DETAILED ACTION
Response to amendment
This office action is in response to an amendment filed on July 8, 2026 in response to PTO office action dated April 10, 2026.
Claims 1, 14 and 18 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) have been fully considered bur are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
This action is FINAL.
Claims rejection 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 7, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsongas et al. (US 20120254661 A1) in view of Roy-Faderman et al. (US 20150317350 A1) further in view of Thomas et al. (US 20180210880 A1) further in view of Sun et al. (CN 119336849 A).
Regarding Claims 1, 14 and 18 Tsongas discloses computer-implemented method comprising:
adding a target object identified for an export operation of a source database system to an export object list (see Tsongas paragraph [0038], An "object identifier list" is a register of object identifiers. Accordingly, "available object list object" is an object that provides a register of object identifiers that are available for export from the management information database of a target device. An "available object list OID" is the object identifier associated with an available object list object);
identifying all related objects that are each related to the target object, wherein
identifying the related objects includes (see Tsongas paragraph [0037], An object is "available for export" when it is stored in the management information database for a target device with an associated object identifier and can be retrieved from the MIB when requested by a network manager):
Roy-Faderman expressly discloses determining, based on the metadata of the source database system, that the target object is related to a loosely-coupled object that is not explicitly linked to the target object in a definition of the target object (see Roy-Faderman paragraph [0029], a method associating a custom metadata type with loosely coupled triggers. The custom metadata type may be implemented as a table having records that are metadata (also referred to as custom metadata records). The existence of a custom metadata record may control the behavior of the loosely coupled trigger at runtime. The method comprises receiving, by a database system, a definition of custom metadata type comprising a relationship field with triggerable database object types as the domain of the relationship field. The metadata type may include other fields that the trigger code may use to configure its behavior); and
identifying loosely-coupled object information for the loosely-coupled
object (see Roy-Faderman paragraph [0029], The creation of the custom metadata record has the effect of coupling the loosely coupled trigger to the referenced triggerable database object (e.g., account object). When a custom metadata record refers to a particular triggerable database object, and when one or more records of the triggerable database object is updated (e.g., by inserting new record, by modifying an existing record, or by deleting an existing record) by a database application, the trigger executes (e.g., before a record is inserted, or after a record is deleted).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Roy-Faderman into the method of Tsongas to have identifying loosely-coupled object information for the loosely-coupled object. Here, combining Roy-Faderman with Tsongas, which are both related to data processing improves Tsongas by providing system and method to enable third-party developers to use custom metadata in loosely coupled triggers (see Roy-Faderman paragraph [0003]).
Thomas expressly discloses adding information for the related objects to the export object list, including adding the loosely-coupled object information to the export object list with a flag that indicates that the loosely-coupled object is a loosely-coupled object type (see Thomas paragraph [0038], the exporting data migration tool 230 receives the application data 218 that is to be written to the target database 210, and adds information about the table structure to a data file/stream, which includes the source structure file 228. In some implementations, the importing data migration tool 236 reads the data file/stream, and compares the structure (e.g., provided in the source structure file 228) of each source table provided by the exporting data migration tool 230, and the target structure described in the target structure file 234);
generating an export file based on the export object list (see Thomas paragraph [0036], the migration tool 206 includes data conversion that can be executed to convert data of tables of the set of tables before being first written to the target database 210…, information about the table structure is extracted from the respective nametab (e.g., the source nametab 220, the target nametab 222), and is written to a structure file (e.g., the source structure file 228); and
providing the export file to a target database system for importing the export file
into the target database system (see Thomas paragraph [0036], the migration tool 206 includes data conversion that can be executed to convert data of tables of the set of tables before being first written to the target database 210. In some examples, information about the table structure is extracted from the respective nametab (e.g., the source nametab 220, the target nametab 222), and is written to a structure file (e.g., the source structure file 228, the target structure file 234) by the respective structure file extractor (e.g., the exporting structure file extractor 226, the importing structure file extractor 232)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Thomas into the method of Tsongas to have adding information for the related objects to the export object list. Here, combining Thomas with Tsongas, which are both related to data processing improves Tsongas by providing system and method to reduce the runtime of the upgrade procedure, and in so doing, reduce downtime of the system, and reduce technical resource consumption (e.g., on the database, and system level) (see Thomas paragraph [0006]).
