DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the phrase “the PCB” should be changed to -- the printed circuit board (PCB) --.
In claim 4, the phrase “the respective optic portion” should be changed to -- the optic portion --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 5, in the phrase “wherein the illuminated region exterior of the vehicle comprises a vertical surface”, the vertical surface is an element outside the invention's actual scope making the claim indefinite. The phrase has been interpreted as best understood.
In claim 6, in the phrase “wherein a vertical plane of the field of illumination at a distance of 10 feet from the vehicular illumination module comprises a height of at least 2.5 meters and a width of at least 2.5 meters”, the vertical plane and the vertical plane dimensions are element outside the invention's actual scope making the claim indefinite. The phrase has been interpreted as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (US 20110157907 A1, hereinafter “Hwang”).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang teaches a vehicular illumination module (turn-indicator light module 10, see figures 1-7b), the vehicular illumination module (10) comprising:
a housing (rear housing unit 12, front housing unit 14, see fig 5) configured to be disposed at an exterior portion of a vehicle (as the rear view mirror assembly 70 is at an exterior portion of the vehicle) equipped with the vehicular illumination module (10);
a printed circuit board (PCB) (PCB 16) accommodated by the housing (12, 14), wherein the PCB (16) comprises a first side (upper side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) and a second side (lower side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) opposite the first side (upper side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) and separated from the first side (upper side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) by a thickness (see thickness of 16, better seen in fig 4b) of the PCB (16);
wherein, with the housing (12, 14) disposed at the exterior portion of the vehicle (as 70 is at the exterior portion of the vehicle), the first side (upper side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) of the PCB (16) faces a first direction (1st, as annotated in fig 4b below) and the second side (lower side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) of the PCB (16) faces a second direction (2nd, as annotated in fig 4b below) opposite the first direction (1st);
wherein the PCB (16) comprises a light source (light emitting source 18 and additional light emitting source 42, see fig 4c) disposed at the second side (lower side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) of the PCB (16), and
wherein the light source (18 and 42) is electrically operable (necessarily occurring for the LEDs to illuminate as intended) to emit light in the second direction (2nd);
a reflector (reflector unit 20, see fig 3c) accommodated by the housing (12, 14), wherein the reflector (20) comprises an optic portion (see optic portions A and B of reflecting surface 44, as annotated in fig 4c below), and
wherein the optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) comprises a freeform curvature (see curvature of 44), and
wherein the housing (12, 14) has an aperture (opening 21, see fig 3a) at the optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44); and
wherein, with the housing (12, 14) disposed at the exterior portion of the vehicle (as 70 is at the exterior portion of the vehicle), and when the light source (18 and 42) is electrically operated to emit light, the light source (18 and 42) emits light that passes through the aperture (21) such that the optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the reflector (20) reflects the light emitted by the light source (18 and 42) to illuminate a region exterior of the vehicle (as clearly seen in figures 7a and 7b), and
wherein a primary axis (axis of light emitted by 10) of illumination of the light reflected by the optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) is in a third direction (3rd, as annotated in fig 4b below) transverse to the first direction (1st) and the second direction (2nd).
See annotated figures 4b-4c of Hwang below:
Regarding claim 2, Hwang teaches wherein the exterior portion of the vehicle (as 70 is at the exterior portion of the vehicle) comprises a vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (70) of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 4, Hwang teaches wherein, with the housing (12, 14) disposed at the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly of the vehicle (70), the second side (lower side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) of the PCB (16) faces downward (as seen in fig 5 or annotated figure above), and
wherein, when the light source (18 and 42) is electrically operated to emit light, light emitted downward (as seen in fig 5 or annotated figure above) reflects off the respective optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the reflector (20) to illuminate a region forward of the vehicle (regions of 68-69).
Regarding claim 5, Hwang teaches wherein the illuminated region exterior of the vehicle (as clearly seen in figures 7a and 7b) comprises a vertical surface (as Hwang’s invention is capable to illuminate regions ahead of the vehicle, including regions having a vertical surface).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang teaches wherein the vehicular illumination module (10), with the housing (12, 14) disposed at the exterior portion of the vehicle (as 70 is at the exterior portion of the vehicle), and when the light source (18 and 42) is electrically operated to emit light, illuminates a field of illumination (66, 68-69), and
wherein a vertical plane of the field of illumination at a distance of 10 feet from the vehicular illumination module (10) comprises a height of at least 2.5 meters and a width of at least 2.5 meters (as Hwang’s invention is capable to illuminate regions ahead of the vehicle, including regions having a vertical planes having a height of at least 2.5 meters and a width of at least 2.5 meters).
