33DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 objected to because of the following informalities:
-Claim 17 on page 3 in line 1, the spelling should be changed from “wherein, in a case whe” to “wherein, in a case when”.
Lines are counted from the beginning of each claim. Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a determination unit configured to…, an interpolation unit configured to…, and a reduction unit configured to…” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20140072214 A1 to Tanaka in view of US Pub. No. 20250173829 A1 to Hanwell.
As to claims 1, 19 and 20, Tanaka discloses an information processing apparatus comprising:
a determination unit configured to acquire an image (Tanaka ¶0028-0030, 0044, 0051, memory receiving the captured image);
an interpolation unit configured to interpolate an interpolation signal (Tanaka ¶0045, 0046, 0052, interpolating image to produce an interpolated image signal, demosaicing); and
a reduction unit configured to reduce noise of the image in which the interpolation signal has been interpolated (Tanaka ¶0053, NR processing unit 32 removes noise from the interpolated image signal).
Tanaka does not expressly disclose a determination unit configured to acquire an image including a target pixel as a pixel of a local positive peak signal and captured by a photon-counting image sensor; and
an interpolation unit configured to interpolate an interpolation signal to a peripheral pixel as a pixel around the target pixel of the image.
Hanwell discloses a determination unit configured to acquire an image including a target pixel as a pixel of a local positive peak signal and captured by a photon-counting image sensor (Hanwell Fig. 1-7, ¶0039, 0042-0044, 0046, 0049, 0079, 0100, image processor receives an image from the image sensor, e.g. number of photons captured by the sensor, including pixel intensity values having local maximum value); and
an interpolation unit configured to interpolate an interpolation signal to a peripheral pixel as a pixel around the target pixel of the image (Hanwell Fig. 1-7, ¶0036, 0039, 0087-0091, interpolation unit 16 to interpolate from filtered values at the nodes closest to a pixel of the image).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka by a determination unit configured to acquire an image including a target pixel as a pixel of a local positive peak signal and captured by a photon-counting image sensor; and an interpolation unit configured to interpolate an interpolation signal to a peripheral pixel as a pixel around the target pixel of the image as disclosed by Hanwell. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide local values at a particular pixel location allowing interpolation to be performed on the pixels thereby increasing the image quality.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20140072214 A1 to Tanaka in view of US Pub. No. 20250173829 A1 to Hanwell and in further view of US Pub. No. 20120182323 A1 to Omi.
As to claim 2, Tanaka and Hanwell do not expressly disclose wherein the determination unit determines the presence/absence of the target pixel.
Omi discloses wherein the determination unit determines the presence/absence of the target pixel (Omi Fig. 1-5, ¶0063, 0066, determining unit to determining if the defective pixel is present/absent based on the preset value of the imaging system.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka and Hanwell by wherein the determination unit determines the presence/absence of the target pixel as disclosed by Omi. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to accurately determine the pixel of its presence/absence using the preset value of the device thereby enhancing the pixel evaluation.
As to claim 3, Tanaka and Hanwell do not expressly disclose wherein the determination unit determines the presence/absence of the target pixel based on a setting value of an image capturing apparatus that has captured the image.
Omi discloses wherein the determination unit determines the presence/absence of the target pixel based on a setting value of an image capturing apparatus that has captured the image (Omi Fig. 1-5, ¶0063, 0066, determining unit to determining if the defective pixel is present/absent based on the preset value of the imaging system.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka and Hanwell by wherein the determination unit determines the presence/absence of the target pixel based on a setting value of an image capturing apparatus that has captured the image as disclosed by Omi. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to accurately determine the pixel of its presence/absence using the preset value of the device thereby enhancing the pixel evaluation.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20140072214 A1 to Tanaka in view of US Pub. No. 20250173829 A1 to Hanwell and in further view of US Pub. No. 20150373275 A1 to Kitada.
As to claim 5, Tanaka and Hanwell do not expressly disclose wherein the image acquired by the determination unit includes black floating.
Kitada discloses wherein the image acquired by the determination unit includes black floating (Kitada ¶0075, black float).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka and Hanwell by wherein the determination unit determines the presence/absence of the target pixel based on a setting value of an image capturing apparatus that has captured the image as disclosed by Kitada. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to receive images having image anomaly’s allowing the device to adjust the image thereby increasing the image quality.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20140072214 A1 to Tanaka in view of US Pub. No. 20250173829 A1 to Hanwell and in further view of US Pub. No. 20050147293 A1 to Lee.
As to claim 6, Tanaka and Hanwell do not expressly disclose wherein the image acquired by the determination unit is captured in a low-illuminance environment.
Lee discloses wherein the image acquired by the determination unit is captured in a low-illuminance environment (Lee ¶0028, 0030, image captured and inputted in the low-illuminance environment).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka and Hanwell by wherein the image acquired by the determination unit is captured in a low-illuminance environment as disclosed by Lee. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide images captured in low-illuminance environment allowing enhanced processing of the captured image.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20140072214 A1 to Tanaka in view of US Pub. No. 20250173829 A1 to Hanwell and in further view of US Pub. No. 20210321963 A1 to Manor.
As to claim 15, Tanaka and Hanwell do not expressly disclose wherein the reduction unit uses a neural network that has performed learning using learning data based on an image added with noise which reproduces the positive peak signal.
Manor discloses wherein the reduction unit uses a neural network that has performed learning using learning data based on an image added with noise which reproduces the positive peak signal (Manor ¶0047, 0087, training neural network with images with added noise/blur and with high Peak SNR).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka and Hanwell by wherein the reduction unit uses a neural network that has performed learning using learning data based on an image added with noise which reproduces the positive peak signal as disclosed by Manor. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide machine learning with the neural network that allows noise to be added and trained improving the image quality.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20140072214 A1 to Tanaka in view of US Pub. No. 20250173829 A1 to Hanwell and in further view of US Pub. No. 20110063637 A1 to Kondo.
As to claim 17, Tanaka and Hanwell do not expressly disclose wherein, in a case when, a signal of a pixel spatially located around a pixel of interest as a determination target pixel is at a predetermined black level, the determination unit determines the pixel of interest as the target pixel.
Kondo discloses wherein, in a case when, a signal of a pixel spatially located around a pixel of interest as a determination target pixel is at a predetermined black level, the determination unit determines the pixel of interest as the target pixel (Kondo ¶0053, if the difference between the estimated black values for the target pixel and peripheral pixel is greater than or equal to the threshold, the CPU 11 determines that the target pixel is a candidate).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka and Hanwell by wherein, in a case when, a signal of a pixel spatially located around a pixel of interest as a determination target pixel is at a predetermined black level, the determination unit determines the pixel of interest as the target pixel as disclosed by Kondo. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to determine a candidate pixel using black levels enhancing feature detection in the images).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-14, 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 15, 17, 19 and 20 have been rejected.
Claims 4, 7-14, 16 and 18 are objected.
Correspondence Information
/KYU CHAE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426