Sun expressly discloses querying a system table of the source database system to identify metadata of the source database system for identifying related objects (see Sun page 7, table structure data of a source database may be obtained by querying a system table and/or a system view for storing metadata in the source database via a database connection interface. For example: the source database can be connected through JDBC (Java DatabaseConnectivity, a standard application program interface in Java for connecting and operating the database), the table structure data in the source database can be inquired and the table structure data can be cached, It is convenient for the subsequent analysis processing).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sun into the method of Tsongas to have a system table of the source database system to identify metadata. Here, combining Sun with Tsongas, which are both related to data processing improves Tsongas by providing system and method to provide a data synchronization method, a data synchronization device and an electronic device to perform data synchronization accurately and efficiently (see Sun paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 7, Roy-Faderman expressly discloses expressly discloses wherein the related objects include a tightly-coupled object that is explicitly linked to the target object in the definition of the target object (Roy-Faderman paragraph [0034] This type of predefined coupling between the trigger and the database entity or entities can be known as a “tightly-coupled trigger” or a “tightly-coupled trigger.” The tightly-coupled triggers do not allow database users to selectively couple one or more entities (or tables) to the triggers after the trigger code has been compiled. The programmer may define a tightly-coupled trigger by selecting an entity to be coupled to the tightly-coupled trigger and writing the computer code defining the processing performed by the trigger).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Roy-Faderman into the method of Tsongas to have a tightly-coupled object. Here, combining Roy-Faderman with Tsongas, which are both related to data processing improves Tsongas by providing system and method to enable third-party developers to use custom metadata in loosely coupled triggers (see Roy-Faderman paragraph [0003]).
Claims 2-3, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsongas et al. (US 20120254661 A1) in view of Roy-Faderman et al. (US 20150317350 A1) further in view of Thomas et al. (US 20180210880 A1) further in view of Sun et al. (CN 119336849 A) further in view of Gupta (US 20150026153 A1).
Regarding Claims 2, 15 and 19 Gupta expressly discloses wherein the target object is a database view and the loosely-coupled object is a structured filter that provides row-level security for the database view (see Gupta paragraph [0128] For security reasons, the search engine might not display certain tokens and/or associated data to certain users. The search engine may provide both row level security and object level security. Row level security, for example, may restrict a salesman in the state of California to only viewing transactions in a sale table related to the state of California. Object level security, for example, may restrict a user from viewing all transactions from the sales table or from particular columns of the same table).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Gupta into the method of Tsongas to have wherein the target object is a database view and the loosely-coupled object is a structured filter that provides row-level security for the database view. Here, combining Gupta with Tsongas, which are both related to data processing improves Tsongas by providing database solutions fast enough to provide an interactive business user experience when large volumes of data need to be processed (see Gupta paragraph [0004]).