Regarding claim 7, Hwang teaches wherein the light source (18 and 42) comprises a plurality of light sources (18 and 42) and the reflector (20) comprises a plurality of optic portions (see portions A and B of 44, as annotated in figure above), and
wherein, with the housing (12, 14) disposed at the exterior portion of the vehicle (as 70 is at the exterior portion of the vehicle), and
when the plurality of light sources (18 and 42) are electrically operated to emit light (as expected from light sources, and seen in fig 6), each optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the plurality of optic portions (A and B of 44) reflects light emitted by one corresponding light source (18 and 42) of the plurality of light sources (18 and 42), and
wherein reflection by each optic portion (A and B of 44) of the plurality of optic portions (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the light emitted by the plurality of light sources (18 and 42) cooperates to illuminate the region exterior of the vehicle (as clearly seen in figures 7a and 7b).
Regarding claim 8, Hwang teaches wherein each optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the plurality of optic portions (A and B of 44) comprises a unique freeform curvature (see curvatures of A and B being different, as seen in fig 4c).
Regarding claim 9, Hwang teaches wherein each light source (18 and 42) of the plurality of light sources (18 and 42) is accommodated by a common circuit element (PCB and vehicle electric circuitry).
Regarding claim 10, Hwang teaches wherein the exterior portion of the vehicle (as 70 is at the exterior portion of the vehicle) comprises a vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly of the vehicle (70), and wherein, with the housing (12, 14) disposed at the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly of the vehicle (70), the second side (lower side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) of the PCB (16) faces downward (as seen in fig 5 or annotated figure above), and
wherein, when the light sources (18 and 42) are electrically operated to emit light, light emitted downward (as seen in fig 5 or annotated figure above) reflects off the respective optic portions (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the reflector (20) to illuminate a region forward of the vehicle (as seen in fig 5).
Regarding claim 11, Hwang teaches wherein each light source (18 and 42) of the plurality of light sources (18 and 42) comprises a light emitting diode (see ¶ 50).
Regarding claim 12, Hwang teaches wherein the light source (18 and 42) comprises at least one light emitting diode (see ¶ 50).
Regarding claim 13, Hwang teaches wherein the housing (12, 14) comprises an outer cover (22), and wherein, with the housing (12, 14) disposed at the exterior portion of the vehicle (as 70 is at the exterior portion of the vehicle), the emitted light reflected by the optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the reflector (20) passes through the outer cover (22) to illuminate the region exterior of the vehicle (as clearly seen in figures 7a and 7b).
Regarding claim 14, Hwang teaches wherein, with the housing (12, 14) disposed at the exterior portion of the vehicle (as 70 is at the exterior portion of the vehicle), the outer cover (22) corresponds to an outer surface (outer surface of 70) of the exterior portion of the vehicle (as 70 is at the exterior portion of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 15, Hwang teaches wherein, with the housing (12, 14) disposed at the exterior portion of the vehicle (as 70 is at the exterior portion of the vehicle), the first direction (1st) is vertically upward (see annotated fig above) and the second direction (2nd) is vertically downward (as seen in fig 5 or annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 16, Hwang teaches vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (70), the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (70) comprising:
a mirror head (see rounded mirror head portion of 70, labeled MH in annotated figure below) disposed at mounting structure (although not shown in the figures, all mirror heads required a mounting structure such as intermediate bases with bolts, studs or other fasteners that secure the mirror head to the vehicle exterior, and annotated as MS in figure below),
wherein the mounting structure (MS) is configured to mount the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (70) at a side of a vehicle (vehicle);
wherein the mirror head (MH) comprises a mirror reflective element (as expected from a rearview mirror);
wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (70) mounted at the side of the vehicle (left and right sides of the vehicle, as expected from rear view mirrors), the mirror reflective element (mirror of rearview mirror) provides a rearward view (as expected from rear view mirrors) at the side of the vehicle to a driver of the vehicle (vehicle);
wherein the mirror head (MH) accommodates an illumination module (10);
wherein the illumination module (10) comprises
(i) a housing (12, 14) and
(ii) a printed circuit board (PCB) (16) accommodated by the housing (12, 14), and
wherein the PCB (16) comprises a first side (upper side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) and a second side (lower side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) opposite the first side (upper side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) and separated from the first side (upper side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) by a thickness (see thickness of 16, better seen in fig 4b) of the PCB (16);
wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (70) mounted at the side of the vehicle (vehicle), the first side (upper side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) of the PCB (16) faces a first direction (1st) and the second side (lower side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) of the PCB (16) faces a second direction (2nd) opposite the first direction (1st);
wherein the PCB (16) comprises a light source (18 and 42) disposed at the second side (lower side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) of the PCB (16), and wherein the light source (18 and 42) is electrically operable to emit light in the second direction (2nd);
a reflector (20) accommodated by the housing (12, 14), wherein the reflector (20) comprises an optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44), and wherein the optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) comprises a freeform curvature (see curvature of 44), and wherein the housing (12, 14) has an aperture (21) at the optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44); and
wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror (70) assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle (vehicle), and when the light source (18 and 42) is electrically operated to emit light, the light source (18 and 42) emits light that passes through the aperture (21) such that the optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the reflector (20) reflects the light emitted by the light source (18 and 42) to illuminate a region exterior of the vehicle (as clearly seen in figures 7a and 7b), and
wherein a primary axis (axis of light emitted by 10) of illumination of the light reflected by the optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) is in a third direction (3rd) transverse to the first direction (1st) and the second direction (2nd).
See annotated figure 7b of Hwang below:
Regarding claim 18, Hwang teaches wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (70) mounted at the side of the vehicle (vehicle), the second side (lower side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) of the PCB (16) faces downward (as seen in fig 5 or annotated figure above), and
wherein, when the light source (18 and 42) is electrically operated to emit light, light emitted downward (as seen in fig 5 or annotated figure above) reflects off the respective optic portions (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the reflector (20) to illuminate a region forward of the vehicle (as seen in fig 5).
Regarding claim 19, Hwang teaches wherein the light source (18 and 42) comprises a plurality of light sources (18 and 42) and the reflector (20) comprises a plurality of optic portions (see optic portions A and B of 44), and
wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle, and when the plurality of light sources (18 and 42) are electrically operated to emit light, each optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the plurality of optic portions (see optic portions A and B of 44) reflects light emitted by one corresponding light source (18 and 42) of the plurality of light sources (18 and 42), and
wherein reflection by each optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the plurality of optic portions (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the light emitted by the plurality of light sources (18 and 42) cooperates to illuminate the region exterior of the vehicle (as clearly seen in figures 7a and 7b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 20110157907 A1, hereinafter “Hwang”) in view of Foote et al. (US 20120081915 A1, hereinafter “Foote”, US patent cited by the applicant in IDS filed on 9/4/2025).
Regarding claim 3, Hwang teaches wherein, with the housing (12, 14) disposed at a mirror housing (74) of the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly of the vehicle (70);
Although, most modern vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly are known for being able to be folded inwards and outwards,
Hwang does not explicitly teach an actuator of the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly of the vehicle is electrically operable to adjust the mirror housing relative to the vehicle to adjust the primary axis of illumination of the light relative to the vehicle.
Foote teaches a vehicular illumination module (light module 12, see figures 1-8) within a vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (vehicle exterior rearview mirror assembly 10, see fig 1); further comprising
an actuator (actuator for selectively moving the powerfold mirror assembly, as the system may fold or pivot the mirror head to the folded orientation and actuate the illumination sources, as show in figures 7-8, see ¶ 37) of the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (14) of the vehicle is electrically operable (since the system operates the folding state of the mirror head, see ¶ 37) to adjust the mirror housing (mirror casing 14, see fig 1) relative to the vehicle (as seen from figures 7-8) to adjust the primary axis (perpendicular to the light module 12) of illumination of the light relative to the vehicle (see vehicle, in fig 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the actuator as taught by Foote into the teachings of Hwang in order to provide both, sideway and forward illumination. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to provide the user with a desired pattern or intensity within an illumination range.
