DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s communication filed on 8/13/26, wherein:
Claims 1-8, 10-20 are currently pending;
Claims 1, 5, 12, 16, 20 have been amended;
Claim 9 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 5-8, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KASTEE ET AL (US 2019/0069379). Herein after KASTEE
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KASTEE ET AL (US 2019/0069379) in view of FRENTZ ET AL (US 2019/0246627). Herein after KASTEE and FRENTZ
As for claim 1, KASTEE discloses a robot {figures 1, 14A-B, 16 robotic swarm agent 100, 1400, 1600} comprising:
a base {see at least abstract, figure 1, housing 112 (base), par. 0053};
a top component coupled to the base {see at least figure 1, movable platform 102 (top component), pars. 0007, 0048, 0052-0053 discloses housing 112 may be rotatably connected to the movable platform 102};
a transportation assembly associated with the top component, wherein the transportation assembly allows for selective movement of the robot relative to any underlying object or surface {see at least figure 1, items 122, 124, pars. 0008, 0058 the agent 100 with one or more propulsion motors configured to move the agent 100 to multiple different locations on the architectural surface. For example, the agent 100 may have an x-axis propulsion motor 122 and a y-axis propulsion motor 124 to move the agent 100 along an x-axis and a y-axis, respectively; par. 0045 also discloses robotiv agents’ movement may be via any suitable means, such as movement on a track, wheeled movement, gravity-shift propulsion}; and
a pivoting assembly associated with the top component {see at least figure 1, item 110, pars. 0007, 0051, 0081, a rotation motor 110 configured to selectively rotate the housing, relative to the movable platform}.
KASTEE discloses claimed invention as indicated above except for wherein at least one of:
(i) the base includes a floating capability for floatation of the robots; or
(iii) the pivoting assembly includes arm rotatably coupled to a bottom surface of a platform capable of being positioned in a retracted position below a plane defined by the top component and an extended position above the plan defined by the top component.
Note: The Examiner assert that the claim recited as an alternatively limitation (at least one of (i) or (ii). Therefore, if (i) is selected, then (ii) and the related claims to (ii) are not required to be searched.
FRENTZ discloses floating swarm robots includes at least one (i) the base 26 of the swarm robots includes a floating capability for floatation of the robots {see FRENTZ at least figures 1-4, abstract, pars. 0007-0008, 0010, 0028-0032, 0036, 0040-0041. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective of filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the swarm robots include the floating capability of FRENTZ into the system of KASTEE in order to for the swarm robot/agent in KASTEE the capability to also perform the function/task in the water as well as on the wall, ceiling or ground.
As for claim 2, KASTEE/ FRENTZ discloses wherein the base includes openings formed around its perimeter {see KASTEE at least figure 1, pars. 0056}.
As for claim 3, KASTEE/ FRENTZ discloses an attachment assembly configured to extend an arm through one of the openings in the base to releasably interlock with an adjacently disposed secondary robot {see KASTEE at least figures 1, 5, pars. 0045, 0056 e.g.the housing 112 also may include interlocking structural shapes or movable mechanical locks to engage adjacent agents 100. For example, the housing 112 may have a solenoid-operated hook that can be deployed to engage a corresponding loop or opening on the housing 112 of another agent 100}.
As for claim 4, KASTEE/ FRENTZ discloses a bottom component capable of being releasably secured to a bottom surface of the base {see KASTEE at least figures 1, 14A-B, 16}.
As for claim 5, KASTEE/ FRENTZ discloses wherein the bottom component includes at least the floatation capability for floatation of the robot {see FRENTZ at least figures 1-2}.
As for claim 6, KASTEE/ FRENTZ discloses wherein the top component is rotatably coupled to the base {see KASTEE at least figure 1, pars. 0007, 0048, 0052-0053 movable platform 102 couple to the housing 112}.
As for claim 7, KASTEE/ FRENTZ discloses wherein the transportation assembly includes sets of rotating components rotatably coupled to the top component {see KASTEE at least figure 1, items 122, 124, pars. 0045, 0008, 0058}.
As for claim 8, KASTEE discloses wherein the transportation assembly includes a pair of rotatable guide rails capable of being positioned in a retracted position and a deployed position, and wherein in the deployed position rollers rotatably coupled to the rotatable guide rails extend above a top surface of the top component {see at least figures 1-3, pars. 0059, 0060, 0061.
As for claims 10-11, the limitation of these claims further defined the (ii) of claim 1 above. As indicated above, claim 1 does not require to exam all (i) and (ii) since the claim recited as an alternative limitation. If (i) is selected as indicated above, then (ii) and it relates claim are not required to be searched.