Regarding Claims 3, 16 and 20 Roy-Faderman expressly discloses herein determining, based on the metadata of the source database system, that the target object is related to the loosely coupled object comprises querying a structured filters system table of the source database system to determine that the structured filter is related to the target object (see Roy-Faderman paragraph [0029], a method associating a custom metadata type with loosely coupled triggers. The custom metadata type may be implemented as a table having records that are metadata (also referred to as custom metadata records). The existence of a custom metadata record may control the behavior of the loosely coupled trigger at runtime. The method comprises receiving, by a database system, a definition of custom metadata type comprising a relationship field with triggerable database object types as the domain of the relationship field. The metadata type may include other fields that the trigger code may use to configure its behavior).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsongas et al. (US 20120254661 A1) in view of Roy-Faderman et al. (US 20150317350 A1) further in view of Thomas et al. (US 20180210880 A1) further in view of Sun et al. (CN 119336849 A) further in view of Gupta (US 20150026153 A1) further in view of Wang (US 20080065703 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Wang expressly discloses , wherein determining the loosely
coupled object information comprises:
determining that a filter type of a structured filters condition of the structured
filter is a dynamic type (see Wang paragraph [0010], The method includes determining a subset of data units stored in a storage system based on one or more filter criteria. Metadata is determined that represents the subset of data units in the storage system. A view is then created from the metadata. For example, a dynamic or static view may be created. The static view may be a view of data units that does not change over time. The dynamic view may be updated as data units change, such as when a version of a file changes);
identifying a condition provider procedure related to the structured filter (see Wang paragraph [0011], the view may be stored as a file tree that represents how a structure of the data units is stored in the storage system. The view is then stored such that it is always accessible on a powered on storage drive. The metadata is for one or more data units in the subset of the data units that are stored in one or more storage drives that are in the lower power mode of operation. However, the metadata may be used to provide information about the data units in the storage drives that are in a lower power mode of operation without having to power on the storage drives);
collecting condition provider procedure information for the condition provider
procedure (see Wang paragraph [0011], the view is then stored such that it is always accessible on a powered on storage drive. The metadata is for one or more data units in the subset of the data units that are stored in one or more storage drives that are in the lower power mode of operation. However, the metadata may be used to provide information about the data units in the storage drives that are in a lower power mode of operation without having to power on the storage drives); and
including the condition provider procedure information in the loosely-coupled
object information (see Wang paragraph [0011], the view is then stored such that it is always accessible on a powered on storage drive. The metadata is for one or more data units in the subset of the data units that are stored in one or more storage drives that are in the lower power mode of operation. However, the metadata may be used to provide information about the data units in the storage drives that are in a lower power mode of operation without having to power on the storage drives).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Wang into the method of Tsongas to have determining that a filter type of a structured filters condition. Here, combining Wang with Tsongas, which are both related to data processing improves Tsongas by providing storage systems and more specifically to creating configurable views for archival storage systems (see Wang paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 5, Wang expressly discloses, wherein collecting condition
provider procedure information for the condition provider procedure comprises collecting
object information for related objects of the condition provider procedure and including
the object information for the related objects of the condition provider procedure in the
loosely-coupled object information (see Wang paragraph [0012], A system may have a large amount of files archived. Views of the files in the system may include metadata for subsets of the data stored in the archive storage system. The metadata may be used to perform actions, such as creating displays of where data is stored in archive storage system, moving data around in the storage system, etc. The metadata includes attributes for the archived data and the views may always be stored on a powered on drive. The archived data, however, may be stored on drives that are in a powered down state. But, because the metadata is accessible, attributes for the data may be used to provide information for the archived data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Wang into the method of Tsongas to have determining that a filter type of a structured filters condition. Here, combining Wang with Tsongas, which are both related to data processing improves Tsongas by providing storage systems and more specifically to creating configurable views for archival storage systems (see Wang paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang expressly discloses, wherein determining the loosely
coupled object information comprises:
determining that a filter type of a structured filters condition of the structured
filter is a static type; and including static condition information for the structured filter in the loosely coupled object information (see Wang paragraphs [0014]-[0016], For example, dynamic and/or static views may be created. Also, other views may be appreciated, such as hybrids of the dynamic or static views; A dynamic view tracks changes in the archive and substitutes the updated files when newer versions of the files become available. In one embodiment, dynamic views can be accomplished either by mounting the selected file sets as an union file system or a filter stack file system layer may be placed on top of a file system of metadata, such as a farfs (File Archiver read-only file system) metadata file system, that presents the correct files to the requesters on a real-time basis. Static views are snapshots of the selected files at the time when the views are created. Static views are useful when users want all versions of a specific file set to be presented in a single file tree. Static views are accomplished by duplicating the metadata files or mounting the selected file sets as union file systems).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Wang into the method of Tsongas to have determining that a filter type of a structured filters condition. Here, combining Wang with Tsongas, which are both related to data processing improves Tsongas by providing storage systems and more specifically to creating configurable views for archival storage systems (see Wang paragraph [0002]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsongas et al. (US 20120254661 A1) in view of Roy-Faderman et al. (US 20150317350 A1) further in view of Thomas et al. (US 20180210880 A1) further in view of Sun et al. (CN 119336849 A) further in view of Waas et al. (US 11269824 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Waas expressly discloses, wherein the information for the
related objects includes database statements for creating the related objects in the target database system (see Waas col. 3, lines 10-15, when the target database has stricter requirements on the types of database statements that can be grouped together in a single transaction. The database virtualization system (DVS) takes these characteristics and requirements into account by reordering queries to regroup the database statements. In some embodiments, the database virtualization system (DVS) receives a particular query from a database client, where the query is written for a source database. The DVS performs an automated process to analyze properties of the target database to determine that the received query should be replaced by multiple queries to the target database).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Waas into the method of Tsongas to have information for the related objects that includes database statements. Here, combining Waas with Tsongas, which are both related to data processing improves Tsongas by providing database virtualization system (DVS) for automatically processing queries written and intended for one database system using a different database system, where the new (“target”) database system does not support all of the same functionality as the original (“source”) database system (col. 1, lines 33-40).