Claims 17 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 20110157907 A1, hereinafter “Hwang”) in view of Foote et al. (US 20120081915 A1, hereinafter “Foote”, US patent cited by the applicant in IDS filed on 9/4/2025) and Oesterholt et al. (US 6130514 A, hereinafter “Oesterholt”).
Regarding claim 17, Although, most vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly are known for being able to be folded inwards and outwards, Hwang does not explicitly teach wherein an actuator is accommodated within the mirror head, and wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle, the actuator is electrically operable to adjust the mirror head relative to the mounting structure to adjust the primary axis of illumination of the light relative to the vehicle.
Foote teaches a vehicular illumination module (light module 12, see figures 1-8) within a vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (vehicle exterior rearview mirror assembly 10, see fig 1); further comprising
wherein an actuator (actuator for selectively moving the powerfold mirror assembly, as the system may fold or pivot the mirror head to the folded orientation and actuate the illumination sources, as show in figures 7-8, see ¶ 37), and wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (14) mounted at the side of the vehicle (vehicle), the actuator is electrically operable (since the system operates the folding state of the mirror head, see ¶ 37) to adjust the mirror head (14) relative to the mounting structure (see mounting structure M, see annotated figure below) to adjust the primary axis (perpendicular to the light module 12) of illumination of the light relative to the vehicle (see vehicle, in fig 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the actuator as taught by Foote into the teachings of Hwang in order to provide both, sideway and forward illumination. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to provide the user with a desired pattern or intensity within an illumination range.
See annotated figure 7b of Hwang below:
Hwang as modified by Foote does not explicitly teach the actuator is accommodated within the mirror head.
Oesterholt teaches a vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (vehicle having a wing mirror, see figures 1-2c) having an actuator (electrically operable pivoting mechanism 10) that pivots a mirror head (mirror housing 3, see fig 1);
the actuator (10) is accommodated within the mirror head (3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to position the actuator as taught by Oesterholt into the teachings of Hwang as modified by Foote in order to provide the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly with a mechanism that has a construction which is simple. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to simplify manufacturing.
Regarding claim 20, Hwang teaches a vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (70), the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (70) comprising:
a mirror head (see rounded mirror head portion of 70, labeled MH in annotated figure below) disposed at mounting structure (although not shown in the figures, all mirror heads required a mounting structure such as intermediate bases with bolts, studs or other fasteners that secure the mirror head to the vehicle exterior, and annotated as MS in figure above),
wherein the mirror head (MH) comprises a mirror reflective element (as expected from a rearview mirror);
wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (70) mounted at the side of the vehicle (left and right sides of the vehicle, as expected from rear view mirrors), the mirror reflective element (mirror of rearview mirror) provides a rearward view (as expected from rear view mirrors) at the side of the vehicle to a driver of the vehicle (vehicle);
wherein the mirror head (MH) accommodates an illumination module (10);
wherein the illumination module (10) comprises
(i) a housing (12, 14) and
(ii) a printed circuit board (PCB) (16) accommodated by the housing (12, 14), and
wherein the PCB (16) comprises a first side (upper side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) and a second side (lower side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) opposite the first side (upper side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) and separated from the first side (upper side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) by a thickness (see thickness of 16, better seen in fig 4b) of the PCB (16);
wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (70) mounted at the side of the vehicle (vehicle), the first side (upper side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) of the PCB (16) faces a first direction (1st) and the second side (lower side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) of the PCB (16) faces a second direction (2nd) opposite the first direction (1st);
wherein the PCB (16) comprises a light source (18 and 42) disposed at the second side (lower side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) of the PCB (16), and wherein the light source (18 and 42) is electrically operable to emit light in the second direction (2nd);
a reflector (20) accommodated by the housing (12, 14), wherein the reflector (20) comprises an optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44), and wherein the optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) comprises a freeform curvature (see curvature of 44), and
wherein the housing (12, 14) has an aperture (21) at the optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44); wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (70) mounted at the side of the vehicle (vehicle), and when the light source (18 and 42) is electrically operated to emit light, the light source (18 and 42) emits light that passes through the aperture (21) such that the optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the reflector (20) reflects the light emitted by the light source (18 and 42) to illuminate a region exterior of the vehicle (as clearly seen in figures 7a and 7b), and wherein a primary axis (axis of light emitted by 10) of illumination of the light reflected by the optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) is in a third direction (3rd) transverse to the first direction (1st) and the second direction (2nd);
wherein the housing (12, 14) comprises an outer cover (22), and wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (70) mounted at the side of the vehicle (vehicle), the emitted light reflected by the optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the reflector (20) passes through the outer cover (22) to illuminate the region exterior of the vehicle (as clearly seen in figures 7a and 7b); and
wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (70) mounted at the side of the vehicle (vehicle).
