DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shuy et al. (Shuy) (Patent/Publication Number US 2017/0254333).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Shuy discloses a water pump control device (1000A, 1000B), comprising: a sensor (1311H, 1311L, 1311W, 1312W, 1313W) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0018, 0028]); an emergency switch (1400B, 1412); a switching module (1400A, 1400B, 1411A, 1411B, 1412, 1413) electrically connected to the sensor (e.g. See Paragraphs [0021, 0028, 0030]); a power switch (1100B, 1400A, 1400B) electrically connected to the switching module (e.g. See Paragraphs [0028] The regulator subsystem 1300B comprises sensors that include a sensor 1310G to detect the grid power outage and recovery. The regulator 1300B also includes a group 1310W of level sensing assemblies (e.g., sensors 1311W, 1312W, 1313W, and so forth). These level sensing assemblies 1310W are positioned to detect water levels and are thus also referred as “the water level sensors” herein. A switch and a pair of high/low water level sensors may be built into each of these level sensing assemblies. As examples, the assembly 1311W may have a built-in switch 1411B and high/low water level sensors 1311H and 1311L that controls the power delivery of the pump 1201B. The assembly 1312W may have a built-in switch 1412 and high/low sensors 1312H and 1312L that controls the power delivery of the pump 1202. .....) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0019-0021, 0028, 0030]); and a water pump (1201A, 1201B, 1202, 1203) electrically connected to the power switch (e.g. See Paragraphs [0024, 0026, 0030]); wherein the power switch is electrically connected between the water pump and a water pump power supply, the switching module is electrically connected to a system power supply that is different from the water pump power supply (e.g. See Paragraphs [0019-0021, 0024, 0030]), and the switching module is configured to control the power switch based on information output by the sensor to enable the power switch to connect or disconnect a power supply path between the water pump and the water pump power supply (e.g. See Paragraphs [0030] For instance, when the seeping rate increases such that water level reaches the high water level 1311H; the sensor activates the switch 1411B to turn on the electric power to drive the pump 1201B. When the water level increases further to reach above another high water level 1312H (located above the first high water level 1311H), the sensors 1312H further activates the switch 1412 to turn on the electric power to drive pump 1202 (in addition to pump 1201B being driven by switch 1411). When the combined pumping and seeping rate results in a decreasing water level; and the water level decreased to below the sensor 1312L but above the sensor 1311H, the sensor 1312L activates the switch 1412 to turn off the pump 1202; but the sensor 1311H can still keep the pump 1201B running.) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0019-0021, 0024, 0026, 0030]).
Regarding claim 2, Shuy further discloses an emergency switch (1400B, 1412) that is connected to the switching module, wherein the switching module is configured to control the power switch based on the information output by either the sensor or the emergency switch to cause the water pump to be connected to or disconnected from the water pump power supply (e.g. See Paragraphs [0030] For instance, when the seeping rate increases such that water level reaches the high water level 1311H; the sensor activates the switch 1411B to turn on the electric power to drive the pump 1201B. …. When the combined pumping and seeping rate results in a decreasing water level; and the water level decreased to below the sensor 1312L but above the sensor 1311H, the sensor 1312L activates the switch 1412 to turn off the pump 1202; but the sensor 1311H can still keep the pump 1201B running.) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0022, 0024-0025, 0030-0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Shuy further discloses wherein the emergency switch is a manual switch or a remote-control switch (e.g. See Paragraphs [0022, 0024-0025, 0028, 0030-0031]).
Regarding claim 4, Shuy further discloses wherein the switching module is configured to control the power switch in priority based on the information output by the emergency switch to cause the water pump to be connected to or disconnected from the water pump power supply (e.g. See Paragraphs [0022, 0024-0025, 0030-0031]).