Claims 9-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsongas et al. (US 20120254661 A1) in view of Roy-Faderman et al. (US 20150317350 A1) further in view of Thomas et al. (US 20180210880 A1) further in view of Sun et al. (CN 119336849 A) further in view of Ferraz Nogueira et al. (US 20240193173 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Ferraz Nogueira expressly discloses wherein the export file includes information for other target objects other than the target object (see Ferraz Nogueira paragraph [0083], before executing the final steps, it is very important that the file catalog from the production server has already been imported into the target server. The product also provides job scripts written in JCL language to import the file catalog and rename the files accordingly, using your database high level qualifier. Once the database files have been renamed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ferraz Nogueira into the method of Tsongas to have identifying loosely-coupled object information for the loosely-coupled object. Here, combining Ferraz Nogueira with Tsongas, which are both related to data processing improves Tsongas by providing database systems that does not require additional software and labor and that is time efficient and avoids the need for outage (see Ferraz Nogueira [0002]).
Regarding claim 10, Roy-Faderman discloses gathering related object information for the target object, including identifying the loosely-coupled object as a related object of the target object (see Roy-Faderman paragraph [0029], a method associating a custom metadata type with loosely coupled triggers. The custom metadata type may be implemented as a table having records that are metadata);
identifying, in the export file, the flag that indicates that the loosely
coupled object is a loosely-coupled object type (The method comprises receiving, by a database system, a definition of custom metadata type comprising a relationship field with triggerable database object types as the domain of the relationship field. The metadata type may include other fields that the trigger code may use to configure its behavior); and
based on identifying the flag, extracting the loosely-coupled object
information for the loosely-coupled object and objects related to the loosely-coupled
object (see Roy-Faderman paragraph [0029], a method associating a custom metadata type with loosely coupled triggers. The custom metadata type may be implemented as a table having records that are metadata (also referred to as custom metadata records). The existence of a custom metadata record may control the behavior of the loosely coupled trigger at runtime. The method comprises receiving, by a database system, a definition of custom metadata type comprising a relationship field with triggerable database object types as the domain of the relationship field. The metadata type may include other fields that the trigger code may use to configure its behavior).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Roy-Faderman into the method of Tsongas to have identifying loosely-coupled object information for the loosely-coupled object. Here, combining Roy-Faderman with Tsongas, which are both related to data processing improves Tsongas by providing system and method to enable third-party developers to use custom metadata in loosely coupled triggers (see Roy-Faderman paragraph [0003]).
Ferraz Nogueira discloses receiving, at the target database system, the export file (see Ferraz Nogueira paragraph [0003], The method further includes exporting a file catalog associated with the source database system to the target database system. The method also includes executing a predetermined script to rename files according to specifications of the target database system and the file catalog);
generating an object import list based on the export file, wherein generating the
object import list (see Ferraz Nogueira paragraph [0083], before executing the final steps, it is very important that the file catalog from the production server has already been imported into the target server. The product also provides job scripts written in JCL language to import the file catalog and rename the files accordingly, using your database high level qualifier. Once the database files have been renamed, the target system is ready to start the brand new DB2 Database installation instance) comprises:
identifying the target object in the export file (see Ferraz Nogueira paragraph [0083], before executing the final steps, it is very important that the file catalog from the production server has already been imported into the target server. The product also provides job scripts written in JCL language to import the file catalog and rename the files accordingly, using your database high level qualifier. Once the database files have been renamed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ferraz Nogueira into the method of Tsongas to have generating an object import list based on the export file, wherein generating the object import list. Here, combining Ferraz Nogueira with Tsongas, which are both related to data processing improves Tsongas by providing database systems that does not require additional software and labor and that is time efficient and avoids the need for outage (see Ferraz Nogueira [0002]).