Although, most vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly are known for being able to be folded inwards and outwards, Hwang does not explicitly teach an actuator, wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle, the actuator is electrically operable to adjust the mirror head relative to the mounting structure to adjust the rearward view for the driver of the vehicle;
the actuator is electrically operable to adjust the mirror head relative to the mounting structure to adjust the primary axis (axis of light emitted by 10) of illumination of the light relative to the vehicle.
Foote teaches a vehicular illumination module (light module 12, see figures 1-8) within a vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (vehicle exterior rearview mirror assembly 10, see fig 1); further comprising
an actuator (actuator for selectively moving the powerfold mirror assembly, as the system may fold or pivot the mirror head to the folded orientation and actuate the illumination sources, as show in figures 7-8, see ¶ 37), wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (14) mounted at the side of the vehicle (vehicle), the actuator is electrically operable (since the system operates the folding state of the mirror head, see ¶ 37) to adjust the mirror head (14) relative to the mounting structure (see mounting structure M, see annotated figure above) to adjust the rearward view (as expected from a pivoting rear view mirror) for the driver of the vehicle (see vehicle, in fig 7);
the actuator (since the system operates the folding state of the mirror head, see ¶ 37) is electrically operable to adjust the mirror head (14) relative to the mounting structure (M) to adjust the primary axis (perpendicular to the light module 12) of illumination of the light relative to the vehicle (see vehicle, in fig 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the actuator as taught by Foote into the teachings of Hwang in order to provide both, sideway and forward illumination. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to provide the user with a desired pattern or intensity within an illumination range.
Hwang as modified by Foote does not explicitly teach the actuator is accommodated within the mirror head.
Oesterholt teaches a vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (vehicle having a wing mirror, see figures 1-2c) having an actuator (electrically operable pivoting mechanism 10) that pivots a mirror head (mirror housing 3, see fig 1);
the actuator (10) is accommodated within the mirror head (3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to position the actuator as taught by Oesterholt into the teachings of Hwang as modified by Foote in order to provide the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly with a mechanism that has a construction which is simple. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to simplify manufacturing.
Regarding claim 21, Hwang teaches wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (70) mounted at the side of the vehicle (vehicle), the second side (lower side of 16, as seen in fig 4b) of the PCB (16) faces downward (as seen in fig 5 or annotated figure above), and wherein, when the light source (18 and 42) is electrically operated to emit light, light emitted downward (as seen in fig 5 or annotated figure above) reflects off the respective optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44)s of the reflector (20) to illuminate a region forward of the vehicle (as seen in fig 5).
Regarding claim 22, Hwang teaches wherein the light source (18 and 42) comprises a plurality of light sources (18 and 42) and the reflector (20) comprises a plurality of optic portions (see optic portions A and B of 44), and
wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle, and when the plurality of light sources (18 and 42) are electrically operated to emit light, each optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the plurality of optic portions (see optic portions A and B of 44) reflects light emitted by one corresponding light source (18 and 42) of the plurality of light sources (18 and 42), and
wherein reflection by each optic portion (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the plurality of optic portions (see optic portions A and B of 44) of the light emitted by the plurality of light sources (18 and 42) cooperates to illuminate the region exterior of the vehicle (as clearly seen in figures 7a and 7b).
Regarding claim 23, Hwang teaches wherein the outer cover (22) corresponds to an outer surface of the housing (12, 14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mandagaran Matias (US 20080309510 A1) discloses a vehicle illumination module in a mirror head of a rear view mirror. The device provides light sources within the mirror head that illuminate ahead and to a side of the vehicle.
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875