As for claim 12, KASTEE discloses an interlocking robot assembly system {see at least figures 5, 19}, comprising: a first robot and a second robot {see at least figures 1, 5, 19}, each of the first and second robots including
(i) a base, {see at least abstract, figure 1, housing 112 (base), par. 0053};
(ii) a top component coupled to the base, {see at least figure 1, movable platform 102 (top component), pars. 0007, 0048, 0052-0053 discloses housing 112 may be rotatably connected to the movable platform 102};
(iii) a transportation assembly associated with the top component, wherein the transportation assembly allows for selective movement of the respective robot relative to any underlying object or surface {see at least figure 1, items 122, 124, pars. 0008, 0058 the agent 100 with one or more propulsion motors configured to move the agent 100 to multiple different locations on the architectural surface. For example, the agent 100 may have an x-axis propulsion motor 122 and a y-axis propulsion motor 124 to move the agent 100 along an x-axis and a y-axis, respectively; par. 0045 also discloses robotiv agents’ movement may be via any suitable means, such as movement on a track, wheeled movement, gravity-shift propulsion},
(iv) a pivoting assembly associated with the top component {see at least figure 1, item 110, pars. 0007, 0051, 0081, a rotation motor 110 configured to selectively rotate the housing, relative to the movable platform}, and
(v) an engagement assembly; and wherein the engagement assembly of the first and second robots is configured to releasably interlock the first robot to the second robot {see at least figures 1, 5, item 116, pars. 0045, 0056}.
KASTEE discloses claimed invention as indicated above except for wherein at least one of:
(i) the base of each of the first and second robots including a floating capability for floatation of the respective first and second robots; or
(iii) the pivoting assembly includes arm rotatably coupled to a bottom surface of a platform capable of being positioned in a retracted position below a plane defined by the top component and an extended position above the plan defined by the top component.
Note: The Examiner assert that the claim recited as an alternatively limitation (at least one of (i) or (ii). Therefore, if (i) is selected, then (ii) and the related claims to (ii) are not required to be searched.
FRENTZ discloses floating swarm robots includes at least one (i) the base 26 of the swarm robots includes a floating capability for floatation of the robots {see FRENTZ at least figures 1-4, abstract, pars. 0007-0008, 0010, 0028-0032, 0036, 0040-0041. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective of filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the swarm robots include the floating capability of FRENTZ into the system of KASTEE in order to for the swarm robot/agent in KASTEE the capability to also perform the function/task in the water as well as on the wall, ceiling or ground.
As for claim 13, KASTEE/FRENTZ discloses wherein the engagement assembly includes openings formed in the base {see KASTEE at least figure 1, pars. 0056}.
As for claim 14, KASTEE/FRENTZ discloses wherein an arm of an attachment assembly of the first robot is configured to extend into one of the openings formed in the base of the second robot to releasably interlock with a complementary attachment assembly of the second robot {see KASTEE at least figures 1, 5, pars. 0045, 0056 e.g.the housing 112 also may include interlocking structural shapes or movable mechanical locks to engage adjacent agents 100. For example, the housing 112 may have a solenoid-operated hook that can be deployed to engage a corresponding loop or opening on the housing 112 of another agent 100}.
As for claim 15, KASTEE/FRENTZ discloses wherein each of the first and second robots includes a communication interface that allows for transfer of data and power upon releasable interlocking of the first robot to the second robot {see KASTEE at least figure 5, abstract, pars. 0015, 0080}.
As for claim 16, KASTEE/FRENTZ discloses wherein the pivoting assembly includes arms configured to move or slide along ramped structures to move a platform coupled to the arms between a retracted position and an extended position {see KASTEE at least figure 14A-B, par. 0178}.
As for claim 17, KASTEE/FRENTZ discloses wherein the first robot is configured to be positioned in an upside-down orientation relative to the second robot, and wherein the platforms of the first and second robots are configured to coupled relative to each other {see KASTEE at least figure 14A-B, 15, 19}.
As for claim 18, KASTEE/FRENTZ discloses wherein in the coupled position, the arms are configured to be pivoted to flip the first robot about 180° into a right-side-up position adjacent to the second robot {see KASTEE at least figure 14A-B, 15, 19}.
As for claim 19, KASTEE/FRENTZ discloses wherein the first robot is configured to be positioned in an upside-down orientation relative to the second robot, and the transportation assembly allows for movement of the first robot along the second robot {see KASTEE at least figures 15, 19}.
As for claim 20, the limitations of this claim have noted in the rejection above. They are rejected for the same reason sets forth above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground rejected based on Applicant’s amended language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRA NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656