Regarding claim 11, Ferraz Nogueira expressly discloses executing a database import at the target database system using information in the object import list (see Ferraz Nogueira paragraph [0083], before executing the final steps, it is very important that the file catalog from the production server has already been imported into the target server. The product also provides job scripts written in JCL language to import the file catalog and rename the files accordingly, using your database high level qualifier. Once the database files have been renamed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ferraz Nogueira into the method of Tsongas to have executing a database import at the target database system using information in the object import list. Here, combining Ferraz Nogueira with Tsongas, which are both related to data processing improves Tsongas by providing database systems that does not require additional software and labor and that is time efficient and avoids the need for outage (see Ferraz Nogueira [0002]).
Regarding claim 12, Ferraz Nogueira expressly disclose wherein executing the database import comprises executing database commands, in a dependency order, in the target database system, to create objects related to the loosely-coupled object, the loosely coupled object, and the target object (see Ferraz Nogueira paragraph [0083], before executing the final steps, it is very important that the file catalog from the production server has already been imported into the target server. The product also provides job scripts written in JCL language to import the file catalog and rename the files accordingly, using your database high level qualifier. Once the database files have been renamed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ferraz Nogueira into the method of Tsongas to have xecuting the database import comprises executing database commands, in a dependency order. Here, combining Ferraz Nogueira with Tsongas, which are both related to data processing improves Tsongas by providing database systems that does not require additional software and labor and that is time efficient and avoids the need for outage (see Ferraz Nogueira [0002]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsongas et al. (US 20120254661 A1) in view of Roy-Faderman et al. (US 20150317350 A1) further in view of Thomas et al. (US 20180210880 A1) further in view of Sun et al. (CN 119336849 A) further in view of Ferraz Nogueira et al. (US 20240193173 A1) further in view of Ristow (US 20110191304 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Ristow expressly discloses deleting, in
the target database system, before executing the database commands, any existing
conflicting objects that conflict with the target object or related objects of the target
object (see Ristow paragraph [0074], The export interface may return the registry objects to be exported in conjunction with an instance of a particular registry object type. The export interface may also only return a set and prevent duplicates of the same object. Duplicates may be prevented by identifying objects with the same identifier unique to each object, and removing all but one of each object of a particular unique identifier. Additionally, the export interface may determine the correct implementation for exporting each registry object type during export, the correct implementation may be represented by an export plug-in for the object type).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ristow into the method of Tsongas to have deleting, in the target database system, before executing the database commands, any existing conflicting objects. Here, combining Ristow with Tsongas, which are both related to data processing improves Tsongas by providing database systems for identifying, using the processor, a consistent set of the user-defined objects to export based on relationships of the user-defined objects with other objects, and exporting, using the processor, the consistent set of user-defined objects (see Ristow [0011]).
Remarks
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Garza et al. (US 20230315585 A1) discloses that a table movement of a moved table from a source tablespace to a target tablespace within a database may be identified. Within a plurality of log records of the database, pre-move log records identifying the moved table as being included within the source tablespace may be identified, and post-move log records identifying the moved table as being included within the target tablespace may be identified.
McWaters et. el. (US 20190026386 A1) discloses a method of converting a source database system to a destination database system that includes importing system tables and semantic metadata from the source database system, parsing the imported semantic metadata and identifying associations between table elements of the imported system tables, generating a conversion scheme in the metadata database, and defining an attribute in the conversion scheme in accordance with a metadata model of the destination database system for each association identified.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DINKU W GEBRESENBET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2164