Regarding claims 5, 16, Shuy further discloses wherein the sensor is a water level detector, a leakage detector, or a detection control circuit that comprises a comparator and a control logic circuit (1500, 1510, 1530, 1533) electrically connected to the comparator (e.g. See Paragraphs [0028] The regulator subsystem 1300B comprises sensors that include a sensor 1310G to detect the grid power outage and recovery. The regulator 1300B also includes a group 1310W of level sensing assemblies (e.g., sensors 1311W, 1312W, 1313W, and so forth). These level sensing assemblies 1310W are positioned to detect water levels and are thus also referred as “the water level sensors” herein. A switch and a pair of high/low water level sensors may be built into each of these level sensing assemblies. As examples, the assembly 1311W may have a built-in switch 1411B and high/low water level sensors 1311H and 1311L that controls the power delivery of the pump 1201B. ....) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0022, 0025, 0028]).
Regarding claim 6, Shuy further discloses wherein the power switch is a DC power switch (e.g. See Paragraphs [0024] As an embodiment depicted in FIG. 1B, water pump systems 1000B that incorporate the principles described herein include a power supply subsystem 1100B that, unlike the conventional pump system 1000A, supply low voltage (e.g., 36 volts DC) electrical power. ....) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0024, 0026, 0028-0030]).
Regarding claim 7, Shuy further discloses wherein the DC power switch is an electromagnetic contactor or a solid-state relay (e.g. See Paragraphs [0018, 0024-0026, 0028-0030]).
Regarding claims 8, 17, Shuy further discloses a galvanic isolator (UL and CE certified), wherein the water pump power supply, the galvanic isolator, the power switch, and the water pump are connected in series in sequence (e.g. See Paragraphs [0059] The principles described herein propose that the converter 1800 is purchased from commercial market; which is safety certified (with UL and CE), and designed to be water-proof; or to be located at a place free of water. All the other subsystems, devices, modules, and motors are proposed to operate with low voltage DC power. Thus, the safety from fatal electrocution of this pump system as well as its UPS energy reservoir can be assured.) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0057-0059, 0070]).
Regarding claims 9, 18, Shuy further discloses wherein the galvanic isolator is a hot-pluggable module configured with a surge current isolation functionality (e.g. See Paragraphs [0006, 0057-0059, 0063, 0070]).
Regarding claims 10, 19, Shuy further discloses a controller (1500, 1510, 1700) , wherein the system power supply, the controller, and the switching module are sequentially connected in series (e.g. See Paragraphs [0037] During the pump check, the checking and monitoring subsystem 1500 activates the check coordination device 1530 (depicted in FIG. 2) to coordinate the pump checking. As the starting point, the subsystem 1500 records the system's running state into the record keeping module 1701. For instance, at the initial state of pump check, pump 1201B is running—but pumps 1202 and 1203 are not. The device 1530 keeps the system running state as is; and starts to perform the pump checking procedure. At the end of pump check, the subsystem 1500 resets back to the initial running state. The following checking sequence assumes the initial state is as stated above (i.e., pump 1201B is running, but pumps 1202 and 1203 are not).) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0021, 0025, 0033, 0037, 0052]).
Regarding claim 11, Shuy further discloses wherein the sensor, the controller, and the switching module are sequentially connected in series (e.g. See Paragraphs [0025, 0033, 0037, 0052]).
Regarding claim 12, Shuy further discloses wherein the controller is a programmable logic controller (PLC) or a microprocessor (MCU) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0021, 0025, 0028, 0033, 0037, 0052]).
Regarding claim 13, Shuy further discloses wherein the sensor is directly connected to the switching module (e.g. See Paragraphs [0022, 0024-0025, 0030-0031]).
Regarding claims 14, 20, Shuy further discloses wherein the system power supply is a DC output terminal of a low-voltage DC power supply, and the water pump power supply is a DC output terminal of a high-power DC power supply (e.g. See Paragraphs [0018-0020, 0022-0024, 0047, 0060]).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and consists of seven patents:
Mayleben et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 12523232), Beardmore et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2018/0178884), Bishop et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2018/0156211), Afshar et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2017/0089345), Stingl et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 6059536), Coney et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2019/0249650), and Hansen et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 11035367), all discloses a water pump control device for use with fluid dispensing system.
Conclusion
Binh Q. Tran
/BINH Q TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3748
January 24, 2026