Zhou is an emissions tomography denoising processing technique that includes a processor and a storage device for storing instructions, ¶ 0110-0111.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Liu’s emissions tomography processing with Zhou’s emissions tomography processing. The combination constitutes the repeatable and predictable result of simply applying Zhou’s teaching for using a processor and storage device for storing instructions. Liu already teaches a computer and GPU. This cannot be considered a non-obvious improvement in view of the relevant prior art here. Using known engineering design, no “fundamental” operating principle of the teachings are changed; they continue to perform the same functions as originally taught prior to being combined.
Regarding claim 2, the above combination discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the initial data includes the initial image generated by reconstructing imaging data acquired by the imaging device after the second tracer is injected into the subject, and an output of the trained image processing model includes the target image. 9See rejection of claim 1 above. The initial inference data is fed into the model at pg. 4, ¶ 3, “To test all the scans in the non-FDG tracer group without the correlation between training and testing data, a ‘leave-3-out’ cross-validation approach was used for U-Net A, resulting in four replicate networks trained for single-bed FMISO and five replicate networks trained for whole-body DOTATATE.”)
Regarding claim 3, the above combination discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the training samples related to the first tracer include at least one sample first image generated based on the first tracer, and at least one reference first image each of which corresponds to one of the at least one sample first image and has a higher image quality than the corresponding sample first image; and the training samples related to the second tracer include at least one sample second image generated based on the second tracer, and at least one reference second image each of which corresponds to one of the at least one sample second images and has a higher image quality than the corresponding sample second image. (See rejection of claim 1 above. The training data is acquired as follows, Liu pg. 2, second paragraph from bottom through pg. 3, ¶ 3, “For the deep transfer learning strategy, the U-Net was initialized with the well-trained FDG U-Net from the conventional training, which was pre-trained using the datasets in the single-bed or whole-body FDG group as the training data. Then a small number of datasets in the non-FDG group (single-bed FMISO or whole-body DOTATATE) were used to fine tune the pre-trained U-Net . . For each dataset in all the four groups, a full-count sinogram was generated with the acquired full-count list-mode data. Then ten independent replicates of low-count sinograms (each containing 10% counts) were generated.”)
Regarding claim 4, the above combination discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the initial data includes imaging data acquired by the imaging device after the second tracer is injected into the subject. (See rejection of claim 2.)
Regarding claim 5, the above combination discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the imaging data includes histogram data, list-mode data, or sinogram data. (Liu pg. 3, ¶ 3.)
Regarding claim 6, the above combination discloses the system of claim 4, wherein an output of the trained image processing model includes the target image. (See rejection of claim 1.)
Regarding claim 7, the above combination discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the training samples related to the first tracer include sample first imaging data generated based on the first tracer, and a reference first image that corresponds to the sample first imaging data and has a higher image quality than a sample first image generated by reconstructing the sample first imaging data; and the training samples related to the second tracer include sample second imaging data generated based on the second tracer, and a reference second image that corresponds to the sample second imaging data and has a higher image quality than a sample second image generated by reconstructing the sample second imaging data. (See rejection of claim 2.)
Regarding claim 8, the above combination discloses the system of claim 4, wherein an output of the trained image processing model includes updated imaging data, the target image is generated by reconstructing the updated imaging data and has a higher image quality than the initial image generated by reconstructing the initial data. (See rejection of claims 1 and 3.)
Regarding claim 9, the above combination discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the training samples related to the first tracer include sample first imaging data generated based on the first tracer, and a reference first imaging data corresponding to the sample first imaging data, an image generated by reconstructing the reference first imaging data having a higher image quality than an image generated by reconstructing the sample first imaging data; and the training samples related to the second tracer include sample second imaging data generated based on the second tracer, and a reference second imaging data corresponding to the sample second imaging data, an image generated by reconstructing the reference second imaging data having a higher image quality than an image generated by reconstructing the sample second imaging data. (See rejection of claims 1 and 2.)
Claims 10-18 is the method claim corresponding to claims 1-9, additionally including: the trained model is determined by training a preliminary model using training samples related to at least one tracer different from the second tracer (the rejection of claim 1 teaches these limitations). Remaining limitations are rejected similarly. See detailed analysis above.
Regarding claim 19, the above combination discloses the system, comprising: at least one storage device storing executable instructions for model training; and at least one processor in communication with the at least one storage device, wherein when executing the executable instructions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the system to perform operations including: obtaining training samples related to a second tracer; obtaining a trained model, the training model being determined by training a preliminary model using training samples related to at least one tracer different from the second tracer; and generating a trained image processing model by training the trained model using the training samples related to the second tracer. (See rejection of claim 1)
Regarding claim 20, the above combination discloses the system of claim 19, wherein the training samples related to the at least one tracer include first sample data that is generated based on the at least one tracer and used as training input data, and first reference data that corresponds to the first sample data and is used as label data, an image related to the first sample data having a higher image quality than an image related to the first reference data; and the training samples related to the second tracer include second sample data that is generated based on the second tracer and used as the training input data, and second reference data that corresponds to the second sample data and is used as the label data, an image related to the second sample data having a higher image quality than an image related to the second reference data. (See rejection of claim 3)
Conclusion
/RAPHAEL SCHWARTZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2671